• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

QFA Div 4&5

Interesting to see how playing strength/depth would pan out if both got teams up.

Both had QFA colts this year (though merged with a junior club) which is probably better than starting from scratch, assuming enough stick around.

Hope the umpires department are out recruiting too though
Hell of a lot easier on umpires to get Friday nights and then back up on Saturday at 1130am. I think this may have been one of the reasons why they got rid of QFA colts was the shortage of umpires. Games i watched on Friday nights didn't have boundaries either.

Still be fairly short on Fridays - quite a few friday games towards the end of the season even had just a solo central umpire. One week I even saw a player chop out during warmup to umpire the game as they just couldn't get one

We had 2 umpires every week without fail in Div 3 all season.

Haven't had boundary umps since about 2016, and even then it was always just volunteers - never been supplied other than finals and doesn't make a difference at all.

We've also had goal umpires every week for a few years now, used to supply them ourselves like a junior game - thats been a positive change.

Yeah I reckon half the season in Div 4 was 1 umpire . Or no umpires at at . Had to use clubbies a fair bit. I’m not having a dig at 3rds but sometimes the clubs didn’t open the bar or canteen so I’m not sure they care about them.I still think clubs that have a history or floating in between divisions should focus on there too too team not worry about 3rds. I can be wrong a lot though 🤣

No bar in the Friday leagues is sacrilege! but like anything just needs the volunteers. Which might be a harder ask on a Friday night after work

I can see the thinking of adding thirds though when going up a division. Try to keep a few players involved who would otherwise be pushed out or unwilling to commit. Combined with a few spare colts it probably becomes viable

AFLQ pretty much stated that Div 3 and 4 should be considered the alternative for those clubs with Colts who can't have them next year.

Given anyone too old for youth footy is now 18+ the theory is there is no reason they can't play in those comps, and its easier to get numbers with no age restrictions.

Sound theory, lets see if it works

We had 2 umpires every week without fail in Div 3 all season.

Haven't had boundary umps since about 2016, and even then it was always just volunteers - never been supplied other than finals and doesn't make a difference at all.

We've also had goal umpires every week for a few years now, used to supply them ourselves like a junior game - thats been a positive change.
Was probably talking more about Div 4 tbf Thommo. And i agree stuff all difference imo. In fact think it helps the game having a ball up 10m in with the ball more likely to go anywhere vs a BTI that invariably has it return to the coal face.

Watching and analysing the play is hard enough at the best of times for the central umpire, add in trying to eagle-eye the boundary line from 25 metres away side-on.

Might just be more aware of it but I reckon majority of what umpires miss are at or near the boundary

agree on ball ups in-field though

Even if Northshore are moving up to Div 3 (which is what I hear ), why would anyone recommend 18yos that should be playing colts at a state league club to play Div 3?

Not sure Nth Shore is moving up Doc. Agree, Div 3/4 isn't for QAFL level colts but at end of day I'm not sure anyone can tell kids what level they "should" be playing. There are blokes playing in Div 2 that are probably QAFL standard but choose to kick around at that level. Same with Div 4 - the odd guy who could be easily playing Div 1. I think this is also about mates staying with mates. Not every kid coming out of 17.5 is going to be QAFL colts level and if a boy isn't aspiring then possibly its easier for him to stay with them.

Even if Northshore are moving up to Div 3 (which is what I hear ), why would anyone recommend 18yos that should be playing colts at a state league club to play Div 3?
You wouldn't any young fella that's good enough should be encouraged to play at the highest level. But in the end it's the choice of the player.

North Shore will be playing Div 4. No talk of any M’Dore colts going across but if so would be very much welcomed. Long gone are the days of lower level thuggery. Div 3 & 4 standard is quite good. A competent outside running 18yo could be quite dangerous in these grades and would imagine be looked after by older teammates.

Don’t the grand final teams move up to Div 3 ?

So zillmere down to 4th Div . Pac pines to Div 3 . Cali , hinterland, Sandgate, Redcliffe potentially to have 3rds so there’s 14 teams for Div 4 north ? I need to stop chewing so many schooners today 😵‍💫

If all those clubs gain their 3rds teams then i predict there will be north/ Brisbane / GC competitions.

With all these new potential teams why can’t Div 3 & 4 combine and just have North, Central & South Divisions? Yes the top Div 3 maybe too strong initially but over time the competitions will find their own level. Great for clubs to build and use the attraction of localised competition to recruit with next to no travel!

agree

Are you sure you belong here mate. That idea is exactly what should happen. But as always we wait for the experts to come up with something completly absurd.

QFA Div 4&5