Rance - AA?

Was reading the below article and this section caught my eye:

On the estimation of many commentators, Rance has been the All-Australian full-back of 2012 - so far, at least. As the new leader of the Tigers defence, Rance and his troops have taken on Travis Cloke, Mitch Clark, Tom Hawkins, Josh Kennedy, Michael Hurley, Nick Riewoldt, Matthew Pavlich, Taylor Walker and Lance Franklin - keeping most quiet while one or two have got off the leash.

Does anyone think Rance is in AA form? I think he has been solid and done quite well but never really considered him to be a contender for AA this year. I think he can definitely still improve and has struggled a bit of late - Pavlich and Walker probably both bested him recently.I think he will be very good once we have a settled and cohesive back 6 once all these injuries stop!

I've got Cotchin, Deledio, Maric and Riewoldt as the most likely AA tiges this year. Have we underrated his form/contributions? Is he flying under the radar? Or is the article a bit generous and misguided?

Interested in seeing what the consensus is with Rance.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/petrie-has-the-tigers-fearing-worst-20120717-228hx.html#ixzz20xE267Nd

Rance has been great. Can see him making Back Pocket, next to a Glass or McPharlin. He's been pantsed a couple of times, but most have. The improvement in him has been unsurpassed. If Riewoldt jags the Coleman, he's in. If not, no. Cotchin will be there, but I think Lids need another season in the midfield to shore it up. Maric is behind Jacobs, Cox and Nic Nat, despite his huge year. If Tiges can get two AA reps, that's a good year (off the field !). Hoping we still have a good one on it...

yep second hugely consistent year and in very good form.

deserves AA this year I think.
grimes would have won the rising start had he played the full season.

Up until before the Fremantle game I would have said it was his spot to lose but since that game his form has dropped off considerably.

We really need him back to AA form if we're any chance to make finals.

The Age said:
"In his two games against Richmond last year, Petrie gave Rance and his defensive allies a torrid time, booting six goals to go with four contested marks and 20 possessions in a North Melbourne victory in round five, and backed up with four goals and eight marks in the final round of the season."
We won in round 5...

Haven't for a second thought Rance was AA material this year.

I actually think we should consider shopping him around. Probably one of the few players we could afford to give up that we might actually still get somethin decent for. Wonder if the Dawks still rate him?

How are the Perth sides for defenders? He's a hometown boy after all.

I actually think we should consider shopping him around. Probably one of the few players we could afford to give up that we might actually still get somethin decent for. Wonder if the Dawks still rate him?

You trade what is surplus to requirements to fill a hole where you lack. eg Collins for Grigg. Trade for Maric.

You shop Rance around and guess what? You have a hole in defence to fill.

Terrible idea, we have one decent key back who isn't injured every other week and you wanna trade him.

You trade what is surplus to requirements to fill a hole where you lack. eg Collins for Grigg. Trade for Maric.

You shop Rance around and guess what? You have a hole in defence to fill.
Yeah no kidding. We actually need to add some defenders, a good experienced one would be particularly helpful. Still reckon we could do that and cover the loss of Rance with some young blokes we already have. A lot of people rate Rance highly, personally I don't. Just my opinion.

Was good early and would've been AA if he kept that consistency, but of late hasn't been great, ordinary if you ask me.

His form has dropped off a little some of this will Grimes not being available. He's now going to be given the number 1 forward every week and I don't mean he isn't capable of being the no 1 defender I mean that he would have been matched up to play on the most appropriate forward for his abilities/deficiencies. Grimes , Griff and Rance give us great versatility in the players they play on. Grimes has sensational closing speed, reads the ball brilliantly can play on more agile players. Rance is perfect for the strong contested Marking footballers, he has the body not to be thrown around and never stops trying not matter how bad a position he is put into etc. Griff has pure height and athletic ability, he get's the ruckmen/forward combo.

Now Rance get's the best forward no matter how inappropriate ie Taylor Walker. I think he was performing better by being part of a better total defensive package.

We actually need to add some defenders, a good experienced one would be particularly helpful. Still reckon we could do that and cover the loss of Rance with some young blokes we already have.

The chance of anyone offering up a key defender who is better than Rance, for something less than Rance's value, is zilch.
If a key defender like Rance (of similar age and ability) was offered up by another club we'd be one of the first clambering for him.
As RichoLedio said: "terrible idea".

What a ridiculously stupid idea, yeah lets trade a kpp in AA form, like who could play FB in our squad better than rancer...if chaplin was a replacement then start worrying

Yeah no kidding. We actually need to add some defenders, a good experienced one would be particularly helpful. Still reckon we could do that and cover the loss of Rance with some young blokes we already have. A lot of people rate Rance highly, personally I don't. Just my opinion.

Sorry, thought we were discussing whether he was just in or just out of AA contention! You reckon he's overrated and should be traded. That's a pretty punchy opinion Harmichael (that name should be banned on here) and seems to me you haven't watched much footy this year, or have a very short memory.
Rance has been the standout improver for 2 years now, and is recognised across the AFL, not just at Tigerland.

Was AA until a run of bad games against Riewoldt, Pav, and Walker. Can still get it back but it's unlikely.

Right now our chances are Cotchin (good chance), Maric (good chances), Deledio (50/50 at best).

Good below the knees, rebounds well, strong, constantly improving disposal, good work rate, has courage (anyone remember the head bash between him and a Brisbane player a few years ago?), always wants to improve himself. What else do you want from a fullback?

Although everyone has their deficiencies, he's average in the air, which is why he works well with Grimes, Griffiths and Batchelor because as a unit they help with each other's weaknesses. Grimes has it all, except maybe Rance's strength, although he is looking bigger. Griffiths has the speed, marking and the kicking. Batchelor has the marking and judging the ball.

I know one thing for sure.
If he gets overlooked, the ones saying he doesn't deserve it now will probably be the first ones going psycho about it on here.
So cynical tugs, sounds like you've had a hard few weeks mate, I thought you were supposed to be off enjoying yourself on holidays?

Rance, cotch, Maric will make it, jack and delidio will possibly make the squad. Up to five players are a chance for AA this year. But you know, we don't or cant develop players at tigerland.

Rance - AA?