Bumped Random Chat - I want BBQ

Best thriller of all time is shutter Island. Wish I could forget the ending and watch it again
I can't remember the film too well but I just read that
while it's a given that Leo's character is in a mental ward, it's up in the air whether he killed his family and the whole mind ops shit was a delusion, or the mind ops shit was real and they're trying to implant the memory of him killing his family which he is innocent of.
Either way my memory is ****ed so I can re-watch the film and it's gonna be new to me.

Oh sorry I have some more movie recommendations I just thought of.

Pixote. Recommended for anyone who liked City of God or Siccaro which are also really good. There is also a documentary called Who Killed Pixote but you could just read the wikipedia on Pixote which will tell the same story. So good.
Jacob's Ladder (could also be horror)
The Terminator
Moving

So I went and saw Tenet today.

I need to watch that movie again. I think it is defiantly a movie that you have to watch twice to fully understand it. I get the gist and the movie would be confusing at times and then when you could kind of make sense of it, it would go all crazy again

Friends,

Some time ago I was impersonating my favourite WWE superstars when I misjudged a flying knee drop and landed on a very hard object.
There was a short, sharp, acute pain that lasted for about 45 seconds. Then I got up and forgot about it.

It didn't hurt afterwards but I discovered if I put any weight on this knee at all there is an intense, searing pain. I assumed it would get better but it's been a month or so now and my knee is still ****ed.

Anyone got any idea what I've done?

Friends,

Some time ago I was impersonating my favourite WWE superstars when I misjudged a flying knee drop and landed on a very hard object.
There was a short, sharp, acute pain that lasted for about 45 seconds. Then I got up and forgot about it.

It didn't hurt afterwards but I discovered if I put any weight on this knee at all there is an intense, searing pain. I assumed it would get better but it's been a month or so now and my knee is still f’ed.

Im no doctor, but I know you definately need to see one.

Friends,

It didn't hurt afterwards but I discovered if I put any weight on this knee at all there is an intense, searing pain. I assumed it would get better but it's been a month or so now and my knee is still f’ed.

I’m no doctor either but it sounds like a knee to me

Watching the cricket tonight and on Friday. It made me think, what sport are us Aussies the best at? (excluding footy) We're nearly always number 1 in cricket. Particularly women's cricket. At the Olympics we usually do pretty well in the swimming for our population, same with rowing and cycling. Rugby I don't know because who cares. I know we go ok in soccer and that the Matilda's are very good. One of the top golfing countries with Scott, Day, Leishman, Smith. We have Simmons and Ingles in the NBA and the Boomers go alright. Anything I've missed or over/under rated. Interesting thought.

EDIT: forgot about tennis, how good is Ash Barty!

Friends,

You sound like someone that could use an x-ray Toump.

Be sure to post one here so we can speculate. (But for Christ’s sake see a doctor!)

Watching the cricket tonight and on Friday. It made me think, what sport are us Aussies the best at? (excluding footy) We're nearly always number 1 in cricket. Particularly women's cricket. At the Olympics we usually do pretty well in the swimming for our population, same with rowing and cycling. Rugby I don't know because who cares. I know we go ok in soccer and that the Matilda's are very good. One of the top golfing countries with Scott, Day, Leishman, Smith. We have Simmons and Ingles in the NBA and the Boomers go alright. Anything I've missed or over/under rated. Interesting thought.

Cricket, tennis, swimming, cycling, golf. I think you’ve nailed it. We’re a pretty strong Hockey country too I think? Pakistan being the other.

I’m no doctor either but it sounds like a knee to me
Hey Toump this post didn’t convey what I was trying to get across very well sorry mate, I’ve had a few, it’s sounds like maybe an ACL type injury, intense pain followed by feeling ok shortly after but with lots of damage and no stability, well worth getting checked I reckon

We are dog shit at male sports anyone cares about, girls are close to the top of most things.

Dan Riccardo and Will Power very good drivers, Robert Whittaker and Alex Volkanovski former/current UFC champions. Andrew Moloney was just robbed of being a boxing world champ.

Always got real good surfers, freestyle Motocross riders from Australia are bad ass.

Cricket, tennis, swimming, cycling, golf. I think you’ve nailed it. We’re a pretty strong Hockey country too I think? Pakistan being the other.
Yeah I think we're one of the best hockey countries but hasn't always translated to winning big tournaments. Had a few close losses from what I remember, but made plenty of finals in men's and women's.
Netball, bar the occasional loss to NZ/England (ditto Rugby League). Women's basketball we're regularly in the top few.

Following from Topkent, pretty sure we're good in BMX, freestyle snowboarding/skiing etc.

Yeah I think we're one of the best hockey countries but hasn't always translated to winning big tournaments. Had a few close losses from what I remember, but made plenty of finals in men's and women's.
Netball, bar the occasional loss to NZ/England (ditto Rugby League). Women's basketball we're regularly in the top few.

Following from Topkent, pretty sure we're good in BMX, freestyle snowboarding/skiing etc.
Imagine if we had a population of around 40 mil. We'd be up there with the US and China.

I’m pretty sure that per capita Australia and New Zealand are the most successful sporting nations around. We used to be more dominant in the summer sports though, then the world caught up when sports became more professional and countries across the world started seriously investing.

Yeah nah not quite. Quality of most of our teams are crap these days.
Larger population would improve that though. A good amount of sporting ability is innate - so if you have fifty times the population you have 50 times the likelihood of finding a Gary Ablett etc. The rest of it is system driven / training etc but a lot of the system assets in sport training in the USA like college sport programs are unachievable in Australia because our population size doesn’t support the structure.

Biggest threat to our sporting ability is probably lifestyle related now. We used to dominate summer sports because of outdoor lifestyle - children can play outdoors year round with warm weather and no being snowed in for months. But Netflix, Nintendo and city planning (more people living in small space, no backyard etc) is encroaching on that.

I’m pretty sure that per capita Australia and New Zealand are the most successful sporting nations around. We used to be more dominant in the summer sports though, then the world caught up when sports became more professional and countries across the world started seriously investing.
Also a distinct correlation between new estate going from 600m2 - 400m2 land can barely play cricket or footy in any of these new suburban back yards. And the old ones that were big enough are being chopped up!

We would be much better at truly international sports if we didn’t have AFL and NRL.
This, for the talent and $ it diverts from other sports. Kinda crazy the sporting 'arms race' and the billions other nations have been throwing at the Olympics and certain sports.

I'm less sold on the smaller yards = less sporting talent being developed. I guess it is part of a broader cultural shift with the rise in electronic gaming, streaming etc. But plenty of great sports people didn't grow up with a big backyard to play in and even with the increasing housing density we'd probably still have larger average yard sizes than a lot of other places.

We would be much better at truly international sports if we didn’t have AFL and NRL.
yep 100%

We would have a bloody strong soccer team if that was truly our national sport

having said that imagine the USA if they didn't have NFL and NBA and their national winter sport was soccer?

Larger population would improve that though. A good amount of sporting ability is innate - so if you have fifty times the population you have 50 times the likelihood of finding a Gary Ablett etc. The rest of it is system driven / training etc but a lot of the system assets in sport training in the USA like college sport programs are unachievable in Australia because our population size doesn’t support the structure.

Biggest threat to our sporting ability is probably lifestyle related now. We used to dominate summer sports because of outdoor lifestyle - children can play outdoors year round with warm weather and no being snowed in for months. But Netflix, Nintendo and city planning (more people living in small space, no backyard etc) is encroaching on that.
Randomly quoting myself by mistake here. Please ignore

This, for the talent and $ it diverts from other sports. Kinda crazy the sporting 'arms race' and the billions other nations have been throwing at the Olympics and certain sports.

I'm less sold on the smaller yards = less sporting talent being developed. I guess it is part of a broader cultural shift with the rise in electronic gaming, streaming etc. But plenty of great sports people didn't grow up with a big backyard to play in and even with the increasing housing density we'd probably still have larger average yard sizes than a lot of other places.
Yeah it’s probably not as simple as smaller yards, and might have negligible impact on elite sport, but shitty urban design has some impact on child health and fitness. Not so much yard size but places with limited walking / bike paths, limited parkland, playing fields etc. Too many places being built that discourage walking etc. Rise in technology interactive options is a biggie too - though even more problematic is the decline in parental supervision over amount of time on computer or watching tv etc. And that’s nobodies fault. To be able to afford children now, most couples need two full-time incomes to keep meeting the mortgage. When I was growing up there were more people who had a parent at home when they were young. TV was rationed in my home and we were pretty much chased out of the house to occupy ourselves. Plus I honestly don’t think anyone had as much stuff. So spending hours trying to create new records of number of times you can hit a tennis ball against the wall was a legit, high-stimulation day.