Discussion Random Chat MegaThread

Anyone got some good movies they can recommend? I've been having trouble finding any
The hobbit. Oh and Horrible Bosses 2 was better than the first.

Gibbsy, if you don't mind answering this question... When you've been suspended/banned, what are you allowed to do on the site? Are you still allowed to PM people?

You can still read the forums and you can still PM people. Previously you weren't allowed to PM people but that caused problems as those who were banned were not able to discuss the ban with the relevant mod.

Got in my first choice guys!!!!!11111111111111 being shit at year 12 didnt even matter fyeah

sports journalism at la trobe
Congrats mate. I'm in Journalism too - nothing specific, but I've got sports in mind.

Is there any particular sport you've got in mind (ie. Australian rules, football (soccer), etc)?

Got in my first choice guys!!!!!11111111111111 being shit at year 12 didnt even matter fyeah

sports journalism at la trobe
Congrats mate, I was gonna go into Tech Journalism, but decided against it. Good luck with it.

Congrats mate. I'm in Journalism too - nothing specific, but I've got sports in mind.

Is there any particular sport you've got in mind (ie. Australian rules, football (soccer), etc)?
It's a bachelor of media and communication with a focus on sport journalism.

I'm most interested in football and soccer

What uni are you at (if you don't mind)

It's a bachelor of media and communication with a focus on sport journalism.

I'm most interested in football and soccer

What uni are you at (if you don't mind)
Ah, okay. I've heard of similar courses at other universities.

I'm at Monash.

I just watched In The Loop, bloody good! Will definitely be watching The Thick of It I reckon!
Yeah the main brits are in the show, it's mainly fantastic because of Malcolm and Toby (name is Ollie in the show)

Was nice to see James Gandolfini in the movie.

Ah, okay. I've heard of similar courses at other universities.

I'm at Monash.
Cool, the entry req was like 85 atar at Monash. This La Trobe course is new so there was no strict ATAR requirement but they said it was 85 definitely in. I got 67 and in so I'm stoked.

Yeah, it can depend on the school you attended, the clearly-in stuff isn't all that straightforward.

Someone that went to a 'shit' school and managed 80 could get in at the expense of someone that went to a very good school and got 83, given they take under-representation and other such statistics into account. I suppose it's a fair system, seeing as the ATAR weighting/scaling system benefits those that attended better schools.

Sounds good, it's always a relief to land in something that you're interested in. Was it a nervous month or two?

Yeah but I didn't actually submit the SEAS application or whatever it is for the boost. Careers guidance person kept saying our school got a boost but I'm a lazy sod.

I've managed not to think about it since I thought I'd get into like my 8th preference really. Just flat since I got my entirely expected shit atar.

I'm still waiting for my stupid university to accept my stupid application so I can enrol in my ****ing classes before all the year 12's from last year fill them up.

Also I've got a '95 Freo home jumper in a Medium. Sekem, Hard Yakka sponsorship et al.

I got a Transperth fine for a ****ing hundred bucks which I'll fight but I want to try and pay that off with this.

Anyone interested at all?