Rank Immaturity showing in NRL

"Time to move on" says she who has a team, not half a team...

AS for Sydney, you'll find it's mostly media driven. Only times I personally haven't supported the Storm were 99 when they played the team from the area I grew up in and last year. Neither were because they are an "out of Sydney side"

The other 3 I have supported them quite passionately.

"Time to move on" says she who has a team, not half a team...

AS for Sydney, you'll find it's mostly media driven. Only times I personally haven't supported the Storm were 99 when they played the team from the area I grew up in and last year. Neither were because they are an "out of Sydney side"

The other 3 I have supported them quite passionately.

I do understand that its real hard when your team has to merge, but most of the Swans and Lions fans seemed to have managed to come to terms with their lot.

I know its a lot easier for me to say that because I haven;t gone thru what you have.

I do understand that its real hard when your team has to merge, but most of the Swans and Lions fans seemed to have managed to come to terms with their lot.

& if Balmain had of relocated down here like they were investigating I would have much preferred that than a forced merger when other clubs equally or more deserving to go got to survive.

Sydney & Brisbane are just Sth Melbourne & Fitzroy playing out of another city

Oh & look, don't want to derail the thread. Just trying to point out that for some of us the SL wounds will never heal and a simple "Move on" doesn't cut it.

Particularly when the scumbags are still running the game and doing a terrible job of it.

Which I'm sure we all agree on.

Yup definitly being announced this morning.

A big call to make around Halfback/Hooker backups. Do they take run with Prince/Cronk or Cronk/Hooker

I'll be dissapointed if Hindmarsh doesn't get a recall

Hindmarsh and Dallas will miss out again, which is a blight on our selection process.

can we get this thread back on track, if there's any steam left in it

Infortunately I dont think the point of my thread was really understood.

Most took it as another rant at bias commentary. It is much more than that. The commentary is just a symptom of the problem.

Really Gallop and the NRL have to take the critisism here. Last GF week they allowed the Storm to have their whole week derailed by their own judiciary and their legal actions toward Storm officials.

They rubbed out the Storm captain for a BS report.

This season Heyne is let off for kneeing a bloke in the head.

Couple that with the hysteria of the Sydneycentric media and its small minded hate all because the team is from Melbourne. Some say it is all media driven but the media dont do anything unless it rates or sells papers so they are feeding on insecurities and small mindedness.

Demetrio and the AFL commission lead from the front on AFL expansion. AFL is past inter state provincialism. The AFL and the vast majority of its supporters and its media do not involve itself in this petty procohialism and intercity rivalry.

NRL will continue to stagnate and become more and more insignificant if the culture and mentality doesn't dramatically change.

Infortunately I dont think the point of my thread was really understood.

Not at all. It's a "big bad Sydney" rant

Really Gallop and the NRL have to take the critisism here. Last GF week they allowed the Storm to have their whole week derailed by their own judiciary and their legal actions toward Storm officials.

Yet no responsibility lies with those who virtually accused the Judiciary of corruption?

They rubbed out the Storm captain for a BS report.

#a - He did it, was caught on video doing it
#b - If he didn't have priors for being a grub, he would have played in the GF
#c - If Smith played, Melbourne still would have been spanked last year

This season Heyne is let off for kneeing a bloke in the head.

I am one of the few who thinks Hayne should have been suspended, but being let off has nothing to do with any anti-Melbourne bias.

I'd also suggest had Smith grappled in the prelim, he'd also have been let off...

Couple that with the hysteria of the Sydneycentric media and its small minded hate all because the team is from Melbourne. Some say it is all media driven but the media dont do anything unless it rates or sells papers so they are feeding on insecurities and small mindedness.

This is any different to when a Victorian side plays an interstate side in the AFL GF and the Melbourne media jump on the Victorian side as "Our team" ?!

I refer you back to the uber sooking that went on in the media about the "Death of Footy in Victoria" between 2004 & 2006, and the calls for summits etc

Demetrio and the AFL commission lead from the front on AFL expansion. AFL is past inter state provincialism. The AFL and the vast majority of its supporters and its media do not involve itself in this petty procohialism and intercity rivalry.

:D FMD .... Have a read of the main board and Bay 13 occasionally before making laughable claims like that.

Take the f'ing blinkers off FFS

Oh & look, don't want to derail the thread. Just trying to point out that for some of us the SL wounds will never heal and a simple "Move on" doesn't cut it.

Particularly when the scumbags are still running the game and doing a terrible job of it.

Which I'm sure we all agree on.
It's only fans of the Super League clubs, who were largely unaffected by the whole process, who say oh just move on.

This is any different to when a Victorian side plays an interstate side in the AFL GF and the Melbourne media jump on the Victorian side as "Our team" ?!

I refer you back to the uber sooking that went on in the media about the "Death of Footy in Victoria" between 2004 & 2006, and the calls for summits etc

I agree the Vic print media goes nuts when either no Vic team plays in the GF, or it jumps on the bandwagon of the lone Vic team when playing an interstate team. This is obviously due to the local readership of such newspapers. The reality however, is that most Vic-based AFL fans generally support the interstate team, as we don't have to put up with the fans of the Vic team gloating, should their team win.

In the 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2007 GFs a Vic side played an interstate side and I barracked for the interstate side in 01, 02 and 03, because I couldn't stand the thought of Essendon or Collingwood winning, and many Vics were the same. In 2007 when we beat the Power, I think most of Vic were supporting the Cats as they hadn't won for 44 years, while Port won in 04, and most people can't stand Port anyway. You could say that this was similar to the Storm v Eels situation on the weekend.

The big difference between the NRL and the AFL is the television media. All the NRL commentators appear to be very Sydney-centric, and the commentary on Ch9 on Sunday was atrocious. I'm no NRL expert, but I am not aware of any Queensland commentators on Ch9 (correct me if I am wrong), except for Vautin, who doesn't appear to call the game any more.

Contrast that with the AFL coverage which includes McAvaney (SA), Commetti (WA), Russell (SA), etc who are not Victorian, to name but a few, and you see a very much more balanced view. Yes there are commentators who have conflicts or biases, and it often shows, but not to the extent of a whole commentary team holding its breath on every line break, tackle, or refereeing decision, praying it goes the way of the home team, as was the case in Sunday.

In the current day and age of football codes competing to expand their support base, I would have thought the last thing the NRL would have wanted was potential RL fans in Melbourne switching off because of the clear bias evident.

^ Was he pro-Melbourne or anti?

I find it hard to believe someone writing in the CourierMail to be pro-Sydney lol

he was very much pro storm. said they were the best sporting team in Australia, better than the brissie lions (but sung the lions praises a lot).

basically the readers/posters were digging into melbourne most. "bleak city" then he'd respond with bits like a lack of beaches, idiots like sam newman = melbourne, cold weather etc.

seemed like a shock jock of the written media to me.

The irony is Brisbane doesn't have any beaches, they have to drive to the Gold or Sunshine Coasts. At least Melbourne has St Kilda beach.

100_3025.JPG

I dont like Melbourne Storm because they are full of Queenslanders. Having said that I would much prefer them to win than Brisbane, Manly, St. George and Canterbury.

Most Sydneysiders dont know Melbourne exists. Any sporting rivalry is with Qld ie SOO, Reds, Broncos.

The commentary by Ch9 was a set up for ratings hoping to push the game further into Victoria. They were even explaining the rules:confused:

The heartland dont give a damn.

I quite enjoy State vs State parocialism, as long as it's in jest, a bit of fun. Makes me think of the old Beer days when one only drank their States drop.

Seems NSW and VIC think they're king dick, NSW have the annoyance of selfpromoting and gloating Queensland. VIC taunts NSW and tease SA. SA have thick skin and a great self confidence when they're borded by louder neighbours to their east. WA the maverick, who many see themselves as Sandgroper before Australian, similarities to QLD but more the introvert, don't really care what state you come from, you're just from "over east".

Made me laugh once when watching a pre RL SoO function a couple years ago. Some QLD VIP was on about how the whole country hate NSW. He's like they think they're the beezneez but we're gonna embassass them! the Vics, they hate them! The South Aussie don't want a bar of the them!
Western Australia...well they just hate everybody. (audience laughs).

This is how it's seen through the eyes of NSW -

NSW versus the rest of the country (particularly Vic and Qld).

quite new on this website but didn't take me long to stumble on a Vics are the best thread.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=640959

Channel 9 are not as biased as agenda-driven. Gould especially. As for the whole of NSW going for Parramatta, I doubt it highly. Alot of Bulldogs supporters i know were supporting Melbourne.

I agree the Vic print media goes nuts when either no Vic team plays in the GF, or it jumps on the bandwagon of the lone Vic team when playing an interstate team. This is obviously due to the local readership of such newspapers. The reality however, is that most Vic-based AFL fans generally support the interstate team, as we don't have to put up with the fans of the Vic team gloating, should their team win.

In the 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2007 GFs a Vic side played an interstate side and I barracked for the interstate side in 01, 02 and 03, because I couldn't stand the thought of Essendon or Collingwood winning, and many Vics were the same. In 2007 when we beat the Power, I think most of Vic were supporting the Cats as they hadn't won for 44 years, while Port won in 04, and most people can't stand Port anyway. You could say that this was similar to the Storm v Eels situation on the weekend.

The big difference between the NRL and the AFL is the television media. All the NRL commentators appear to be very Sydney-centric, and the commentary on Ch9 on Sunday was atrocious. I'm no NRL expert, but I am not aware of any Queensland commentators on Ch9 (correct me if I am wrong), except for Vautin, who doesn't appear to call the game any more.

Contrast that with the AFL coverage which includes McAvaney (SA), Commetti (WA), Russell (SA), etc who are not Victorian, to name but a few, and you see a very much more balanced view. Yes there are commentators who have conflicts or biases, and it often shows, but not to the extent of a whole commentary team holding its breath on every line break, tackle, or refereeing decision, praying it goes the way of the home team, as was the case in Sunday.

In the current day and age of football codes competing to expand their support base, I would have thought the last thing the NRL would have wanted was potential RL fans in Melbourne switching off because of the clear bias evident.
I don't understand, you said most of us were barracking for your team in a gf, but when it was Essendon no-one was? Most I know wanted Essendon to win, you're biased as hell mate.

You call me biased and the only reference you raise is Essendon in a GF ? Give me a break.

Most people didn't want Essendon to win in 2001, yet predictably the media got behind the Victorian team, just like they did in 2002 and 2003, despite most Vics dreading the possibility of a Collingwood premiership.

All but most non-Port supporters wanted Geelong to win in 2007 because of the comparative breaks between premierships, 44 years for Geelong, and 3 for Port.

Rank Immaturity showing in NRL