Game Day Rd 1 Roos v Crows..3qt...That young bloke No 29 can play.

Can't wait for tonight guys. I've lurked this board for years and love the gameday meltdowns...finally decided to create an account and join in. It will be a much better way to vent my frustrations than collecting my furniture in a pile to have a drunken bonfire after last year's prelim.

Welcome mate. Just make sure you carry on like a deranged maniac on the game day board or you'll feel left out.

Who plays on Betts is the biggest concern , happy for wright to get the job as long as the mids are doing their job pressure wise . The ones he gets out the back are a real worry

Bit of a worry when the bloke picked to be our #1 lock down small defender isn't an automatic choice for the teams best small forward.

Fundamentally there is something wrong with this.

I'm normally nervous, excited, apprehensive etc going into R1 and a new season. But at the moment I'm so calm and casual about things. Don't know why, maybe it's the R1 hoodoo thing and am just expecting a loss and that the 'proper season' will start next week.

Totally agree. He is very clean and quick in contested situations up the ground. Can lead and mark as well across half forward. THink he might go through the midfield on occasions when our mids like Jack and Cunners rest forward instead of going off the ground.

Will probably spark some confidence in him too, hopefully leading to more goals when he's deep fwd.
Love to see LT up in the midfield rotations. His vision and field kicking are excellent and he doesn't mind the body contact in there. He does have some selfish tendencies (Hi gibbo) so being that extra kick away from goal might help ease his hungry tendencies and I think we'd see his goal assists go through the roof. Also because he is a good overhead mark for his size, he often flies for balls when he should be crumbing off the big boys. Following the play from mid to forward and getting at the marking contests as the ball arrives could help him lose his opponent at times, make him very dangerous and hopefully allow him to still get his 2 goals per game average on top of the extra assists

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Bit of a worry when the bloke picked to be our #1 lock down small defender isn't an automatic choice for the teams best small forward.

Fundamentally there is something wrong with this.
Fundementally it's an opinion expressed by some random on an internet forum and means sfa.

My friends from Perth just landed on my doorstep and told me they thought it would be awesome to surprise me with a visit and a night out for dinner.

Great idea! D!ck heads.

I'm now relying on you my BF brethren to keep me updated during frequent toilet visits tonight.

My friends from Perth just landed on my doorstep and told me they thought it would be awesome to surprise me with a visit and a night out for dinner.

Great idea! D!ck heads.

I'm now relying on you my BF brethren to keep me updated during frequent toilet visits tonight.
Pie n Chips washed down with a half strength beer at the footy.

Dinner and a show o_O

Too easy.

Great idea! D!ck heads.

You're kidding. While the intentions are good, that's so friggin rude. Turn up at somebody's place on a Saturday, unannounced, and dictate their plans for the weekend.

IUB would have slammed the door in their faces.

You're kidding. While the intentions are good, that's so friggin rude. Turn up at somebody's place on a Saturday, unannounced, and dictate their plans for the weekend.

What's your address?

They're West Australians. If I'd slammed the door, they probably would have ducked and appealed for a free drink.

No excuses for the boys tonight. We have our best possible team in with possibly 1 or 2 finge selections that you could make an argument for one way or another but certainly nothing that would make a great difference to the final result.

Our backline is settled in its current form with stalwarts Thommo (worries me) and Spud (so composed and dependable, love him), Taz (was learning on the job last year and was excellent), Sammy Wright (who is massively underrated and is easily our best 2 sided player, sorry arjen), J-mac (injury free) and an improved Ats since his overdue dropping last year. Add in L-Mac who needs to really prove himself this year and I thought in the pre season showed a lot more intent to rebound 50 at speed and bang it 50m. I feel like they have some good improvement in them as a unit this year which will go along way to shoring up our main weakness.

From the centre we are extremely flexible with Dal, Gibbo and Jmac when on a wing being the fold back, help out the defense, stream forward types. Jacobs when in obviously being the hard lock down ninja. Spitter the pure contested beast/tackling machine. Wellsy, Ziebs and cunners resting forward switching with LT, higgo, Anderson and Garns having bursts in the midfield. With the odd one out having a rest or 2 resting if we have B.Brown on the ground in the 3 prong set up.

Add to that Drew being able to go back or in the ruck when required and B.Brown being able to ruck and Goldy being able to go forward if required (His finishing is brilliant for a big ruckman)

Then we have the boys like fishy and dumont along with a few others hopefully really pushing hard for a spot or at the very least finally all playing together in the 1 vfl side and building some chemistry.

All adds up to a side primed and ready for a proper crack at the cup. (F**k you kingy...) If the boys can do in the first half of this year what they did in the second half of last year (beat the teams we should beat). Then carry that momentum into the very tough but blockbuster filled second half of the year then we should give it a bloody good shake!!! Come on boys the glory days seem like a lifetime ago now.

Make. It. Happen!!!

No excuses for the boys tonight. We have our best possible team in with possibly 1 or 2 finge selections that you could make an argument for one way or another but certainly nothing that would make a great difference to the final result.

Our backline is settled in its current form with stalwarts Thommo (worries me) and Spud (so composed and dependable, love him), Taz (was learning on the job last year and was excellent), Sammy Wright (who is massively underrated and is easily our best 2 sided player, sorry arjen), J-mac (injury free) and an improved Ats since his overdue dropping last year. Add in L-Mac who needs to really prove himself this year and I thought in the pre season showed a lot more intent to rebound 50 at speed and bang it 50m. I feel like they have some good improvement in them as a unit this year which will go along way to shoring up our main weakness.

From the centre we are extremely flexible with Dal, Gibbo and Jmac when on a wing being the fold back, help out the defense, stream forward types. Jacobs when in obviously being the hard lock down ninja. Spitter the pure contested beast/tackling machine. Wellsy, Ziebs and cunners resting forward switching with LT, higgo, Anderson and Garns having bursts in the midfield. With the odd one out having a rest or 2 resting if we have B.Brown on the ground in the 3 prong set up.

Add to that Drew being able to go back or in the ruck when required and B.Brown being able to ruck and Goldy being able to go forward if required (His finishing is brilliant for a big ruckman)

Then we have the boys like fishy and dumont along with a few others hopefully really pushing hard for a spot or at the very least finally all playing together in the 1 vfl side and building some chemistry.

All adds up to a side primed and ready for a proper crack at the cup. (F**k you kingy...) If the boys can do in the first half of this year what they did in the second half of last year (beat the teams we should beat). Then carry that momentum into the very tough but blockbuster filled second half of the year then we should give it a bloody good shake!!! Come on boys the glory days seem like a lifetime ago now.

Make. It. Happen!!!

Obviously add Boomer into that forward/ mid mix as well...

I think there is a general overrating of Mullett's foot skills to be honest. He looks fantastic, but I don't think the results are what they should be.

If we were looking for an attacking wingman, the I think Fishy would be in.

The criticism of McDonald seems to be taking on a snowball effect, somewhat like the Gibson criticism. His disposal is no where near as bad as being made out. And for any calling nepotism or favoutism, this is a bloke who was dropped for two finals last year. And after having played a ripper against Sydney.
The prospectus agrees with you. Sure, cut him some slack for his fitness and continuity issues last season, but his good goal kicking from long range masks some ordinary use around the ground.

image.jpeg
McDonald also had a retention %age just under 70 which is subpar, but at least gained 130m more per game than fishy last year. To be fair, Mullett was definitely more effective as an attacking hb/wing in 2013/14 than last year but still not elite and Luke showed signs of improving ball use in the NAB I thought. No problem with fishy working on a few KPIs in the VFL to force his way in.

Bottom line, we're meeting the Crows on our terms (Etihad) tonight and, therefore, should win. If we don't, it will be hugely disappointing but not the end of the world. We lost to Port last year at Etihad and survived. That said, it goes without saying that it's very important for our season that we get up tonight. It's the strongest 22 NM have put on the park since 1999, I'd argue. If we can't win with this 22, we're toast! - maybe

They'll be hard to miss.

There's usually one on the bridge just before the NAB building. Also outside gate 4 typically I think.
Thanks but asking when they'll first be set up by. Want to get a membership and kick arse seats.

EDIT: all sorted.