• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL 2014 Thread

You have to also acknowledge that the RDFL was extremely poorly run back in the two division days. It was a bush league but the big clubs were spending more cash than the league itself turned over.

These days right across the board it's different, with paid administrators and staff and things are run much more professionally.

From the mid-90s, the "Riddell District" which spanned from Kilmore to Melton, has grown substantially. Each town has increased its population quite significantly.

A two division comp could work with the support of the heartland clubs. However, there would quickly be a divide between the two in terms of strength and I would be concerned that some clubs would simply fold in division two.

Not wanting to take a stab at any club in particular, but if say Wallan is struggling to recruit talent in the current competition, how the bloody hell is it going to recruit in a second division comp?

In those metro comps where there are three divisions, you often see the mercenaries come out to play at the lower end because they know the clubs are desperate to get anyone decent and therefore they can command a higher price.

The other issue I can see, and it happened a bit with Gisborne in the old days, is that a club like Riddell will be in division one and they'll simply go knocking on the doors of the good players from RDFL second division clubs, with the promise of some cash and the chance to play at the top level.

Second division footy just isn't sexy and selling it to those bottom clubs will be tough.

Without being a frequent face at games for a couple of years, it's hard to form a definite opinion, but it seems the league is doing OK as it is. The eastern clubs need to improve as I think the league needs one of Kilmore, Broadford or Wallan to lift the standard.

A strong Kilmore side will have a flow-on effect to Broadford and Wallan and vice-versa.

At the moment, the most aggressive clubs are the clubs playing finals. You can sit back and whinge about the tactics of Romsey or Riddell or Sunbury, or you can see that those clubs have winning as the priority.

A few others should take this on board.

Keep hearing all sorts of whispers about clubs/leagues being re-aligned in the not too distant future so may be a case of sitting off for another year or so.

In terms of Kilmore, Broadford (not sure about Wallan), there seems to be a real reluctance by those new to town to get involved locally. We're getting inundated by people leaving metro Melbourne for the cheaper real estate, but they still travel back for work and stay at their sporting clubs. We're becoming more and more a commuting society out here, so until these "new locals" can in some way be enticed to get involved in their new communities things wont change much.

From where I sit, Broadford should still be in the HDFL anyway :mad:

Should be a closer season than most people think. The two blues will be the big improvers, gonna show Lancefield money dosent buy you wins! Cant wait to play Broadford 'the snipers' Kangaroos....wonder how many blokes Garbo will line up:eek:

Quite a debut by the King, hang around we need more a presence on here from this area. Don't become a one hit wonder :thumbsu:

And king just where will Kilmores improvement come from? Recruits? Would have thought that they came at a price?

Do you have a degree in unintelligent posts?o_O When will clubs learn that you dont need money to have success, unless your Romsey 'all cashed up' Redbacks!! Lets all take time to laugh and point at Innovativefwd's failure of a wall post:(

Donna2 keep the RDFL exclusives coming, its great having such smart men at the helm coaching, its like being under Ross Lyon.

Do you have a degree in unintelligent posts?o_O When will clubs learn that you dont need money to have success, unless your Romsey 'all cashed up' Redbacks!! Lets all take time to laugh and point at Innovativefwd's failure of a wall post:(

Donna2 keep the RDFL exclusives coming, its great having such smart men at the helm coaching, its like being under Ross Lyon.

Well it's lucky I went light on you considering I find it quite ironic that you banter other clubs for recruiting via money yet your own club who let me remind failed to win a game or field an under 18's side last year is now somewhat spruiking improvement. I find it interesting just to note where you improvement is going to come from? And please don't tell me the kids when Sheldon is considering a possible move to Seymour as an option and Luke Crowley who was on the cards to return is more likely going to end up at Wallan. I would be more focused on retaining than bashing other clubs king. Whilst I'm on the topic, any of your recruits under 30 and not washed up NFL reserves players?

Thanks for your contribution, your time has been derely noted and your post put in the usual "Hume highway teams associated with riddle league clubs" January rubbish pile.

Well it's lucky I went light on you considering I find it quite ironic that you banter other clubs for recruiting via money yet your own club who let me remind failed to win a game or field an under 18's side last year is now somewhat spruiking improvement. I find it interesting just to note where you improvement is going to come from? And please don't tell me the kids when Sheldon is considering a possible move to Seymour as an option and Luke Crowley who was on the cards to return is more likely going to end up at Wallan. I would be more focused on retaining than bashing other clubs king. Whilst I'm on the topic, any of your recruits under 30 and not washed up NFL reserves players?

Thanks for your contribution, your time has been derely noted and your post put in the usual "Hume highway teams associated with riddle league clubs" January rubbish pile.

Want a tissue sweetheart?:( Luke 'the beast' Crowley is a Kilmore boy through and through, and we have Alex 'best under 20 player in the comp' Desmond at our disposal.

Doona2 wont give much info away regarding our recruits, playing his card close to his chest, I guess thats what good coaches do:) And it dosent help our juniors when GV clubs poach them all promosing them apprentiships/senior games and they never get them!!

PS Broadford suck

Meme-well-that-escalated-quickly.jpg

Want a tissue sweetheart?:( Luke 'the beast' Crowley is a Kilmore boy through and through, and we have Alex 'best under 20 player in the comp' Desmond at our disposal.

Doona2 wont give much info away regarding our recruits, playing his card close to his chest, I guess thats what good coaches do:) And it dosent help our juniors when GV clubs poach them all promosing them apprentiships/senior games and they never get them!!

PS Broadford suck

Didn't take long to work out the King aint even from Kilmore. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news mate but my goose was sadly cooked before season 2013 ended and Kilmore has a new coach this year. As much as I would've loved to have remained involved I'm not.

As far as "poaching" mate again if you knew me you'd know I'm all for young blokes trying to play better football and have always encouraged it. The hard thing these days is when you get 20 year olds with less ability than me asking for $150-200 a game with no runs on the board, or when clubs through fear of losing a "good kid" for a year or two offer crazy money to retain them. That's why young blokes are becomming just as "money driven" as those with actual football resumes.

Washed up nfl reserves players some people just have no idea about football actually makes me laugh about ten new players, one over thirty pretty much all played div 1 seniors and not just a couple of games .
Not saying anything about how good we will be besides we will win a game and we will be competetive I can promise that!!!!

Washed up nfl reserves players some people just have no idea about football actually makes me laugh about ten new players, one over thirty pretty much all played div 1 seniors and not just a couple of games .
Not saying anything about how good we will be besides we will win a game and we will be competetive I can promise that!!!!

Don't get sucked into the Kilmore King's game Tagmein, as soon as we beat Wallan Rd.1 we've improved massively on 2013 so anything after that will be a bonus :thumbsu:

Might as well have the bye first round, we shoud smash the magpies quicker than Josh 'the machine' Alam can bench out 15 reps of 120kg:thumbsu:

Ban the Burley in RDFL!

I forget the poster's alias, but this rings very similar to a visitor I reckon we had on these pages (and others) a year or two ago who kept banging on about all his ACK mates.

If you think Wallan will be a bye come round one with Sammy Rehexpi, Young Crowls and a few others into the Magpies picture then it's pretty obvious you're not from Kilmore at all and just having a bit of fun at a few young fella's expense ;)

haha no you wont get any complaints from me about the good operators of this comp as I beleive I am also one of them.lol. as u also kbow omni, I am a huge fan our our competition. It is marching ahead in leaps and bounds and rival competitions should be very envious. Not to forget also that the crowds in the rdfl are something for our neighbouring leagues to admire.

would a wise gent like yourself omni have any predictions for the upcoming season? Who will improve, drop off or maybe even beat your mob????? Or will it be the same 4 clubs again?????

Here's my very early Ladder prediction pal -

Riddell...........................64.
Diggers Rest...................60.
Romsey..........................48.
Rupertswood..................48.
Melton...........................36.
Sunbury.........................36.

Wallan............................28.
Broadford........................24.
Rockbank........................24.
Lancefield........................16.
Macedon..........................16.
Kilmore............................12.
Woodend...........................4.

Here's my very early Ladder prediction pal -

Riddell...........................64.
Diggers Rest...................60.
Romsey..........................48.
Rupertswood..................48.
Melton...........................36.
Sunbury.........................36.

Wallan............................28.
Broadford........................24.
Rockbank........................24.
Lancefield........................16.
Macedon..........................16.
Kilmore............................12.
Woodend...........................4.

I think your well and truly under estimating Kilmore with the recruits they have signed.

My predictions for 2014

Kilmore

It doesn't matter

Who cares

Not good enough

Blah

Missed the top five

Finished seventh

Why bother

No depth

Embarrassed

Rest dont even have teams in the league

Michael Berry sounds like something off dancing with the stars.

League B/F - Alex Desmond or Matt Lawson

League Goal kicking - Davison

Anyone got Practice matches lined up yet, or know of any?

I think your well and truly under estimating Kilmore with the recruits they have signed.

Let's just hope people haven't underestimated the footy in the RDFL ;)

A single win will be a massive improvement no doubt, 4-6 should be a realistic goal looking at the draw and knowing the opposition they're going to be pitted against.

At the risk of stating the bleeding obvious....
No one has ANY recruits pal till clearances open in Feb' !
I think I was pretty generous giving the perennial "Off Season Champions", Kilmore 3 wins after the crap they served up in 2013 ! :cool:

At the risk of stating the bleeding obvious....
No one has ANY recruits pal till clearances open in Feb' !
I think I was pretty generous giving the perennial "Off Season Champions", Kilmore 3 wins after the crap they served up in 2013 ! :cool:

Happy to take the three wins there is no way we will be champions ,
Our aim is five for the season

Kilmore 3 wins after the crap they served up in 2013 ! :cool:

Bit harsh mate, 6-8 kids each week shoulda been playing at 10am but chose to stay and help keep the doors of the club open, as well as all bar a few weeks where guys doubled up to ensure our main goal (not forfeiting a game) of 2013 was achieved.

Can't always be rosy mate, doing it tough never hurt anyone, shows great character what these young men did for not just me, but the local community last year when others wouldn't. At least we didn't take the easy option like a few other clubs have in the past and shut up shop for a period ;)

Happy to take the three wins there is no way we will be champions ,
Our aim is five for the season
With respect, I don't understand how you are aiming for 5 wins, everyone aims for finals, I know you don't want to set the bar too high but who aims to win 5 games? that's mediocrity at the highest level, what coach sits there & decides, we are going to aim to win 5 games for the year? if a coach was to give that forecast to a board at an interview, he would certainly not get the job, if he did then the board should stand down.

It's called common sense, Sylone! No good doing a Romsey 'the thugs' Redbacks and paying big bucks on blokes who arent going to hang around for more than 3 years. You watch in another year when the money runs out Romsey will be battling! Clubs who look for short term success and dont develop local talent get hurt in the long run!:eek:

Either way a very interesting season ahead.

RDFL 2014 Thread