RDFL 2016 Season discussion

Its all speculation, the RDFL is generally in good health, with only Rockbank just about ready 'to raise the white flag'. This is contrast to other goldfield leagues where the spend between clubs can be as much as six times higher than the lower teams and as many as five clubs are struggling.

Also the league and the clubs have very different agendas. There has been a big a emphasis on improving the lamentable participation rates in Melton, but from my club's point of view, I dont really see any benefit to us whether Melton succeeds or fails
Speaking of speculation, where'd you pull this from?

White flag as in shut up shop, or white flag as in a potential move elsewhere? If it's the latter then I'm hearing otherwise.
I believe the former, given the context of the statement which was more about teams in other Goldfield Leagues with Rockbank the only RDFL club in that boat.

As a former player, coach and committee member at Rockbank. I thought I would weigh into the conversation. The club hasn't had as successful year as it had hoped. However, from my chats within the club they are heading in the right direction. They have a plan where they as a club that want to go and are working feverishly towards it. They are not intending to fold as per the earlier posts to the best of my knowledge.

Additionally I look at some of folks posting think they should their blinkers off. As I can recall at least three RDFL clubs which having a minimum of a year in recess in the last 20-25 years or reforming as a different entity i.e. Macedon.

I believe the former, given the context of the statement which was more about teams in other Goldfield Leagues with Rockbank the only RDFL club in that boat.

I can assure you that Rockbank is not close to either the former or the latter.

Rockbank will be right, will struggle for a few years, but the league have talked about the strategic importance of Rockbank, the likely growth of the surrounding area and the need to keep the club established.
Established is not the same as being successful. It's another way of saying survive not thrive. If they do not get into the new millenium on that board they will not go anywhere. I don't care how many people they get from the new estate, Caroline springs is around the corner! Success is built on the people behind the scenes, look at Macedon! People on this thread (especially Deano) will agree that the new people on the board at Macedon have turned that club on its head from nothing!

Macedon refo
As a former player, coach and committee member at Rockbank. I thought I would weigh into the conversation. The club hasn't had as successful year as it had hoped. However, from my chats within the club they are heading in the right direction. They have a plan where they as a club that want to go and are working feverishly towards it. They are not intending to fold as per the earlier posts to the best of my knowledge.

Additionally I look at some of folks posting think they should their blinkers off. As I can recall at least three RDFL clubs which having a minimum of a year in recess in the last 20-25 years or reforming as a different entity i.e. Macedon.
Macedon reformed under 16's in 2001 buddy, 2003 they formed a senior and 18's side winning the grand final in the 18's in their second year and half of those kids were playing three games!

Macedon refo

Macedon reformed under 16's in 2001 buddy, 2003 they formed a senior and 18's side winning the grand final in the 18's in their second year and half of those kids were playing three games!
What's your name anyway? It's not you Lynchie? Hahahaha if it is I love ya! Love to know your era of success at the club if it's not you Lynchie! Hahahaha

Established is not the same as being successful. It's another way of saying survive not thrive. If they do not get into the new millenium on that board they will not go anywhere. I don't care how many people they get from the new estate, Caroline springs is around the corner! Success is built on the people behind the scenes, look at Macedon! People on this thread (especially Deano) will agree that the new people on the board at Macedon have turned that club on its head from nothing!
Macedon was what I was thinking of. In the 90's they had no money, they had no paid staff and the guys playing were playing just becuaue they wanted a game of footy, subsequently they were thrashed each week. But during that time, they built a camraderie and once the club had some money, they started to climb once more.

Burrs 2016.... This is our year

Macedon refo

Incorrect Macedon juniors had 16's going when the senior body folded coached them from 2000-2003.18's reformed 2002 seniors first season back 2003.No kid played 3 games a day in 2003,reason I know, coached the 18's in 2003-2008.

Riddell had a spell too and then reformed to be the most dominant team in the last dozen years.. not sure why anyone is quick to write off a club when they're going down hill.. the club has three netball teams and three football teams.. doesn't sound like a club that's struggling.. want to go to a great day of finals football? Rockbank ALWAYS put on one of the best days.. :)

I personally don't understand all this eastern ballarat crap. the clubs from melton darley sunbury ect moved away from the rdfl to go to a bigger league with clubs/towns that have the same population numbers. so the rdfl reinvents itself, makes it a great league and the clubs feel like a real community (credit must go to the current clubs/communities) and now the meltons, marsh ect wanna come back. give me a break, you make your bed you lie in it. leave the rdfl clubs/communities alone!
Agree you make your bed lie in it Well the rdfl clubs voted to join these other clubs in the goldfield league and when time comes whatever they decide will be will be see there really is no rdfl or Ballarat leagues it's the goldfields

Let's just wait and "TRUST" that the RDFL are working their butts off for "US" the key stakeholders in all this, as the clubs are the one's forking out the coin in league fee's and sooner or later I'm sure club presidents will unite and start pushing back. After all what's the point of a Board if all they are doing is going with whatever AFL GoldFields decide.

Let's not forget the junior arms in all this too, when it comes to voting I reckon they hold more sway so when I say presidents, I mean all presidents - juniors too.

The board is our representation, our voice, and presumably at all times work in the best interests of the RDFL going forward.

Admin wise, well we forfeit that right to look after ourselves back in 2009 or so and our then inability to deal with a pretty ordinary situation. To the best of my knowledge no one was ever brought to account thru any of that (Board included) so I highly doubt the RDFL in the short term future would have the Trust of AFL Vic anyway to run it's own show whilst there's still a smidge of Board presence from that dark period of 6-7 years ago ..... please correct me if I'm wrong or Admin edit.

I'm all for professional's to run the day to day operations and a user pays set-up as that's the world these days - but surely the clubs still have every right (when paying their own way for a service) to have fair dinkum input ..... that's where I can see continual issue's going forward.

Again happy for the Admin side of it, and robust conversations too. But when the communications often reflect a dictator type tone and no matter what you say they're not going to be listend to, then as volunteers I'm sure I'm not on my Pat Malone here asking "why do we bother"

Incorrect Macedon juniors had 16's going when the senior body folded coached them from 2000-2003.18's reformed 2002 seniors first season back 2003.No kid played 3 games a day in 2003,reason I know, coached the 18's in 2003-2008.
Of course you get on here and correct me beatson! Hahahaha sorry about the dates.

They played 3, I know because I played 3 games once back then! You coached me wombat! Ask Dinga hahahahaha

H
And as we get older another qtr and another goal gets added on! Everyone on here should know that! Hahahahaha

Last edited by a moderator:
Owing to the current condition of the oval at Salesian College, the Rupertswood FNC Home game against Romsey FNC on July 23rd has been moved to Clarke Oval, Sunbury. This change impacts across both Football & Netball, and has been updated in Sporting Pulse.
RDFNL Facebook page :)

I'm all for professional's to run the day to day operations and a user pays set-up as that's the world these days - but surely the clubs still have every right (when paying their own way for a service) to have fair dinkum input ..... that's where I can see continual issue's going forward.
Hopefully changing for the better in that regard, the Junior Advisory Group is being reconstituted to advise the league and board on matters junior. Composition of the JAG is yet to be decided. They may yet go with the old model of three reps, one for the big clubs, one for the medium sized clubs and a someone for the smaller clubs.

What about one for the poor buggers who can't field 4 netball teams and are asked to justify why they shouldn't be fined as a result :mad:

Sounds like a good step forward thought (bring back a J.A.G.) but I guess whoever the findings/recommendations are handed too still has to adopt them at the end of the day.

What about one for the poor buggers who can't field 4 netball teams and are asked to justify why they shouldn't be fined as a result :mad:
Even with a fine, you may end up ahead- at $700 a team for netball + umpire fees + costs associated with match day you would have to charge rego at $120 per player to break even. Compare that to the flat $70 charged per player by the MRNA, it becomes hard to explain why a footy/netball club has to charge $50 more per rego than the local netball association does, so a lot of clubs dont.

Sounds like a good step forward thought (bring back a J.A.G.) but I guess whoever the findings/recommendations are handed too still has to adopt them at the end of the day.
I think the league have realised that the strict enforcement of the junior review this year was a bit too harsh. I know of one team that was forced to play in a comp that they were really nowhere near, ended up getting smashed every week and as a result lost a lot of their players, including all their interleague reps. The JAG, amongst other things, is meant to address that sort of situation.

H

How bout giving a score
Sorry champ didn't realise I forgot to put the score down
Great team effort by broadford today and lead by captain josh pound who played a smashing captains game lance picione was dominant as was jimmy philpot and Justin Webb as broadfords midfield ripped into riddlle for four quarters young guns vilinkas and coppingham played like veterans as broadfords massive pressure took its toll riddlle players seem to get frustrated and started to turn the footy over and where punished each time
After that effort and they will improve further with holland and boyal to come back I reckon diggers better start to look back behind them because this isn't a one horse race ......

Bugger me what fantastic venues around this league. Beautiful sunny day and what a great venue out at Woodend. Good win for the boys as we get somewhere near back to full strength.

Remember Blake Laverie from his junior days in the EDFL and he was very good today for Woodend. 2nd look at Corey Grindlay and this kid can play. Has 17s finals coming up so will probably head back there soon, but a bright future ahead.

RDFL 2016 Season discussion