RDFL 2016 Season discussion

It gives me a warm feeling inside when you see teams actually get what they deserve and you see players thriving in a club they now call HOME.
A few more off season signings and the club from the NW will be sitting pretty for years to come.

Too right Auckmel was a cracking day at Woodend.18s a ripping contest with some very good young talent on show.Woodend getting a deserved victory in the last minute.
2s a close contest also decided under a kick.
Seniors was closer than the scoreboard indicates with both sides having a red hot go.Rexhepi a standout for pies.Gotta say even Semmo umpired well overall a good day of local footy.

Flicking through other results good to see Rockbank 2s having 1st win of year.Not so good to see Romsey 2s failing to score v Diggers 52 shots on goal.
Broadford ticking along nicely in seniors and look a serious threat.

Bugger me what fantastic venues around this league. Beautiful sunny day and what a great venue out at Woodend. Good win for the boys as we get somewhere near back to full strength.
Too right Auckmel was a cracking day at Woodend.
Seems everyone was at the GG today - I got down for the last quarter as well, Wallan looked very impressive

Was down watching the game today as well, just started on bigfooty have a couple of mates that play for different teams in the R.D.F.L
Wallan was a lot stronger then Woodend who tried hard all day. Laverie was an absolute star for Woodend and could play at a higher level no worries. Ben Toman is very good and also battled hard all day. The full forward for Wallan was awesome with some big goals, number 33 off halfback was good all day and number 6 in the middle seemed to get clearances whenever he felt like it. Cracking day

Flicking through other results good to see Rockbank 2s having 1st win of year.Not so good to see Romsey 2s failing to score v Diggers 52 shots on goal.
Broadford ticking along nicely in seniors and look a serious threat.
What a result the Broadford Riddell game was.
We're Riddell that bad?
Or were Broadford that good?
Looks like Broadford had control for most of the day
Big statement to the rest of the top 6 teams.

Sorry champ didn't realise I forgot to put the score down
Great team effort by broadford today and lead by captain josh pound who played a smashing captains game lance picione was dominant as was jimmy philpot and Justin Webb as broadfords midfield ripped into riddlle for four quarters young guns vilinkas and coppingham played like veterans as broadfords massive pressure took its toll riddlle players seem to get frustrated and started to turn the footy over and where punished each time
After that effort and they will improve further with holland and boyal to come back I reckon diggers better start to look back behind them because this isn't a one horse race ......
Josh Pound absolute superstar best player in the comp!

Keston, Skip, what was the theory behind Broadford receiving additional points ? How does that work in terms of player recruiting? You can pay more to get more in based on additional points ? Will this reduce if you and your team achieves the ultimate success or is it a year by year situation.

Something would have to horribly wrong for it not to be a diggers V broadford GF.

Looking through the points of each club, kangas 41 of allocated 42 and they dish up that crap ?? Not good signs at kanga land.

Terrific effort by Rockbank. Very tuff year but so full of character, is a great effort by all involved at the Rams.

Wallen appear to be on the verge of breaking their finals drought which is great for them and the RDFL !!

Keston, Skip, what was the theory behind Broadford receiving additional points ? How does that work in terms of player recruiting? You can pay more to get more in based on additional points ? Will this reduce if you and your team achieves the ultimate success or is it a year by year situation.

I'm not sure what you mean by PAY for more points. Because I don't think you can PAY for extra points
I'm not 100% over how the league allocate points to clubs but from the little I do know it's based on a few factors like, population, on field success previously, juniors, etc.
Can anyone else help me out to explain??

I'm not sure what you mean by PAY for more points. Because I don't think you can PAY for extra points
I'm not 100% over how the league allocate points to clubs but from the little I do know it's based on a few factors like, population, on field success previously, juniors, etc.

I'm sure if teams have success then this would be taken into account when points are allocated next year
We may of recieved extra points because we haven't really had any success since we re joined the RDFNL.. Except making the preliminary final last year.
And been on the end of some big hidings since 2009.

Points are based on population and future growth. past success juniors I believe as for paying for points that's not correct also all sides based on current points will be reduced in the next three seasons on a overall scale not on success not sure but I think it's a reduction of two points per season
There would also be dispensation I'm guessing if you are in trouble ie rock bank ...
Clubs should all be in a better position next year if they resign recruits as they would have reduced by a point
Perhaps if there is any one on the site with the maths for this can post it

Points are based on population and future growth. past success juniors I believe as for paying for points that's not correct also all sides based on current points will be reduced in the next three seasons on a overall scale not on success not sure but I think it's a reduction of two points per season
There would also be dispensation I'm guessing if you are in trouble ie rock bank ...
Clubs should all be in a better position next year if they resign recruits as they would have reduced by a point
Perhaps if there is any one on the site with the maths for this can post it
Yeah - the point allocations will be going down over the next couple of years. Points were allocated this year as if everyone had transferred in and regardless of whatever point value they had, which is based firstly on whether you came from your junior club and then from the strength of any previous competition. You lose a point every year until you hit one point. clubs with weak or non-existant jjuniors will always have more points

Tony Clarke Reserve isn't the best playing surface in the competition at the moment with the heavy rain and snow in recent weeks and increase of traffic, but Macedon achieved something super unique against the Centrals yesterday.. it kicked 17 goals from as many scoring shots from the first term into the third term.. moving from 2.2 to 19.3 .. the second term had them kick 12 straight goals from 14 inside 50s at an area of the ground that could have easily resulted in 12 straight points, it was so bad.. Cooke kicked 7 straight, and Goodwin and Knox kicked 5 straight each.. one sided games are hard to watch but you'd be hard pressed to find that level of accuracy in any game .. it was extraordinary!

Not with the fantastic list Diggers have
They are unbeaten and surely the best team in the comp
Having said that though the Roos are in good form
And Macedon and diggers are still the ones to catch imo

Romsey had Diggers on the ropes for almost 3 qtrs. A couple of things went diggers way and they managed to break away. If that's the best Diggers can dish up against Romseys very young inexperienced side missing both Burketts, engrave Broadfords name on the cup

I personally don't understand all this eastern ballarat crap. the clubs from melton darley sunbury ect moved away from the rdfl to go to a bigger league with clubs/towns that have the same population numbers. so the rdfl reinvents itself, makes it a great league and the clubs feel like a real community (credit must go to the current clubs/communities) and now the meltons, marsh ect wanna come back. give me a break, you make your bed you lie in it. leave the rdfl clubs/communities alone!
I think you will find that these clubs only left the RDFL because there was 2 divisions with only 6 or 7 teams in 1st division and the only club with enough balls to accept promotion to 1st division was Riddell.It was not much of a league when they were playing each other 3 times in a season not including finals.

Just to present the accurate history
The Last side to accept promotion was Diggers in 1994 and they copped real hidings for 2 years.
Ridell went into recess for a year and Lancefield decided to only field Under 18s and then Macedon restructured just to survive.
Thank god the supposed bigger clubs went elsewhere otherwise we would not have the great competition we have now, some of our clubs would not be here.

Scrolling thru playing lists, points worth etc etc last night and I feel for you blokes who are obviously picking teams with a calculator this year.

Tell me, would it be likely that come finals a team may run out with 21 (or even 20) if it means getting near your best team available to actually run out. Reason I ask is a couple of teams seem right on the cusp each week with players worth more than one point not playing either injured, unavailable or being left out I assume for points or to save a few bob.

Scrolling thru playing lists, points worth etc etc last night and I feel for you blokes who are obviously picking teams with a calculator this year.

Tell me, would it be likely that come finals a team may run out with 21 (or even 20) if it means getting near your best team available to actually run out. Reason I ask is a couple of teams seem right on the cusp each week with players worth more than one point not playing either injured, unavailable or being left out I assume for points or to save a few bob.

I don't think you can run out with less than a full compliment of 22 players mate

Is that written somewhere? I reckon we ran with 21 a few times last year, and I had in seasons prior too

I remember reading something in the Addy with Paul Hamilton saying that it was not allowed.

Years ago up home where we have had the points system for years sides would regularly play 1 or 2 short in order to get under the points cap.

I'll see what I can dig out for you mate

RDFL 2016 Season discussion