RDFL 2016 Season discussion

Great result for Diggers and well deserved.Thought game was boring really to last 10 mins of game proper and then extra time was exciting.Great respect for Riddell as they produced a fine effort against the odds.Ground was very good along with umpires.

Rdfl big footy awards

B&f Chrisdaledge Always informative and positive well done

Most consistent Doona 2 Always forthright and informative a key player

Best first year player :Auckmel

Most determined:Keston He keeps on punching regardless of criticism.as much as I disagreed with plenty of his comments I found some of the personal attacks on him pathetic.

Great result for Diggers and well deserved.Thought game was boring really to last 10 mins of game proper and then extra time was exciting.Great respect for Riddell as they produced a fine effort against the odds.Ground was very good along with umpires.

Hats of to Diggers, especially all those who have been there for the entire time it's taken to win the holy grail. Spewing I didn't see Thommo out there in either side though, don't know many over that way but the old fella in the #6 was one I wished have been part of it when it happened.

Gotta also pay respect to Jamie Elliott and that brave young Riddell group. I said it last week and again yesty, to get what I reckon was the 4th/5th best list in it this year to within 90secs of glory was a fair coaching feat if you ask me.

Cold as a witches tit there yesty but the masses weren't put off, another good crowd and another well constructed day by all involved.

Hands up who got a seat to the buffet for lunch, fair improvement on the old party pie/club sanga offerings thru the season proper :p

Rdfl big footy awards

B&f Chrisdaledge Always informative and positive well done

Most consistent Doona 2 Always forthright and informative a key player

Best first year player :Auckmel

Most determined:Keston He keeps on punching regardless of criticism.as much as I disagreed with plenty of his comments I found some of the personal attacks on him pathetic.

Ha ha cheers mate, been a while since I won anything other than criticism ..... and my early 2017 tip is for IMS to wrestle the title off ThaLedg

Well done to Andrew Saladino on winning our B & F last night. Great bloke who was stiff not to make TOYR.
Top effort to come back after missing the last 2 seasons with knee reco's

Stiff to miss Team of the Year if you ask me. I remember a young Saladino running around at Heathcote in the 2007/2008 period, was certainly capable back then and the 3 times I saw Wallan this year he was very good.
Get a good pre-season into him and 2017 will be even better

Hats off to Romsey and those involved to get the ground in the nick it was in. With the weather that came right up until game day the ground was really playable...terrific stuff. Well done to Rupo and Diggers in the reserves, very good performances and scored well considering showing they were the best all year. Agree the game itself never really reached any great heights the scoreline and suspense was the best part. Looked like Diggers tightened up throughout the game and never converted their opportunities which gave the Bombers a sniff with the pressure they were applying. Once Diggers could get the ball on the outside they seemed to link very well and to the Bombers credit they just hung in there and took the opportunities when they had them. Tuckey turned back the clock imo took some telling marks and kicked the big goals. They nearly blew it Diggers, but when the best team in the comp wins the flag you can't complain. Plenty flying around about coaches of some teams on the day and player movement. IT never stops!

Plenty flying around about coaches of some teams on the day and player movement. IT never stops!

Not surprised, I've said for years the RDFL should have a pre-Xmas trade period as there ain't a comp like it for guys who have no qualms about playing against previous team mates if the $$$ are right :p

What an amazing way to finish 2016!!

A fantastic game of football with two sides going toe to toe until the final siren.

1st Quarter

Frenetic opening quarter, both sides physical at the contest, the Bombers kicking with the aide of a slight breeze started the game well, an early goal to Jimmy Nolan got the ball rolling after he got out the back unchecked. The Burras responded quickly through a strong contested mark to Brent Tuckey who finished strongly. After that, the Burras wasted several opportunities going forward before the Bombers were able to rebound to the other end and pick up a goal through a booming Jimmy Nolan kick, worrying enough for the Burra to move Matty Krul out of the ruck and back onto Nolan. After missing more opportunities at goal, the Bombers were able to get the last goal of the quarter to Benny Said and the Bombers took a 9 point lead into quarter time.

2nd Quarter

The Burra opened up strongly, a goal to Brent Tuckey in the opening 5 minutes put the Burra within a couple of points and he seemed to be getting the better of the match up with Ben Sonogan, but it wasn't until midway through the quarter when Jason Williams put the Burra in front. Lachy Henson goaled to put the Bombers back in front before Brayden Allen was yellow carded 22 minutes into the 2nd quarter for an undisciplined act and the Burra tied the game up at half time.

3rd Quarter

The Burra looked to take advantage of the extra man early in the third quarter, goals to Michael Evans and Shane Marchewka took them out to a 12 point lead and the game was in danger of slipping away from the Bombers, but a Paul Sahlberg led charge saw the Bombers hit back, goals to Sahlberg and Nolan before Cam McCabe responded for the Burra followed by a goal to Stancombe to level the scores minutes after he was flattened by Nolan. Mick Kilty put the Burras back in front as the quarter went goal for goal, but the return of Brayden Allen to the field saw the Bombers lift. Nolan kicked a ripper sneaking forward from the ruck, Mick Kilty was sent off at a vital stage and Stancombe kicked a second of the quarter and a brilliant snap goal from Paul Sahlberg saw the Bombers take a 13 point lead into the final change.

4th Quarter

Cam McCabe started the final term with a bang, kicking the opening goal 6 minutes into the quarter as the game turned into an arm wrestle. The Bombers locked the ball in their front half for much of the next 10 minutes before a goal to Brian Ruffell who had struggled all day boosted the Bombers and gave them a 13 point lead with 5 minutes to go. The Bombers worked hard defensively and looked to have the game covered before Mick Kilty stepped up and re-payed his teammates for his send off with a strong mark and kick to bring the Burra back to within a kick. From the restart, it was Cam McCabe again who burst from the centre and the Burras were able to find Mick Kilty inside forward 50 again, he kicked truly to tie the game up. Unfortunately a little confusion with the scoreboard had the Burra up by one point as they put players behind the ball, the Burras went forward again and the clearing kick landed in the arms of Tom Gleeson 60 out from goal when the siren sounded, the Burras thought they had the game won, but the scoreboard had been re-adjusted to show the tied game.

1st Extra Time

Early in the first extra time, desperation from Cam Casson saw him rewarded with a free kick 20 out from goal and he kicked truly, the remainder of the time was a lot of heavy legged players before a late snap from Nathan Croft saw the Bombers snatch a 7 point lead.

2nd Extra Time

The Burras were desperate early and eventually broke through, a long kick to Morton in a one on one in the goal square spilt to Tuckey who snapped truly to bring the margin back to one point. The Bombers managed a point themselves to take their lead to 2 points before Jason Williams broke free inside 50 and kicked truly, giving the Burra a 5 point lead. The final score of the day was a behind to Brent Tuckey and the following kick in landed in the arms of Jamie Lobb when the final siren sounded. The Burras winning the 2016 premiership and their first flag since 1993..

Taylor Hine - Best on Ground Medal
Cam McCabe - VCFL Medal

Diggers Rest Best Players (IMO)
Taylor Hine, Cam McCabe, John Ryan, Cale Morton, Brandon Kilty

Riddell Best Players (IMO)
Matt Pannuccio, Paul Sahlberg, Brayden Allen, James Nolan, Tim Walsh.

Congrats to Shaun Sims and the Diggers Rest FNC on wins in both the Seniors and Reserves, the best side for the year and well deserved premiers.

On a personal note, I just want to say a massive congratulations to Chris "Yeendy" Yeend. His passion for the competition and the people in it is unmatched. His commitment to his radio calls and making the days special for those participants is phenomenal. I believe Yeendy might be hanging up the cans, if that's the case, it will be a significant loss to game days in the RDFNL. You are a absolutely a legend Yeendy and deserve all the kudos that could come your way. From me personally, I want to thank you for everything you do to help make our league great.
FREAK!

To a degree perhaps but I guess there's only one gig per club as opposed to 22 senior spots for players.

Anyway how are we looking men? Feel free to Fill in any gaps if you can ...

Broadford - ???
Wallan - Nolan
Romsey - ???
Lancefield - ???
Riddell - Elliott
Macedon - ???
Diggers - Sims
Rupo - Fitzy
Centrals - ???
Kanga's - Dixon
Rockbank - ???
Woodend - ???

My assumption is that Ross Sleight will go around again at the Hawks. I would expect Joffa to go around at Macedon again also.

Sure was a strange end to the season, obvious the weather, the conditions and the plan by Riddell to annoy the crap outta Diggers all day with pressure and taking the game on allowed for it to be a close contest. Credit to Diggers who ended up winning the season however I bet for 10 minutes the bloke who had the ball at the original siren who kicked it sideways in celebration instead of shooting at goal may have been a little worried about the result in extra time.

Didn't like the two undisciplined actions by players on either side that nearly cost the winning side and effectively could have cost Riddell who had to move Nolan into the Ruck and lost him as a forward on a day when Ruffell was not at his best.

Loved the Rabbit on the ground, thought the umpiring was alright and not worth commenting on, the food was great, the beer was cold and albeit for a few flog supporters who can't not smoke for 2 hours and who think it is compulsory to swear and carry on all day it was an enjoyable experience.

Looking forward to 2017, new coaches, new players, players moving because they think they are worth more, or their club thinks they are not worth that, lets see all clubs get within the salary and points cap with what they have on their list and game on.

As the hosting club it was very pleasing to receive so much positive feedback from many of the competing clubs, RDFNL officials and spectators on the condition of the oval & court & how well we run the day, a great testament to our committee and band of proud & loyal Redback players, supporters and many many volunteers who all helped make the day run smoothly for all to enjoy.

The weather didn't dampen our enthusiasm to put on the best day for all football & netball fans which I think we achieved, again.

Many thanks must go to the MRSC ground maintenance crew and their sludge pumps, plus the dedication of a small band of our Web Club boys, and to Stuart Braddy for the loan of the hand super sopper we removed hundreds & hundreds of litres of water leading up Sunday, to present the ground the best it could be given the unprecedented amount of rain we had leading up to weekend.

We take the responsibility of hosting the GF seriously and hope that for anyone who attended and there were a lot of you, more than last year I believe, despite the predicted weather, that you were all able to have a great vantage point, hot food, a cold bevvy or a hot coffee or two and were able to just enjoy the spectacle and a great day out was had by all.

Congratulations to all the winning teams.

One League One Dream!

Interesting conversations around salary cap and contracts that have to be indorsed by league feathers are being ruffled this needs really good clarification at club level and to players
On other fronts could be some interesting coaching moves and appointments about to be announced....

Interesting conversations around salary cap and contracts that have to be indorsed by league feathers are being ruffled this needs really good clarification at club level and to players
On other fronts could be some interesting coaching moves and appointments about to be announced....
Come on Keston shed some light on the coaching moves who doing Romsey?

Is there any news on player, coaches movements doing the rounds?? Are Melton,Romsey,Rockbank close to announcing coaches yet??? Does anybody know of any front runners for these jobs???

Come on Keston shed some light on the coaching moves who doing Romsey?
Don't know who's coaching romsey but they are having a change
Also couple other big movers soon to be announced.. Not my place to announce it so don't ask...

Cmon who's got other gossip :)

RDFL 2016 Season discussion