• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL 2017 Season discussion

A club struggling to stay afloat and your main concern is how its an inconvenience for Rupo having a late start.
All clubs have different ways of attempting to build lists and quite frankly I do recall reading several posters concerns some time ago to do with this club, yes it is hard times that they are struggling, however ones own club must be the main priority which was obviously the case when they decided to recruit broken down AFL players and outsiders that were there for a good dollar and nout else.

Sounds harsh but so be it.

League needs to sort this out quick smart as with no Broadford games that weekend Rupo won't start til Anzac day on the 25th April?

So this aint about an 127 year club staying afloat anyway they can, it's more about Rupo potentially not playing a game until Anzac Day which is just devastating.
And there lie's the problem I reckon. Far too many people want anyone deemed not worthy to their "elitist" standards to simply bugger off and let the big boys play together.

Too many front runners in local footy these days. Not enough people have actually dug deep (or are prepared to), or have experienced rock bottom so until you have you'll never truly get it.

At Kilmore in 2013 we didn't win a game, competitive at times but couldn't get a win. The most embarrassed for my wife and kids, and upset I have even been was the day we visited Broadford when even folk I thought were our friends treated us with utter disregard .... but you know what, we boxed on, players "chose" to double up whenever required to ensure the club kept going and that season meant more to me than nearly another I've ever experienced.

I'll say it again, football and football clubs don't build characters, they reveal them ...... in so many ways!!!

I wish I knew what the answer was so Rupo can not over order for the canteen etc., but maybe the fact there is no news yet means the club is genuinely trying everything they can to try and run out with more than one team Satdy week.
And if it is only one, then from where I sit that's better than a club not running out at all.

All clubs have different ways of attempting to build lists and quite frankly I do recall reading several posters concerns some time ago to do with this club, yes it is hard times that they are struggling, however ones own club must be the main priority which was obviously the case when they decided to recruit broken down AFL players and outsiders that were there for a good dollar and nout else.

Sounds harsh but so be it.

Not harsh at all, you make your bed you lie it some often say. Good, bad or otherwise all actions and choices have consequences, but for now what's done is done, and who didn't want to play there, who didn't get along with one another etc have moved on for whatever reasons

You can only work with what's left and willing to walk thru the front gate, and time will tell how that's gunna play out.

So this aint about an 127 year club staying afloat anyway they can, it's more about Rupo potentially not playing a game until Anzac Day which is just devastating.
And there lie's the problem I reckon. Far too many people want anyone deemed not worthy to their "elitist" standards to simply bugger off and let the big boys play together.

Too many front runners in local footy these days. Not enough people have actually dug deep (or are prepared to), or have experienced rock bottom so until you have you'll never truly get it.

At Kilmore in 2013 we didn't win a game, competitive at times but couldn't get a win. The most embarrassed for my wife and kids, and upset I have even been was the day we visited Broadford when even folk I thought were our friends treated us with utter disregard .... but you know what, we boxed on, players "chose" to double up whenever required to ensure the club kept going and that season meant more to me than nearly another I've ever experienced.

I'll say it again, football and football clubs don't build characters, they reveal them ...... in so many ways!!!

I wish I knew what the answer was so Rupo can not over order for the canteen etc., but maybe the fact there is no news yet means the club is genuinely trying everything they can to try and run out with more than one team Satdy week.
And if it is only one, then from where I sit that's better than a club not running out at all.

Nah mate, not worried about the canteen, the bar sales nor merchandise, have 70 blokes that want to play footy next week, have trained hard for 6 months and they just wanna play, lets hope they get up 3 sides and more importantly lets hope they get help off the field, spread the work load and keep ticking along.

Sometimes like you mentioned about Kilmore it is not about winning the flag, it is about staying afloat and boxing on and ensuring you are fishing for the future and not just blowing the shizen outta the reef and killing all the fish like they look to have done here.

Lets play football

Doon, would it be fair to say that it has been a struggle for BFNC as far back as the end of the WNEFL in '75 ?

Nah not really. Think the club won 3 (definately 2) senior flags in their first go at the RDFL, maybe 2-3 ressies as well. Back then the 2-tiered thing was a massive rise from Div.2 up to Div.1 hence the move to the HDFL in 1985.
The club regularly played finals throughout their 23-24 years in the HDFL, collected a senior flag (lost 3 GF's), 3 reserves flags (lost 3 GF's), as well as I think a dozen 3rd XVIII titles (with 2 GF losses).

Netball won a few as well, and individually across the grades no less than 10 comp medal winners also ..... I'd say that period was a pretty good one. I've been saying since 2005 when the then VCFL disbanded the Central Goulburn FL that a comp encompassing the local cricket and junior football boundaries up this way would be a rippa.

Kilmore, Broadford, Nagambie, Avenel, Yea, Alex, Thornton, Longwood, even Bonnie Doon perhaps woulda worked I thought. Call it something like Seymour DFL, use Kings Park as your GF venue, maybe house the admin and then maybe club's woudl share some of the rivalries a lot of you do from your junior footy and local cricket circles.

Sadly I couldn't never get the concept to grow legs ..... :disrelieved:

Nah not really. Think the club won 3 (definately 2) senior flags in their first go at the RDFL, maybe 2-3 ressies as well. Back then the 2-tiered thing was a massive rise from Div.2 up to Div.1 hence the move to the HDFL in 1985.
The club regularly played finals throughout their 23-24 years in the HDFL, collected a senior flag (lost 3 GF's), 3 reserves flags (lost 3 GF's), as well as I think a dozen 3rd XVIII titles (with 2 GF losses).

Netball won a few as well, and individually across the grades no less than 10 comp medal winners also ..... I'd say that period was a pretty good one. I've been saying since 2005 when the then VCFL disbanded the Central Goulburn FL that a comp encompassing the local cricket and junior football boundaries up this way would be a rippa.

Kilmore, Broadford, Nagambie, Avenel, Yea, Alex, Thornton, Longwood, even Bonnie Doon perhaps woulda worked I thought. Call it something like Seymour DFL, use Kings Park as your GF venue, maybe house the admin and then maybe club's woudl share some of the rivalries a lot of you do from your junior footy and local cricket circles.

Sadly I couldn't never get the concept to grow legs ..... :disrelieved:

Totally agree on the SDFL - would have been grand

Heard today our 18s will have 4 byes this year. :eek:

Micheal Mannix named senior captain for 2017. Daniel Mackertich, Luke Zerella, Todd Muldoon, Danny O'Sullivan and Shaun Stewart make up the rest of the leadership group.

Nathan Fowler named captain if the 18s along With Micheal Tabbaco and Graeme Torney captain of the reserves.

Heard today our 18s will have 4 byes this year. :eek:

Micheal Mannix named senior captain for 2017. Daniel Mackertich, Luke Zerella, Todd Muldoon, Danny O'Sullivan and Shaun Stewart make up the rest of the leadership group.

Nathan Fowler named captain if the 18s along With Micheal Tabbaco and Graeme Torney captain of the reserves.
I wouldn't think Nathan would be playing many under 18 games, however it is a great achievement for him !

Great post Doona.

Any clubs have final pre-season hit outs this weekend or all take a collective deep breath before $hit gets real in 6 sleeps

Macedon played Kyneton up there and got done by about 14 goals, Kyneton look pretty slick, have got two young blokes from Benalla who look good, Weightman looked good for Tigers also and Macedon, well I am not sure what they took out of it. Still don't see any merit in playing trial games where ya get smashed the week before ya start, however maybe they expected to get closer. Didn't seem to have much support if any for waters in the ruck and not sure how full strength they were, Neither Dick nor Harrison played and Nipper Wright looks like the player who had a year off.

Let the real stuff begin.

Riddell play on the weekend? Who have they played in their hit outs?