RDFL 2017 Season discussion

Interesting comments from Sims on player points re under 18 players who are worth extra points. Unfair maybe for the kids but if he is so worried about their development then recruitment decisions at the start of the year could help them fit in the adopted kids.

Every team in the top 6 played with 38 points or more on the weekend. Many of the teams outside the top 6 played with more. Even Rupo with their endless stream of juniors have publicly questioned the way these kids points are being judged.

The system is fair enough in my opinion but Sims and other coaches who have spoken out recently are correct. It is being applied too harshly. If the kids have been at a club 3-4 seasons then it is too harsh for them to still be 3-4 points.

Every team in the top 6 played with 38 points or more on the weekend. Many of the teams outside the top 6 played with more. Even Rupo with their endless stream of juniors have publicly questioned the way these kids points are being judged.

The system is fair enough in my opinion but Sims and other coaches who have spoken out recently are correct. It is being applied too harshly. If the kids have been at a club 3-4 seasons then it is too harsh for them to still be 3-4 points.
Interesting that Romsey sit at around the 25point mark most weeks. I think Woodend are around the same.

So every player at romsey bar perhaps one or two are one pointers looking through the list can tell you if that's the case some one hasn't reported the correct figures on player rankings to the rdfl two years ago your base is 22 points for 22 players unless every recruit still at the club from last year didn't Finnish high in the best and fairest or was a two pointer and all this years recruits had to be a minimum 3 points think you may need to re calculate or you need new batteries in your calculator .

Player points are correct.
Just had a look . Can you see any that have the incorrect point value?
15 players from saturdays team are products of the Jnr club.

This rule has been around for ages clubs have adapted to it in the past to qualify players for 18's finals while also playing seniors Macedon did with Wright, Dettman, Markworth and the like, Riddell did with Robbo, Petran, Climas and co and Woodend/Hesket with Bowen, Stacey, Downing and co, just needs forward planning.

The rule has changed. As soon as the player plays 8 games they over qualify for seniors unless seniors are still in the finals. Doesn't matter about doubling up or stepping on the ground in the early game. If that was the case I agree you could manage it through forward planning.

Player points are correct.
Just had a look . Can you see any that have the incorrect point value?
15 players from saturdays team are products of the Jnr club.
Fair enough then and seeing so many locals playing is fantastic lots of ripper kids there guess that leaves lots of room to top up in coming years and have a real crack curiously the other seven are they one pointers now due to longevity They are having a ripper year may find as the season gets longer may struggle a bit but getting these games in will hold them in good stead for the future .

Can anyone explain how the extra points work for B/F players leading goal kicker league B/f or top 3-10 etc little confusing

Fair enough then and seeing so many locals playing is fantastic lots of ripper kids there guess that leaves lots of room to top up in coming years and have a real crack curiously the other seven are they one pointers now due to longevity They are having a ripper year may find as the season gets longer may struggle a bit but getting these games in will hold them in good stead for the future .
Three have been at the club for four plus years.
One hasn't played in the last ten years.(since under 12s) The others have dropped down this year.

Three have been at the club for four plus years.
One hasn't played in the last ten years.(since under 12s) The others have dropped down this year.
Interesting remember having the discussion on this site that even if the player had played a extended period at a club and had played higher level or same comp that points reduction was only 1 point when the system kicked in
This is not pointed at romsey head shot just a thought
Is this policed and checked or is the club just trusted to give the correct facts

The rule has changed. As soon as the player plays 8 games they over qualify for seniors unless seniors are still in the finals. Doesn't matter about doubling up or stepping on the ground in the early game. If that was the case I agree you could manage it through forward planning.

So who ok'd the change to the rule? Surely the club's were consulted and if was voted on by nominated representative?

Hey guys, the 100.7 Highlands FM broadcast team is really lacking volunteer presenters and because of this; for the first time ever; will not be able to field a broadcast team this weekend due to a handful of unavailable people and will not broadcast a match for the first time since full-time broadcasting commenced in 2011. If anyone is interested in getting involved in the future, please flick through an email to yours truly - chris.yeend@hotmail.com
I can't imagine a league being strong without a radio team covering matches each week and given my role with work.. it's horrible to see :(

Another round of Rdfl and results as per expected.Only caught 2nd half Wallan v Diggers and though they may not quite be as strong as last year Diggers still a good side.Just confirms my earlier thoughts that its Macedon long way in front with Diggers clear 2nd and the rest just making up numbers.Was surprised to see Sims outside the fence and appeared the assistant was coaching not Sims?Not sure who spoke at the breaks.Diggers ruckman a class above this comp and for Wallan good to see 4 u18s playing also.

Who is rucking for Diggers?

Pretty sure Sean Egan was in there.

Thought all our 18s played well and it was good to see them not take a backward step when niggled early in the game. Corey Grindlay continues to shine and I thought he was only beaten by Keegan Marc for BOG honours. Maloney looks a real prospect and worked gallantly in the ruck.

On the downside, disappointing to see a spectator enter the field of play and get involved in some push and shove.

Thought all our 18s played well and it was good to see them not take a backward step when niggled early in the game. Corey Grindlay continues to shine and I thought he was only beaten by Keegan Marc for BOG honours. Maloney looks a real prospect and worked gallantly in the ruck.

On the downside, disappointing to see a spectator enter the field of play and get involved in some push and shove.

Cheers mate.

As most of,you know I'm an outsider but very keen observer of your great league. Is,it unfair of me to say that it seems as though the RDFL experiences more,than its fair share of unsavoury spectator type incidents. I played almost 20 years of senior footy and never once had a spectator involved in an incident with a player

The Riddell District Football Netball League has been made aware of an incident involving a spectator entering the ground during the senior match between Wallan and Diggers Rest on Saturday. Both clubs have been contacted in relation to the incident, and the league will be launching an official investigation.
Any one see this can add ?

- Yeah was Sean Egan in the ruck most of the day by the look of it. From the outside it looked like the niggle went both ways. Good contest early but faded late.

Deck looks in great Nick, not wet or Sandy.

A spectator entering the field should never happen.. thats poor form by that individual, I know the game is an emotional outlet for most of us but thats too far.

- Yeah was Sean Egan in the ruck most of the day by the look of it.

He was very good.
From the outside it looked like the niggle went both ways.

I'd be disappointed if our boys just copped it, so yea agreed.

Good contest early but faded late.

Probably our best start to a game this year and just couldn't maintain it.

Deck looks in great Nick, not wet or Sandy.

Yep.

A spectator entering the field should never happen.. thats poor form by that individual, I know the game is an emotional outlet for most of us but thats too far.

Absolutely. Nothing gives anyone the right to enter the field of play.

Seen a lot of deleted comments on this topic dont know if from mods or pi55 weak posters but northern footy league have the 23rd player rule to help the under 19's play senior footy with no points counted! But seems to me your league is run by another league who could not give a flying f who you are but they tell me your money does a great lunch on grand final day so keep on spending posters!!

You always have a way with words but I must say your onto something here what a ripper idea so cmon clubs put it up there have in introduced this season your in charge ( well maybe ) 23 rd man under 18.5 player very clever .

Geez there has been some ordinary tribunal suspensions handed out over the time in the RDFNL
But 4 weeks that has been handed down to jimmy Philpott is an absolute disgrace
He received a free for head high contact then he's pulled down to the floor by his jumper he holds the offending player down with his hand on the neck
No punches thrown by jimmy and he gets 4 weeks
F$$king seriously
The tribunal need to not get caught up in their own importance
Watch the game video on line
I think about the end of the 2nd qtr
I'd really like others opinions or am I just totally outdated with today's game and rules.
Can you appeal
Of course you can for a lazy $5k
What a joke