RDFL 2017 Season discussion

Very glad I've found a new home after the footage of James Philpott holding a man down that clipped him on the side of the head and then received a 4 week suspension.

After 30 plus years being around the rdfl on and off I have seen more bias umpiring and tribunal decisions than the naked eye has probably ever seen, so I ask this?????

When was the last time an umpire or tribunal member was made accountable in this comp?

My new comp has a head of umpiring ring me and every other coach in the league every Sunday morning for feedback on the umpiring and when it's not up to scratch the umpires are reprimanded or dropped.

Umpires are hard to come by so the rdfl just back them and don't give a Damn about the clubs involved. Very nice to be out of this incest

About a month ago I was talking to a very experienced umpire. He told me it would be is last senior game as the league was going to give the young blokes a go.
Seemed to be a good idea at the time. But since then, the games I have been to have been umpired by inexperienced young people who are completely out of their depth when a bit of push and shove happens.
In that time there have been 4 reports in 3 games (nothing to serious). I saw no reports in the first part of the year with the experienced umpires controlling the game. Surely running a younger ump with an older ump is a better way to go. They need immediate feed back from some one who has been there and done that. Not being thrown to the wolves.

The only way you can get experience into the umpires is by putting them in games.. if clubs are looking for top line umpires in every match; it's just not going to happen.. the alternative is; you get experience into the umpires through the Reserves; and then you don't have a Senior game because there isn't enough experience to go around the Seniors.. there is more RUA coaches getting out to games every week; giving quarter by quarter coaching.. it's all fine to say that more experienced umpires should be umpiring games; but they aren't there .. it'd be like me saying to the teams in the bottom half of the ladder to go out and get more experience into their team before they take the field so that the club can have more success..otherwise, the club shouldn't play .. the RUA is like a club .. you get peaks and you get lows; but you'll have more luck attracting people to play footy than umpiring it; especially with the off-field attitude by some .. it doesn't make it that attractive for anyone to give it a go.. so then you don't get people umpiring, you don't get the experience, and you get those busting their butts trying to do the best that they can..

Poor kid shat himself after big Phil nearly choked him out, and then pleaded in the tribunal that he thought he was going die. Haha. Long long time in the game of football to be known as a rat young fella.
Hang on a second cobber he did not say he thought he was going to die at all stop talking bs. I understand that discussion is going around about the penalty but don't go the bloke on this and his character.

Attention all past players and associates of WALLAN FOOTBALL NETBALL CLUB

Ray Pollock (Wrecker) is organising this years past players day.

To every one that is interested WALLAN football club is having a reunion to celebrate the 70s ...as well as the 77 grand final.

All players officials trainers and of course the supporters and any one else that was involved in that era is especially welcome, along with ALL other past players, officials, trainers and supporters.

The reunion is on Saturday 12 August 2017 at Greenhill Club, Wallan from 11am. Wallan is playing against Broadford on that day - the team we defeated in 77.

Wallan FNC would love to see as may former players and associates as possible so put it in your diary.

Any queries can be directed through me on 0419 514 337.

Rupo only 29 points on the weekend against Diggers. Will hopefully have the full list available come the business end. I think the 23rd man thing has merit.
I Like this debate - I see the merit in wanting to keep points low, but you get points for a reason, whats wrong with using them?
Great test for a club admin to recruit a points player and have them play good footy and stay IMO.

And at the points systems infancy a club like Rupo should have low points. The Junior club do a phenomenal job and have a great reputation so they have the bevy of kids to choose from. It will force other clubs to pay stronger attention to their junior counterparts and foster stronger bonds moving fwd and focus on player development.

Which Im not sure how is supposed to happen now that this capping the scoreboard in juniors is bought in, development of Junior footballers and young adults seems to be second on the agenda to the 'fair go' everybodys a winner way of things of late. A lot of character can be built out of these situations.

The only way you can get experience into the umpires is by putting them in games.. if clubs are looking for top line umpires in every match; it's just not going to happen.. the alternative is; you get experience into the umpires through the Reserves; and then you don't have a Senior game because there isn't enough experience to go around the Seniors.. there is more RUA coaches getting out to games every week; giving quarter by quarter coaching.. it's all fine to say that more experienced umpires should be umpiring games; but they aren't there .. it'd be like me saying to the teams in the bottom half of the ladder to go out and get more experience into their team before they take the field so that the club can have more success..otherwise, the club shouldn't play .. the RUA is like a club .. you get peaks and you get lows; but you'll have more luck attracting people to play footy than umpiring it; especially with the off-field attitude by some .. it doesn't make it that attractive for anyone to give it a go.. so then you don't get people umpiring, you don't get the experience, and you get those busting their butts trying to do the best that they can..
Perhaps a deduction in league fees till the umps are more experienced just joshing look I agree there needs to be a experience ump with a up and comming ump or your asking for problems.
Seen the philpot video reckon the league got that one wrong in a big way now set the standard so a punch must be 5-7 weeks going forward or they look like dills.
Yendy the quote about saying clubs should get more experience into there sides if they had the coin they would as I've stated the state of local footy isn't good

Perhaps a deduction in league fees till the umps are more experienced just joshing look I agree there needs to be a experience ump with a up and comming ump or your asking for problems.
Seen the philpot video reckon the league got that one wrong in a big way now set the standard so a punch must be 5-7 weeks going forward or they look like dills.
Yendy the quote about saying clubs should get more experience into there sides if they had the coin they would as I've stated the state of local footy isn't good
Haha it's a tough one .. the other alternative is simple .. go down the MCDFNL or old RDFNL route.. have club umpires officiate all matches (junior and senior) until the Seniors.
Now if you go down that path; clubs need to find an extra volunteer.. and not just any volunteer.. but one that has a sound knowledge of the rules; as good fitness and is prepared to receive unnecessary and excess abuse from spectators, including their own supporters and players.. AND for less the going price for current RUA umpires for those games
I've sat in at a few games this year where the unnecessary abuse from the sidelines towards our officials; young, old, experienced or not.. has been pretty poor.. if I was an aspiring umpire, I don't think I would step up.. not even in a club volunteer environment.. so, is it possible that it's a club culture that needs to be addressed too?
RUA's depth has been shot with a lot of the best umpires going on to higher honours.. it says that the coaches and the quality of umpires in the competition is that good that the AFL/VFL/TAC Cup wants our umpires running around for them.. so of course, they can't be that bad.. in fact, we've got more umpires going up to the next level than most, if not ALL umpire associations in the state..
I haven't seen the Philpot incident and I don't intend to nor comment on that one.. James has done an awesome job this year putting his hand up to have a go..
The state of local football is as good as it has been.. I think it's outstanding that we're seeing so many kids get a run in the Seniors, playing some quality football and getting experience .. Riddell is a prime example.. they will challenge for the flag this year; and they've blooded more kids than any other club; and the ones in the team; are playing good footy.. one of them will likely play at a much higher level in the next few years.
I only made the comment about clubs getting more experience as an off-hand comment.. as if to say, umpires can't go out and buy experience into their team any easier than a Senior club can.. and with the points I've made before.. with the poor attitude towards umpires; who would willingly give it a go? Fans get angry at the umpires; good umpires get fed up, they leave.. the ones trying to make a fist of it, get hassled, give it up.. quality and quantity of umpires drop off.. games will get called off due to no officials.
Some are worried about the state of players in local competitions.. I'd say the umpires have it worse.. who really wants to go out, paid or not, and get hammered by the spectators and players every week?

Haha it's a tough one .. the other alternative is simple .. go down the MCDFNL or old RDFNL route.. have club umpires officiate all matches (junior and senior) until the Seniors.
Now if you go down that path; clubs need to find an extra volunteer.. and not just any volunteer.. but one that has a sound knowledge of the rules; as good fitness and is prepared to receive unnecessary and excess abuse from spectators, including their own supporters and players.. AND for less the going price for current RUA umpires for those games
I've sat in at a few games this year where the unnecessary abuse from the sidelines towards our officials; young, old, experienced or not.. has been pretty poor.. if I was an aspiring umpire, I don't think I would step up.. not even in a club volunteer environment.. so, is it possible that it's a club culture that needs to be addressed too?
RUA's depth has been shot with a lot of the best umpires going on to higher honours.. it says that the coaches and the quality of umpires in the competition is that good that the AFL/VFL/TAC Cup wants our umpires running around for them.. so of course, they can't be that bad.. in fact, we've got more umpires going up to the next level than most, if not ALL umpire associations in the state..
I haven't seen the Philpot incident and I don't intend to nor comment on that one.. James has done an awesome job this year putting his hand up to have a go..
The state of local football is as good as it has been.. I think it's outstanding that we're seeing so many kids get a run in the Seniors, playing some quality football and getting experience .. Riddell is a prime example.. they will challenge for the flag this year; and they've blooded more kids than any other club; and the ones in the team; are playing good footy.. one of them will likely play at a much higher level in the next few years.
I only made the comment about clubs getting more experience as an off-hand comment.. as if to say, umpires can't go out and buy experience into their team any easier than a Senior club can.. and with the points I've made before.. with the poor attitude towards umpires; who would willingly give it a go? Fans get angry at the umpires; good umpires get fed up, they leave.. the ones trying to make a fist of it, get hassled, give it up.. quality and quantity of umpires drop off.. games will get called off due to no officials.
Some are worried about the state of players in local competitions.. I'd say the umpires have it worse.. who really wants to go out, paid or not, and get hammered by the spectators and players every week?

Well said mate.

umpires can't go out and buy experience into their team any easier than a Senior club can.. and with the points I've made before.. with the poor attitude towards umpires; who would willingly give it a go? Fans get angry at the umpires; good umpires get fed up, they leave.. the ones trying to make a fist of it, get hassled, give it up.. quality and quantity of umpires drop off.. games will get called off due to no officials.
Well said Ledg :thumbsu:

I've said it time and time again over the years, 40 odd players and coaches make far more match defining decisions (good and bad) than the umps do across a 100 odd minute encounter

Well said Ledg :thumbsu:

I've said it time and time again over the years, 40 odd players and coaches make far more match defining decisions (good and bad) than the umps do across a 100 odd minute encounter
Correct. But the difference is a player makes a mistake the crowd, the opposition, his team mates, the coac let me know. When an umpire makes mistake, sssshhhhh. Don't dare mention it.

What do you mean..? Players from both teams; the coaches and supporters from both teams still let them know; and the coaches let them know too.. most games are observed by coaches from the RUA and if an umpire is clearly under performing at Senior level; like a Senior player; they take a spell in the next grade.. the only difference in that case there is that you can blood an 18s or Reserves player that may not be in the best 18 on the ground and if you're looking at getting them some experience of playing Senior football; you can rotate them off the bench.. five minutes here or there.. if they make a mistake; a coach can chat to them on the bench while the game is going..
However; you put an umpire in that same position; keeping in mind that the depth isn't as strong as it used to be in the RUA.. if an umpire that is getting a taste of Senior footy makes a mistake; they can't come off the ground and talk to the coach.. they can't have a spell; they've got to run 25 minutes making more decisions in that time frame that any player on the ground does for an entire game.. then the coaches have a chat to them.. and then they have to run out the rest of the game.
One of the worst games I ever umpired was my one and only Senior game; and I made a few poor decisions; had trouble adapting to the tempo of the game; and that was in the first 10 minutes.. I had to keep going.. I was dropped the following week from Senior duties; ran out the season in the 18s and then called games from the following season; and I got hammered by the crowd.
And as you say; don't dare mention it when an umpire makes a mistake.. that's the thing; it's always mentioned.. and it's heated.. players wouldn't get grilled at the level a single field umpire does in a game.. and the difference between players and umpires getting grilled is that if umpires continued to get grilled; they walk away from the game.. and the more that walk.. the less that want to come up and take their spot; and the closer the players are to not having a game.. and others can say.. 'oh, harden up, you're getting paid to do it'.. a financial incentive is what gets people out there doing it because of the constant abuse.. but even then; one single mistake from an umpire can result in hundreds (at least) letting them know all about it.. a player makes a mistake like a turn-over that results in the opposition getting the ball.. what.. 21 team mates, a few coaches and a runner lets him know about it.. that's 25? and a worst case scenario.. maybe a few opposition players.. and that could happen a few times in a game? A single umpire can get that a few times in a minute.

What do you mean..? Players from both teams; the coaches and supporters from both teams still let them know; and the coaches let them know too.. most games are observed by coaches from the RUA and if an umpire is clearly under performing at Senior level; like a Senior player; they take a spell in the next grade.. the only difference in that case there is that you can blood an 18s or Reserves player that may not be in the best 18 on the ground and if you're looking at getting them some experience of playing Senior football; you can rotate them off the bench.. five minutes here or there.. if they make a mistake; a coach can chat to them on the bench while the game is going..
However; you put an umpire in that same position; keeping in mind that the depth isn't as strong as it used to be in the RUA.. if an umpire that is getting a taste of Senior footy makes a mistake; they can't come off the ground and talk to the coach.. they can't have a spell; they've got to run 25 minutes making more decisions in that time frame that any player on the ground does for an entire game.. then the coaches have a chat to them.. and then they have to run out the rest of the game.
One of the worst games I ever umpired was my one and only Senior game; and I made a few poor decisions; had trouble adapting to the tempo of the game; and that was in the first 10 minutes.. I had to keep going.. I was dropped the following week from Senior duties; ran out the season in the 18s and then called games from the following season; and I got hammered by the crowd.
And as you say; don't dare mention it when an umpire makes a mistake.. that's the thing; it's always mentioned.. and it's heated.. players wouldn't get grilled at the level a single field umpire does in a game.. and the difference between players and umpires getting grilled is that if umpires continued to get grilled; they walk away from the game.. and the more that walk.. the less that want to come up and take their spot; and the closer the players are to not having a game.. and others can say.. 'oh, harden up, you're getting paid to do it'.. a financial incentive is what gets people out there doing it because of the constant abuse.. but even then; one single mistake from an umpire can result in hundreds (at least) letting them know all about it.. a player makes a mistake like a turn-over that results in the opposition getting the ball.. what.. 21 team mates, a few coaches and a runner lets him know about it.. that's 25? and a worst case scenario.. maybe a few opposition players.. and that could happen a few times in a game? A single umpire can get that a few times in a minute.

Sometimes it not even worth trying to explain Chris.

It is what it is. You can hope for change but its never going to happen. Just got to hope the kids have a thick skin and weather it long enough.

Must admit, some saturday afternoons i think it would be better to be home playing with the kids.

Sometimes it not even worth trying to explain Chris.

It is what it is. You can hope for change but its never going to happen. Just got to hope the kids have a thick skin and weather it long enough.

Must admit, some saturday afternoons i think it would be better to be home playing with the kids.

To chris orange ump and others if you dont liked to be judged pi55 off dont be where you can be judged simple really and chris maybe you should go get a job with walt disney your long as fairy tales are boring me

How about you put your hand up and have a crack at umpiring yourself buddy. If you want all these guys to pi55 off, we won't have a game, as there will be no one who is willing to put up with this continual abuse.

So early running sees Macedon and rupertswood the inform sides,interesting that finals venue being Romsey park and Clarke oval depending on ladder positions could play a big part come finals.Clarke oval will suite the running style games of Macedon and rupertswood but romsey will suite the inside hard ball game of the season Diggers and Riddle and believe if romsey sneak in will be the smokey for a upset win but can't go all the way.Sunbury if they can get it together also could cause a upset and be suited at romsey park sorry Wallan just not there yet . The grand final is at Romsey so this season is going to end with some twists and bends Still believe at the pointy end rupertswood need to win a final another straight sets exit would be devastating, Macedon could answer some Questions against Diggers at Diggers this week small ground and will be tuff footy.At this time Macedon has to be slight premiership favourites followed by Diggers and I would rank Riddle and rupertswood behind these guys ( rupo because it needs to win a final and will be targeted and bullied come finals they need to man up). Grand final prediction Macedon vs Diggers
Winner let you know after this round :)

So early running sees Macedon and rupertswood the inform sides,interesting that finals venue being Romsey park and Clarke oval depending on ladder positions could play a big part come finals.Clarke oval will suite the running style games of Macedon and rupertswood but romsey will suite the inside hard ball game of the season Diggers and Riddle and believe if romsey sneak in will be the smokey for a upset win but can't go all the way.Sunbury if they can get it together also could cause a upset and be suited at romsey park sorry Wallan just not there yet . The grand final is at Romsey so this season is going to end with some twists and bends Still believe at the pointy end rupertswood need to win a final another straight sets exit would be devastating, Macedon could answer some Questions against Diggers at Diggers this week small ground and will be tuff footy.At this time Macedon has to be slight premiership favourites followed by Diggers and I would rank Riddle and rupertswood behind these guys ( rupo because it needs to win a final and will be targeted and bullied come finals they need to man up). Grand final prediction Macedon vs Diggers

Far too early to call, but I like your coverage there, just a question though, How does Macedon remain the favourite? What is their recent finals history like?

hearing rumours of player rotation? budget may not be what it was supposed to be? Players on reduced money and reduced games to come inside the salary cap.
Not to mention Matt Dick with a hammy on the weekend and other players not playing ala Knox.
Their depth is like a summer puddle so the longer the season goes the better idea we will get as to how they look and where they will end up.

Just asking?

Wow, for someone that wasn't going to have anything else to do with the league or this site 6 months ago that's a very insightful look into the race for the flag..
nice work Dave... like it... keep em coming..

Macedon for me...
Not sure diggers are there this year..

Big game this weekend for both diggers and macedon, a chance for diggers to bounce back and a chance for macedon to further strengthen there premiership credentials.
Hearing lots of talk about macedons lack of depth, with markworth, dick and jack mills all out, the next few weeks against diggers, wallan and rupo will be a great test to the depth without those players.

Wow, for someone that wasn't going to have anything else to do with the league or this site 6 months ago that's a very insightful look into the race for the flag..
nice work Dave... like it... keep em coming..

Macedon for me...
Not sure diggers are there this year..
Had to add some intelligence to the conversation:)

Hmmm, I note that your response has been deleted Ease uP, whether by you or admin I'm not sure. In reply to your allegations against me that can no longer be viewed I will respond.
Q. Am I a tree hugger?
A. No. Although I like trees, I've never hugged one. (But I must confess I own a chainsaw and have cut quite a few down to feed my fire, but that's just between you and me)
Q. Am I a hippie?
A. No. I'm actually a right a right winger and although I was in a room one day when someone was smoking dope, like Bill Clinton, I did not inhale.
Q. Am I prepared to pay full price for cold food and ill fitting clothes?
A. No. But I pay a premium price to ensure my food is served at the correct temperature and purchase clothes that fit my ever growing frame.

What you have to understand my friend is that the RDFL and similar leagues are getting the standard of umpires that these leagues can afford. I appreciate that you don't wish to pay for cold food and ill fitting clothes and argue that you are entitled to criticise umpires because you pay at the gate, but if you want professional umpires be prepared to pay the admission price equivalent of an AFL game.

My apologies for this elongated post, as most of it is in response to a post from Ease uP which is no longer visible and I see from his responses to Yeendy he doesn't like lengthy posts. To finish up Ease uP, in response to your ongoing criticism of umpires who are not robots and have 360 degree vision, X-ray vision or telescopic vision, please 'ease up' on them.

(P.S. I am not an umpire, or have a child who is an umpire)

Hmmm, I note that your response has been deleted Ease uP, whether by you or admin I'm not sure. In reply to your allegations against me that can no longer be viewed I will respond.
Q. Am I a tree hugger?
A. No. Although I like trees, I've never hugged one. (But I must confess I own a chainsaw and have cut quite a few down to feed my fire, but that's just between you and me)
Q. Am I a hippie?
A. No. I'm actually a right a right winger and although I was in a room one day when someone was smoking dope, like Bill Clinton, I did not inhale.
Q. Am I prepared to pay full price for cold food and ill fitting clothes?
A. No. But I pay a premium price to ensure my food is served at the correct temperature and purchase clothes that fit my ever growing frame.

What you have to understand my friend is that the RDFL and similar leagues are getting the standard of umpires that these leagues can afford. I appreciate that you don't wish to pay for cold food and ill fitting clothes and argue that you are entitled to criticise umpires because you pay at the gate, but if you want professional umpires be prepared to pay the admission price equivalent of an AFL game.

My apologies for this elongated post, as most of it is in response to a post from Ease uP which is no longer visible and I see from his responses to Yeendy he doesn't like lengthy posts. To finish up Ease uP, in response to your ongoing criticism of umpires who are not robots and have 360 degree vision, X-ray vision or telescopic vision, please 'ease up' on them.

(P.S. I am not an umpire, or have a child who is an umpire)

Well you still cant polish a turd!

Macedon like to press which gets harder on a huge ground like Clarke oval so I'd find that their concern. And as mentioned depth if they hit injuries also a worry. Would be nice to see Macedon Rupo again on a dry day to see which team runs better. Macedon played wet better by far last time. Diggers tried to use the go harder and bully rupo on the weekend but didn't work? Maybe they're growing up. I really think Cats and Sharks will battle it out this season. But who knows what twists will come! Riddell coming good towards back end of season??