• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL 2017 Season discussion

Two things for me. Macedon would hope they don't have too many injuries because outside their ones the rest were woeful (granted the ones were terrific) and Wallan need to inject a bit of speed and play a far more accountable footy if they hope to compete with the big guns.
Yes very interesting result in the twos. Cats are normally pretty strong in the twos. Have they lost twos players or have Wallan just got good depth?

Sent from my ZTE BLADE A112 using Tapatalk

Yes very interesting result in the twos. Cats are normally pretty strong in the twos. Have they lost twos players or have Wallan just got good depth?

We've definitely got more depth, plus combining last years 17s premiership side with some very good 18s from last year and we have a good side there too.

Two things for me. Macedon would hope they don't have too many injuries because outside their ones the rest were woeful (granted the ones were terrific) and Wallan need to inject a bit of speed and play a far more accountable footy if they hope to compete with the big guns.
Hey auckmel how many 18s did wallan play in the seniors today?
Macedon had 5
And had 10 to 15 of seniors reserves unavailable

2nd year watching wallan. The shape that a handful of senior players arrived in yesterday was disgraceful. The word DIET comes to mind. If you are playing senior footy for money, you have an end of the bargain to uphold. For mine, some are taking the piss... with more than a few reserves and 18s putting their hands up in the early games. The coach needs to get out of the goal square and into the coaches box and pick players on form and effort, not name or his closest buddies. 2 weeks to reset but if there aren't 4-5 changes for round 2 it's going to be a long year for Nolan. The pressure is on.

Good to see Blake Henderson named best for Centrals.Been hard done by with injuries in recent times and deserves a change of luck.
Also gobsmacking to see Jamie Cuffe still playing for Sunbury at 45?League B&f at 20 Premiership player & co coach at 40.
I know the Rdfl board like to name awards after themselves but is it time to name one after Cuffe?I think so.

Good to see Blake Henderson named best for Centrals.Been hard done by with injuries in recent times and deserves a change of luck.
Also gobsmacking to see Jamie Cuffe still playing for Sunbury at 45?League B&f at 20 Premiership player & co coach at 40.
I know the Rdfl board like to name awards after themselves but is it time to name one after Cuffe?I think so.

This was mentioned a few years ago. Think they were waiting for him to retire so may never happen.

Let's get serious with this . How can broadford go from a prelim to not competitive . And all of the best players are gone to a team with the old coach ?

Broadford had 9 u18s in the senior side. Give this obviously struggling club time to rebuild. This year will be a task but they'll be strong in years to come if these kids stick around and they get a couple of young locals playing elsewhere back. Philpot targeted and injured early, Jake hall late withdraw, 3 new recruits clearances didn't go through before round 1 due to being stuffed around by old clubs, they'll get there. Most of these young kids had a fair dinkum crack, few of them just not big enough to contest yet! Coppinger young fella played Full back all day and never gave up, yeah he had 7/8 goals kicked on him for the day but he never put his head down and he kept fighting! I was just dissapointed that none of the old heads went down there at any stage and gave him a proper chop out! He is one to watch in the future

Didn't see the rupo broadford game but there was obviously more to the story than the scoreboard!!! Thank you JJ!!!

No worries mate. Can't say I'm the biggest fan of this club but it sucks to see what they're going through. We know the RDFL don't love having them around, hopefully they can improve and win a few games so they don't get the boot!!

Not sure where this comment comes from. The RDFNL has gone out of it's way to help Broadford out in the past. The current situation they are in is not the leagues doing.

Agree Jack I am a local and have had a lot to do with the club and can't believe the situation we are in have watched this site for quite a time and sick of people blaming others there are a small handful that need to be accountable for the situation they are in. I just don't want our club to go to the shit again it's such hard work to get to the top again . It's going to be a long season .

HTF, it will be hard, however the current workers should be commended on getting two sides up on the weekend after the dire last couple of weeks, of course it doesn't all look like roses however Woodend seem to have struggled for a while and so to Rockbank, the biggest amazement from an outsider looking in is that the peaks and troughs seasons don't seem to be a great recipe for a clubs performance. I hope you guys do get your players waiting on clearances however I hope they are coming for the right reasons and not just to financially cripple a club that needs all the help it can get.

Hi humphrey thanks for the reply the recruits over the years have been of good character in general I don't believe the dollar is our problem. As the club has from what I understand always met there obligations, the problem is more in regards to egos and lack there of stable leadership, they have had a few come and go from that perspective over the past few years who I thought had the club going in the right direction but one or two egos by long term club people drove them away, it's been a issue down here for many a years.
We have gone back 5-6 years and the season will be a long tuff one, one person I would like to commend who has stuck it out and taken no praise is Paul Dunbar well done Paul you are a club legend

Hi humphrey thanks for the reply the recruits over the years have been of good character in general I don't believe the dollar is our problem. As the club has from what I understand always met there obligations, the problem is more in regards to egos and lack there of stable leadership, they have had a few come and go from that perspective over the past few years who I thought had the club going in the right direction but one or two egos by long term club people drove them away, it's been a issue down here for many a years.
We have gone back 5-6 years and the season will be a long tuff one, one person I would like to commend who has stuck it out and taken no praise is Paul Dunbar well done Paul you are a club legend
Welcome back to thread. I knew you couldn't stay away forever.

Anyone see the Woodend V Lancefield game on the weekend? how do both sides shape up?
Woodend improved on last year.
Arnold at CHB very good.
Ambler and Gawthorp good in attack.
Hepburn played well early.

Lancefield 4 goals down at 3/4 got in front late but Woodend steadied in a thriller.

Wooster, Barr and Jackson very good for lancefield
Kent 6 goals.
Injuries to two of lancefields ruckman hopefully not to serious.

Just a question? How or why is Al Pacino been suspended or banned for this post ? It seems frivolous to me . If all of their BEST players have gone with their old coach it seems he must have their trust loyalty and respect and they must enjoy playing under him ? Naturally $$$$ will have a major part of their decisions as well .I've spoken with a number of players over many years myself included that would rather play for less money than play for certain coaches . Good coaches are like good bosses ( If you had a boss you truely liked and he created a positive stable and happy work environment would you leave and go and work for an extra $200 a week for a bloke you disrespected that provided an avarege working environment and you hated being there every day? ) . This in no way has any reflection or reference to James Philpot as I believe he was a very late appointment as coach at Broadford .I'm just responding my opinion in general to this thread .

Not hard to work out who is who on here Captain, so I'm guessing those with back door access knew exactly why and how Mr. Pacino may have transgressed.
Times, log in's, servers, emails used ..... it aint that hard.

Broadford will be right, plenty of others have been thru it and come out the other side. Best bit of advice Saturday abotu 4.30pm woulda been for the 22 to buy a paper tomorrow as I'm sure there are other clubs across Victoria worse off and got beaten by more. First home game in a fortnight gives them a bit of time to take a deep breath and try again.

On another topic, I'm with Jack in being happy to see a former poster back amongst the action :thumbsu:

Just a question? How or why is Al Pacino been suspended or banned for this post ? It seems frivolous to me . If all of their BEST players have gone with their old coach it seems he must have their trust loyalty and respect and they must enjoy playing under him ? Naturally $$$$ will have a major part of their decisions as well .I've spoken with a number of players over many years myself included that would rather play for less money than play for certain coaches . Good coaches are like good bosses ( If you had a boss you truely liked and he created a positive stable and happy work environment would you leave and go and work for an extra $200 a week for a bloke you disrespected that provided an avarege working environment and you hated being there every day? ) . This in no way has any reflection or reference to James Philpot as I believe he was a very late appointment as coach at Broadford .I'm just responding my opinion in general to this thread .
Not hard to work out who is who on here Captain, so I'm guessing those with back door access knew exactly why and how Mr. Pacino may have transgressed.

Broadford will be right, plenty of others have been thru it and come out the other side. Best bit of advice Saturday abotu 4.30pm woulda been for the 22 to buy a paper tomorrow as I'm sure there are other clubs across Victoria worse off and got beaten by more. First home game in a fortnight gives them a bit of time to take a deep breath and try again.

On another topic, I'm with Jack in being happy to see a former poster back amongst the action :thumbsu:
Think that focus on what is required to help broadford is more important than past posters although would love to have one of them back at the club that I think your pointing at ? As he always delivered even if some of us question his direction . Still in shock how far we have fallen in one season considering the hard work put in !

As with an earlier post of mine Doona I think times are changing and unfortunately unless we get our head out of sand and change our way of thinking clubs like Broadford doomed ...**** it let's call a spade a spade Frankstons VFL side has folded.. Port Melbourne VFL Garry Ayres sent out an SOS to members this week needing 75 k to keep trading and to keep a club like Port Melbournes VFL team exisiting ( I purchased a membership BTW ) All the ex AFL average players are raping the country leagues. They won't play VFL because the VFL clubs WONT pay overs and they won't get a game therefore they are sucking all the money out of Country Leagues .The days of paying ex AFL players over the odds thinking you will win more games attract sponsors members and a bigger gate ( which you don't profit from anyway ) finished with Legends like Barry Hall and Brendan Fevola . Economically in this financial climate its unsustainable. I'm sure Frankston and Port Melbourne never thought it would happen to them but it has ... Times are a changing my friend and unless you plan well ahead your going to be a distant memory at the expense of the money hungry ex AFL mercinaries! The she will be right mate attitude .. is destroying and eliminating our much beloved local clubs.

Wont get an argument here, sadly the ex AFL lad mentioned above set the club financially only to see it dwindled in 2-3 years when it should of set them up for a bit longer than that. Had this exact chat with a passionate Bford follower at work today, when you watch a bloke play and "assume" what he might be roughly getting ..... and then you drive home thinking "did he play to a standard worthy of that amount" far too often these days you answer yourself sadly with a NO.

Clubs have created this silly environment and as you say some will fall by the wayside of it, some through their own doing, some by trying to keep up with the Jones' so to say - when they know damn well they can't sustain a cash flow that at the end of the day isn't even theirs to be throwing around carelessly.

It is a shame what is happening at Port Melb. The VFL/VFA was once a great competition but as you say, times have changed. I think the VFL was stuffed as soon as it became an AFL reserves comp. I lost interest in it then. I've always had a soft spot for the stand alone clubs but I think the rivalries have pretty much gone and it is fast becoming a development league.

As far as players being money hungry, I still blame the clubs that have created this market place. If a player can earn good coin playing footy then good luck to him. If he wants to play for less at a club with his mates with a good culture then good luck again.

Basically what I am saying is that clubs can drive the situation and the climate. Clubs need to decide what they want to stand for. Do they want to develop there own players and try to build success from within, maybe with the help of a few recruits or do they want to buy a premiership and get in the hired help at the expense of the kids who have gone through their junior system.