RDFL Season 2015

Bucks no chance Leigh LUGG, Tony Fulton, Scoot Woolcock and Matt Bullock all gone to Violet Town

I was told Serpentine LVFL.

Aah me old mate Chalkie, if anyone can plot the demise of Bridgewater it will be the guy that set up their current era.

Good luck to all the defenders in the LVFL :D

The fixture is out - not sure what the reason for Romsey having a round one bye. I would have thought the league would have wanted a big show case game in round one with the premiers unfurling their flag.
Didn't they have the bye in Round 1 last year also? I stand to be corrected.

Mate as per normal you got your facts wrong was going to play 3-5 games last year but due to danny frawleys illness had to cover a number of extra gigs with fox sports commitments fair dinkum mate what's your angle if Barry could would play as many games as possible he owes nothing to any one and has served the Broadford FNC well but reckon we will see him a few times in 2015.

Wasn't aware he was covering for Spud would be great for the comp and broadford if he could play more games.
Heard a whisper you guys have signed a couple from aberfeldie?

Agree sorry for the Argo in my comment but the guy does a lot people don't see we have signed a few from here and there and sustained our recruits from 2014 looking promising the club has attained some help from rdfl and have a very positive view ahead
What type of help from the RDFL.
Do you mean financial help?

You are joking now that's bloody funny
No there are a lot of other ways a association can help there clubs but clubs need to be proactive to attain that help
Broadford have a new reinvigorated committe coaching staff and playing group looking forward to the season

Financial help sorry can't stop laughing
I'm happy for you that you got a laugh out of that mate, but I'm curious as to what type of help they have offered . It seems that you have been very active in recruiting players .( as you should be ) If it's not financial then it what ways are they helping?

They have helped with insuring we get games against rivals and with assistance in direction for our committe etc as for recruiting we have been pro active and built on our core from last year we believe we will be there about but like everything there is a lot of hard work to be done and believe the new committee and community are up for it

The interesting thing discussed is that there will be implementation of the points system in 2016 now that will be interesting ??

How are you guys travelling speak to deano regularly understand there are a number of changes at the top
From what I see , no changes at the top. Same coaches, same executive committee. I'm not involved other than a supporter but I can't imagine why anyone would push for much t change. They all went ok last year . Don't you think?
The point system is going to make for an interesting couple of years , but won't play any part in 2015 season . It will be a weighted system and should allow clubs like Romsey Riddell , Lancefield, Macedon and Diggers to allocated a greater number of points due to size of their respective junior clubs . Do you think that is going to even things up.

Great to see clubs working hard with recruiting this season.
Macedon has some huge ins , diggers are putting a very very nice list.
Tuckey will be like a new recruit.
The kangas have got a gun in clarke.
Woodend should be on the way up with the appoitment of their new coach.
Even with the loss of some serious talent the redbacks have covered them with some quality and should again be the hunted.
In my opinion with some of the names coming into the league next year it will easily move up a few more levels.
Rdfl footy is starting to look very healthy.

Romsey will still dominate. Amazed at the reaction when a local team loses a good player. Players will always leave but they can be replaced. No doubt Davo would have been well compensated for his time at Romsey over the years...now someone else will be. They will replace him and have recruited very, very well. Undefeated last year so coming from a position of strength.

Fair call but have lost more than davo
Luke Ryan millsy trigg mcnaughton storey to coburg also bourkey who was a big part and well respected by the players and others understand some good recruits but need to jell if you reckon they are that far ahead of the rest then we should all pack up and go home
Reckon might be s few clubs on the up
They all would have been on a packet and have been replaced already from what I can tell. With their recruiting record they will no doubt add more now as well. Saw Saad in round 1 this year and the vfl. Will absolutely light this competition up.

Broadford need to pick up at least 15 new recruits. So I wouldn't be making statements about anyone. Lancefield will rebuild very quick too

This quote basically sums it up

• Melton president Stephen Bartlett: “There are always going to be clubs paying in different ways to get around the salary cap. How the points are allocated is always going to be hard.”

We all know it needs to happen but I cant see it working ??

The thing I loved about that story was the fact the coaches are now conceding that footy is supposed to be about enjoyment. That in itself is largely forgotten by many involved today. Some clubs have even convinced themselves that to enjoy footy, you must win premierships.

Local footy is also about town pride, and a community's ability to showcase its home grown talent. You'll never get rid of money from country footy, but it would be nice if you could try and curb some of the spending. It would be nice to see a footy league where 90 per cent of players were playing for a club they grew up at.

The thing I loved about that story was the fact the coaches are now conceding that footy is supposed to be about enjoyment. That in itself is largely forgotten by many involved today. Some clubs have even convinced themselves that to enjoy footy, you must win premierships.

Local footy is also about town pride, and a community's ability to showcase its home grown talent. You'll never get rid of money from country footy, but it would be nice if you could try and curb some of the spending. It would be nice to see a footy league where 90 per cent of players were playing for a club they grew up at.
Matt
I think you will find most coaches myself included have always tried to push that footy is about enjoyment
Also most coaches that I speak to are becoming more frustrated with players attitudes when it comes to money
Nowadays the players are more concerned about how much they can get paid. And if they win a premiership well that's a bonus.
Yes it's a competitive market I agree but something needs to be done to give the clubs the upper hand and not the players.
As far as having 90% home grown talent goes, I had exactly that in 2013 when Baz came home.
But since then most have left for the $$$.
What the answer is I'm not sure
But I do know one thing
People who work tirelessly around a local community football club are slowly getting burnt out and frustrated with the cost to put a team on the park every Saturday

I don't think either system can work but the points system has the best chance of working. A salary cap won't work because it can't be enforced. Nothing stopping a sponsor or a supporter just handing a player a bag of cash every week outside the books.

The success of any points system will depend on how the points are allocated. Firstly someone with a decent knowledge of local football would need to get the points value for each level of football correct. Secondly the clubs with weaker junior structures or from less populated areas would need significantly more points to ensure it remains viable for them. No point trading one system that is deemed unfair for another one. At least in the current system clubs get what they work for even if it is killing club volunteers. I don't think it will stop the influence of money but it might curb it slightly. Clubs will just pay overs to keep their stars and build depth that way until they have some points to go shopping. The main worry I think is it might kill off a few clubs who do not have a great junior base. Some clubs just geographically will never have a good area for juniors.

The point system I believe will focus on demographics junior teams and the ability to sustain locals
Saying that if your a team in a heavily populated area then you should have many juniors to build on there fore would recieve less points if your a town with lower growth /. Population less junior teams etc and perhaps heavier travel then you may receive more points to compensate
I also agree with skipper that it seems the responsibility for the state of the game rests on volunteers and league officials perhaps it's time the players took some responsibility for the state of play ?
As I said that's why teams like Riddell , Romsey, Lancefield will be allocated more points.

There's been very little out of the wallan camp over the summer.
Those players that were rumoured to have gone to Bonnie Doon have now been confirmed.

Collis is one of their best players isn't he?