• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL Season 2015

Well they have a massive gap to gain . They got beat by lancefield and destroyed by all the good teams . So I say might make finals

Heard today they have recruited some very exciting blokes from edfl clubs. They are quietly going about getting 25 very solid players rather than spending big money on a couple of guns, there confident about being real chance.

The do however have a very tough draw they will want to be playing well early because with there draw it will be hard to make top two of they drop early games.

I seem like u have a good view on them, good work . They need 2 forwards. I don't think Fenton will be the answer. And they need backman.

What's everyone's choice for premiers, runner up, bnf, biggest improver, biggest slidier, an finals prediction ?
Macedon have recruited some well known older players that have been taled about in earlier postings. They have also gained some very exciting 20/21 years old blokes that can really player and will give them some zip on their big ground. They are a big chance to finish in the 6.

Heard today they have recruited some very exciting blokes from edfl clubs. They are quietly going about getting 25 very solid players rather than spending big money on a couple of guns, there confident about being real chance.

The do however have a very tough draw they will want to be playing well early because with there draw it will be hard to make top two of they drop early games.

Going by last years comments, you don't want to finish 2nd anyway!!!

Have to be mad not to have Romsey has clear favourites for 2015. After an undefeated year they will do everything they can to go 38 straight!!! Diggers will be up there as 2nd favourite good list that clicked at the right time. Then Sunbury, Rupo and Riddell. Sunbury have recruited well and will improve on last year. Rupo are relying on pretty much the same list as last year, still think they are 2 or 3 bigger bodied experienced players away from really giving it a shake up, and too much uncertainty out at Riddell to know how they will go, but after the Prelim last year, never rule them out!!!

Macedon should come back into finals contention fighting it out with Rockbank, Wallan and maybe Broadford if you believe the hype.

Romsey Premiers
Diggers Runners Up
B. Chambers to win the Bowen
Most Improve Macedon
Wooden Spoon Kilmore

Going by last years comments, you don't want to finish 2nd anyway!!!

Have to be mad not to have Romsey has clear favourites for 2015. After an undefeated year they will do everything they can to go 38 straight!!! Diggers will be up there as 2nd favourite good list that clicked at the right time. Then Sunbury, Rupo and Riddell. Sunbury have recruited well and will improve on last year. Rupo are relying on pretty much the same list as last year, still think they are 2 or 3 bigger bodied experienced players away from really giving it a shake up, and too much uncertainty out at Riddell to know how they will go, but after the Prelim last year, never rule them out!!!

Macedon should come back into finals contention fighting it out with Rockbank, Wallan and maybe Broadford if you believe the hype.

Romsey Premiers
Diggers Runners Up
B. Chambers to win the Bowen
Most Improve Macedon
Wooden Spoon Kilmore

Great post, however I think 36 straight wins would get Romsey two undefeated premiership seasons.

In my opinion, they are red hot favourites to take out back to back flags.

Best of luck to Dean, he'll leave no stone unturned to achieve the ultimate success !

Know idea how they are travelling but need some improving. . Can u let us know who they have picked up?

Surely the rumour about Andrew Welsh playing for Rockbank is a load of garbage?

His name gets tossed up every year with numerous clubs and normally nothing comes of it.

Let's break down the expected 2015 finals teams for debate......

Romsey: lost 8-10 players but gained 5 -6.....
Expected to drop off but are still recruiting and still undefeated..... top 3

Rupo: clearly the 2nd best TEAM Imo for 2014. Bowed out to a much better list of diggers on a horrid day at rockbank. Best juniors by far coming thru and will be very hard to beat. Top 4
Diggers: suggested flag faves at this early stage due to keeping a healthy list and adding some serious talent. Tuckey is the key and will be top 2.

Sunbury: great young list of talented players. No disrespect intended but definitely under achieved last year. Many talented stars from the previous year were unfit and had little impact against the best sides. However a 10 goal smashing of diggers mid season shows their potential. If they are fit, they will be almost the side to beat with Clarke and superstar Jay cheep heading their long list of talented recruits. The notable losses of Campbell and baker have been easily replaced. Top 3.

Riddell: miles off romsey last year but have talent to burn in the coaches box. Troy scoble has lost a few but hardly anyone of substance. The addition of darby and the allen boys alone will unite riddell and make them seriously hard to beat.
Prediction top 4.

broadford: recruiting very well and have sum real talent. Also an easy draw should put them right in the mix for top 5 or 6. But we heard this last year too

rockbank: new coach and a good list of real goers will keep them right in the hunt for finals again. 5 or 6

Woodend: huge off season and lots of top line players coming in. Great to see. Depth will sort them out tho imo unfortunately. 7th - 9th

macedon: I highly rate their coach but obviously now have my doubts after a horrific season in 2014. Joffa however has been very busy signing gun after gun after gun including a great crop of younger talent....... 6th or 7th

Melton: typical Glenn Hopkins coached side. Quiet but opposition beware. One of the rdfl premier coaches of the last decade. He will rid the club of the old and the baggage and instill youth and a red hot game style. Never ride off Fitzy...
7th -9th

Let's break down the expected 2015 finals teams for debate......

Romsey: lost 8-10 players but gained 5 -6.....
Expected to drop off but are still recruiting and still undefeated..... top 3

Rupo: clearly the 2nd best TEAM Imo for 2014. Bowed out to a much better list of diggers on a horrid day at rockbank. Best juniors by far coming thru and will be very hard to beat. Top 4
Diggers: suggested flag faves at this early stage due to keeping a healthy list and adding some serious talent. Tuckey is the key and will be top 2.

Sunbury: great young list of talented players. No disrespect intended but definitely under achieved last year. Many talented stars from the previous year were unfit and had little impact against the best sides. However a 10 goal smashing of diggers mid season shows their potential. If they are fit, they will be almost the side to beat with Clarke and superstar Jay cheep heading their long list of talented recruits. The notable losses of Campbell and baker have been easily replaced. Top 3.

Riddell: miles off romsey last year but have talent to burn in the coaches box. Troy scoble has lost a few but hardly anyone of substance. The addition of darby and the allen boys alone will unite riddell and make them seriously hard to beat.
Prediction top 4.

broadford: recruiting very well and have sum real talent. Also an easy draw should put them right in the mix for top 5 or 6. But we heard this last year too

rockbank: new coach and a good list of real goers will keep them right in the hunt for finals again. 5 or 6

Woodend: huge off season and lots of top line players coming in. Great to see. Depth will sort them out tho imo unfortunately. 7th - 9th

macedon: I highly rate their coach but obviously now have my doubts after a horrific season in 2014. Joffa however has been very busy signing gun after gun after gun including a great crop of younger talent....... 6th or 7th

Melton: typical Glenn Hopkins coached side. Quiet but opposition beware. One of the rdfl premier coaches of the last decade. He will rid the club of the old and the baggage and instill youth and a red hot game style. Never ride off Fitzy...
7th -9th

So no thoughts on the other two clubs mongrel?
Not worth talking about?

Ventured into the Lanny pub tonight they have lost some good players but the new coach as brought a few with him and they have recruited a few maybe a bit on the short side as most teams out of the top five are but They do have the easiest draw of all they are a very good chance to finish 5 or 6.

I don't know much about wallan but will try to get to Hogans and Rattlers over the weekend to see what's going on.

So no thoughts on the other two clubs mongrel?
Not worth talking about?

Ventured into the Lanny pub tonight they have lost some good players but the new coach as brought a few with him and they have recruited a few maybe a bit on the short side as most teams out of the top five are but They do have the easiest draw of all they are a very good chance to finish 5 or 6.

I don't know much about wallan but will try to get to Hogans and Rattlers over the weekend to see what's going on.

I haven't heard much out of lancefield wallan or kilmore at this stage. Obviously an easy draw will be a big help for the Tigers but rockbank also have a dream draw as do broadford. Should be a very tight race 4 the 6th spot. It's only January so it's all just guesswork at this stage. Just like everyone riding off romsey when they have no idea who I've recruited. Most clubs have announced most of their new recruits but they can wait til April to find out romseys.

Good call regarding January being guess work. I think everyone is doing the same to Riddell as they did to Diggers Rest before last season. In November all you would hear is that guys are leaving Riddell....in the end they will lose only a handful of senior players which is what you expect from year to year. It was the same with Diggers Rest the year before and even Sunbury to a degree. At one stage last pre season people were predicting 5-6 players to leave Sunbury for Rupo. In the end it was 2. Clubs rarely lose players in big numbers and if they do they have 6 months to replace them. I still think you can throw a blanket over the top 5 this season but with Romsey slightly ahead of the rest if they stay motivated.

Macedon I think should almost put themselves in with the top 5 too. Yes they are coming from a long way back but with what they have spent and the quality they have got in they have to change their mindset. If they hope for a top 6 finish only then that is all they will get. I have watched a lots of the EDFL premier div over the last few years following a few old mates which has let me see plenty of Marcus Kenny. Do yourself a favour and skip a few rounds of rdfl if you get the chance....its great footy. Anyway Marcus Kenny is going to brain some sides. Macedon should put no limits on what they can achieve this year. If a few guys can lift along with the guys they have recruited then they could really get on a roll. Yes finals may sort them out but if Kenny has a day out some sides will be very nervous.

For what its worth I don't think anyone is writing Romsey off. Most seem to have them as favorites and rightly so. Last year was the best group of talent I have seen at an RDFL club and well coached. If they have gone even close to covering the losses then Romsey will go close to undefeated again from what I saw last year. The only poster that I have seen talking Romsey down is Keston and he seems to have a history with the club.

Good call regarding January being guess work. I think everyone is doing the same to Riddell as they did to Diggers Rest before last season. In November all you would hear is that guys are leaving Riddell....in the end they will lose only a handful of senior players which is what you expect from year to year. It was the same with Diggers Rest the year before and even Sunbury to a degree. At one stage last pre season people were predicting 5-6 players to leave Sunbury for Rupo. In the end it was 2. Clubs rarely lose players in big numbers and if they do they have 6 months to replace them. I still think you can throw a blanket over the top 5 this season but with Romsey slightly ahead of the rest if they stay motivated.

Macedon I think should almost put themselves in with the top 5 too. Yes they are coming from a long way back but with what they have spent and the quality they have got in they have to change their mindset. If they hope for a top 6 finish only then that is all they will get. I have watched a lots of the EDFL premier div over the last few years following a few old mates which has let me see plenty of Marcus Kenny. Do yourself a favour and skip a few rounds of rdfl if you get the chance....its great footy. Anyway Marcus Kenny is going to brain some sides. Macedon should put no limits on what they can achieve this year. If a few guys can lift along with the guys they have recruited then they could really get on a roll. Yes finals may sort them out but if Kenny has a day out some sides will be very nervous.

For what its worth I don't think anyone is writing Romsey off. Most seem to have them as favorites and rightly so. Last year was the best group of talent I have seen at an RDFL club and well coached. If they have gone even close to covering the losses then Romsey will go close to undefeated again from what I saw last year. The only poster that I have seen talking Romsey down is Keston and he seems to have a history with the club.

G'day Dons81,
I agree that the EDFL premier comp displays some real good talent and surely is one of the best local leagues, if not the best. Only downside is some ground conditions and social room viewing areas but the its a great standard.
If anyone wants to see a good game this year get down to Pascoe Vale vs Abers. The likes of Ben Ross , Patrick Veszpremi, Gavin Urghart from Pascoe Vale v Brock McLean, Blackwell, Oswald etc from Abers. 2 of the best midfields in any league..

Any let's not forget Ben Warren in the forward line for Pascoe Vale who will stand on some heads.

For the records both grounds are in good condition and have good social rooms. Grounds enclosed by houses so little wind etc.,

Pascoe Vale should really improve..

Anyway its great to see the standard of RDFL improving each year, as I thought it was struggling. Why has it improved so much?

Yes totally agree that Kenny will kill them and any team with a FF of his quality should make finals and then who knows. Hopefully they have some good small/mid forwards as well as teams will play a 3rd up defender as they will go to him every time.

Cheers!!!

So you have made the quote I am talking them down show me a quote in the last two months that talks them down you have no idea re the history and why what happen in the past pre 2014 I can tell ya but don't need too.

so let me tell you this that myself and dean helmers talk weekly along with doing or attempting to do some planning to help both clubs

So perhaps get your facts straight before putting dribble up again or attempting to provoke won't bite fool
Ladder prediction
Romsey. Undefeated
Diggers
Ruppo
Sunbury
Riddle
Broadford. Have to get the mix right we understand that
Macedon
Rockbank
Melton cent
Lancefield
Woodend
Kilmore

Romsey I reckon will improve not go backwards scary

Not sure about your ladder -IT APPEARS from your ladder that Wallan have apparantely folded?????
Not sure if Frosty would be impressed !!! Looks like he is another COACH out of a job :(

Why would Romsey be requiring assistance from you in regards to there club , as you yourself said you have a history with Romsey and I thought they had severed all ties . So interesting that dean would be talking to yourself in regards to helping a club that seems to have no issues .

delusion is a false belief that is based on an incorrect interpretation of reality. A person with delusionaldisorder will firmly hold on to a false belief despite clear evidence to the contrary

illiterate
[ih-lit-er-it]
adjective
unable to read and write:
an illiterate group.
having or demonstrating very little or no education.
showing lack of culture, especially in language and literature.
displaying a marked lack of knowledge in a particular field:
He is musically illiterate.