RDFL Season 2015

Did you try and call a head count?

Yes. It had nothing to do with the result tho. We kicked the first 2 goals of the 3rd quater but i was really struggling to identify the loose man. After a quick count we called the boundary umpire ova and called for the count. He explained that only the captain can call for it. Anyway a few mins later he came back ova and i told him our captain was off injured. We were all confused so we yelled out to the field umpires which obviously alerted the opposition and as a result a player sprinted off the ground. I was going to mention it earlier on here but i didnt want to detract from rupos win which they thoroughly deserved

What's the result of an extra player on the ground? Is their score wiped?

I know it used to be that the score was wiped but am not sure if that is still the case. I have a feeling it tinkered with it

No now apparently u lose your score for that quater only. Like i mentioned it didnt impact the result, its just the first time ive experienced it so i thought id ask

So what happens if they have an extra player 1 min into the quarter? They play out the quarter and not score? This sounds bizarre.

And unless they didn't score in that quarter the result would have been different. At least you now know what the protocol is.

So what happens if they have an extra player 1 min into the quarter? They play out the quarter and not score? This sounds bizarre.

And unless they didn't score in that quarter the result would have been different. At least you now know what the protocol is.

yeah its a bit strange mate. But in this case like i said it had no relevance to the result and no doubt an honest mistake. Also it was that cold and wet i couldnt feel my hands or feet, letalone see the far side of the ground so im sure i made mistakes too.
on another note it was great to see so many rupo blokes come into the rooms 4 a beer after the game. We will definately return the favour

Scores are never wiped for a headcount. Goal umpires will note the time and the current score and all information will be put on the match report for the league to decide.

Only the captain can request a headcount to the field umpires. If the captain is off, then a nominated vice captain should make the request indicating that the captain is off the field.

If the headcount takes place, the captain from the team will be awarded a free kick and 50 metre penalty from the centre if the team is found to have an extra player. If the captain is wrong, the opposition is awarded a free kick and 50 from the centre and the captain can be reported for time wasting if the umpires deem the count is not genuine.

Scores are never wiped for a headcount. Goal umpires will note the time and the current score and all information will be put on the match report for the league to decide.

Only the captain can request a headcount to the field umpires. If the captain is off, then a nominated vice captain should make the request indicating that the captain is off the field.

If the headcount takes place, the captain from the team will be awarded a free kick and 50 metre penalty from the centre if the team is found to have an extra player. If the captain is wrong, the opposition is awarded a free kick and 50 from the centre and the captain can be reported for time wasting if the umpires deem the count is not genuine.
Great to see that common sense prevails these days in the rules and regulations . The days of losing your score was when rotations did,nt exist. It is so easy lose track of players coming on and off the ground especially after quarter and 1/2 time breaks .The coaching in this competition has become far more technical and advanced in the past couple of years just listening to a lot coaches addressing players at breaks and trying to make sense of their set ups on their white boards is confusing enough so Im not surprised at times players are confused.

Some big games this weekend guys.. we're at Lancefield as they take on Rockbank and that could throw in some interesting surprises..
Well my tips
Diggers by 30 points
Macedon by heaps
Lancefield by 25
Riddell and kangas easily
Broadford just

Looking at the weather it should be fantastic for footy, lets hope for some great games Yeandy

Thread has been a little boring so Time to ask some of the tough questions in RDFL land.

What is happening at broadford. There appears to be a lot of clearances out in the past few weeks?

Who is under pressure more. Sporle or helmers? Both winless at this stage of the season.

With a lack of ruck man in the comp will Cuffey get a run in the interleague.

Will woodend get to host the grand final this year given their home ground at Romsey park is up to finals standard?

Which semmo is the better umpire?

Surely footytripper u have no idea. How can coaches be under pressure after one game? And how is there a lack of ruck man?

who won the footy today at broadford surely broadford after all there spruking and huge player payments . How did caccamo go against his old club and john baker

Was a good game to watch, Romsey won by 4 goals, very even until 3quarter time with Broadford in front for a decent portion of the game.

Caccamo was yellow carded early in game, he kicked one goal that I saw (possibly more). Baker seemed to do okay, not sure on stats.

Matt Burkett was out early with possible broken collarbone.

Zak saad was great to watch, was surprised how small Russell Robertson was but he still has a big leap.

Can anyone who was there explain what was going on at the centre bounces?

Romsey i think won that one, will close a few loose mouths, macedon won by heaps, sunbury heaps, diggers, riddell, lancefield, how can sporle recover from that?

Surprised to see the team list of Broadford missing the 2 zols in the seniors.Thought this would of been good chance for 2 emerging stars to play alongside some very good past afl players.I only hope other commitments prevented them playing as surely these types (and Bulluss who did play) are the future of the club.
If nothing else I hope Broadford made a $$$ as im sure they gunna need it.
No real surprise at rest of results and am sure by round 12 on pretenders will be well seperated by contendors.
Once again due to work I only caught 2nd half of Wallan V Macedon but what I saw Macedon look very good No 10 on ball and No 35 Chb very impressive whilst Wallan was very dissapointing

Can someone (Keston perhaps) tell me why RDFL website shows final scores as Broadford 9-11-63 def Romsey 6-7-43, when the actual score was 19-11 to 16-5 in Romsey's favour? Perhaps the home club doing the RDFL scoring for the day didn't like the end score!!
http://www.foxsportspulse.com/round_info.cgi?a=MATCH&fixture=124383148&c=1-3351-0-345934-0&pool=1
Yeah think they mixed up SNR and resy results when entering them not shore great game of footy big crowd romsey just got away in the last qtr and new how to win question I ask where are all the good umpires 79 frees paid in a free flowing contest and they can't even throw the ball up correctly Perhaps we need to pay more to get better quality umpires into the game just a thought some one needs to watch the replay
besides all that a great day for rdnfl footy
No further comment

Yeah think they mixed up SNR and resy results when entering them not shore great game of footy big crowd romsey just got away in the last qtr and new how to win question I ask where are all the good umpires 79 frees paid in a free flowing contest and they can't even throw the ball up correctly Perhaps we need to pay more to get better quality umpires into the game just a thought some one needs to watch the replay
No further comment

Obviously i have no idea about yesterday's game but you had a 3 time senior grand final umpire who has 3 years VFL experience and an at least 6 time senior grand final umpire yesterday.

Keston just out of interest how many free kicks to broadford?
No further comment

Q
Obviously i have no idea about yesterday's game but you had a 3 time senior grand final umpire who has 3 years VFL experience and an at least 6 time senior grand final umpire yesterday.[/
He needs to retire he had trouble throwing the ball up not having a crack but we pay good $$ in our fees and I'm not tAlking from a broadford perspective but by many I've seen the replay and tried to justify it and can't
With his experience he could coach umpires but umpiring has past him like playing footy has past many of us
Also he talks to much out there and the game seems to focus a lot around him a good umpire isn't noticed
From some one who was there and I understand there is a shortage of umps and I have umpired in the wrfl