RDFL Season 2015

I found this really interesting. To me it makes sense to let them move. 12 teams, no byes and one less non-competitive game with twos pulling out. I can't understand why our clubs would try to block the move. If they think it is best for them, let them go. They are a great club with heaps of history so I hope they can find their feet again. How do others think our clubs will vote?

Good point J_B. If the AFL VIC (now Goldfields region) cared that much about Kilmore in the RDFL they should show some ticker and do the restructure now that they know they want in the future. They should have moved Wallan or Broadford (no disrespect Keston you guys have done a fantastic job this year) but move those teams so then Kilmore can stay and would have a point of difference to the other teams in their immediate area. If you want to play NFL go Wallan, if you want to play RDFL go Kilmore, might facilitate a little bit more player movement in that part of the region in terms of attracting and retaining. Now though it has not been done, clearly the good folk of Kilmore are not taking this lightly. Only reason to oppose is the stark reality that an 18 game season is gonna cost more money to clubs, but to me, that's a clubs choice what they spend, survival of a club is not! Club survival should be the focus.

It's a tough one hey, scroll past this post Terry Chan I know you don't like my opinions.

As long as Kilmore conduct itself respectfully then that's all they can do. Be open and honest and I'm sure common sense will prevail. Ya never burn ya bridges, sadly I know that one all too well after being Broadford's coach in 2008 and seeing how poorly the HDFL and it's clubs were treated :thumbsdown:

If Kilmore are allowed to move on with a "no hard feelings" relationship then that should be priority #1 as survival of all clubs must be paramount.

For the record, I'm not 100% for the NFL push, but I do respect why and will support it if it happens as I live in Kilmore and every town deserves to have a footy club. I do a lot with our juniors and will continue to do so, but I will still follow the locals whether I'm hands on or not as that's how I was brought up by a footy mad dad.

I remember seeing a document in 2010/2011 where it was hoped a two tiered set-up would be in place within 3-5 years. There is no clear evidence that this is even in the thought process now and sadly in Kilmore's case it's too late.

Should the RDFL clubs follow the suggestion from above to "oppose" I'm 99% certain you wont compete against Kilmore anyway because the door will shut. I hope I'm proven wrong but that's just my personal read on the situation.

From where I sit it will be selfish in a sense of only getting $26-27,000 a year in league fee's and a continued free throw at the stumps (hopefully twice) in terms of 4 premiership points for the clubs who love the fact this club is on it's knees.

A lot of friends, and folk on here have been for and against and that's fine - opinions are like ar$eholes, we all have one - but if this push gives the club 2-3 more years to try and structure a sustainable future then it's time well bought if you ask me as the alternative is not good.

A dickhead at work tried giving it "look at Broadford they've turned it around." What a load of frog$hit.

This guy had no idea and looks at ladder positions as a guide. Give Trav McCarty and Wighty the same budget Broadford had the past couple of years and I reckon they may have got Kilmore a few more wins.

Whether it be from one benefactor or Keston's "business plan" Kilmore simply aren't in the financial position to compete any longer in this strengthening environment. And don't take that in the way you's normally do up the road, it's a resource business now and you either have it (resources/support) or you don't.

Brand is everything, and regretfully I'm probably part of the recent history that has helped brand Kilmore in it's current state and for that I'm sorry to everyone at Kilmore FNC - but these people are merely the current torchbearers of a 100-year plus history and no one wants to be in charge if/when the door potentially closes.

Sadly the executive can't continue to serve under the RDFL and that's their perogative, who can blame them - but no one has come forward from this community to say "bugger it I'll have a go." Same old story in Kilmore, plenty willing to gob off, claim to know they've got the answers but wont step up when needed.

I read as Keston says players are looking around, good on them, who wouldn't after the past 3-4 years but I can guarantee a few are doing the same from the other way should Kilmore and Broadford and Wallan not be seen as direct opponents in the future.

Anyway, let's hope clubs vote with head and heart, as this next couple of weeks will determined whether or not we even have a club in Kilmore anymore.

Sorry Terry ....

It's a tough one hey, scroll past this post Terry Chan I know you don't like my opinions.

As long as Kilmore conduct itself respectfully then that's all they can do. Be open and honest and I'm sure common sense will prevail. Ya never burn ya bridges, sadly I know that one all too well after being Broadford's coach in 2008 and seeing how poorly the HDFL and it's clubs were treated :thumbsdown:

If Kilmore are allowed to move on with a "no hard feelings" relationship then that should be priority #1.

For the record, I'm not 100% for the NFL push, but I do respect why and will support it if it happens as I live in Kilmore and every town deserves to have a footy club. I do a lot with our juniors and will continue to do so, but I will still follow the locals whether I'm hands on or not as that's how I was brought up by a footy mad dad.

I remember seeing a document in 2010/2011 where it was hoped a two tiered set-up would be in place within 3-5 years. There is no clear evidence that this is even in the thought process now and sadly in Kilmore's case it's too late.

Should the RDFL clubs follow the suggestion from above to "oppose" I'm 99% certain you wont compete against Kilmore anyway because the door will shut. So from where I sit it will be selfish in a sense of only getting $26-27,000 a year in league fee's and a continued free throw at the stumps (hopefully twice) in terms of 4 premiership points for the clubs who love the fact this club is on it's knees.

A lot of friends, and folk on here have been for and against and that's fine - opinions are like ar$eholes, we all have one - but if this push gives the club 2-3 more years to try and structure a sustainable future then it's time well bought if you ask me as the alternative is not good.

A dickhead at work tried giving it "look at Broadford they've turned it around." What a load of frog$hit.

This guy had no idea and looks at ladder positions as a guide. Give Trav McCarty and Wighty the same budget Broadford had the past couple of years and I reckon they may have got Kilmore a few more wins.

Whether it be from one benefactor or Keston's "business plan" Kilmore simply aren't in the financial position to compete any longer in this strengthening environment. And don't take that in the way you's normally do up the road, it's a resource business now and you either have it (resources/support) or you don't.

Brand is everything, and regretfully I'm probably part of the recent history that has helped brand Kilmore in it's current state and for that I'm sorry to everyone at Kilmore FNC - but these people are merely the current torchbearers of a 100-year plus history and no one wants to be in charge if/when the door potentially closes.

Sadly the executive can't continue to serve under the RDFL and that's their perogative, who can blame them - but no one has come forward from this community to say "bugger it I'll have a go." Same old story in Kilmore, plenty willing to gob off, claim to know they've got the answers but wont step up when needed.

I read as Keston says players are looking around, good on them, who wouldn't after the past 3-4 years but I can guarantee a few are doing the same from the other way should Kilmore and Broadford and Wallan not be seen as direct opponents in the future.

Anyway, let's hope clubs vote with head and heart, as this next couple of weeks will determined whether or not we even have a club in Kilmore anymore.

Sorry Terry ....

I am not connected to any RDFL club but I would wonder what's ups with the rdfl when they send sh!t out like that to urge clubs to block kilmore's move to the NFL. In my humble opinion the RDFL have no good reason to block the move as they have no right to send a club to the wall and extinction .Good on you to all the hard working people trying to keep Kilmore football going I hope you get over to the NFL and make a good go of it. and who knows If they start to gets some wins on the board it might attract more local back to the club

I found this really interesting. To me it makes sense to let them move. 12 teams, no byes and one less non-competitive game with twos pulling out. I can't understand why our clubs would try to block the move. If they think it is best for them, let them go. They are a great club with heaps of history so I hope they can find their feet again. How do others think our clubs will vote?

Kilmore could just easily fold and start up again which is another way to get into another league either way RDFL could end up losing Kilmore from what I read if they were forced to stay in RDFL they may not have a side in 2016

The RDFL and the NFL and every other league body could not give a flying heck about any community team all they care about is there huge ego's and there own back pockets!! I say good luck KFNC at least there having a crack at something new that may save there club!

maby they should consider Merging with their Neighbour Wallan? that or sit out for a year

Just reading that the RDFNL CLubs have opposed the Kilmore move so they are in limbo. If this article is true as reported, it is a huge call for other clubs to state they think Kilmore would be better off in the RDFL than NFL, how would they know. It seems clear this club has been down the bottom for a period of time and prob as Doona has said tried everything to date. I wonder if the concern is the 18 game season and match payments...I would hate to have the death of a club resting on selfishness........
If they die then we still have the 18 game match payment anyway. So I hope that is not the reason.

Sent from my D5833 using Tapatalk

I've also had a look at the recent articles from the local footy leader page (which is a great site btw for updates throughout the metro leagues).
Some of the things i find concerning with AFL Goldfields have taken matters into their own hands with the club. The club voted heavily to go to the NFL to the tune of 80% or so. Then AFL Goldfields say they still dont think its in their best interests and start emailing existing players for surveys on the matter :confused:
Do they think this is an election in Zimbabwe or something where the voting is rigged?
I dont really comprehend how an organisation based in Ballarat truly understands the demographics of the towns 2 hours away, it just seems agenda driven to me.

They won't be the first team to go under due to leagues own interests if it results in that.

Disappointing for all involved - as I stated my current involvement lies with our juniors who are a RDFL affiliate, but I fear now for what may become of the club.

I guess Riddell and Lancefield both had spells when times got tough, but the economic climate has changed a fair bit since them days and it will be tough getting back up off the canvas for 2017 if 2016 don't happen :mad: :thumbsdown:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/...i5htyf-1227560402157?_sm_au_=iVVWR7FfFV4Qj1ns

Disappointing for all involved - as I stated my current involvement lies with our juniors who are a RDFL affiliate, but I fear now for what may become of the club.

I guess Riddell and Lancefield both had spells when times got tough, but the economic climate has changed a fair bit since them days and it will be tough getting back up off the canvas for 2017 if 2016 don't happen :mad: :thumbsdown:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/...i5htyf-1227560402157?_sm_au_=iVVWR7FfFV4Qj1ns

they should take a leaf out of great Western from Horsham & distric simialar problem with HDFL clubs not letting them go to mininera so they folded and 1 or 2 years later started up and joined Mininera after i think appealed the decision

Good point J_B. If the AFL VIC (now Goldfields region) cared that much about Kilmore in the RDFL they should show some ticker and do the restructure now that they know they want in the future. They should have moved Wallan or Broadford (no disrespect Keston you guys have done a fantastic job this year) but move those teams so then Kilmore can stay and would have a point of difference to the other teams in their immediate area. If you want to play NFL go Wallan, if you want to play RDFL go Kilmore, might facilitate a little bit more player movement in that part of the region in terms of attracting and retaining. Now though it has not been done, clearly the good folk of Kilmore are not taking this lightly. Only reason to oppose is the stark reality that an 18 game season is gonna cost more money to clubs, but to me, that's a clubs choice what they spend, survival of a club is not! Club survival should be the focus.

What are you on about regarding Wallan. They are in the RDFL and that is where they are staying.

they should take a leaf out of great Western from Horsham & distric simialar problem with HDFL clubs not letting them go to mininera so they folded and 1 or 2 years later started up and joined Mininera after i think appealed the decision

Pity they paid up their debt, coulda just changed their name and started again debt free. Just got a SMS stating that's happened in the past.

A year of recess then a rename like Kilmore Blues Football Netball Club could be the go.

Was interested to learn about a players survery, so Ive this morning contacted 19-20 of the guys I know still at the club.
6 never saw it, a few even screen shotted their response, and all said they answered in favour of the move ....

Update - another guy just said he never saw it either

Could it be that "inconclusive" means that not everyone was even contacted, or perhaps repsonses have fudged to suit?

1. Where do you think the Kilmore FNC should be playing in 2016?
Riddell District FNL
Northern FNL
Other (please specify)
2. If Kilmore were to leave the RDFNL and join the NFL, would you be likely to return to the club to play in 2016?
Yes
No
Thank you for your time and all the best with your sporting pursuits

For such a serious topic, I'm glad the hard questions were at least asked

Like I said before the league only care about themselves!
Every president should have to have a reason why they voted against and should be made public!
I think they will win on appeal anyway due to the overwhelming vote count they had with there members!
Also makes sense to both leagues now there will be no byes!

Like I said before the league only care about themselves!
Every president should have to have a reason why they voted against and should be made public!
I think they will win on appeal anyway due to the overwhelming vote count they had with there members!
Also makes sense to both leagues now there will be no byes!

From what I'm told not all clubs were even present to listen to Kilmore president Dave Milne, but agree they deserve to know who voted which way and why.

One vote per club, tabled by an executive member, and that's expected to represent that entire clubs thoughts on said topic .....

From what I'm told not all clubs were even present to listen to Kilmore president Dave Milne, but agree they deserve to know who voted which way and why.

One vote per club, tabled by an executive member, and that's expected to represent that entire clubs thoughts on said topic .....

This is starting to sound like a kangaroo court. Be good to know how many clubs did vote.

Let me get this right. The Kilmore people voted 61 - 8 to go to the NFL, all three divisions of the NFL voted unamimously to accept them, but because a majority of RDFL presidents believe it's not in Kilmore's best interest to leave they have blocked them from leaving. Sounds like a Monty Python skit to me!
How the hell would opposition clubs presidents know what is best for the KFNC? Did they attend the meetings? Have they spoken to the players, net ballers and those involved with the club? I think not.
I think it's a case of wanting to keep a perennial whipping boy in the league so they can continue to chalk up a couple of easy wins for the year.

Let me get this right. The Kilmore people voted 61 - 8 to go to the NFL, all three divisions of the NFL voted unamimously to accept them, but because a majority of RDFL presidents believe it's not in Kilmore's best interest to leave they have blocked them from leaving. Sounds like a Monty Python skit to me!
How the hell would opposition clubs presidents know what is best for the KFNC? Did they attend the meetings? Have they spoken to the players, net ballers and those involved with the club? I think not.
I think it's a case of wanting to keep a perennial whipping boy in the league so they can continue to chalk up a couple of easy wins for the year.

AMEN TO THAT

I didn't know the clubs voted on this blue boy. But I honestly hope the blues stick it out. Changing leagues will not fix problems. From an outsider I think the club needs a mover and shaker to step in, get the town back onboard and have a real go

if only they just fell out of the sky mate