• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL Thread 2007

Strongly disagree.. Hollywood is still a very good player in this competition...

His cousin plays with me at Nth Coburg and I have gone to watch him a couple of times, he played well in the 2005 GF against Ridell and one game last year he killed em against Kilmore, kicked about 5 goals, but since then he's done nothin!! He'd struggle to get a game anywhere else.

Im sure there are exceptions, but how many of these players does one team have? Not a side full of them. Agree that some can step straight into AFL ranks from TAC but even they are eazed in to a degree, playing off the bench, wing, or forward/back pockets, not straight into the centre or key positions. (if there are key positions these days). Is the AFL more physical? They are obviously bigger bodies, but they run the ball so much these days there isnt much contested footy is there?? Local footy is alot slower, therefore more contested possessions. Agree Hawkins could polax anyone, but does he know how to use his body better than an older player? I reckon he's still learning, and will become a man mountain in future years.

that is exaclty my point local footy is slower these kids would do rings around most local players fitness wise etc these kids are jus supreme athletes compared to local footballers . its as van sed every year kilmore play ack and 90% of the time ack flog em. all the talk about kilmores 2001 team they dominated the league did not lose a game in a competitve year of the rdfl. acks team beat thme by 100 points on jj clancy. ack only had 5 kids i think on a tac cup list all with calder. kilmore were a 50 point better team than any other team in the rdfl and ack pummeled them. most would tip a tac cup side to beat an ack team aswel. i think a more fair argument would be to compare school boy teams vs local footy. this is where ure argument of physical intimidation comes more into play i think

Seasons Greetings folks, Mike is back after a short layoff and here with all of your RDFL inside news.

News out of a strong source, just as Mike predicted, it is believed that my friends at Melton and Melton South are more than interested in a possible return to a 2 division RDFL. Even preparing for talks to be held with the RDFL about a move. Would a move such as this pave the way for Darley and Bacchus Marsh to join them? Where has the Sunbury move the the EDFL gone since its announcement? I believe that Sunbury may be looking at the possibility of a return, and will also be looking at other strong clubs in the area that may have moved on to return with them. Could we still see the "RDFL Super League" come 2009???

Some interesting opportunities coming up for the RDFL and its existing clubs. The sky is the limit if this could possibly be pushed through.

Just my opinion...
Is it time for the League to change it's name? Unfortunately I think the Riddell District Football League has some sort of stigma attached to it these days. I think it could be something to help lure some of the clubs that have been mentioned back to the league. Some eg. could be... Macedon Ranges Football League, North West Football League, Calder Football League...
Any other eg or thoughts?

Just my opinion...
Is it time for the League to change it's name? Unfortunately I think the Riddell District Football League has some sort of stigma attached to it these days. I think it could be something to help lure some of the clubs that have been mentioned back to the league. Some eg. could be... Macedon Ranges Football League, North West Football League, Calder Football League...

NO!

We have to have some history people!!! Riddell is still the central part of the association. If we named it the Macedon Ranges Football League it would upset Kilmore, Diggers Rest, Sunbury Kangaroos, Melton Central and Rockbank. There are too many teams not on the Calder to name it that. North West doesn't make sense either. North West of what?

NO!

We have to have some history people!!! Riddell is still the central part of the association. If we named it the Macedon Ranges Football League it would upset Kilmore, Diggers Rest, Sunbury Kangaroos, Melton Central and Rockbank. There are too many teams not on the Calder to name it that. North West doesn't make sense either. North West of what?

The VFL changed it's name in 1990 to the AFL and it's history is still there. I just think we need a name that makes the league seem bigger or broader.

Just my opinion...

Agree SH if the league want's to move forward it may have to forgo some of its past to go forward.

Sorry Matty but history is there to be judged by, not to hold on to.

Agree SH if the league want's to move forward it may have to forgo some of its past to go forward.

Sorry Matty but history is there to be judged by, not to hold on to.

I disagree, but would be happy to support a reasonable name change. None of the previously mentioned are suitable. I'm trying to think of something and I can't.

NO!

North West of Melbourne Pickles, i really like that name.
North Western Football League, i do agree with the negative stigma attched to Riddel District.Alot of people down melbourne way snub there nose when you declare your love for the RDFL.North West also sounds alot bigger and more powerful. Will draw some bigger sponsors and players one would think.

North West of Melbourne Pickles, i really like that name.
North Western Football League, i do agree with the negative stigma attched to Riddel District.Alot of people down melbourne way snub there nose when you declare your love for the RDFL.North West also sounds alot bigger and more powerful. Will draw some bigger sponsors and players one would think.

I have a map in front of me and we are not North West of Melbourne. Go back to Kyneton.

we have got teams like melton and rockabank which are relatively west of melb, and teams like romsey lancefield and kilmore which are north, and everyone else in between...i think north west could work

There is nothing wrong with the name Riddell District Football League, it has been in existence for a century and I don't think a club would decided to not join because of the name. The league doesn't have a bad reputation like the Diamond Valley league did and doesn't need to change the name.

Pickles, you kidding right? what direction would you describe our league then? I think your a little angry cos most of the unheralded bigfooty posters are coming up with greater posts then yourself.

I am sitting North of Melbourne. Mike Lyon is West of Melbourne.

However, Bendigo is also North West of Melbourne, as is Swan Hill and Mildura. Read my above post. Why should we change the name? The league hasn't got a bad reputation to need to change it.

Although I did say the league name had a stigma attached to it, I didn't say it had a bad reputation. As someone else stated... a bigger/broader name might attract bigger sponsors and more players

CALDER FOOTBALL LEAGUE.
most clubs are situated off it,and our elite kids can represent the
CALDER CANNONS

CALDER FOOTBALL LEAGUE.
most clubs are situated off it,and our elite kids can represent the
CALDER CANNONS

Yeah but Melton kids go to the Jets, and Kyneton kids would go to the Bendigo Pioneers. What about Romsey, Riddell, Kilmore, Wallan, Melton Central, Melton, Melton South, Darley, Rockbank, Trentham etc. They are nowhere near the Calder.