• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL Thread 2007

Um... Thats almost like going to the races and spruiking "I was gonna back that" after a horse has won... :D

Whatever. Until I start getting paid for my stories on BigFooty I think I'll be loyal to The Free Press and let our readers get the exclusive this time.

Don't worry, you guys will be informed at an appropriate time.

Why you giving our boy a hard time pal ? He does try ever so hard, sounds like he is under the pump & may need a personal assistant (maybe a female 1) now with all thats happening !

Not really under the pump, I have a few ripper stories to come out in the next few weeks. Timing is everything. However, wouldn't say no to a new female assistant.

Whatever. Until I start getting paid for my stories on BigFooty I think I'll be loyal to The Free Press and let our readers get the exclusive this time.

Don't worry, you guys will be informed at an appropriate time.

Im tipping that Mike just broke one of the "ripper stories" you have planned though Matty... :D

Not giving him a hard time.. Just funny... Gotta love the racing analogy to go with it :D

Whatever. Until I start getting paid for my stories on BigFooty I think I'll be loyal to The Free Press and let our readers get the exclusive this time..

Forget the loyalty mate, u just keep posting your stories on here and ya website before The Free Press comes out as it saves me and the many many others I talk to having to pay for it - and rubs a few of ya fellow workers the wrong way also which is even better

Just keep on keeping it real mate :thumbsu:

Im tipping that Mike just broke one of the "ripper stories" you have planned though Matty... :D

Mike didn't break anything I didn't already know. When I sat down with the new GM at the start of the year we spoke about this two-division idea. Since then I have gone about it pretty quietly and just letting it take its course. About a month ago I sat down and compiled a list of possible sides that could compete. Then I wrote an article a fortnight ago and then all the Lions stuff came out. It doesn't change my original article too much, only really backs up what I'm saying. Its good to have some more news breakers on this forum though. Its getting a little stale. Although OMNI's call just before was pure gold!

calder cannons would not beat sunbury lions seniors...simply because its still junior football yes there may be kids there who play seniors but they dont have the protection of senor men with experience...the likes of griffo and serge would physical dismantle any 18 yr old kid....putt is a wimp and is only there (cannons) cause of the fact that he is 200 cm...pat carris would smash him all over the ground...not to mention the jamie lobbs and the ross slights, the daniel sahlbergs....who would match up on houlahan and beattie and stop train and brett chambers and others are ex cannons with senior football experience....just because its tac cup football doesnt mean it matches up to top senior football...

calder would maul sunbury lions seniors. be as physically intimidating as you like these kids would run around your bumps and jump over your tackles they are superior in almost every aspect of the game to a local senior football club calder had i think 8 reps in the victorian metropolitan team enough said 8 of the best 26 kids in metropolitan vic. they have built rukman of 200 cms as van mentioned and sum of the best forward goal players going eg adam maric. the physical intimidation aspect almost wouldnt even cum into it because these kids would be too fit for you to hit them. Kids that play in greenvales first missed out on calder selection such as danial burns etc. and greenvale would maul any other team from the bfl ,rdfl. just a superior team to almost all but the absoloute gun teams such as ure greenvale, seymour,pigeons, vermont etc .

Mike didn't break anything I didn't already know. When I sat down with the new GM at the start of the year we spoke about this two-division idea. Since then I have gone about it pretty quietly and just letting it take its course. About a month ago I sat down and compiled a list of possible sides that could compete. Then I wrote an article a fortnight ago and then all the Lions stuff came out. It doesn't change my original article too much, only really backs up what I'm saying. Its good to have some more news breakers on this forum though. Its getting a little stale. Although OMNI's call just before was pure gold!

Bit touchy there Matty.. A little threatened maybe... Lol :D

I just spoke to Mike for the first time.. Seems he knows a little more than what he has actually posted.. Going to make for interesting times ahead.. Im sure a little more than anyone on here actually knows to be honest... :eek:

calder would maul sunbury lions seniors. be as physically intimidating as you like these kids would run around your bumps and jump over your tackles they are superior in almost every aspect of the game to a local senior football club calder had i think 8 reps in the victorian metropolitan team enough said 8 of the best 26 kids in metropolitan vic. they have built rukman of 200 cms as van mentioned and sum of the best forward goal players going eg adam maric. the physical intimidation aspect almost wouldnt even cum into it because these kids would be too fit for you to hit them. Kids that play in greenvales first missed out on calder selection such as danial burns etc. and greenvale would maul any other team from the bfl ,rdfl. just a superior team to almost all but the absoloute gun teams such as ure greenvale, seymour,pigeons, vermont etc .

unless a player has played at such a level as the calder cannons,they wouldnt be able to comprehend just how good the standard is.
i spent three years at the jets and was surrounded by absolute gun footballers.yes the cannons would smash most senior sides,but like i just mentioned ONLY the guys who have played at that level would agree.
they might be kids,but they are closer to a.f.l than any other league.
that is the a.f.ls pool 2 pick from

as for the rdfl going to two divisions,i think it would be great for the league.and could u imagine the amount of player poaching that would occurr if it did happen.i bet the division one sides would be hunting for these names
sipthorpe,simms,robertson,mcinernys,morgan,etc.

unless a player has played at such a level as the calder cannons,they wouldnt be able to comprehend just how good the standard is.
i spent three years at the jets and was surrounded by absolute gun footballers.yes the cannons would smash most senior sides,but like i just mentioned ONLY the guys who have played at that level would agree.
they might be kids,but they are closer to a.f.l than any other league.
that is the a.f.ls pool 2 pick from

as for the rdfl going to two divisions,i think it would be great for the league.and could u imagine the amount of player poaching that would occurr if it did happen.i bet the division one sides would be hunting for these names
sipthorpe,simms,robertson,mcinernys,morgan,etc.

What about Hollywood?:D:rolleyes:

Forget the loyalty mate, u just keep posting your stories on here and ya website before The Free Press comes out as it saves me and the many many others I talk to having to pay for it - and rubs a few of ya fellow workers the wrong way also which is even better

Just keep on keeping it real mate :thumbsu:

yeah great work, saves me forking out for the free press. My mates also are doing the same thing. Keep up the good work matty!! :thumbsu:

That was my point exactly:D A small bloke from Romsey. I don't know how he still gets a game. He's finished!!:thumbsdown:
Strongly disagree.. Hollywood is still a very good player in this competition...

How would clubs feel about fawkner park returning to this comp, i cant remember, did they leave this comp on a bad note? or did they fold and then rebuild and enter into DVFL.

Harry's Happenings

Well it's that time of the week when everyone starts firing up about what's going to happen over this weeks round of footy. Either that or playing guessing games about who's going where or taking pot shots about who's a good leader or who has or hasn't got class etc... I love it. Great Stuff. Now, down to business.

Diggers Rest v Woodend Hesket

Are Woodend the real deal? Have Diggers got what it takes to make the finals? Two big questions. 1 - Woodend seem to have just slightly moved to the side of the radar, not off it, just to the side. This team is very well coached and with the cattle on the park can dismantle any side on their day. Their onballers and brigade of young stars continue to get the job done. Then they have the experience of Ninga, Sipthorpe and Barker. These guys may just be "The Real Deal". 2 - Diggers on the other hand have got what it takes to make the finals, and not only make it, but give a bloody good shake while they're there. Their onballers are among the best in the league and when on song, very difficult to hold. When the ball gets thrown up on Saturday, Jose should dominate the ruck, meaning Sims and Ruane or Heritage will get the first hands on it. Woodend's back line however is superb to say the least which is a stark contrast to Digger's forward line. This, for mine, is where the game will be won. Woodend, 16 points.

Sunbury v Kilmore

This is going to be the second "Do or Die" match in a row for Kilmore, with the possiblity of another two straight after this one. A loss last week means the door is well and truly ajar for the Burra. Kilmore will be bitter about their chances going begging over the last few weeks and will be out to seek some revenge. Although with an injury to Goudge, it would seem all of the hard work will be up to Pickle's man; Robbo. No doubting the bloke is a gun, but remember, he's young, he's holding his side on his shoulders and according to "Bulldogz_Rok" a couple of days ago, he's not a leader. In my opinion he is. Robbo will come up against Helmers, McInerny x 2 and Bonicci this week. A daunting task. With Minskin back into the side also the Roos look too strong all around the ground. The Roos also have a fair bit to prove after, what some have said, they have dropped off. Not as far as I can tell. I'd really like to see an upset here with Kilmore getiing over the Roos, but I'm a realist. Roos by 6 goals.

Rockbank v Romsey

Romsey have just started to put everything together over the last couple of weeks. One shining light and perhaps making all of the difference, Steve Burlak. That bloke is a gun in his own right. Dum Dum came out the other week yelling that he was coming for Burlak. Burlak replied with 6 straight for the day. Not bad someone who used to be rather easily intimidated. I would be too if Dum Dum told me he was coming for me:eek: Last week he kicked another 6 straight. Morgan was good along with BJ Nettlebeck. I haven't seen much of Rockbank, but from what I'm told they will not lay down easily. This is a side that has pride and is building for the future. Hopefully some of the experienced guys stick around with the young blokes like Krul and form a solid foundation for the years ahead. I recall a few years back when Romsey were well and truly up and about and we went over to Rockbank expecting a 20 goal win. The Rams won by 19 points. Romsey better get their heads straight again this week and make sure the game is put away nice and early. Romsey 10 goals.

Lancefield v Macedon

Macedon have got some work to do this week against the Tigers. From what I saw last week, the Cats have some good young blokes running around and some really smart Cats as well. It goes without saying that Christiansen is their man. He got a bucket load of possies last weekend against the Redbacks but didn't have much help up forward. A young bloke by the Nickname "Nicko" (no. 22) was a bit of a livewire also, he had I think 3 shots on goal in the first 5 mins but didn't convert any. He also had plenty of the ball around the ground. That said, the pure class of Collins and Choate will see the Tigers clear by a fair margin. Conway will have his work cut out this week against the big red headed fella (don't know his name). He was very good last week, albeit Connellan didn't play, he still had to beat his opponent, and did very well. The finishing by the Tigers up forward will prove the real difference this week. Lancefield by 8 goals.

Melton Centrals v Riddell

Riddell will be too classy for Melton this week. Whether they play at Macpherson Park or in Riddell or the MCG or even the local play ground, the Bombers are too good. Centrals will take it up to Riddell for the first half and if they have their serious boots on, possibily up to 3/4 time. We all know how well Centrals play their own ground and Riddell will need to get the score on the board early to ensure a comfortable ride home. Wheelahan (I wanted to ensure I spelled his name correctly!!) will be effective around the stoppages as long as the two B's (Belville and Blade) don't get it first. IMO Belville for the Bowen:thumbsu: The bigger bodies of the Centrals boys will make sure this is a physical clash, but as stated at the top, Riddell's class will be the difference. Riddell by 9 goals.

Well, that about wraps up Harry's Happenings. I took a little longer than anticipated, as I wanted to be as concise as possible. Hope it all makes sense, it did to me when I wrote it.

Good luck to those pulling them on this weekend.

Harry.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I agree to a point, but maul is probably going over the top F29. I have watched a lot of TAC cup games in the last few years and they wouldnt maul Sunbury. Yes, they may beat them and run them ragged on a good day, big ground, but as i said previously on a small ground, wet day it would be a different result. If push came to shove, i cant see too many of the U/18's physically matching it with the senior players, especially when its a wet day and the balls on the ground a fair bit.

How would clubs feel about fawkner park returning to this comp, i cant remember, did they leave this comp on a bad note? or did they fold and then rebuild and enter into DVFL.

a fair hunch but im pretty sure they folded then rebuilt in the DVFL. Watching the old man play rdfl think i remember fawkner being purple with yellow sash? essendon style

I agree to a point, but maul is probably going over the top F29. I have watched a lot of TAC cup games in the last few years and they wouldnt maul Sunbury. Yes, they may beat them and run them ragged on a good day, big ground, but as i said previously on a small ground, wet day it would be a different result. If push came to shove, i cant see too many of the U/18's physically matching it with the senior players, especially when its a wet day and the balls on the ground a fair bit.

i watched very closely the weekends match between the western jets and the northern knigths a very wet day at burbank oval and players like cruizer and grimes tipped both to go top 10 mayb even 1&2 handled the ball like like it was dry as dry can b i guess what im saying is that these kids are jsu far more superior even in the wet than most other local leagues thes ekids were taking pack marks everything in regards to physically matching wiht older opponents i know there is exceptions to any rule but many players step 1st year out of tac into the afl effectively. afl would b much much more physical than any local comp dlae thomas etc jus to name a few and there is also a few players within the tac with bodies like tom hawkins who was that big last year he would polax any man within most local comps. even your grimes of this year could do similiar.

a fair hunch but im pretty sure they folded then rebuilt in the DVFL. Watching the old man play rdfl think i remember fawkner being purple with yellow sash? essendon style

Your correct A. My grandfather was a life member with Nth Fawker and played in those colours. I still have the jumper when I was a little tacker. They got to the stage where most 2's were backing up in the 1's. They folded I think about 97.

i watched very closely the weekends match between the western jets and the northern knigths a very wet day at burbank oval and players like cruizer and grimes tipped both to go top 10 mayb even 1&2 handled the ball like like it was dry as dry can b in regards to physically matching wiht older opponents i know there is exceptions to any rule but many players step 1st year out of tac into the afl effectively. afl would b much much more physical than any local comp dlae thomas etc jus to name a few and there is also a few players within the tac with bodies like tom hawkins who was that big last year he would polax any man within most local comps. even your grimes of this year could do similiar.

Im sure there are exceptions, but how many of these players does one team have? Not a side full of them. Agree that some can step straight into AFL ranks from TAC but even they are eazed in to a degree, playing off the bench, wing, or forward/back pockets, not straight into the centre or key positions. (if there are key positions these days). Is the AFL more physical? They are obviously bigger bodies, but they run the ball so much these days there isnt much contested footy is there?? Local footy is alot slower, therefore more contested possessions. Agree Hawkins could polax anyone, but does he know how to use his body better than an older player? I reckon he's still learning, and will become a man mountain in future years.