RDFL Thread 2007

Sorry to do this again Pickles but I have received the same mail from another source, so perhaps the Riddell heirachy just playing things down? I'm not even trying to stir the pot here, it has been a ligitimate claim. Personally, I don't care, I don't have any $$ on the game and I can't wait to see who will win the GF, either way I don't care. Should be a good game, I just hope it doesn't blow out like the 05 GF, scores were level half way through the 3rd quarter and Riddell kicked the next 8 goals.

Can reconfirm that your sources are pulling your leg. A Romsey co-coach told a Riddell player, who didn't realise it was a joke and then started spreading it. But it has had a few people concerned, including me! Thank christ its not true. :D

Fair enough, as I stated, I have nothing riding on this game, I just thought I would put out was has been said to me, just in case it were true, people may want to adjust their betting options or perhaps would be concerned for a team mate. Either way as you will see tomorrow afternoon in Harry's Happenings - The GRAND FINAL edition, Riddell should convincingly beat the boys from Woodend. But I'll give a thorough run down on why I believe this to be the case. Keep your eyes peeled.:thumbsu:

Who will it be?

The Riddell District Football League grand final will be played at LancefieldPark this Sunday, with hot favourites Riddell expected to take home the flag from Woodend-Hesket. The Bombers enter the premiership contest fresh and full of running, while the Hawks have had to battle their way through the finals.
Matt Nicholls previews this blockbuster contest.

RECORD books will be rewritten this Sunday, when Riddell and Woodend-Hesket battle it out for the senior premiership in the Riddell District Football League.
The Bombers will be looking to win their third premiership in a row, a feat that has only been accomplished twice in RDFL post-war history.
Gisborne, now competing in the Bendigo Football League, were the last to win a hat-trick of flags, dominating the RDFL from 1997-99.
Riddell was the other side to win three in a row - the Bombers won the second division flag in 1990, before going up to win consecutive premierships in the top division in ’91 and ’92.
Hot favourites for this Sunday’s match, Riddell has an excellent chance of etching its name into the record books.
Woodend-Hesket won’t be giving the flag up on a plate, though.
The Hawks have not won a senior flag since 2002, where they defeated Lancefield by 33 points in a thrilling match at LancefieldPark.
After stumbling in last year’s preliminary final against Diggers Rest, the Gilbert Gordon Oval boys have a chance to go all the way on Sunday.
No doubt Hawks coach Mick Giddings will have his side geared to go in the biggest game of the season.
It has been a tough battle to make it this far, having been forced to play in every week of the finals, but Woodend-Hesket has found a way to win against the odds in the last two weeks.
Giddings has a plethora of capable match winners in his side, and will be looking to several key players to take on their well credentialled opponents.
The Hawks will be relying on Daniel Sipthorp to stand tall in both attack and defence, along with skipper Adam Johnstone in the midfield.
Lively small forward Daniel Salpietro needs to produce his magic again, while Warren Else and Kar Weng Ng will have big roles in the backline.
Perhaps the most crucial player Giddings will need to fire is full-forward Luke Barker. He has had a quiet finals series thus far and although he always looks likely to produce something, never quite comes through with the goods.
The Hawks will have almost a full squad to pick from this Sunday, with ruckman Matt Stacey the only exception with a hamstring injury.
BEST AVAILABLE
Riddell coach Darrin Rowsell is confident he has his best 25 to pick a side from on Sunday, but said it would be a challenge to fit 25 into 22.
The only expected change from the Bombers’ second semi-final win is for Mark Peatling to return to the side.
While Rowsell has every reason to be confident about Sunday’s match, he is wary of the Hawks’ fighting spirit and their high number of match winners.
The Riddell coach will be hoping his key players can produce the goods yet again to deliver the ultimate prize.
Skipper Jason Allen, one of the best leaders in the RDFL, will be desperate to hold Sipthorp if he drifts forward, and use his run to make the former Gisborne player accountable.
Allen will be hoping fellow defenders Nick Ash, James Climas and Matt Shaughnessy can also provide support.
In the middle, the Bombers will be relying heavily on Leigh Coles and Justin Belleville to get their hands on the ball first to give their stacked forward line the best possible chance to kick a big score.
In the wide open spaces of LancefieldPark, the Riddell forward line should have a field day if their midfielders can get the ball up there.
Mick Allen will spearhead the Bombers’ attack, with Heath Wadden, Leigh Harrison, Dean Besanko and James Petran providing the support.
Petran and Harrison are the taller and stronger marking types, while Allen, Wadden and Besanko are brilliant both in the air and below their knees.
While many of this year’s side have played in Riddell’s previous premierships, Rowsell said the key to keeping their hunger was to bring new players in each year.
The addition of hard man Coles into the middle has paid dividends, as the former EDFL on-baller has been a “protector” for many of his midfield mates.
Riddell lost just one game during the home and away season, and that was against Woodend-Hesket in round two at Woodend.
No doubt the Hawks will use that as inspiration to topple the Bombers, in what could be a David v Goliath battle.
Should Riddell perform to their best, there will be no stopping their quest for a ‘three-peat’.
The Bombers were in second gear for much of the season and have only looked to up the ante in recent matches.
With a talent packed forward line, fast running wingmen, a steady on-ball brigade and a tight-knit defence, Woodend-Hesket has a task ahead.
If the Hawks are to win, they need to be leading at three-quarter-time. When the Bombers are in front, they are almost impossible to overrun.
At Lancefield, every position is crucial. Both Rowsell and Giddings can ill-afford to have passengers on the day.
Experience will be the key on Sunday and that’s why Riddell will win. The margin will depend on weather conditions, and how the Hawks perform, but I think the Bombers should win comfortably, breaking away before three-quarter time.
My tip: Riddell by 45 points.

Kar Weng Ng v Besanko

This could be a losing matchup from a Woodend-Hesket perspective. I think the Hawks need to free Ninger up across half back and let him play an attacking role. If they were to go one on one, it would be a great battle, but Woodend desperately needs half-back drive.

Thats why it would be ripper match up Ningers attack and drive of 1/2 back versus Bombers goal kicking ability.

Riddell Players Review -

B. Allen - Absolute athlete, will jump all over any forward and bring the ball to ground for certain rebound.

J. Allen - Captain Courageous, ever reliable mark and kick. The architect of Riddell's rebounding strength.

M. Allen - Very tough key forward, strong mark and extremely accurate kick. Always elusive on the ground as well.

N. Allen - Underrated ball magnet, has ability to find space and continually sends ball forward.

N. Ash - Another solid defender who is always sending the ball to Riddell's advantage, impassable!

A. Blade - Creative and elusive link player who always gets plenty of it and will bob up with a couple of goals.

J. Belleville - Riddell's engine room. Tagged every week and still gets 30+ possessions. Will win Grand Final Medal !

D. Besanko - Versatility Plus. When he gets the ball, and he will, he will hurt you Big Time. Last years Grand Final Medallist.

M. Burnett - Riddell's "Rock in the Ruck". Hard to move and brings the ball to ground to their onballers advantage.

L.Coles - Nuggety and classy midfielder. A real impact player. Don't get in his way !

J. Crotty - Opportunistic forward who will run backmen ragged. Great kick for goal.

L. Harrison - Tough as nails. Can play anywhere. Nice mark and likes to kick goals.

R. Leitch - Strong backman. Only knows 1 way through the lines. Look out when he is on the move !

T. McDonald - Fearless midfielder with very strong body. Pack breaker who collects many possessions.

M. McDougall - Quality backman with exceptionally creative ball skills. Can tag, just ask Bonnici !

P. Murden - Gutsy player. Good mark who never wastes a kick. Will bounce back big time after being KO'd in last final.

M. Peatling - Very reliable footballer who always gives 100%. Consistantly racks up the stats.

J. Petran - Spactacular forward. He is the reason why we go to the Footy !

G. Robertson - Tireless ruckman who always gives his all for the team and will make presence felt around ground.

M. Shaunessey - Gifted young gun who has been a revelation this season. He "WILL" get plenty of it !

H. Wadden - When on song a match winner. His unselfish team play has been a feature this season.

Coach. D. Rowsell - Uncomplicated communicator & tactician that is universally liked and respected by his playing group.

Don't follw the league much in fact havent been too a game since 2001. Was going to come and watch Sunday but if Riddell are as good as you say there are maybe the RDFL should look at putting Riddell to 'G' friday night to take on the cats, Woodend might be better served to take on the Pies at lancefield park Sunday.

last game I went to was the 2001 preliminary final where Woodend rolled a much fancied Riddell, is there a similiar scenario this week, they way you and pickles are talking Riddell are monties, surely they have the pressure on them to win, and the Hawk boys just show up and have a crack.

Looks like Dig Barker has been copping it. He was a good kid when I played, seemed to like the big occassion, hopefully he will bring out his 'A' game on the big stage.

Don't follw the league much in fact havent been too a game since 2001. Was going to come and watch Sunday but if Riddell are as good as you say there are maybe the RDFL should look at putting Riddell to 'G' friday night to take on the cats, Woodend might be better served to take on the Pies at lancefield park Sunday.

last game I went to was the 2001 preliminary final where Woodend rolled a much fancied Riddell, is there a similiar scenario this week, they way you and pickles are talking Riddell are monties, surely they have the pressure on them to win, and the Hawk boys just show up and have a crack.

Looks like Dig Barker has been copping it. He was a good kid when I played, seemed to like the big occassion, hopefully he will bring out his 'A' game on the big stage.

There's no doubting Riddell's favourtism for this encounter. Rightly so, too. I'm not saying Woodend-Hesket can't win either, I'm just not tipping them to. A lot of the Hawks faithful reckon their side can get up, and I also think that too, providing they play at their very best - at least 20 of them anyway.

Riddell would also need a couple of things to go wrong, an early hammy strain or concussion etc to make it difficult. Can't go past the Bombers though. Experience is invaluable in grand finals.

Woodend and Riddell have proven a competetive match up this year IMO. Anything can happen in football, and I think Woodend will win on Sunday. Either way it should be a crackerjack game, and it looks like the weather will be perfect (although as with my tipping, the weatherman has been known to be wrong!). Woodend by 11 points.

Reserves is a lottery. Two best performed teams in the H & A season were Woodend and Diggers and neither are still standing. Riddell and Sunbury Kangas have stood up at the right time of year. I didn't see the Riddell game last week, but from what I was of the Kangas the week before they will be hard to beat. Kangas by 20, mainly coz they can run some of their eligible seniors in the game (Cuffe?!)

Haven't seen enough of the 18's to pass comment, but at a stab I'll go with Woodend to win.

Looking forward to a big climax to a great season at Lancefield on Sunday. C U all there!!:thumbsu:

Reserves is a lottery. Two best performed teams in the H & A season were Woodend and Diggers and neither are still standing. Riddell and Sunbury Kangas have stood up at the right time of year. I didn't see the Riddell game last week, but from what I was of the Kangas the week before they will be hard to beat. Kangas by 20, mainly coz they can run some of their eligible seniors in the game (Cuffe?!)

Take 2 seniors players out of the woodend game, i would't expect cuffe to line up either and as for eligible seniors their is not many. The roos will play their 2s this weekend against a very strong riddell reserves.

Who will it be?

The Riddell District Football League grand final will be played at LancefieldPark this Sunday, with hot favourites Riddell expected to take home the flag from Woodend-Hesket. The Bombers enter the premiership contest fresh and full of running, while the Hawks have had to battle their way through the finals.
Matt Nicholls previews this blockbuster contest.

RECORD books will be rewritten this Sunday, when Riddell and Woodend-Hesket battle it out for the senior premiership in the Riddell District Football League.
The Bombers will be looking to win their third premiership in a row, a feat that has only been accomplished twice in RDFL post-war history.
Gisborne, now competing in the Bendigo Football League, were the last to win a hat-trick of flags, dominating the RDFL from 1997-99.
Riddell was the other side to win three in a row - the Bombers won the second division flag in 1990, before going up to win consecutive premierships in the top division in ’91 and ’92.
Hot favourites for this Sunday’s match, Riddell has an excellent chance of etching its name into the record books.
Woodend-Hesket won’t be giving the flag up on a plate, though.
The Hawks have not won a senior flag since 2002, where they defeated Lancefield by 33 points in a thrilling match at LancefieldPark.
After stumbling in last year’s preliminary final against Diggers Rest, the Gilbert Gordon Oval boys have a chance to go all the way on Sunday.
No doubt Hawks coach Mick Giddings will have his side geared to go in the biggest game of the season.
It has been a tough battle to make it this far, having been forced to play in every week of the finals, but Woodend-Hesket has found a way to win against the odds in the last two weeks.
Giddings has a plethora of capable match winners in his side, and will be looking to several key players to take on their well credentialled opponents.
The Hawks will be relying on Daniel Sipthorp to stand tall in both attack and defence, along with skipper Adam Johnstone in the midfield.
Lively small forward Daniel Salpietro needs to produce his magic again, while Warren Else and Kar Weng Ng will have big roles in the backline.
Perhaps the most crucial player Giddings will need to fire is full-forward Luke Barker. He has had a quiet finals series thus far and although he always looks likely to produce something, never quite comes through with the goods.
The Hawks will have almost a full squad to pick from this Sunday, with ruckman Matt Stacey the only exception with a hamstring injury.
BEST AVAILABLE
Riddell coach Darrin Rowsell is confident he has his best 25 to pick a side from on Sunday, but said it would be a challenge to fit 25 into 22.
The only expected change from the Bombers’ second semi-final win is for Mark Peatling to return to the side.
While Rowsell has every reason to be confident about Sunday’s match, he is wary of the Hawks’ fighting spirit and their high number of match winners.
The Riddell coach will be hoping his key players can produce the goods yet again to deliver the ultimate prize.
Skipper Jason Allen, one of the best leaders in the RDFL, will be desperate to hold Sipthorp if he drifts forward, and use his run to make the former Gisborne player accountable.
Allen will be hoping fellow defenders Nick Ash, James Climas and Matt Shaughnessy can also provide support.
In the middle, the Bombers will be relying heavily on Leigh Coles and Justin Belleville to get their hands on the ball first to give their stacked forward line the best possible chance to kick a big score.
In the wide open spaces of LancefieldPark, the Riddell forward line should have a field day if their midfielders can get the ball up there.
Mick Allen will spearhead the Bombers’ attack, with Heath Wadden, Leigh Harrison, Dean Besanko and James Petran providing the support.
Petran and Harrison are the taller and stronger marking types, while Allen, Wadden and Besanko are brilliant both in the air and below their knees.
While many of this year’s side have played in Riddell’s previous premierships, Rowsell said the key to keeping their hunger was to bring new players in each year.
The addition of hard man Coles into the middle has paid dividends, as the former EDFL on-baller has been a “protector” for many of his midfield mates.
Riddell lost just one game during the home and away season, and that was against Woodend-Hesket in round two at Woodend.
No doubt the Hawks will use that as inspiration to topple the Bombers, in what could be a David v Goliath battle.
Should Riddell perform to their best, there will be no stopping their quest for a ‘three-peat’.
The Bombers were in second gear for much of the season and have only looked to up the ante in recent matches.
With a talent packed forward line, fast running wingmen, a steady on-ball brigade and a tight-knit defence, Woodend-Hesket has a task ahead.
If the Hawks are to win, they need to be leading at three-quarter-time. When the Bombers are in front, they are almost impossible to overrun.
At Lancefield, every position is crucial. Both Rowsell and Giddings can ill-afford to have passengers on the day.
Experience will be the key on Sunday and that’s why Riddell will win. The margin will depend on weather conditions, and how the Hawks perform, but I think the Bombers should win comfortably, breaking away before three-quarter time.
My tip: Riddell by 45 points.

Thank goodness you've picked against us Pickles, that was the last thing we needed to give us a genuine chance to winning the flag;).

nicholls just wondering why you haven't broken people on big footy the huge story.

yes that's right, mr nicholls' football career is over. saw him walking down the street last night with a cast on his arm. he told me that he's booked in for surgery in six weeks time and has to get a bone graft from his hip into his wrist. cricket career could be finished too.

Matty Nickollenko - Lancefield Football Club 2003-2007
rest in peace.

nicholls just wondering why you haven't broken people on big footy the huge story.

yes that's right, mr nicholls' football career is over. saw him walking down the street last night with a cast on his arm. he told me that he's booked in for surgery in six weeks time and has to get a bone graft from his hip into his wrist. cricket career could be finished too.

Matty Nickollenko - Lancefield Football Club 2003-2007
rest in peace.

Yes folks it is true. Will you be at the granny on Sunday Wing Nut?

Key match ups I would like to see:
Else v Petran,
Arnold V N Allen,
Sipthorp v Belliville (please let it happen.) no tagging let them go head to head.
Salpietro v Mcdougall,
Dabrovsak v B Allen,
Forrest/Stacy v Robertson,
Fennell v Ash,
Ng v Besanko,
Hardwick v Blade,
Ciunik v Climas.

Bring on Sunday can't wait.

HALFULL not bad any opinions on if these match-ups were to happen who would have the upper hand.

tips for this week

Seniors

Woodend by10 pts, they have beaten Riddell this year already and have nothing to lose, will be a great game

Sunbury by50 pts this will be the most one sided game for the day, have seen both sides in the last 2 weeks and for me sunbury to good.

Woodend 20 pts top side all year and are level headed enough to take the big one out.

HALFULL not bad any opinions on if these match-ups were to happen who would have the upper hand.

Just thought these would be great match ups for Sunday sitting on the fence having a few tinnies watching hopefully a great game.:thumbsu::)

Dont wan't to give the coaches any more to worry about so I will decline to go head to head on the match ups. (call it fence sitting)

Woodend-Hesket Players Review:
J Arnold - Quick & creative youngster with great skills on both sides.
W Else - Very reliable defender who has regained best form in finals series.
B Fennell - Freakish type of player who has potential to turn a match on its head.
S Bowen - Classy wingman who hurts the opposition with his raking left foot. A future leader of the club!
D Patterson - Probably the best small defender in the comp. Great hands for his size and WILL win his position!
D Ciunik - Interrupted season but playing his best football at right time as a floating half forward. Hard to match up due to his ability to play tall.
L Barker - Key forward who has ability to kick a winning score. Ignore him at your own peril.
D Salpietro - Slippery forward/midfielder who has been in Hawks best last 2 weeks. When he plays well the hawks win!
D Sipthorpe - Tough, versatile and skilfull. The player that Riddell must stop if they are to go 3peat. Will win medal!
L Hardwick - Reliable defender who is very disciplined.
J Downing - Strong, hard at the ball and a penetrating kick.
J Hardwick - Like his brother, super reliable. Nothing fancy but good luck getting an easy kick on either of them.
N Hannet - Veteran who has played most of his football at a much higher level. Ball magnet with exceptional hands in tight.
A Johnstone - Skipper who can either win loads of the footy or nullify an opponent depending on whats asked of him. Will step up this weekend!
K Ng - Rebounding defender who can play both short & tall. Sets up many forward thrusts with his run and precise kicking.
B Shea - Can be a running half back but more likely to shut down a dangerous opposition forward. Very disciplined.
P Podbury - Elusive little man who has a knack for finding space where there is none. Dangerous around goals.
D Dabrovsak - Giant of the competition and although at end of his career still very dangerous when deep forward. Will be too strong for just 1 opponent.
P Manser - A potential medal winner if he can put it all together for 4 quarters. Watch for him to take a screamer early!
J Forrest - Big bloke who can take a grab or rove a pack. A little Richo like in that he could do anything when the ball is in his area.
G Donovan - Underrated ball magnet. Goes head to head with many of the oppositions best and rarely loses.
M Stevens - Big bloke with a big heart. Makes up for lack of skill with his endeavour. Been a great inclusion over past couple of weeks.
M Stacey - No 1 ruckman who suffered hamstring injury 3 weeks ago. Unlikely starter but a big plus if fit enough.
M Williams - Enigmatic defender who played a big part in 2002 flag. Was close to BOG in 2's last week.
R Dowling - Quality small forward who kicked over 40 goals this year. Likely to be recalled this weekend due to his experience & goalkicking ability.

Quality side who match up well against Riddell. Beat them comprehensively in rd 1 (scoreboard wasnt a true indicator) then no match for Bombers in heavy conditions at Riddell. Wide open expanses of Lancefield suits the hawks running game more than the tough, disciplined style of the Bombers.
In my opinion this is a real 50/50 match and im suprised people are expecting Riddell to win comfortably.
The fact that Riddell have only played 1 match in 28 days as opposed to the hawks having 3 tough matches would also concern me as a Riddell supporter.
Cant see a suitable match up for Sipthorpe if he plays forward again. J Allen probably best suited but they prefer him to play on the weakest forward to allow him to play loose and rebound.
Burnett biggest concern for Hawks. He has consistently been a thorn in our side over the years and with Stacey out its a massive job for Forrest & Muppet.
Look forward to a cracker of a GF! May the best team win.

Phew, have just spoken to the main man at the Bombers who assures me that your information is incorrect. And Micky has been told to stay off the grinder for the rest of the week, just in case! All bets are back on and I have readjusted the market. Some money coming in for both sides! All at centralsport.org

Matt you are disapointing me. You have spruiked on here a few times how well you are doing as a bookmaker on RDFL footy. As much as i and others appreciate the facility you are now taking us for granted.
You have changed the odds of this weeks game (certainly ok after looking at ledger) however all you have done is tighten the odds on one side without putting out the odds on the other side.
Example: Yesterday Today[/U]
1's Riddell 1.25 Riddell 1.25
Woodend 2.60 Woodend 2.45
3's Woodend 1.25 Woodend 1.25
Romsey 2.60 Romsey 2.45

Then when i take a multi bet using your already skinny odds that add up to 41.00 (all outsiders) you slash it to 30.00. Hardly fair Matt. Its your odds that i used for the calculator.
I know, i know. I could just not bet but that would be like watching the Melbourne Cup go round and not able to cheer one home wouldnt it.

Some good reviews on the teams and the game.
Was thinking that maybe a couple of people would like to have a go at doing the coaching tactics for the sides like the herald sun has been doing over the finals series. List how you would line your side up, key players for you and which opposition players must be stopped. Add a couple of team tactics for the day eg isolate a particular foward etc.
I was thinking outsiders, especially opposition coaches would be the best, that way not giving away any secrets and they have a unbiased perspective.
I would of suggested HFF and IMS as coaches themselves but it seems HFF would decline. Maybe IMS would be up for the challenge and someone else would put their hand up to coach against him.
By the way, count me out.
Go Woodsie

Matt you are disapointing me. You have spruiked on here a few times how well you are doing as a bookmaker on RDFL footy. As much as i and others appreciate the facility you are now taking us for granted.
You have changed the odds of this weeks game (certainly ok after looking at ledger) however all you have done is tighten the odds on one side without putting out the odds on the other side.
Example: Yesterday Today[/u]
1's Riddell 1.25 Riddell 1.25
Woodend 2.60 Woodend 2.45
3's Woodend 1.25 Woodend 1.25
Romsey 2.60 Romsey 2.45

Then when i take a multi bet using your already skinny odds that add up to 41.00 (all outsiders) you slash it to 30.00. Hardly fair Matt. Its your odds that i used for the calculator.
I know, i know. I could just not bet but that would be like watching the Melbourne Cup go round and not able to cheer one home wouldnt it.

Nice observation, but seeing as I'm the only bookie going around at the moment, I'm hardly going to give away huge value. I have nowhere to lay off, and while I try to be fair in the multi-bets, I still have to cover my arse.

I don't have multi-millionaires or shareholders backing me, I'm taking a risk with my own pay packet. Which isn't what Mike Sheahan gets either.

Oh and for all those concerned, I've slightly altered the odds at www.centralsport.org

Woodend/Hesket

My expected line-up
B – J.Hardwick, W.Else, D.Patterson
HB – L.Hardwick, K.Ng, J.Downing
C – J.Arnold, N.Hannett, S.Bowen
HF – A.Johnstone, L.Barker, D.Cuinik
F – D.Salpietro, D.Dabrovsak, P.Podbury
R – M.Stevens, D.Sipthorp, G.Donovan
I – R.Dowling, J.Forrest, B.Fennell, P.Manser

The Hawks play an open running style of football, last week against the Roos Daniel Sipthorp started at Centre Bounces then pushed to CHF while Adam Johnstone pushed up onto the ball. This caused all sorts of headaches for the opposition and I would expect the Hawks to adopt this plan again this week. The Hawks midfield has been exceptional so far this year, led by Johnstone, Hannett, Bangar Donovan with cameo’s by Cuinik and Podbury, creating drive and multiple options for the Hawks.
To score against Riddell, the Hawks will need to isolate J.Allen and hope that he goes to Sipthorp when he goes forward. This will nullify Allen’s influence, as he will need to be accountable for Sipthorp, who will demand the football up forward. Darko needs to create strong contests and bring the ball to ground front and centre to create plenty of chances for Salpietro, Pods, Dowling, Manser and Fennell. This is one area that everyone rates Riddell the highest, crumbing forwards, but the Hawks have crumber’s capable of big things on any given day. They need to ensure this week is the week it happens.
Watch for total close down by the Hawk backline. They will offer up the freedom for Ng to run, but every other Hawk backman will hold strong and look to shut down their opponents. If they can, they are a big chance. The key is the Hawks cannot allow a shoot-out, if this occurs, expect the Bombers to win and win comfortably.

Riddell

My expected line-up
B – N.Ash, M.Peatling, M.McDougall
HB – J.Allen, B.Allen, R.Leitch
C – N.Allen, J.Belleville, M.Shaunassey
HF – A.Blade, J.Petran, D.Besanko
F – M.Allen, L.Harrison, H.Wadden
R – G.Robertson, J.Climas, L.Coles
I – M.Burnett, P.Murden, T.McDonald, J.Crotty

The Bombers play a free wheeling game style and are the best-balanced team in the competition. They have winners on every line and will look to expose that this week. The backline is a strong cohesive unit led by Captain Jason Allen, they back each other to win each contest, which creates an enormous amount of belief in each other. The backman are unlikely to be given specific roles, just look at their match ups when they walk out onto the field. A luxury to have, but could also be the Bombers downfall. The Midfield is stacked with talent and this is where they will look to win the game. If Robertson and Burnett can get first hand then Belleville, Climas, Coles, McDonald and Blade will cut a swathe through their opponents. Nathan Allen has to be one of the most underrated footballers in the competition, his skill and composure rivals anyone in the league and he will hurt the opposition by foot hitting targets inside 50 or kicking goals himself. Note to Gidds, watch this man!!! Up forward, the Bombers have an abundance of talent. Heath Wadden is one of the RDFL’s premier smalls along with Dean "Bomber" Besanko and Mick Allen, the forward line small talent will always ensure a winning score can be kicked. When you add Petran at CHF and Harrison out of FF, the Bombers have options everywhere, they will look to isolate what they think is the best match up for the team and everyone else will float up the ground and create space. This is likely to be M.Allen and Wadden, look for these two to have the entire 50m arc to play with. The Bombers can be easily frustrated if the game is closed down, if the Hawks frustrate this volatile unit into breaking down, they will crumble. But it’s a tough ask to make it happen.

Key Match Ups we’d like to see:

Belleville Vs Sipthorp
J.Allen Vs Barker
Coles Vs Donovan
N.Allen Vs Bowen
M.Allen Vs Patterson
Wadden Vs Manser

Key Match Ups we’re likely to see:

J.Allen Vs Sipthorp
Belleville Vs Johnstone
B.Allen Vs Dabrovsak
McDougall Vs Podbury
Besanko Vs Ng
N.Allen Vs Arnold

My tip – The Bombers will look to open the game up providing space for their dangerous half forwards, expect to see a 4 man half forward line creating plenty of space for Wadden and M.Allen up forward. The battle of the midfield will decide the game and the side that gains the ascendancy in there will control the game. Woodend will attempt to shut it down, Riddell will try to turn on a show, but the Bombers have been here before, 3 years in a row in fact. They will have too much talent up forward for the Hawks to shut down.
Riddell by 31 points

hows about your 2nds side whats the line up for them , and strong chance to go back to back which is no easy task.. any changes from the 22 that comfortably beat woodend to go staright through to the granny