RDFL Thread 2008

How many player's will be heading to a pub, or going fishing,or late family get together.

Will there be any tackle's in the game .. i.e AFL all STAR game ..... that game was the very first game that put me too sleep in the second qrt........

The RDFL has to re-think this game .

Look mate, I don't know whether you are a disgruntled player who didn't get picked, or a 50-year-old has been, but this game is a one-off, its a great promotion for the league, which is rapidly improving, and should be a pretty good game to watch. If you don't like it, don't go, but please refrain from moaning about it on this thread.

Pending a vote of their members. The Broadford FC will seek join the RDFL in 2009 and become the 12th team.

At a meeting with the RDFL last night Broadford expressed their wish to join the league.

What are peoples thoughts?? Of course our existing clubs would need to accept them into the league.

Terrific news. Gets rid of the bye and increases the strength of the league

Pending a vote of their members. The Broadford FC will seek join the RDFL in 2009 and become the 12th team.

At a meeting with the RDFL last night Broadford expressed their wish to join the league.

What are peoples thoughts?? Of course our existing clubs would need to accept them into the league.

I'd support it for sure. Broadford is a good club with good footy and netball sides and would bring a lot to the RDFL.

Look mate, I don't know whether you are a disgruntled player who didn't get picked, or a 50-year-old has been, but this game is a one-off, its a great promotion for the league, which is rapidly improving, and should be a pretty good game to watch. If you don't like it, don't go, but please refrain from moaning about it on this thread.

I agree with everything you say in regards to this game matt, but you cant have it both ways. You are on here constantly promoting freedom of speech and all that jargon but all of a sudden, when it suits, you go and get a little bit personal with little champ. In fact, your'e assessment of him might even be right but right now you reek of hypocrisy.

This whole web site is based on opinions and thoughts. He has every right to post his opinion postive or negative.
I don't think he is far off the mark after speaking with some players that are "forced" to play a game they have no interest in. Not everyone has to come on here and do cart wheels over a nothing game. As much as you and others want to promote this game there will be a lot of people that won't be convinced or interested in it.

How many player's will be heading to a pub, or going fishing,or late family get together.

Will there be any tackle's in the game .. i.e AFL all STAR game ..... that game was the very first game that put me too sleep in the second qrt........

The RDFL has to re-think this game .

You are nothing but a negative, un-educated nit wit.. Go and hang around in the WRFL thread... :mad:

This whole web site is based on opinions and thoughts. He has every right to post his opinion postive or negative.
I don't think he is far off the mark after speaking with some players that are "forced" to play a game they have no interest in. Not everyone has to come on here and do cart wheels over a nothing game. As much as you and others want to promote this game there will be a lot of people that won't be convinced or interested in it.

And it is their right not to attend... So which players did you speak to that have been "Forced" into playing.. Would be interested in hearing that, every player contacted has responded fantastically to the game. Noone is going to be "forced" to do anything..

So let's go back a little. This is not a dig at Wallan. This is a short and long term view/question of where the RDFL is heading.

What has been the benefit of the introduction of an eleveneth team brought to the league? There are several obvious disadvantages - byes, uneven rounds etc.

A 12th team would balance the bye but would we have 22 rounds?

Bigger question - does the RDFL have a growth plan/strategy (e.g. 5 year plan) which the CLubs are educated on and agree with?

And it is their right not to attend... So which players did you speak to that have been "Forced" into playing.. Would be interested in hearing that, every player contacted has responded fantastically to the game. Noone is going to be "forced" to do anything..

If it is not a forced game why have the the rule that the players will be suspended if they pull out? Of course its forced and the players have to grit their teeth and smile each time they talk about it. Do you think any Riddell or Woodend player would like to miss their clash the following week? Great honour to be selected but give them a medal and the week off.

Gave Pickles the mail on this a couple of weeks ago - Broadford are definately dead keen on entering the league due to the impact of not having 3rds this year.

As for this weeks game, there are valid points in both arguments as to players playing or not etc. - at the end of the day it is a promotional day for the league and hopefully they get a good turnout and we see some good match ups.

Kangas people - What's the latest on Mongrel's clearance to the GDFL?

Half full - Which Cats are playing this Sat?

If it is not a forced game why have the the rule that the players will be suspended if they pull out? Of course its forced and the players have to grit their teeth and smile each time they talk about it. Do you think any Riddell or Woodend player would like to miss their clash the following week? Great honour to be selected but give them a medal and the week off.

These players aren't on 100,000 a year and representing the AFL, its about representing the league.. If the players are legitimately sore or injured then they are not forced to play.. For players who dont want to play most sure were concerned when they hadn't heard anything for a while..

Is this right :confused:

Gave Pickles the mail on this a couple of weeks ago - Broadford are definately dead keen on entering the league due to the impact of not having 3rds this year.

ease up there big fella :confused:

Are you saying they are not Doona??

:confused: Who are they IMS? Don't think you can assume anything after what I thought was was meant to be a bit of a chit chat - can anyone accurately post the thoughts of everyone involved at BFNC based on an hour talk thats all im saying :confused:

So let's go back a little. This is not a dig at Wallan. This is a short and long term view/question of where the RDFL is heading.

What has been the benefit of the introduction of an eleveneth team brought to the league? There are several obvious disadvantages - byes, uneven rounds etc.

A 12th team would balance the bye but would we have 22 rounds?

Bigger question - does the RDFL have a growth plan/strategy (e.g. 5 year plan) which the CLubs are educated on and agree with?

Being the 12th team will balance the bye, but lets just sit on our hands for a few months, i believe that another club may wish to also enter, then back to the bye. I was all for a bye last year untill now after having it, it makes it very hard to get a run on, Kangas had Queens B'day then the Bye, then 2 rounds, East/West Bye, 2 more rounds then another Bye.
On the Broadford entrance, I thought our Bus trip home from Kilmore was good, I cant wait for the Broadford trip. I think a new strip would need to be introduced, only 1 spot for the kangas jumper :D

:confused: Who are they IMS? Don't think you can assume anything after what I thought was was meant to be a bit of a chit chat - can anyone accurately post the thoughts of everyone involved at BFNC based on an hour talk thats all im saying :confused:

Originally Posted by Itsmyshow

What are peoples thoughts?? Of course our existing clubs would need to accept them into the league. [/quote]

Doon - I was just commenting on the above info from IMS about the meeting between the RDFL & BFNC.....

Being the 12th team will balance the bye, but lets just sit on our hands for a few months, i believe that another club may wish to also enter, then back to the bye.

That is what I mean about a long term strategy/plan for the League. We can't just go from season to season bringing in clubs. I believe we shouldn't have brought in an 11th club until we had a 12th one with it. We need a plan!! Byes have proved to be a pain!

Doon - I was just commenting on the above info from IMS about the meeting between the RDFL & BFNC.....

So how do you come up with "Broadford are definately dead keen on entering the league due to the impact of not having 3rds this year." don't think IMS said that, nor did he hand Pickles the mail 3 weeks ago like you've stated

Fair point mate.. I meant the Broadford FC.. But you are right.. I am only going on the information passed onto clubs that BFC are keen to return.

So how do you come up with "Broadford are definately dead keen on entering the league due to the impact of not having 3rds this year." don't think IMS said that, nor did he hand Pickles the mail 3 weeks ago like you've stated

Well this meeting they had would be an indication that they have some sort of interest i would of thought.....

i have noticed at some games there haven't been field or boundary umpires so l assume the league is short of umpires.

If Broadford came in with u18's that's an extra 18 umpires the league need to cover them.
6 Field 6 Boundary 6 Goal for 3 games, Seniors, Reserves, 18's.

Hope the RDFL think of this and are out there recruting or there will be more games not covered if this season is any guide.

spot on matt we need to pump this up andkeep it going at least the league is having a crack at doing something different and we should all be supporting of them. i just hope that the weather gods are smiling on riddells creek on saturday......is there a big footy tent????with lots of bourbon

I reckon the league should put on a BF tent... :thumbsu: