RDFL Thread 2008

Thanks for the offer Omni.. Would love some specialist coaching advice.. See you there... :thumbsu:

Get someone who brings somthing to the table at least. :rolleyes: ;) :D

Well I was only out by 20 minutes, ..... said he would bite in under an hour.
Official time was 80 minutes !
Wish I could hook em that quick on the water ! :p

Tips for the weekend:
Wallan by 15pts
Diggers by 62pts
Woodend by 41pts
Macedon by 17pts
And if the last game is Sunbury v Kilmore (RDFL website, 3 byes?)
Sunbury by 47pts

Good post Earl.

You sound like a guy who knows things, a guy who knows things about Woodend-Hesket. Would you like to enlighten us about the shambles at Riddell a couple of weeks ago and whether it will effect Woodend in any way for the rest of the year.

Riddell are a very good team and have a lot of individual talent, of course, 12 wins and a percentage of 411 will tell you that. I thought they were excellent that day, without being in a position to compare their performance to previous games. Woodend, on the other hand, were terrible. As has been discussed on this forum, they also had 4-5 out injured (including Sipthorpe, Lacy, Ng and Stacey) and 2-3 carrying injuries. However, it would be a very optimistic Woodend supporter to suggest that injuries made a 20 goal difference. Riddell were far better than Woodend on that day. Going forward, it would seem as though Woodend and every other team will have to be at their best, be very disciplined and execute a well thought out plan to defeat Riddell. I don't think the loss will have a detrimental impact upon Woodend's performances for the rest of the year, just as Riddell's loss in the Grand Final last year has not had any adverse impact upon them this year. However, such a large defeat may make Woodend more determined.

Thanks for the info Earl, good to hear an in-depth opinion that seems to be without major bias. For someone who didn't get to see the game it is very beneficial and insightful.

Can anyone tell me how Rockbanks travelling this year, i know that they havent won a game, but have they improved playing wise.
Have friends down there and wondering what other peoples opinions are, as sometimes theres are baised.
Thanks

Can anyone tell me how Rockbanks travelling this year, i know that they havent won a game, but have they improved playing wise.
Have friends down there and wondering what other peoples opinions are, as sometimes theres are baised.
Thanks

Yes they have improved, the only problem for them is that the rest of the comp have also improved, especially the sides that they were on par with last year. If that wasn't the case i'm sure they would have a win by now.

This is true, theyve got alot of young talent coming through with the likes of Jay Welfare, Krul, Dyl Nicholson, Brent Henry etc. I think they just need more support for these young blokes to help the team get up. There is some talent there, they just lack depth i think. :cool:

Stole is such a hard word I prefer the term "Hold Ransom" in return off the (100 years of RDFL) book and (Roweys pub) stubbie holder.

Next you will be accusing us of stealing the 4 points on Saturday.:p

Stubby holder??? Surely not... I may have come into possession of a Stubbie holder at some stage but I am pretty sure that OMNI took it. :p

Hmmmm,
Fair effort Saturday drinking Melton out off Bourbon on your own.

Drinking Melton out of Bourbon isnt a claim to fame- Smoking them out of weed or eating all of their pills might cause more of a problem.. Does anyone know if Danny Sipthorp still techno dances at the Woodend pub?

Thanks

You have friends at Rockbank???? then obviously your computer is stolen. Are they Maltese? Do they have more than 6 teeth between them????

Rockbank would go ok but they have 6 players on home detention, 3 in Port Phillip prison, 5 are away flying pidgeons in the Albury-Melbourne cup and 2 players are currently pregnant. Mate get a grip- if your friends with people from Rockbank then you have some personal problems

Had a bye on the weekend so thought I'd venture down to see Woodend-Hesket play Lancefield.

Was impressed with the Hawks and thought the Tigers were a bit of a shambles really, but there is something I want to get off my chest:

REDHEADS

Seriously, I thought there was an unwritten law in footy circles that clearly stated that there is to be only one redhead per team.

The Hawks may be a pretty good unit, but unless they get a sponsorship with Andrew Symonds' zinc cream company they may be in trouble if we get a really sunny September.

Jay Downing, Robbie Martin, Jimmy Forrest and Mick Lacy (don't be fooled by the red hair, this bloke has all the makings of a ranga) . . . seriously, four of them!

To be fair, all four can play, but its still disturbing.

Think the RDFL need to introduce some kind of official by-law.

------------------------------------------------

Anyway, we've got a big match this week, as do all the other clubs.

I'm tipping: Cats by 45 points, Kangas by 32 points, Kilmore by 51 points, Melton Central by 11 points (BIG UPSET), Rams by 44 points.

Down at the Burra, key players Shaun Sims, Jeff Heritage, Cole Laurie, Tony Manango and Morsey will all be getting their stomachs pumped after a huge weekend on the grog. Heard they stayed at Lancefield's big function till midnight, before hitting the attic, then backing up at their own shindig yesterday.

Also, i'm hearing some very scathing comments regarding Macedon's performance on the weekend. Spoke to a mate from the Centrals who used one word to describe the Cats in the first half . . . SOFT!

I'm sure its not the last we've heard on that subject.

Another interesting weekend for results. What are peoples predictions for final set-up? Who will make it and who will miss out, it just keeps getting more interesting

Had a bye on the weekend so thought I'd venture down to see Woodend-Hesket play Lancefield.

Was impressed with the Hawks and thought the Tigers were a bit of a shambles really, but there is something I want to get off my chest:

REDHEADS

Seriously, I thought there was an unwritten law in footy circles that clearly stated that there is to be only one redhead per team.

The Hawks may be a pretty good unit, but unless they get a sponsorship with Andrew Symonds' zinc cream company they may be in trouble if we get a really sunny September.

Jay Downing, Robbie Martin, Jimmy Forrest and Mick Lacy (don't be fooled by the red hair, this bloke has all the makings of a ranga) . . . seriously, four of them!

I'm tipping: Cats by 45 points, Kangas by 32 points, Kilmore by 51 points, Melton Central by 11 points (BIG UPSET), Rams by 44 points.

Down at the Burra, key players Shaun Sims, Jeff Heritage, Cole Laurie, Tony Manango and Morsey will all be getting their stomachs pumped after a huge weekend on the grog. Heard they stayed at Lancefield's big function till midnight, before hitting the attic, then backing up at their own shindig yesterday.

Also, i'm hearing some very scathing comments regarding Macedon's performance on the weekend. Spoke to a mate from the Centrals who used one word to describe the Cats in the first half . . . SOFT!

We have the same issue at Darley with an influx of ranga's. They have polluted everything we stand for but their football abilities have been an even sacrifice for the public humility that your club has to withstand. We have offered all of them free Peroxide on recruitment but none of them have jumped at the offer, on the upside however it gives you a much better chance on bedding one of the netballers. Even females know the saying "redheads- ya dont fight em and ya dont f#*k em!"

Lord have mercy on Redheads!!!

REDHEADS

You have missed Joel Goodyear in that lot richo, which takes the tally to 5, surely some kind of record. In regards to the chiefton's post he is spot on with not getting into a fight with a ranga, as in the couple of Woodend games I have seen over the years the saying 'one in all in' counts for even more if it is one of your red brothers getting belted.

And the 'rarmy' is only growing in strength down there as well.

You have missed Joel Goodyear in that lot richo, which takes the tally to 5, surely some kind of record. In regards to the chiefton's post he is spot on with not getting into a fight with a ranga, as in the couple of Woodend games I have seen over the years the saying 'one in all in' counts for even more if it is one of your red brothers getting belted.

And the 'rarmy' is only growing in strength down there as well.

Bugger me, forgot about Goodyear. FIVE, that is a bloody disgrace. I'm off to start up a "Ban Woodend-Hesket from the RDFL" petition.

Seriously, one is a joke, two makes people nervous, but five get people really scared.

Hopefully this article comes true:

Gingers extinct in 100 years, say scientists

August 23, 2007 02:00am

Article from:

REDHEADS are becoming rarer and could be extinct in 100 years, according to genetic scientists.
The current National Geographic magazine reports that less than two per cent of the world's population has natural red hair, created by a mutation in northern Europe thousands of years ago.
Global intermingling, which broadens the availability of possible partners, has reduced the chances of redheads meeting and producing little redheads of their own.
It takes only one red-haired parent to produce ginger-headed babies, but two redheads obviously create a much stronger possibility.
If the gingers really want to save themselves they should move to Scotland.
An estimated 40 per cent of Scots carry the red gene and 13 per cent actually have red hair.
Some experts say that redheads could be gone as early as 2060, but others say the gene can be dormant for generations before returning.
National Geographic says the gene at first had the beneficial effect of increasing the body's ability to make vitamin D from sunlight.
However, today's carriers are more prone to skin cancer and have a higher sensitivity to heat and cold-related pain.

Chieftont is on boys and the scoop just through from RDFL headquarters is as follows

The RDFL are investigating the recent 'local derby' between Romsey and Lancefield where the previously de-registered (due to 16 week suspension quota) and known bully Warren "king hitting" Carton will be charged over wacking Phabulous Phil Conway and fracturing his jaw. This has ended the Phabululous ones season and the charge is sure to end Warrens football career with the RDFL frowning upon this sort of behaviour.

If you want the scoops then the Chieftont is the man!!! :thumbsu:

10th August is National say sorry to Ranga's Day! A time for all of us to sit back and think of all the hurtful comments we have made to those who are unfortunate... Blood Nut, Fanta Pants, Ranga, Caribbean Gold. Honestly I'd rather boycott it! Despite the fact the God has given them flaming red hair and numerous amounts of freckles, the above mentioned unfortunates can seriously play football! They touch us up all the time! I'm boycotting the day! :D