RDFL Thread 2008

Nicholls is leaving!

Yet just as he leaves he is starting to make more sense than he has in all of the past 3 years!

Final 5 is the best system, make clubs earn their place in the finals next year, don't just hand it to them on a platter.

Final 6 can work and is a better system, especially with 12 teams..

Week 1

1st Elimination Final - 3rd Vs 6th (Game 1)
2nd Elimination Final - 4th Vs 5th (Game 2)
1st and 2nd have a first week bye.

Week 2
1st Semi Final (Elim) - Winner of Game 1 vs Winner of Game 2 (Game 3)
2nd Semi Final (Qualifying) - 1st Vs 2nd (Game 4)

Week 3
Preliminary Final (Elim) - Winner of Game 3 Vs Loser of Game 4 (Game 5)

Week 4
Grand Final - Winner of Game 4 Vs Winner of Game 5.

Alternatively.....

Week 1
1st Final - 1st Vs 6th
2nd Final - 2nd Vs 5th
3rd Final - 3rd Vs 4th
Two lowest ranked losers eliminated.

Week 2
1st Semi Final - 3rd Highest ranked winner Vs Highest ranked Loser (Game 1)
2nd Semi Final - Highest ranked winner Vs 2nd Highest ranked Winner (Game 2)

Week 3
Preliminary Final - Winner Game 1 Vs Loser Game 2 (Game 3)

Week 4
Grand Final - Winner Game 2 Vs Winner Game 3.

Nicholls is leaving!

Yet just as he leaves he is starting to make more sense than he has in all of the past 3 years!

Final 5 is the best system, make clubs earn their place in the finals next year, don't just hand it to them on a platter.

Final 6 is OK, you just need to get rid of the qualifying in the first week. We spend all season working out who is one and two, so why play them off. Eliminate 2 teams the first week (3 v 6, and 4 v 5) and then it is the old final four.

The flaw is that you rank players on team performance. The likes of Tom Mainey, Ryan Connellan, Cam Dawson, Luke Walker and Dave Innella shouldn't be brought down because their teammates are not up to senior standard.

Apparently scoop Footy is a team game & at the risk of being labeled a pedant, I did Title it Team Form Top 50 pal !

Any player worth his salt will tell you its not much good getting 40+ possies or kicking 10 goals if your side gets done !

My list is about what type of player/s will get you the 4 points, I'll leave the popularity polls to you & the umpires.

Apparently scoop Footy is a team game & at the risk of being labeled a pedant, I did Title it Team Form Top 50 pal !

Any player worth his salt will tell you its not much good getting 40+ possies or kicking 10 goals if your side gets done !

My list is about what type of player/s will get you the 4 points, I'll leave the popularity polls to you & the umpires.

Instead of Team form top 50 should read TEAM MANAGER TOP 50 as most clubs top players on the web site are given by team managers etc. Just wondering about 40 + possies with 32 turnovers ???

Nicholls is leaving!

would you say that Macedon in the Seniors and Kilmore in the 2s had it handed to them??:confused:
I think they both earned their spots

would you say that Macedon in the Seniors and Kilmore in the 2s had it handed to them??:confused:
I think they both earned their spots

kilmore dropped some of there 1s players back over the last month so they could make the finals and have another side in there with there under's...it was funny to see there coach played himself and kicked a goal that would of been a sight for sore eyes!!:D

Instead of Team form top 50 should read TEAM MANAGER TOP 50 as most clubs top players on the web site are given by team managers etc. Just wondering about 40 + possies with 32 turnovers ???

"Most" eh, Maybe just Maybe thats how its done at ONE Club pal, YOURS perhaps ?

I'de venture to say thats really where your only certain surely ?

Good on you mate.......... was a good come from behind win on saturday by the boys ........ I guess the Centrals Lads really did wanna see some finals action & came out hard eh ?

As one would hope. Straight kicking let both teams down, Kangas in the first half and Centrals in the second, the pressure was on though. The Kangas needed that win to perform in the finals - end of story. They will win on the weekend!

kilmore didnt drop players from the 1s to the 2s to qualify for finals, there were other reasons why some players were in the 2s.but it was definately a good turn around for the blues in the 2s to make the finals, both the 18s and 2s will give it a crack this weekend!

no your right they didnt drop players back they just had a senior squad and reserves squad for the past month and a half. as one of the kilmore boys told me 3 weeks ago when we played them, you couldnt go up into the one's from the 2's it was just 2 squads that weren't going to change for the rest of the year. what a joke, the clubs heading in the right direction:thumbsdown:

Yeah it was a great day of footy but was unfortunetly spoilt with a bit of an all in brawl which got pretty ugly after the Sunbury V Melton U 16 game. The Sunbury kid that started it should get a year i reckon

You can lay the blame with the issues in the Under 16's with the Umpires Association and their appointments.

Under 16' should have senior umpires and they decided in their wisdom to appoint incompetant junior umpires.

The 16A's was a shocker the most junior umpire went to school with most of the players at Rupo and it showed. He spoilt the game and made it into a farce.

Well done Rupo especially the display your players made at the Lions party.

You can lay the blame with the issues in the Under 16's with the Umpires Association and their appointments.

Under 16' should have senior umpires and they decided in their wisdom to appoint incompetant junior umpires.

The 16A's was a shocker the most junior umpire went to school with most of the players at Rupo and it showed. He spoilt the game and made it into a farce.

An official complaint has been lodged with the RDFL about these issues.

Get over it chief... You were smashed by a far better and more talented side. And before you cast aspersions, just remember the way the Lions parents carried on after the 2nd semi - personally berating and taunting the Rupo players. I noticed those fools were nowhere to be seen after the game last week. Great performance also from the Lions runner, yelling expletives at 16 year old kids on the ground - I'm sure your club is extremely proud of his efforts. You got what you deserved. :p