RDFL Thread 2008

Re: R.d.f.l Thread 2008

I believe former Werribee Centrals Captain Brenden Chugg is there. Him and Wheels are best mates. he's about 6 ft good overhead will make a good winger in this comp. although could go forward and do damage too.:thumbsu:

any news of recruits for 2008?a lot of rumours about riddell. any confirmed yet?

Apparently Chuggy kicked over 50 goals last year which means he can do a fair bit of damage up forward, he loves a goal almost as much as his #17 Golden State warriors singlet with Chris Mullin on the back! Last time I saw you Arnel you had calves the size of a normal mans thighs, has anything changed in 5 years or have they just got bigger?

Craigieburn heavily chasing Danny Sipthorp. I know he's had at least one, possibly two meetings with them. Woodend people are adamant he'll stay, but who knows?

Gday all, long time reader, first time poster! Looking forward to an awesome 08 from all teams. Just quietly, getting a little excited about a stronger R.D.F.L.

Rumour coming out from the Centrals boys is that last years B&F winner Glenn Nankervis is absolutely flying! What odds can I get for him to win the Bowen?

Not wrong there! nanners along with alot of the boys are looking good for a real crack at it this year!

just move to the area are melton looking for a ruckman ??

Centrals are always looking to welcome any new players to the club. If your in the area then come down for sure.

I believe you may have a contact number, otherwise come down to the Vic Uni (Coburns rd) on Sunday 20th Jan at 8.45am (A previous post by Seeks has the incorrect details for start date!)

who have melton centrals picked up for next year?:confused:

Former Western Jet and Willi Seagull Chris Kellett is a Blue. He's a running defender \ winger type. If he applies himself he'll go alright.:thumbsu:

Seem to know a bit about Centrals Arny, you got a few mates down there? Kellet keen and firing after a spell out of the game!

I've been around a bit now pal.

Yeah. I know a few of the boys played jr. cricket with Chuggy and Wheels!!! Played at higher levels with Kellett and Chugg, coached Bullen at Rockbank in '03. I was in the jets program with a few others as well.

I reckon Kellett's style of play could be good for this league.;)

Central's boys looking for most of the improvement for '08 to come from within.

With the likes of Drew 'Strawb's' Heath, Matthew 'Little Barry Hall' Martin, Kane 'It's a girl!' Bullen, Matthew 'Ned Kelly' O'Brien, Adam 'Von Dutch' Holland, Michael 'Ball Sack' Alexander and David 'Byron' Pickett looking to make up for a disappointing '07!

Also did see a certain member of the Central's coaching staff looking bigger and stronger for a real crack this year!

The countdown is on to an exciting '08 year in the RDFL.

Great reading in both local papers (Fress Press/North Central review) this week, with Kilmore well and truly up and about and not to be taken lightly. Would be great to see my tip of a Riddell/Kilmore grand final from a while back start to gather momentum with all the signings coming out of Clancy Reserve.

According to both publications Ken Ingram is the key big name signing, along with Steve Sapiano, Ben Pronk and Daniel Canyon. Also another seven other senior standard players are expected to sign by the end of January.

It is mentioned that both Robertson and Straney are yet to commit, with coach Speers quoted saying that he'd hate to see both lads miss out on the success the club expects in 2008 "We're no here to just make finals, we want to win the premiership, it's as simple as that"

A game or so outside the 5 to a grand final will be some feat . . . . . watch this space (Pickles can ya please post ya article mate, and even the opposition one if possible :thumbsu:) 9-10 recruits will also add depth to the senior list, the Blues fielding an under 18 also that can at times produce a few lads ready for senior footy also.

Great reading in both local papers (Fress Press/North Central review) this week, with Kilmore well and truly up and about and not to be taken lightly. Would be great to see my tip of a Riddell/Kilmore grand final from a while back start to gather momentum with all the signings coming out of Clancy Reserve.

According to both publications Ken Ingram is the key big name signing, along with Steve Sapiano, Ben Pronk and Daniel Canyon. Also another seven other senior standard players are expected to sign by the end of January.

It is mentioned that both Robertson and Straney are yet to commit, with coach Speers quoted saying that he'd hate to see both lads miss out on the success the club expects in 2008 "We're no here to just make finals, we want to win the premiership, it's as simple as that"

A game or so outside the 5 to a grand final will be some feat . . . . . watch this space (Pickles can ya please post ya article mate, and even the opposition one if possible :thumbsu:) 9-10 recruits will also add depth to the senior list, the Blues fielding an under 18 also that can at times produce a few lads ready for senior footy also.

Kilmore signs champ

CHAMPION Coburg footballer Ken Ingram is the latest big signing by Kilmore Football Club, as the Blues continue to push for premiership success in 2008.
Ingram, who was named as a forward pocket in Coburg’s team of the century, is sure to be one of the Riddell District Football League’s most feared forwards.
At the age of 40 he is winding down his football career, but Kilmore coach Campbell Speers believes he will kick 70-80 goals if he can play out the full season.
“He’s in terrific shape and he is one of the biggest signings this competition has ever seen,” Speers said.
“With Ingram down forward, oppositions teams can’t afford to double team anyone with players like Dave Cornish and Tristan Salter in attack.”
A captain of Coburg in 1991 and ’92, Ingram should also reel in the fans as his style of play is sure to entertain.
Last year he played a handful of games for Westmeadows before breaking his hand. In that time he dominated the Essendon District Football League’s defenders, averaging four goals a game.
In a much lesser standard in the RDFL, Ingram should be able to better that strike rate – as long as he gets the delivery.
Also signed over the Christmas period were former Wodonga onballer Ben Pronk, and Craigieburn giant Steven Sapiano, who spent last season playing in Queensland.
Speers expects Sapiano to hold down a position at centre-half-back, and rotate through the ruck.
At least seven other players, all of senior football standard, are expected to be signed by the end of the month.
In less exciting news for Kilmore fans, the Blues have yet to have confirmation from last year’s captain Matt Robertson on his playing intentions for this year.
The skipper was spotted at training on a couple of occasions before the Christmas break, but Speers is yet to receive confirmation on his future.
“I hope Robbo decides to stay, things are looking very good for Kilmore in 2008, and it would be a shame for him to miss out on the success we expect,” said Speers.
Kilmore Football Club resumes training at 6pm on Monday, January 21.

That's obviously great news for Kilmore, but more importantly the competition. The more quality players that can attract to our league the better it will be for it!

It certainly gives the Central's boys some food for thought considering we have Kilmore round 1 @ Kilmore.

Matt, will you be doing some kind of a write up of each team before the start of the season ala the Herald Sun, you know off season transactions, expected finishing position and such? Cos it would be good to hear what's going on at each of the clubs.

Also, Bowen odds for Nankervis and Bullen?

That's obviously great news for Kilmore, but more importantly the competition. The more quality players that can attract to our league the better it will be for it!

It certainly gives the Central's boys some food for thought considering we have Kilmore round 1 @ Kilmore.

Matt, will you be doing some kind of a write up of each team before the start of the season ala the Herald Sun, you know off season transactions, expected finishing position and such? Cos it would be good to hear what's going on at each of the clubs.

Also, Bowen odds for Nankervis and Bullen?

Yes I will be actually. I'll get in contact with Greeny in March sometime and hopefully have a beer and a chat about the upcoming season. Hope to do the same with all the coaches. Some clubs are not "media friendly" either, so it may be difficult. Even though my paper only covers Kilmore, Wallan, Romsey, Lancefield and Riddell in the RDFL, I think I'll be continuing my role on the league's website (bigger and better this year perhaps), and want to have a grasp on each club's direction.

As for odds, I'll give you $31 for Glenn and $27 for Kane. :D