• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFL Thread 2008

Re: R.d.f.l Thread 2008

Is anyone on this board able to hold a constructive conversation?

It seems every time a subject of contention is raised everyone's all too quick to point the finger yelling "BAN HIM, BAN HIM!" instead of offering a proper response to an intelligent statement.

It's not a matter of trolling for arguements, it's a matter of wanting to converse with like minded people on a common subject....but obviously minds are few and far between here.

Reminds me of the cricket board.

Not only that but it gives the 6th team the knowledge that if they can manage to sneak a win in first up, they're a chance at going deep into the finals. It won't be so bad finishing 6th, like I said before you'd rather that than 4th or 5th.

Could we see some Carlton-esk tanking to finish 6th :D

You would actually rather finish 3rd then 2nd though

pickles,
good to hear about the all star game
but do we know if there will be an 18s curtain raiser yet?
i can almost guarantee that all 18s players would love to be involved.

Not only that but it gives the 6th team the knowledge that if they can manage to sneak a win in first up, they're a chance at going deep into the finals. It won't be so bad finishing 6th, like I said before you'd rather that than 4th or 5th.

Could we see some Carlton-esk tanking to finish 6th :D

why dont we go..

1st and 2nd a week off.

3 v 6 and 4 v5

sudden death...

the next week 1st plays the lowest ranked winner and 2nd plays the highest ranked, with 2 prelims...

pickles,
good to hear about the all star game
but do we know if there will be an 18s curtain raiser yet?
i can almost guarantee that all 18s players would love to be involved.

As far as I know the 18's interleague games are still on as per last few years. Not sure what the head office will do for a "curtain raiser".

May be an under 16 all star game, would then get much broder crowd!!!!!

That was the first thing I said to the RDFL's Steve Turner when I got told.

If we implemented the system on last year's ladder, the first week of the finals would have been this (I believe)

Riddell v Woodend-Hesket
Sunbury Kangaroos v Kilmore
Romsey v Diggers Rest

Woodend-Hesket v Sunbury Kangaroos
Riddell v Romsey

Riddell v Sunbury Kangaroos

Woodend-Hesket v Riddell

The new finals system may be irrelevant Matty given your love and affection for Kilmore already has them past the post. Maybe you could present Campbell with the cup at half time of the All star game and then we can start the footy trips early!!!!

Early nominations for the venue of the All-Star match?

If we have to use RDFL venues, I'd pick Macedon's Tony Clarke Reserve. Lancefield get the grand final and do a great job, but I think the Cats deserve this feature event.

It's central, is a big ground, will have excellent social facilities and scoreboard, and most importantly, Macedon FC could do with extra cash being based in one of the smaller towns of the competition.

Sunbury's Clarke Oval would be another good option, even though it is not an RDFL senior venue. It is massive and you could set up marquees etc for corporates. Ideally I'd like to see it under lights, but not if the light quality is sub-standard.

As much as I would welcome more revenue at the cattery I would believe all proceeds should be shared or used for more Interleague type games.

So if you finished 6th and you manage to beat the 3rd side (hypothetical of course) you then get a double chance.

Whereas if you finish 4th or 5th and you win the first final, there is no second chance if you lose the following final.

I know there is no truly unbiased finals series, but it's almost as though you'd rather finish 6th than 4th or 5th.

Revised top 6 anyone??
Personally, and at the risk of sounding like I resent change IMS, I disagree with the final 6 idea. In an 11 team competition you don't even have to finish in the top half of the comp to make finals. May as well play a final 8.

I believe the final 5 system is a fairer finals system around and is much better suited to the RDFL.

What is it with our club presidents???

There is a real negative vibe surrounding any possible improvement that the league attempts to instigate.. Im not sure how others feel, but I feel that if the decisions our clubs make are based solely on the Presidents opinion rather than the broader club community, then this is holding the league back from taking steps toward success, it is almost as if clubs are willing to rest on their laurels and are content at where the league currently sits. If we are complacent, the league will once again head backward, and soon.. Are we as people within the league really short sighted enough to just be concentrating on our individual clubs and nothing else, why do we always put the blinkers on???
I remember the clubs within the league being content with where the league was positioned and becoming complacent only a few short years ago, leaving the league on the brink of collapse.. I just dont believe that we could be putting ourselves back into that position again... This isn't about one decision made here or there.. This is about every attempted change over the past 2 years. Our clubs need to become more open minded and attempt to involve themselves in what is happening around the LEAGUE, not just our own clubs.. Sure, we all would like to build our own clubs and take them to the top.. But we need to remember 10 years ago and realise that ALL members, be that players, committee or just the supporter who shows up to every home game, have a responsibility to building the LEAGUE as a whole.. Dont just look out the back window at your own yard.. Walk out the front and help build the street... :mad:

Thats my ramble for 2008... If you are actually still reading this, thanks, if you just skipped through to the end, I dont blame you... :p

Thanks

IMS

Agree completely with you IMS regarding the club presidents. This league has had two innovative general managers for the past five years. There have been some great ideas brought forward, only to see them quashed.

There are a couple of things I'd like answered. Are these club presidents taking back the league ideas to their committees, or just making decisions on behalf of their club on their own.

The latest idea by the league to put out a record each week (at no cost to the clubs) is getting a 50-50 response. Why would clubs even think about knocking that back? They get it for free, can sell it for a bob and make some money. All they would have to do is to supply player names and numbers. If just about every metro league, and plenty of country leagues can do it, why can't we!? It would also give a chance for club sponsors to advertise in it.

Another that annoys me, and I'm sure IMS you agree, is the Wallan re-joining thing. Quite a few clubs ummmed and aaahed about it. It should have been pretty straight forward. For the sake of the competition's growth and strength, it had to happen. Some of the reasons clubs gave for opposing it were nonsensical. The Wallan of 2001 and of 2007-08 are completely different! Basically a new club.

The final one that I hear some club presidents are against is the intra-league interleague. Okay, it would be idyllic to play an interleague game against the HDFL, or EDFL Div 2 etc. But its not happening at the moment, they are either scared or can't be arsed. There has been a round allocated for the Interleague this year, so why not play a West v East? If played under lights, I know it would attract a big crowd, and most players would support it. The only ones that wouldn't would be the ones who only play for cash. It would showcase the best players in the league playing against one another. An Under 18 curtain raiser would also give TAC Cup sides and AFL recruiters a chance to see our best young talent battle it out against the best kids their own age in the district.

Situated no more than an hour out of Melbourne, and close to provincial capitals like Bendigo and Ballarat, the RDFL has the potential to become bigger than the BFLs, Northern FL's and EDFL's. It may not suit some clubs, who are still in the "village football" frame of mind, but the massive population growth in our area indicates that unless we grow with it, we'll miss the boat. The townships of Kilmore and Wallan are getting massive, Romsey and Lancefield are getting much bigger, Sunbury is exploding with young families, Diggers Rest, Riddell, Melton and Rockbank will all benefit from Sunbury's growth and the bursting suburbs. Gisborne is quite large and has only one senior football club, which could see Macedon and Woodend benefit from disgruntled players and those wanting to play at smaller and more family orientated clubs. Kyneton is falling apart in the BFL and they may soon decide that the RDFL is a much better option.

The possiblities are endless in the RDFL, and while it will never be the VFL, VAFA or AFL, it is still a people's league and the people deserve the best RDFL it can be. Simple things like a record at every match or an intraleague game will do nothing but wonders for this competition. There is certainly no harm in at least trialling them for a year. If they work, keep it going, if they don't, scrap them.

You know it makes sense.

You are entitled to your opinion mate, but I reckon if you asked the players they would jump at the chance to play ANY kind of representative footy, I know I would.

I'm sure the supporters would get right behind the idea as well, we need to try things before making decisions and shooting them down. This whole 'If it ain't broke then don't fix it' mentality is what will keep our league from evolving into a better one.

But if you can't get an interleague game going then an east v west all star game is the next best thing. It gives players an opportunity to strive for something, and an opportunity to showcase the best the league has to offer. It may not be quite as elite getting in the best 44 as it would be to get in the best 22, but it is definately better than doing nothing at all.

Early nominations for the venue of the All-Star match?

If we have to use RDFL venues, I'd pick Macedon's Tony Clarke Reserve. Lancefield get the grand final and do a great job, but I think the Cats deserve this feature event.

It's central, is a big ground, will have excellent social facilities and scoreboard, and most importantly, Macedon FC could do with extra cash being based in one of the smaller towns of the competition.

Sunbury's Clarke Oval would be another good option, even though it is not an RDFL senior venue. It is massive and you could set up marquees etc for corporates. Ideally I'd like to see it under lights, but not if the light quality is sub-standard.

Agree whole heartedly boys, Possitive Innovation needs to be fostered & embraced !

I think this Huge Spectacle should be played at our biggest Venue..... The Macedon Footy Ground, place lends itself to quallity play.

As far as I know the 18's interleague games are still on as per last few years. Not sure what the head office will do for a "curtain raiser".

Perhaps they should play an Under 17-type match with the best U16s and best bottom age U18s so that AFL recruiters could come and watch the matches, along with the TAC Cup sides. Couldn't hurt.

The new finals system may be irrelevant Matty given your love and affection for Kilmore already has them past the post. Maybe you could present Campbell with the cup at half time of the All star game and then we can start the footy trips early!!!!

Sounds good, would love to see any of the Blues, Magpies, Tigers or Redbacks win the flag. Gives me many more stories. I'm sure the Kilmore boys would rather earn their flag. And I don't recalling in any of my posts or articles that Kilmore were going to win the premiership. But I reckon with the players they recruited, if they don't finish first, second, third or sixth :p after the home and away season, it has to be seen as a failure. Come finals, anything can happen in this comp.

As much as I would welcome more revenue at the cattery I would believe all proceeds should be shared or used for more Interleague type games.

It's pretty hard to share the cash around. The BFL try and do it at their finals (all at the QEO) and I don't think it works all that well. The best way is to share it around each year if it becomes an annual event, in my opinion.

Personally, and at the risk of sounding like I resent change IMS, I disagree with the final 6 idea. In an 11 team competition you don't even have to finish in the top half of the comp to make finals. May as well play a final 8.

I believe the final 5 system is a fairer finals system around and is much better suited to the RDFL.

When the GM and I first spoke seriously of Wallan joining in October, I raised the top-six idea, but didn't realise how much change it would make. I still think the top sides will advance, but I can see the advantage the sixth placed side has if they can get through week one. I'm still for the new system, but its a 60-40 feeling.

I think its time to get rid of 18s interleague games, waste of time (in hindsight).
Play an East/West 16s in the morning, an 18s after that, then the biggy for the Finale.
Share the Joy I say, & get a huge crossover crowd as well !

I think its time to get rid of 18s interleague games, waste of time (in hindsight).
Play an East/West 16s in the morning, an 18s after that, then the biggy for the Finale.
Share the Joy I say, & get a huge crossover crowd as well !
the 18s interleague wasnt completely a waste of time last year.
playing against the WRFL was but we managed to beat the BFL which was pretty good.
but i agree. i'd love to see the 18s be able to get involved with wthe East/West games.

Perhaps they should play an Under 17-type match with the best U16s and best bottom age U18s so that AFL recruiters could come and watch the matches, along with the TAC Cup sides. Couldn't hurt.

Sounds good, would love to see any of the Blues, Magpies, Tigers or Redbacks win the flag. Gives me many more stories. I'm sure the Kilmore boys would rather earn their flag. And I don't recalling in any of my posts or articles that Kilmore were going to win the premiership. But I reckon with the players they recruited, if they don't finish first, second, third or sixth :p after the home and away season, it has to be seen as a failure. Come finals, anything can happen in this comp.

It's pretty hard to share the cash around. The BFL try and do it at their finals (all at the QEO) and I don't think it works all that well. The best way is to share it around each year if it becomes an annual event, in my opinion.

When the GM and I first spoke seriously of Wallan joining in October, I raised the top-six idea, but didn't realise how much change it would make. I still think the top sides will advance, but I can see the advantage the sixth placed side has if they can get through week one. I'm still for the new system, but its a 60-40 feeling.

Na I'm ALL for it champ, bigger is better, the more the merrier, gives sides more to play for too if the Comp' is even.

the 18s interleague wasnt completely a waste of time last year.
playing against the WRFL was but we managed to beat the BFL which was pretty good.
but i agree. i'd love to see the 18s be able to get involved with wthe East/West games.

Sorry mate, ment - to continue would be a waste of time, little interest, apart from those involved.

Hey Matt just spoke to a few sources in regards to the Final 6 this year and they seem to think that it's the highest ranked winner will get the double chance (that is go into the semi against the winner of the final against 1v2) and not just the winner of 3v6.

Apparently, if the 6th team was to beat the 3rd team they would not go into the 2nd Semi against the winner of the QF it would be the winner of the 2nd Elim because they finished higher on the ladder.

Can you confirm this?

I personally would love to see this. Would be hard to select side as you need people that go to both games reguarlely for a fair opinion however if you done a similar system to tac and started with a squad of nominated players and pick side from that it would work.
Not only would you have talent scouts but imagine the interest other clubs would take in seeing what talent is to come through in next few years.

Hey Matt just spoke to a few sources in regards to the Final 6 this year and they seem to think that it's the highest ranked winner will get the double chance (that is go into the semi against the winner of the final against 1v2) and not just the winner of 3v6.

Apparently, if the 6th team was to beat the 3rd team they would not go into the 2nd Semi against the winner of the QF it would be the winner of the 2nd Elim because they finished higher on the ladder.

Can you confirm this?
Certainly makes sense

Sorry mate, ment - to continue would be a waste of time, little interest, apart from those involved.

the little interest factor is why use got shillacked. interleague games are a chance to advertise the talen uve got , and an 18s one is especially good to see the young talen the league holds. the majority of ure 18s team was made up of blokes who play senior footy all of the kilmore boys anyway and the wrfl blokes all played 18s footy. u talk about building the league up to be competitve with the bfl etc yet the one chance u get to display the future of the league they get pumped by 100 points just dosent reflect well in my eyes. put more time into the interlegue get sum pride about donning the jumper. the only way to get as big as these other leagues is get the prestige of the other leagues.

Give us the scoreline for the last three games not just the one game that made the WRFL look good.

Can you confirm this?

That is not how it has currently been drawn up, but should be. At the moment it is how matt described it. Hopefully it is revised as there is no advantage at finishing 3rd to 6th.
The AFL had problems when they were running a top six. thats one reason why they moved away from it.

That was the first thing I said to the RDFL's Steve Turner when I got told.

If we implemented the system on last year's ladder, the first week of the finals would have been this (I believe)

Riddell v Woodend-Hesket
Sunbury Kangaroos v Kilmore
Romsey v Diggers Rest

Woodend-Hesket v Sunbury Kangaroos
Riddell v Romsey

Riddell v Sunbury Kangaroos

Woodend-Hesket v Riddell

The end result is still much of the same, although there is no week off in the first week of the finals and the prelim round if you are good enough to finish on top of the ladder and win your first final. What the top six does create is give hope for clubs like Macedon, Lancefield and Melton Centrals a chance to aspire for a finals berth, without relying on other clubs falling over.

Logic would suggest that the team placed "highest" on the ladder winning their elimination finals should progress to the 2nd semi final. For example, if 5th and 6th place win elimation finals, it would be the 5th placed team to go through to the 2nd semi by way of finishing the home and away season higher that the 6th placed team.

That's what I've been told, I did seem a unfair to reward the 6th team with the possibility of the double chance while the 4th and 5th team get nutted.

Under this format only 1st through to 5th have an opportunity for the double chance, while the 6th team is given no advantages as it should be.