RDFL Thread 2008

Re: R.d.f.l Thread 2008

FINALS

Also, I can confirm that there will be a top 6 this year.

The finals will work like this:

Week 1
1 v 2 (QF)
3 v 6 (1st Elim)
4 v 5 (2nd Elim)

Week 2
Winner of QF v Winner of 1st Elim (2nd Semi) -- WINNER GOES STRAIGHT THRU TO GF
Loser of QE v Winner of 2ns Elim (1st Semi) -- LOSER ELIMINATED

Week 3
Loser of 2nd Semi v Winner of 1st Semi (Prelim)

Week 4
Winner of 2nd Semi v Winner of Prelim (GF)

So if you finished 6th and you manage to beat the 3rd side (hypothetical of course) you then get a double chance.

Whereas if you finish 4th or 5th and you win the first final, there is no second chance if you lose the following final.

I know there is no truly unbiased finals series, but it's almost as though you'd rather finish 6th than 4th or 5th.

Revised top 6 anyone??

Guys

The RDFL website has posted this diagram of how the final 6 will work - it is not changed by the 'highest' placed winner.

rdflfinalsix[1].jpg

One would reasonably expect the 3rd placed team to be able to defeat the 6th placed team in an elimination final. If they can't, 6th placed team probably deserves the chance to go through direct to the grand final.

Note that the 18s will also play a final 6.

FINALS

Also, I can confirm that there will be a top 6 this year.

The finals will work like this:

Week 1
1 v 2 (QF)
3 v 6 (1st Elim)
4 v 5 (2nd Elim)

Week 2
Winner of QF v Winner of 1st Elim (2nd Semi) -- WINNER GOES STRAIGHT THRU TO GF
Loser of QE v Winner of 2ns Elim (1st Semi) -- LOSER ELIMINATED

Week 3
Loser of 2nd Semi v Winner of 1st Semi (Prelim)

Week 4
Winner of 2nd Semi v Winner of Prelim (GF)

So if you finished 6th and you manage to beat the 3rd side (hypothetical of course) you then get a double chance.

Whereas if you finish 4th or 5th and you win the first final, there is no second chance if you lose the following final.

I know there is no truly unbiased finals series, but it's almost as though you'd rather finish 6th than 4th or 5th.

Revised top 6 anyone??

Guys

The RDFL website has posted this diagram of how the final 6 will work - it is not changed by the 'highest' placed winner.

rdflfinalsix[1].jpg

One would reasonably expect the 3rd placed team to be able to defeat the 6th placed team in an elimination final. If they can't, 6th placed team probably deserves the chance to go through direct to the grand final.

Note that the 18s will also play a final 6.
Winning one game, regardless of the situation, doesn't mean a team DESERVES the right to a double chance. This right is earned over the course of the year.

And in an even competition you can't expect any result, much less in the finals. Betcha no one expected Lancefield to beat Sunbury in round 17 last year.

The final 6 is a joke in the Ballarat League, Redan angle themselves in to finish 3rd every year as it is the spot you win the flag from..you get to play the winner of 1 and 2 after they have belted the hell out of each other, meanwhile you have just cruised through beating 6th..I believe the top teams should have all the advantages coming into a finals system I dont believe the final 6 gives them that..sounds like a bit of an extra revenue raiser for the league, a bit like the AFL going to 8, stick with the Final 5 sytem, it is the fairest way I reckon..

And this is such a bad prospect ?

Couldnt agree more...
Theres too much against the idea rather than for the idea. Finishing 3rd is the spot u want as said earlier by someone else, teams will tank games for sure to get prime position.
top 5 is more definitive.... ya finish 1st... week off. 2nd n 3rd... 2nd chance... 4th n 5th elim final. There is no chance that there could possibly be an advantage to finishing lower on the ladder with a top 5 system. I can understand bringing another team into the league pushes the envelope for a top 6, but the way i see it is if your not making the top 5 in an 11 team league... should you really be playing finals footy?
Top 6 theres too much Bullsh#t mindgames and issues, stick to top 5, i know alot more people will agree rather than disagree.

Cheers

the little interest factor is why use got shillacked. interleague games are a chance to advertise the talen uve got , and an 18s one is especially good to see the young talen the league holds. the majority of ure 18s team was made up of blokes who play senior footy all of the kilmore boys anyway and the wrfl blokes all played 18s footy. u talk about building the league up to be competitve with the bfl etc yet the one chance u get to display the future of the league they get pumped by 100 points just dosent reflect well in my eyes. put more time into the interlegue get sum pride about donning the jumper. the only way to get as big as these other leagues is get the prestige of the other leagues.
we actually beat ballarat last year.

Give us the scoreline for the last three games not just the one game that made the WRFL look good.

hey mate im not trying to get up the league im talking from a was once like that perspective. i played in the premiership team in the u18s in the wrfl 2 years ago when u beat us and the only representive from our team was a bloke who played on the bench. my point being that the wrfl didnt give a shit and we lost and people started to talk. i played in last years team and we were told. the game against riddle was built up massive there was no way we were losing and at 3/4 time we were told to finish the job. all im trying to say is that the interleague is a good chance to showcase ure league. and getting flogged by 100 points isnt a good showcase

I'm not saying i wouldn't watch it. But to me it would be a shame to see one of your clubs stars go down, it would be like getting injured in an intraclub pracy, when at the end of the day you gain nothing from winning or losing.

Wanks like you are what cost us the great state of origin games, with that attitude. Instead of East V West why not top 44 players of the league and then the coaches pick alternate players (as suggested earlier),MATE V MATE. imagine J. Allen v Slugger, Belleville v Climas, Helmers v Grubb, Grubb v Grubb, Cuffe v James Etc..... I reckon this would be much more entertaining, any others?????

What about some names for the coaches job in the EAST V WEST- Gav versus Jarrod, Halful versus Omni , Blueboy versus Burger, Kings Army V Hawker ,McCartney versus Sharpe, Seriously as Halful said early some past players or coaches or legends of the league/Club that people would know anyone with any ideas or names ?

blueboy vs big jezza.two man enter one man leave:eek::eek:

What is it with our club presidents???

There is a real negative vibe surrounding any possible improvement that the league attempts to instigate.. Im not sure how others feel, but I feel that if the decisions our clubs make are based solely on the Presidents opinion rather than the broader club community, then this is holding the league back from taking steps toward success, it is almost as if clubs are willing to rest on their laurels and are content at where the league currently sits. If we are complacent, the league will once again head backward, and soon.. Are we as people within the league really short sighted enough to just be concentrating on our individual clubs and nothing else, why do we always put the blinkers on???
I remember the clubs within the league being content with where the league was positioned and becoming complacent only a few short years ago, leaving the league on the brink of collapse.. I just dont believe that we could be putting ourselves back into that position again... This isn't about one decision made here or there.. This is about every attempted change over the past 2 years. Our clubs need to become more open minded and attempt to involve themselves in what is happening around the LEAGUE, not just our own clubs.. Sure, we all would like to build our own clubs and take them to the top.. But we need to remember 10 years ago and realise that ALL members, be that players, committee or just the supporter who shows up to every home game, have a responsibility to building the LEAGUE as a whole.. Dont just look out the back window at your own yard.. Walk out the front and help build the street... :mad:

Thats my ramble for 2008... If you are actually still reading this, thanks, if you just skipped through to the end, I dont blame you... :p

Thanks

IMS

Just to clear this up, it seems I may have upset a few presidents with this post...

I dont believe that all of our club presidents are like this, in fact, I think with the right amount of time to think about it, all of our presidents are open minded enough to hold the interests of the league at heart.. I posted this to rattle a few cages, so that our representives sit back and think about idea's that are put to them for improvements or idea's for the league.. Rather than just jumping head first in, refusing to listen to or even put forward ideas to amend or improve the original idea.

I apologise for offending anyone who thought I may have been talking about them.. I do know that we do have club representives that are attending these sessions with an open mind and the ability to see the whole picture rather than just the small box in front of them, they are doing the right thing for the league and their club. Hopefully this happens more and improvements can be made.

Thanks

IMS :thumbsu:

Just to clear this up, it seems I may have upset a few presidents with this post...

I dont believe that all of our club presidents are like this, in fact, I think with the right amount of time to think about it, all of our presidents are open minded enough to hold the interests of the league at heart.. I posted this to rattle a few cages, so that our representives sit back and think about idea's that are put to them for improvements or idea's for the league.. Rather than just jumping head first in, refusing to listen to or even put forward ideas to amend or improve the original idea.

I apologise for offending anyone who thought I may have been talking about them.. I do know that we do have club representives that are attending these sessions with an open mind and the ability to see the whole picture rather than just the small box in front of them, they are doing the right thing for the league and their club. Hopefully this happens more and improvements can be made.

Thanks

IMS :thumbsu:

Can l hear a truck reversing.....beep beep beep

You can and probably will hear or interpret whatever you like.. That's your perogative.. My point has been made.

Geees you make me laugh sometimes Pickles ?????

Do you think they watch metro / country footy.

In this day and age HFF, I'm sure at least a couple would if they were informed about it and the timing suited. Everyone is trying to get an advantage and find an unknown quantity. They watch a lot of AGSV matches and top-quality school footy, and I reckon we have plenty of kids who are capable of being first XVIII players in schools like Assumption and PEGS. The Sacred Heart College, Kyneton side that we fielded was bloody good, it was just the depth that dropped away. Someone like Tony Armstrong, who was recruited by Adelaide wasn't a stand out for ACK, but the Crows saw that he had development left in him and took a chance. I'm sure your brother would come and watch if it was convenient.

I am sure Tony was spotted at TAC level.