RDFL Thread 2008

Re: R.d.f.l Thread 2008

we got up by 15 goals with a handful of players out was a good sign, best for the day were goudge, carroll, robertson,saunders and finnigan, young fella kelly (16 yr old) bagged 3 goals and looks very comfy against the men
salter strayeny king sapiano d antonio were all abset
i agree with you doona i had issues with the ball in the first half...
it had been used in 3 games so the kickin was suspect... was a good win and a good evening down at the red afterwards drinkin pots havin a meal and watchin gladiators!
not liking our chances of keeping cornish but there is a fair chance that he might not get to play for any side in 2008

Agree the ball woulda been well & truly rooted after 3 games, excuse accepted :thumbsu:

Trent Kelly does go ok, skills and composure under pressure showed me last year he is very capable, just wish I hadda known he wanted to play senior footy - perhaps it was the coach :( tell him to contact me van so we can get his clearance sorted for round one :thumbsu:

Howd the Romsey v Jacana game go yesty Harry?

We had a good win Doona. Jacana looked to be undermanned and it would seem a few players doubled up to cover both seniors and reseves. Having said that, Romsey were the dominant side all day and moved the ball very well at times. Yak in the ruck swapping with a new big man Daniel "Mitch" Mitchell proved far too strong for the opposition. The on-ballers seemed to have most of the opportunities with Adam Kearney just TOO STRONG!!! And I agree with OneeyedBlue, when he says if he had kicked straight, he probably would've ended up with a bag also. Benny John was fast a skillfull, Clint Wheatley just cruised the wing and used the ball at every chance, much in the same way Luke Carroll did 2 yrs ago. Warren Kairnes was good at full back and at the other end Adrian Baker went about his job in a very quiet but effective way. I asked him after the game how many he kicked... "6 mate" was his reply. I nearly fell over, not because I was surprised to hear that he could kick 6, but he just gets the job done with no frills and fuss!! Steve Burlak also made a great contribution in the half he played.

We're still yet to get to full strength and already we're looking pretty good. Time will tell, and all clubs will talk up their chances, it's only natural, but from what I've seen, what Romsey have picked up this year, will far out weigh what we've lost, and I mean that with all due respect to past players. (except for one or two:D)

Ps. I took your advice Doona, Im not as young as I once was and I decided not pull the boots on this week!!

Bring on round 1 - Harry's got itchy feet:D

not liking our chances of keeping cornish but there is a fair chance that he might not get to play for any side in 2008

why wouldnt he play at all in 2008???,

whats the reasoning behind him saying yes hel stay and then 2 weeks out saying no i dont wana stay?
wouldnt it have been easier for both parties to break it off earlier and let kilmore go out and find another foward in time for the season. if thats the case poor effort on cornishes behalf id say, but i dont know the true story only going off what is said on here

im not prepared to comment on the actual circumstances as i see cornish as a mate n he is not in an ideal situation, he was very keen to play for kilmore at first but he works with 2 wallan boys and they are keen to get him back as he had played all his footy previously at wallan.
it would be extremely dissapointing to loose him s he is a complete gun and a really top bloke off the field too.
only question is, that if wallan werent returning to the rdfl would he still want to go back?

im not prepared to comment on the actual circumstances as i see cornish as a mate n he is not in an ideal situation, he was very keen to play for kilmore at first but he works with 2 wallan boys and they are keen to get him back as he had played all his footy previously at wallan.
it would be extremely dissapointing to loose him s he is a complete gun and a really top bloke off the field too.
only question is, that if wallan werent returning to the rdfl would he still want to go back?

Personally I think we have got about 4 or 5 players back and there reason would be that we returned to RDFL.

Hey guys, just wondering if I can ask did anyone attend the Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Northern Saints game on Saturday. I know my guys got up by 12 goals or so, but what sort of team did the Roos field?

[/B]

Personally I think we have got about 4 or 5 players back and there reason would be that we returned to RDFL.

When is round one for you blokes 12th or 19th? No clearance even lodged so lets not get carried away yet, with a 14 day deadline the Blues have until after round one to make their first decision I spose.

Round 1 is 12 April.

they have sum really talented players a good core group of 7 or 8 players with good numbers supporting them. the oppsition were ordinary.
but two weeks ago the boys in the first gam 2getha lost to seymour b 2 goals and seymour won the gvfl 18s flag last yr and hve played 2getha for yrs!

Get behind BigFootys own NotDoneYet who along with his diggers mate is competing in Kuala Lumper to be the Hamish and Andy shows overseas correspondents.

Breaking news i believe Rockbank have signed Bryden Morgan, Garth mitchell-tander and Heath Bradbury this season- will be a finals threat! mark my word

caravan possibly, McDonald is demanding to see Jayco's latest range of holiday campers. McDonald has not trained at Ridell for the past two weeks after an off field brawl with James Petran.

If cornish does sit out the season, it would be a disgrace. If he not happy at Kilmore or not, nobody knows bar him and Speers. Saying that if he dont owe the club anything.......

Looking on it as an outsider, I can understand why Dave wants to go back to Wallan. But I don't blame Kilmore if they try to do everything they can to keep him, or make sure he doesn't get cleared there for nothing.

Speers has planned his entire season around having Dave up forward. He gave his commitment to the club before Christmas. To say that you want to be cleared to Wallan on the eve of the season is a bit rough. If Wallan want him cleared I reckon they'd better be willing to put up some sort of fee. As an estimate, I reckon Dave would be worth about $5k to the Blues. To replace a player of his quality so close to the season will probably cost you more than that. And the quality of people around at this time are usually the mercenaries.

I've got no doubt Dave wants to leave Wallan for innocent reasons and not financial ones, so anyone who says that Kilmore has been outbidded is wrong. It's a catch-22 situation for Dave, who has to grow up in the town where 90% of his mates live and play footy. I know he loved playing for the Blues last year, so it must have been hard for him to tell Speers,

For all of those who want the full story, see this Friday's Free Press (yes we come out on Fridays now). Otherwise, see www.centralsport.org the same day. The website will be back up and running with up-to-date news, views and odds by the end of the week.