RDFL Thread 2008

Can anyone/pickles confirm the rumour true that the east west game has been cancelled. spoke to a few boys who have been selected saying that it is a joke that noone has found out, clubs coaches. this would be a shame as it had potential to provide serious $$$ back to leagues and clubs

I would think that rumour is frogwallop. As far as I know, the RDFL All-Star match WILL be played at Riddell on Saturday, July 5 with an Under 16 "all-star" match as a curtain raiser. The league has been busy confirming details and clubs should know where it is at. The coach of the West team will be Shane Geddes, and the East team will be coached by Nick Hannett. The squads were released well over a month ago so players selected would keep that date free. Not sure if there will be more than one training session for the sides, and if there is one, I think it might be a short one followed by a long bonding session at one of the local taverns. The players selected all know how to play footy, so getting to know one another will be coach's priority I would imagine.

Credit to the Cats, they have improved a lot but are still at least 8 goals off the hawks.

agree that woodsy look like there the only team that can beat the bombers. cant see the young cats matching the hawks. youve got to remember that a lot of hawks played in a premiership recently and at the same time the cats were sitting at the bottom

diggers probably clear 3rd but then its a bit jumbled i wouldnt right off sunbury kangas yet.

I would think that rumour is frogwallop. As far as I know, the RDFL All-Star match WILL be played at Riddell on Saturday, July 5 with an Under 16 "all-star" match as a curtain raiser. The league has been busy confirming details and clubs should know where it is at. The coach of the West team will be Shane Geddes, and the East team will be coached by Nick Hannett. The squads were released well over a month ago so players selected would keep that date free. Not sure if there will be more than one training session for the sides, and if there is one, I think it might be a short one followed by a long bonding session at one of the local taverns. The players selected all know how to play footy, so getting to know one another will be coach's priority I would imagine.

Who would have selected the ground (Riddell) I thought the clubs had to Tender for the match.I was told that Romsey put in a Tender and have not yet been advised by the RDFL about who will host the game.This isnt the 1st time you have said this,have you been told by the RDFL that the game will be played at Riddell before the clubs who tendered for it
icon5.gif

Who would have selected the ground (Riddell) I thought the clubs had to Tender for the match.I was told that Romsey put in a Tender and have not yet been advised by the RDFL about who will host the game.This isnt the 1st time you have said this,have you been told by the RDFL that the game will be played at Riddell before the clubs who tendered for it
icon5.gif

It WILL be played at Riddell, the tenders closed on Friday, June 6, I believe and the league met last week to decide on the final venue.

They probably took a look at Romsey's visiting rooms first :eek:

No argument from me about that there shit,I think the ground surface should be there number priority,not only for the players but also the spectators after all the spectators are going to pay to see the best players go at it, hope it doesnt rain between now and then,wont be much of a specticle if the ground is a bog hole

sour grapes... stop sooking... it's the riddell league isn't it?

They probably took a look at Romsey's visiting rooms first :eek:

matt im sure the league know what they are doing,as they appear to be improving every year of late.i personally enjoy playing at riddell.i havent seen the surface yet but im sure the players wont mind where they play.
just a couple of questions tho,was macedon or romsey considered 4 the game?or was it really a case of who bidded the most?because lately there has been heaps of rubbish floating around about riddells budget and paying of players,which i couldnt care less about.BUT u must admit if it was a bid off that this may prove peoples theories that no one can compete with riddells finances?

matt im sure the league know what they are doing,as they appear to be improving every year of late.i personally enjoy playing at riddell.i havent seen the surface yet but im sure the players wont mind where they play.
just a couple of questions tho,was macedon or romsey considered 4 the game?or was it really a case of who bidded the most?because lately there has been heaps of rubbish floating around about riddells budget and paying of players,which i couldnt care less about.BUT u must admit if it was a bid off that this may prove peoples theories that no one can compete with riddells finances?
Mongrel and others, I have sat hear for the last couple of months and read (and listened) on gameday, to how big Riddells budget is, I am a new player to the club this year (previously played there) and I can personally tell you that the budget it not high at all, I have played at a few clubs in different leagues over the years and what this club along with a number of others in the R.D.F.L spend is bugger all. One thing that Riddell has done which other clubs besides the hawks have not done is spend there money wisely, You can spend $$$$$$ on players that are has beens or never was, or you can spend your $$$$$$ on quality proven players ( not talking about myself) and you will get the results. It is a proven fact that money does help win flags but like I have just said it is how you spend and most importantly run your football department that goes along way to winning flags as well, Riddell has done this very well over the last 5 years and that is why you get players asking to play for our football club. 60 senior players at training week in and week out has nothing to do with a budget it has to do with football club itself. This might be some of the reason as to why we should represent the league and hold such an important day?

yeah sunba thats a fair call mate.i have read with interest the speculalation etc.but when a close friend in which i hold in high regard gets on here and calls it as he has.im referring 2 bdr68. i accept that riddell are not paying a squillion as reported.and i do beleive he is correct in saying that riddell are paying the right players.from my point of view it is certainly not jealousy of the riddell.f.c .perhaps very envious of the way they do things.however it does appear that all the clubs are well on the way to improving and making this a fantastic league.

Could'nt agree more mate, now just tell bdr68 to stop complaining about not getting a game and all will be good.

come on mate you are a proven quality player :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Oneeyedblue- it was a tender for the E/W game not a bidding war as you may think. If Macedon rooms were finsihed it would have been great there with a terrific atmosphere and good ground. Did your club submit antything to the league about the game or is it just a cheap pot shot again ?? Lancefield also has a great ground and atmosphere but i suppose the league wouldnt give them the two biggest games for the year. You sound a bit predigidous towards Riddell though.
Agree Sunba- Riddell,Woodend and now it looks like Macedon have spent wisely on quality players -good luck to them. Some with past kids from the under 18s back at their old club and preofoming well with the mix of old and young now. The competition has greatly improved over the last 5 or so years maybe because of these teams,Clubs are now getting better quality players at their club and the footy just keeps improving.
Agree with you Mongrel its not a bad league at all at the moment and looks good for the future.

The ground is not as bad as some think. We played there about 4 weeks ago and it rained for 3 days straight leading into it, the ground held up very well despite a couple of little pools of water (that most grounds will do with 3 or 4 inches of rain), and it had a very good grass cover in comparison to past years. I think it is just as suitable as other grounds in the comp.

well that is great news that the game will go ahead. Great for clubs, the league players and spectators. Do and will clubs receive any money from the league for this. I know in some other leagues, they share 50% between all the clubs for having an interleague game. This is a great idea and should be considered by those at the RDFL. Anyway, what will be the official teams or squads. Will provide great discussion?