RDFL Thread 2009

tips for round one fellas?
dunno how the tips will go for round 1 but all teams look good...
game to watch will be kilmore v wallan...expect a huge crowd and a good game with plenty of spice...i expect no love lost between players and officials!

dunno how the tips will go for round 1 but all teams look good...
game to watch will be kilmore v wallan...expect a huge crowd and a good game with plenty of spice...i expect no love lost between players and officials!
Whats the officials got to do with it? It will be a battle between two teams who have respect for one another, a great rivalry which go's back decades. The afficials from both sides will have a drink together after the game. May the Best team win!

Where is, ItsMyShow?

Last year I believe it was you that set up a RDFL tipping competetion, will you be doing it again this week?

Or does anybody else want to set something up.

Whats the officials got to do with it? It will be a battle between two teams who have respect for one another, a great rivalry which go's back decades. The afficials from both sides will have a drink together after the game. May the Best team win!

Im pretty sure 'o'fficial is spelt with an O? the rivalry between kilmore and wallan goes back years...for those 2 hours, i hope the umpires dont have a bearing on the game like the recent AFL games...let the boys play!

Kilmore won't keep up. The Magpies are looking very sharp according to a few of the locals.

all it comes down to when these two sides play is who wants it more...form is out the window this week!!!

exactly right...pre-season form is a non issue when saturday roles around. lets hope both teams show up for a ripper! i reckon that it will be a huge game with plenty of competitiveness and heaps of huge moments that could turn the game. are both teams new recruits going to help turn the tide, is it gonna be the young blokes of the teams or the cool headed veterans that help either team go home with the chockies? what you think?

Let the Games begin!

Ok then Gents, I'll go out on a limb and make some predictions:-
Broadford to beat Romsey, should be a close game but Broady and Doona will have set their sights on this game for the last few months. Broady by 4 goals

Lancefield easily over Rockbank, anywhere between 8-10 goals. Seem to have picked up a few players and with some older heads around could be a team pushing for finals.

Riddell over Diggers, should be a cracker of a game considering both sides have been up for the past few years. Although Riddell have lost a number of players, they've more than compensated that for the additions and the younger kids coming through. Riddell by 6-7 goals but should be close all day till last qtr when Riddell will kick away.

Woodend over Macedon but only just, with the amount of talk over the summer of how many players the cats have picked up must toss the coin in this one. Although a home game for the cats, Woodend with all their experience should be a shade too strong. 2-3 goals.

Sunbury to win comfortably against Centrals. The Kanga's have been going along quietly doing their business and I expect them to do a clinical job on the centrals on the weekend and win by a lazy 6 goals.

Finally, the Blues to get over the Pies at JJ Clancy Reserve in front of a huge crowd. Alot of passion between these two sides over the years and I'm expecting nothing less over the weekend. Blues have a very young side running around now and with Booker calling the shots, expect him to direct traffic to the lads. 10-15 points will be all the separates them in the end.

Broadford to beat Romsey by 3 points.
Lancefield to beat Rockbank by 80 points.
Diggers Rest to beat Riddell by 8 points.
Woodend-Hesket to beat Macedon by 21 points.
Sunbury Kangaroos to beat Centrals by 28 points.
Wallan to beat Kilmore by 44 points.

Broadford over Romsey by 43 points
Diggers over riddell by 17 points
Lancefield over Rockbank by 110
Macedon over Woodend by 18 points
Kangas over centrals by 52 points
Wallan over Kilmore by 39 points

Broadford over Romsey by 32 points
Riddell to beat Diggers comfortably 55 points
Lancefield over Rockbank by 43
Woodend to beat Macedon 38 points
Kangas over centrals in a good hit out
Wallan over Kilmore by 26 points

Not sure why but people seem to be under estimating riddell, yes they have lost some talent but they have recruited equally as good talent.

Broadford over Romsey by 32 points
Riddell to beat Diggers comfortably 55 points
Lancefield over Rockbank by 43
Woodend to beat Macedon 38 points
Kangas over centrals in a good hit out
Wallan over Kilmore by 26 points

Not sure why but people seem to be under estimating riddell, yes they have lost some talent but they have recruited equally as good talent.

I rate Riddell's side and their inclusions, but the reason I picked Diggers Rest is because they have a balanced side which has played a lot of footy together. The Bombers will field a side with about half a dozen 2008 senior premiership players in it and they will probably take a few weeks to really hit their stride. It should be a really interesting contest.

doesnt matter what locals say, exactly rite vantheman. i personally reckon its gonna be a cracka...whith kilmore boasting a few ex whittlesea blokes and wallan picking up a few for themselves, i reckon the tussle will be closer than what people think. it will be good to see the intensity of the game...heard wallan have got some silky skills and some pace, but kilmore have a mix between bookers experience and some young players bpasting some quality reputation. will be a good game!

Broadford over Romsey by 58 pts
Riddell over Diggers by 10 pts
Lancefield over Rockbank
Woodend over Macedon by 20 pts
Centrals over Kangaroos by 15 pts
Wallan over Kilmore by 45pts

The first month of footy is always the best and this weeks fixture looks great. hopefully we see some attacking football with no tags, forwards against backs and backs against forwards justing going hard at the pill. It looks as if all games could go either way and obvious the team that wins the ball first wins the game. good luck to all teams on the weekend and hopfully were in for a cracking season. Let the boys play coaches and good luck to all

TIPS
Riddel
Wallan
Sunbury
Lancefield
Macedon
Romsey

Mockery: As per usual, you've left no stone unturned.. One would say your recent post is Vintage Mockery...

OEB: Looking back on some of your older posts, I'm confident when I say this that your comments are of a poor level. However, every forum needs a OEB to keep things interesting don't they?? I'm very much looking forward to your response.

I'm sure Morgan will get the job done on Saturday against the Roos and will prove to be a valuable pick up once again for the Redbacks.. Really looking forward to the Morgan V Sunbury clash this year.. Will the ruthless crowd @ Boardman Res. waste their hard earned money from K.Rudd by throwing can's of Green Slime at Morgs...???

So OEB can i safely assume that you are stoked to have Morgs back after the following pot shots you had at him last year.....?

Quote:
Originally Posted by oneeyedblue
:thumbsu: best thing to happen at Romsey was Morgan putting in for a clearence dont have to listen to him sook

Quote:
Morgan can play footy when he wants to, but his body language and attitude towards his team mates leaves a lot to be desired .Romsey has a lot of very good young players coming through and i seriously believe the club is better off without his negativity

Quote:
what makes Morgan a great player he plays about 5 good games a year

Quote:
we will soon see if Morgans departure will make the difference you seem to think it will ,his replacment more than capable

Quote:
can anyone tell me if Brydan Morgan (Heathcote) has pulled a heart muscle yet

especially with Duffy being back at the blues :p
It should be a good game, and i'm sure one year in the not too distant future it could be a sunday blockbuster.

lol duffy will be in the 2s watching on from 2pm with a cold VB!!! well....from 3pm watching in the rooms as the hawks go about turning out the power!!!

boogs ur a tool , yes helmers may be at the end of a career you could only wish for, yes he may be slowing down but age catches up with everyone,but he is from from fat, dont think all of the months in the gym for boxing would allow that !
tips for this week

riddell by14 pts over diggers
lancefield by 123 pts over rockbank
kangas by 63 pts over centrals
broadford by 40 pts over romsey
macedon by 27pts over woodend
wallan by 88pts over kilmore