RDFL Thread - 2013

Blown away by the great game at Rupertswood on Saturday.. it doesn't matter how high or low the standard of competition the VAFA is compared to the RDFNL.. the Rupo lads really came to play and Romsey matched them.. take the two competitions aside, this was a titanic battle between two teams giving it their all.. as good as any you'll see this year and it may overshadow the grand final replay this weekend.. it has a lot to live up to on the back of Saturday's match.. feel sorry for Brad Mitchell.. can he win the Bowen off 6.25 matches plus added votes from the Interleague match?[/q

Gday gents!!! first time writing on this site. I was amazed at how close to the top side rupertswood were.
I thought for a lot of the game that they were a good chance of winning. Rupo lost two very handy players early in the game which could have been the difference!!!!!!
But speaking to a few local romsey gents on saturday and hearing that they are still missing a lot of top line players. i have done some homework and this is what i have found out. correct me if im wrong romsey folk but i beleive they lost mitchell and brewer in the first half?? And have erwin,blair,mcnaughton,lever,mcinerney,farmer,broos,robertson,smythe and jamin to come back into the line up????? that sound absurd!!!!! This RDFL is a much stronger comp than i first thought

Did Petroro play for Romsey rdfl fan? He's another handy one who didnt play the other week when we went to Romsey. Should be a rippa day at Romsey this week, grand final replay and the opening of the new social club/changerooms etc.

I'd reckon Lancefield could have a challenger for grand final day in the next year or so once everything is established, looks impressive enough now. The lights are pretty impressive too so instead of the two games on the Sunday week one of finals, why not try a night final, be it Friday night or Satdy night.

Did Petroro play for Romsey rdfl fan? He's another handy one who didnt play the other week when we went to Romsey. Should be a rippa day at Romsey this week, grand final replay and the opening of the new social club/changerooms etc.

I'd reckon Lancefield could have a challenger for grand final day in the next year or so once everything is established, looks impressive enough now. The lights are pretty impressive too so instead of the two games on the Sunday week one of finals, why not try a night final, be it Friday night or Satdy night.
Petroro did play,and played quite a good game. Would have to be one of the quickest footballers in the league. A few may remember his 6 bounces against Diggers last year in the prelim. Was a sight to be seen
As for the other players to come back in, the only one who is 'iffy' is Leigh Irwin.
And Doona, the clubrooms were used for the first time tonight, and you wouldn't believe it.....there is unlimited hot water in the visitors rooms!!!
With the new rooms, the new oval accross the road (which is 100 times better than the current one) that could be used as a carpark, the RDFL will have a hard time justifying playing the GF up the road. Only time will tell

Petroro did play,and played quite a good game. Would have to be one of the quickest footballers in the league. A few may remember his 6 bounces against Diggers last year in the prelim. Was a sight to be seen
As for the other players to come back in, the only one who is 'iffy' is Leigh Irwin.
And Doona, the clubrooms were used for the first time tonight, and you wouldn't believe it.....there is unlimited hot water in the visitors rooms!!!
With the new rooms, the new oval accross the road (which is 100 times better than the current one) that could be used as a carpark, the RDFL will have a hard time justifying playing the GF up the road. Only time will tell

Do the umpires have rooms in the new building (i'm guessing yes) or are we still in the netball stadium? Seems like Romsey is having a bad run with injuries this season. All the best to brad with the recovery. I think saturday's gf rematch should be a cracker. Any result predictions? I've seen both teams once this season with numerous players out and they each won comfortably against decent opposition.

No-one will forget that great run.. the boy is a star.. why he isn't getting a senior gig at the Bullants is a big shock.. its the league's gain.. the club rooms look spectacular.. a big thanks to Mr Brady for showing us around.. unbelievable.. We have two cracking grounds in the RDFNL worthy of hosting the big one.. and then there is Macedon.. the best place to watch football in the world.. it has the playing size of the MCG and the location and scenery is magnificent.. we're getting spoiled in the competition for great venues.. I'd hate to be those deciding who will host which game over finals :)

Do the umpires have rooms in the new building (i'm guessing yes) or are we still in the netball stadium? Seems like Romsey is having a bad run with injuries this season. All the best to brad with the recovery. I think saturday's gf rematch should be a cracker. Any result predictions? I've seen both teams once this season with numerous players out and they each won comfortably against decent opposition.

Thinking we're still in the stadium young mate! If so.. a lonely walk from the stadium.. passed the old chook shed and canteen.. and to the mighty new rooms..
If any team wins the big game by five goals or more.. that would be a big surprise.. Romsey will go in underdone on the star power front but at the end of the day, I think the win will do more for the Redbacks confidence than the Roos, who have a big star studded list to choose from.. if they play a full four quarters, look out, Romsey could be in strife.. hoping Nathan Blair and Broosy get the nod from the Cannons to play this week..
Anyone going to CARlton to watch the two Jake's play for Vic Metro?? :)

Umps are still going to use the stadium, and I believe its for the umps 'safety' to be away from where the bulk of the crowds will be. I also think this was an RDFL decision

Would have been nice to be in the main clubrooms as its easier when visiting the rooms and communicating with team managers however the rooms in the stadium are one of the best in the league so we can't complain.

After last year's grand final antics I think it's best the umpires are away from the bulk of the Romsey crowd for their safety.

Looking forward to heading to romsey this weekend to Watch the Roos as the wrfl have a bye. it will be great to catch up with the fellas and watch em have a good win

After last year's grand final antics I think it's best the umpires are away from the bulk of the Romsey crowd for their safety.

Maybe it is best but i've never felt unsafe coming off the field and i really think last year was a once off. I've never had any problems from Romsey so i don't think that is a fair statement.

A bloke who comes through work said to me today I hear a mob up your way is getting some EDFL guys this week. Has Doona got a few of the Craigieburn boysreturning.

I've exchanged several texts with one bloke only this week but had a change of heart because unless it was a chance of getting him onboard for the rest of 2013 it's not something that I see as being beneficial to be honest. It potentially could've upset guys who are training regularly, committed to the club when others wouldn't/didn't and are aspiring to play senior footy.
Also, as a parent if I was volunteering time etc and it was my son who got ousted for a week for a guy to play a "one off" get a few bob then return home the next week I reckon I'd be pretty $hitty ..... unless it was in a Fevola like situation where everyone would be aware well in advance.

But yeh you're right, I did contemplate something earlier in the week.

Yes Norman, my wife and I were there today as we support Riddell and our grandson plays for Riddell. What she saw with our other grand children was an utter disgrace and outrageous. It was disgusting behavior by the Lancefield umpires escort, coaches box, supporters and the players. The people of Riddell and the Riddell players should be commended on their actions and their behavior. They were dumbfounded by the acts of the Lancefield Football Club. There was punches thrown, threatening language, threats, players punching other players from the same team, People have never seen this happened before. Coaches arguing, yelling, swearing at people from their own club, The umpire did a marvelous job and stopped it at 3/4 quarter time as it was getting out of hand. They should be applauded as much as the Riddell club should be. Me as a grandparent and a football lover, will never go and watch a game of football with Lancefield Football Club involved in it, ever again. I ASK ALL YOU PEOPLE OUT THERE, IF THE RDFL IE: BALLARAT FOOTBALL LEAGUE, WANT TO CRACK DOWN ON VIOLENCE IN THIS SO CALLED LEAGUE, ARE THEY GOING TO TREAT LANCEFIELD IN THE SAME WAY THAT THEY INVESTIGATED THE GOINGS ON AT THE GRAND FINAL OF LAST YEAR FIASCO.
1. ARE LANCEFIELD GOING TO BE FINED $5000???
2. DO LANCEFIELD HAVE TO APOLOGISE TO THE RDFL AND OLLIE MATTHEWS IN THE LOCAL PAPERS???
3. ARE LANCEFIELD SPECTATORS AND COACHES AND MEMBERS GOING TO BE BANNED FROM RDFL GAMES???
4. ARE LANCEFIELD SPONSORS GOING TO BE BANNED FROM RDFL GAMES???
5. ARE LANCEFIELD PLAYERS AND SUPPORTERS GOING TO HAVE TO SIGN A CODE OF CONDUCT TO BE INVOLVED IN THEIR CLUB???
6. DID LANCEFIELD BRING THE LEAGUE INTO DISREPUTE???

OR

ROD WARD AND OLLIE MATTHEWS 1200 GAMES, WILL YOU JUST GIVE THIS CLUB LANCEFIELD A SLAP ON THE BACK AND SAY COME SEPTEMBER "YOU CAN HAVE THE GRAND FINAL AGAIN AND GET $15K IN FRONT OF EVERYBODY ELSE FOR THE START OF 2014" AND OHHH YEAH DON'T WORRY ABOUT OTHER CLUBS........YOUSE DON'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT AN INVESTIGATION.. WE'LL LOOK AFTER YOU WE LIKE YOU TIGERS!!!
Hi Teepee, hope you're well after your first epic post. Just for your benefit, I hear that the offending culprits have been banished from the Lancefield Football Club. Apparently they had priors for similar behaviour at a couple of previous clubs and were given their marching orders there too. I believe it will now be safe enough for you to attend a match involving the Lancefield Football Club.

Riddell put on a clinical display against Rupo yesterday. Big eye opener for the new kids on the block.

Was it more to do with Riddell playing incredible well, Ruppertswood playing terrible, or a combination of both?

With the half way mark of the season nearing, what are people's thoughts on the make up of the ladder and finals come the end of the year??

Premiers:
Runner Up:
Top 6:
Bowen Medal:
Leading Goalkicker:

OMNI'S Final Ladder Prediction.............mark IV

Diggers.....................60
Riddell......................60
Sunbury....................52
Romsey.....................48
Melton.......................36
Macedon....................36

Rupertswood...............32
Lancefield....................24
Broadford....................24
Rockbank....................20
Wallan.........................20
Woodend......................4
Kilmore.........................0

Biggest Improver - Lancefield.
Biggest Slider - Woodend.

Grand Finalists - Diggers v Riddell.
Premiers - Diggers.

Lee James Medallist - Matt Davidson. (Rom')
Rising Star - Todd Podolczak. (Rupo')
Bowen Medallist - Darren Goodwin. (Mac')

Premiers: Riddell
Runner Up: Diggers
Top 6: Riddell, Diggers, Sunbury, Romsey, Rupertswood, Macedon
Bowen Medal: Petroro (Romsey - games permitting)
Leading Goalkicker: L Brennan (Rupertswood)

Ladder defining games -

Round 10.

Melton v Rupertswood...... I have Melton getting the points here at home, but if they should drop this one to an ever improving Rupo' line up then it will make the battle for 5th & 6th even closer come seasons end.
Macedon v Lancefield........The Cats at home should get the win here, but Lancefield are No easy beats this season & if Macedon drop this one it will make their run at the finals very difficult indeed.

Round 11.

Melton v Macedon....Melton should get the points at home over the Cats here. But a very important game for both sides in their quest to make the Final top 6.

Round 12.

Broadford v Melton....I've gone for Broadford at home to get the victory here purely on the back of big Bazza playing & getting a bag of goals. A massive game for both sides.
Rockbank v Macedon......Rockbank at home are a much better side & still should have a sniff of finals come mid season. Macedon have traditionally had trouble putting the Rams away down there, so I'm tipping Rockbank to get the chocolates in a tough one.

Round 13.

Rockbank v Rupertswood.....A win to Rupo' here, JUST. But Rockbank for all the same reasons as above, coupled with their ability through finding a power forward in Leigh Sporle to kick a bag of goals should see them put up great resistance in a fast paced encounter.

Round 14.

Rockbank v Melton..... At home again the Rams could turn the tables from round one on their cross town rivals Melton in what should be a finely balanced & crucial clash. Melton to scrape home just in a pretty physical match.

Round 16.

Rupertswood v Lancefield.....Rupertswood should get the victory at home here, but if the ground is heavy & a bog that time of year it may just come down to a titanic slog between which ever side wants it the most. Lancefield never back away in those type of conditions. Could turn out to be the season defining game for both these sides !

Rupo certainly didn't play well, but take nothing away from Riddell. Best I've seen to date in this comp.

I thought it was one of our more poorer performances this season actually !
To many selfish players taking stupid and unsuccessful shots on goal. To many blokes not doing the team things.
The same old suspects not pulling their weight defensively.
Maybe that comes as a consequence of NOT having a settled line up,..... I dunno ??? o_O