RDFL Thread - 2013

Actually, my misguided friend its quite to the contrary. I have a great respect & liking for Romsey & the people there. I have many friends up there that I either went to school with or played sports against over the years. Its a lovely place.
I love the passion of the Romsey supporters (when its channelled correctly !) & players. I really like old Peddo & Deano & get along with them really well ! Not to mention the fact that I have to admit to being a personal friend of the Grub !!!
Hell ! I'm one of those that think you were Robbed last season !
I actually think Romsey is our RDFL Collingwood ! Wouldn't be the same place without you's !
How's that for hating the place ???
Only responding to your past comments !
And agree wouldn't be the same
What do you think of a possible night final at romsey ?
How do you think other clubs involved would feel ?

Only responding to your past comments !
And agree wouldn't be the same
What do you think of a possible night final at romsey ?
How do you think other clubs involved would feel ?

I'd love it. But I think we need a few years of night games so the clubs & players can get used to it before we make the leap of playing a final at night !

Suggestion riddle qualifying finals based on current ladder normal times
Romsey elimination final under 18 3 pm reserves 5.15 pm snrs 7.30 pm
All on Saturday everyone could watch all finals
Sunday other elimination
Normally qualifying and one elimination on Saturday
Let's the purest watch all senior games ..

Suggestion riddle qualifying finals based on current ladder normal times
Romsey elimination final under 18 3 pm reserves 5.15 pm snrs 7.30 pm
All on Saturday everyone could watch all finals
Sunday other elimination
Normally qualifying and one elimination on Saturday
Let's the purest watch all senior games ..
I am not dead against a night final but to be honest I just didn't think the lights were up to standard for a show piece event. They are passable I guess but for a final you really want everything to be perfect.

Actually, my misguided friend its quite to the contrary. I have a great respect & liking for Romsey & the people there. I have many friends up there that I either went to school with or played sports against over the years. Its a lovely place.
I love the passion of the Romsey supporters (when its channelled correctly !) & players. I really like old Peddo & Deano & get along with them really well ! Not to mention the fact that I have to admit to being a personal friend of the Grub !!!
I actually think Romsey is our RDFL Collingwood ! Wouldn't be the same place without you's !

I love it when u get all sentimental omni it almost brings a tear to my eye.lol. great post by the way!!!!! I heard a rumour that macedon were seekung your availability to take the top job next season? Playing coach is the rumour??? Can u shed sum light mate????

Romsey have the bye talking to patto get back 9 after the bye and 3 more the week after if all available may shape the top 4 ?

Been a promising debut good result keep up the good work. Do you refer to the trainer or the coach when u say patto?

Trainer is Patto.

Coach is Peddo.

;)

Whilst I'm feeling in such a benevolent mood, I'd like to give my old sparring partner Yeendy a bit of a rap.
He deserves it !
For a few weeks now I've listened to his commentary of the game on 100.7 Highlands FM & I must say the lad has improved significantly. Chris's call of the game is becoming knowledgeable & intuitive. He is changing gears in all the right places & is naturally able to convey to the listener a genuine sense of excitement when the contest warrants it.
I had several friends at the game yesty & they in fact commented how great it was to watch the game & follow it & fill in the blanks on the radio at the same time.
Well done champ..............................................you have a great head for radio too pal !!! :eek:

Thanks young mate.. appreciate it heaps.. we just have a bit of fun.. everyone does their bit and we love a few beers with the club after the game.. I must say, the Riddell club puts on a darn good spread.. wish we had've had more games at the club this year.. love getting the traditional burger and snag before the game.. heaven!! It's on the same level as the Hawk Burger at Woodend.. there is some must haves at every ground.. mmm..
Thanks for the thumbs up mate.. we give it a crack.. any feedback is awesome.. we're just on the look out for others to take over next year.. there is a pretty good chance that we may not go around with our current team next year, unless we get a few superstars to jump on board and give it a crack..
Haha you're right that I have a head for radio ;) I'm glad my better half has the looks in our relationship .. we compliment each other well ;)

As every person is different it is hard to have everyone on exactly the same page when it comes to decision making, especially holding the ball. I must admit, i don't pay a lot of holding the ball decisions while some other guys can be more technical, but you try to work it out with your fellow umpire so you are on the same page and are being consistent. What we are looking for is the guys intent, is he playing the ball or did he just drag it in. I hate nothing more than a guy who waits for the other guy to take it just he can tackle and try and get a free. So i reward the guy playing the ball. Next is prior oppurtunity, even the afl seems to have backed off this one. We give the players a few steps/second(s) before they are deemed to have prior oppurtunity. If they have had prior oppurtunity then they must dispose immediately. Also a player without prior must make an attempt to dispose by knocking it out, struggling in the tackle etc, if he chooses to just hold it then he will be penalised. Also a player who has an arm free will be deemed to have had prior oppuntunity and must attempt to handpass or kick when tackled. If an attempt is made in this case when he didn't have a real prior oppurtunity then we lean towards a play on call.

Ground conditions is also a factor, we will give longer before a player is deemed to have had prior oppurtunity on a wet muddy day than compared to a dry clean footy game!

Hope than helps!

Loving your work as always there mate.. nice to see you're getting the big game again this weekend.. ;) Your Kangaroos have lacked that little bit of fitness at the business end of matches in recent weeks.. maybe you could join them next year and help them finish it off in the midfield with your elite fitness :) Loving your work out on the field :)
What sort of communication do you guys do before the game? Does it make it harder with the three to get a great level of consistency?
I found the slippery conditions really challenging to officiate on the weekend because of the slippery conditions.. there were a few high tackles made on boundary side that you'd suspect were there but if the tackler completes the tackle by swinging the player in front of you, the hand or arm of the tackler slipped below the shoulders.. and of course, like junior footy.. when the conditions are wet, more players surround the contests and create more congestion.. you can sense a high tackle may have been laid but you need to be sure of it.. how do you find adapting your movement and the difficulty of legal and illegal tackling when it comes to wet weather footy? I've got the 18s at Woodend on Saturday and I know it will be a bit of a battle with similar scenarios..

Love the comparison with the Pies mate!

Cheers blueboy
Can the blues make the 8 ? And why ?
It's an RDFL forum Good Result but I don't really want the Blues to make the 8 this year. I want them to tank a few games and try and make a trade with GWS to snare the No. 1 pick. Now back onto RDFL. Do you reckon Romsey should allow a couple of young bucks who haven't played in the seniors all year because they've played in a different comp, come into the side to take the spots of some loyal young blokes who have battled their guts out all year for the team?

It's the same as last year diggers brought sheen in the two boys are romsey products there home club is romsey and should be allowed its across the board there's can dothe same romsey won't get everyone back so no one will miss Fiona's as seconds will be there and a better side for it .

Sorry will miss finals not Fiona

There should be a few good water polo matches on tomorrow ;)
Was at lancefield the other day ground is shocking in worse condition than riddles last year

Be interesting come finals if it comes up

Could it be some where else maybe down the road ???
Who's going to the footy today take your life jacket !!!!