RDFL Thread - 2013

I know people don't believe it but we don't have the money of other big spending clubs.. We are just happy he wants to come back to Broadford to play with his mates. And Broadford is 99% locals which I don't think any other club in rdfl can say that

I think you would be surprised.

Other clubs are 99% local I don't think so

I would suggest that Wallan would be close, Kilmore would also be pretty close and Sunbury Kangaroos who won the premiership were indeed very close..

Kilmore were close once their import players left. Wallan maybe and sunbury kangas I can't comment on as I really don't know. My point is that Broadford does not have the big spending budgets of other clubs and we think ourselves very lucky that Barry has come home to help us out and play with his mates. When he could of got massive money elsewhere

Without doubt, I am not querying that at all, it's a fantastic coup for you lads and the league!!!

As a previous poster has said hopefully everyone involved in the league realize how great a thing this is. For supporters of all clubs to see such a successful player running around in the comp will be a real treat. All clubs need to ensure that any dickheads that come along thinking they can try and stir the pot are weeded out and told they are not welcome. It is a chance for the RDFL community to show that it can be an attractive and enjoyable option for retired AFL Players. Learn from the Aaron James experience

So, which club will be the first to pay Barry Hall to play against them at their home ground?

Other clubs are 99% local I don't think so

There's a lot of talk on here at the moment about teams being successful with local talent or home grown talent! Let's look at some facts b4 all the clubs start boasting that they r running super junior program's and as a result being successful at senior level. It's one thing to recruit local talent but believe me everything reverts back to cost. I recruited basically the sunbury premiership side. Yes they r mostly locals and ye a couple played juniors in the league. But the facts are most of the recruits are not past players of the club and they all command a more than serviceable price to come onboard. And I would suggest that most of the top 5 clubs are in the exact same boat. U either pay the money or u WILL NOT get the quality local footballers.

Unbelievable news for the rdfl to get Barry hall to the comp and good on him for wanting to give something back to broadford. But if anyone is suggesting that he is playing for free then they know nothing about footy. At least 2000 a game minimum is what he would command.

So unless your club has a ripping junior program, they will not compete with the top 3 rdfl sides unless they spend upwards of 70k a season. Recruiting locals doesn't mean u get them for free. eVERYONE has their hand out!!!!!

There's a lot of talk on here at the moment about teams being successful with local talent or home grown talent! Let's look at some facts b4 all the clubs start boasting that they r running super junior program's and as a result being successful at senior level. It's one thing to recruit local talent but believe me everything reverts back to cost. I recruited basically the sunbury premiership side. Yes they r mostly locals and ye a couple played juniors in the league. But the facts are most of the recruits are not past players of the club and they all command a more than serviceable price to come onboard. And I would suggest that most of the top 5 clubs are in the exact same boat. U either pay the money or u WILL NOT get the quality local footballers.

Unbelievable news for the rdfl to get Barry hall to the comp and good on him for wanting to give something back to broadford. But if anyone is suggesting that he is playing for free then they know nothing about footy. At least 2000 a game minimum is what he would command.

So unless your club has a ripping junior program, they will not compete with the top 3 rdfl sides unless they spend upwards of 70k a season. Recruiting locals doesn't mean u get them for free. eVERYONE has their hand out!!!!!
Pretty much agree with all of that. You get the odd exception who will play for nothing in the name of team success. Even a number of guys who play for well under what they could get but money is money and people have bills to pay. If the player is a former junior it might save you a little bit on retaining players but you will still have to pay for them.

Getting off the topic a little (sorry Skip/Baz) any idea's or suggestions how the fixturing could (or should) pan out for 2013. Assuming she's 18 rounds, with 13 clubs we'll play everyone once, have two byes in there along the way, and play 4 clubs only for a second time making it 16 games played, 8 home games each.

Hope whoever is in charge realises how important this will be to clubs right thru from 1-13, who you play at home, who you draw away over rounds 1-13, and then who you cop a second time.

I just hope for our club's sake (and B'fords) we each don't have 3 home games in the first 9 again.

Funny you would say this. The New boys on the block Rupertswood would have to be in the top 10 in the state and are very well known for their junior development program. With 2 or 3 teams in each junior division the talent in their pool is amazing, add to that the membership fees, excellent sponsorship, and very knowledgeable and experienced football department.
No club in this league should under estimate what they will be capable of. With the past 10? years in the ametuers and players not being paid, They will have close to the best Facilities and a bank balance most clubs would dream of. They have always had quantity, Quality and now will have the ability to retain players.
I would not expect them to go on a major recruiting drive to become a top side in 2013, But i would expect them to be contacting and trying to draw back past players that have left for a bit of pocket money.

Riddell have not made the grand final in 2 years, A very proud club, expect them to spend big next year to get back on top.
Lancefield finished of the season well, Its been a few years, expect them to spend some money next year.
The big talk on GF day was Macedon, apparently rumoured to have the $$ and are definitely going to have a fair dinkum recruiting drive for 2013.
Broadford the latest with the big news of Big Baz and a number of returning players are putting their hands up to be more competitive.
Throw into the mix this years finalists, Sunbury, Romsey, and Diggers.
With all clubs to receive 1 or 2 byes, players to be a little fresher and hopefully fielding stronger weekly sides.
I think everybody would have to admit it could shape up to be one of the best seasons the RDFL has seen in years.:thumbsu:

Funny you would say this. The New boys on the block Rupertswood would have to be in the top 10 in the state and are very well known for their junior development program. With 2 or 3 teams in each junior division the talent in their pool is amazing, add to that the membership fees, excellent sponsorship, and very knowledgeable and experienced football department.
No club in this league should under estimate what they will be capable of. With the past 10? years in the ametuers and players not being paid, They will have close to the best Facilities and a bank balance most clubs would dream of. They have always had quantity, Quality and now will have the ability to retain players.
I would not expect them to go on a major recruiting drive to become a top side in 2013, But i would expect them to be contacting and trying to draw back past players that have left for a bit of pocket money.

Spot on! And they won't be paying massive amounts out either to get blokes in. Can't wait for the Rupo V Sunbury game considering about 6 - 8 of the Kanga players are ex-Rupo players. Should be interesting.

Riddell have not made the grand final in 2 years, A very proud club, expect them to spend big next year to get back on top.
Lancefield finished of the season well, Its been a few years, expect them to spend some money next year.
The big talk on GF day was Macedon, apparently rumoured to have the $$ and are definitely going to have a fair dinkum recruiting drive for 2013.
Broadford the latest with the big news of Big Baz and a number of returning players are putting their hands up to be more competitive.
Throw into the mix this years finalists, Sunbury, Romsey, and Diggers.
With all clubs to receive 1 or 2 byes, players to be a little fresher and hopefully fielding stronger weekly sides.
I think everybody would have to admit it could shape up to be one of the best seasons the RDFL has seen in years.:thumbsu:

Heard Riddell threw everything but the kitchen sink at Cariss from Sunbury Lions, but didn't get the deal over the line. He would have made a fair difference to their line up, as they've struggled in the ruck department for the last few years. Not sure too many will be leaving Lions to go to Riddell when Lions are favourites for another BFL flag.

I reckon Macedon need to recruit at least half a dozen really good players to get anywhere near the grand final in 2013.

Sunbury v Rupo next season, if Sunbury retain most of their list, or even improve Rupo won't get anywhere near them in my opinion.

What about the Redbacks, if they retain their list they will be right up there too, got a feeling they might lose a few players though.

Diggers will want to improve on last years disappointing finals showing, word is a few more of Caton's and Wood's mates from Craigieburn might end up at Diggers to improve their list.

Interesting to see how Broadford go, with what we are hearing they'll be a 10 goals a match better side.

It looks like overall the league will be stronger in 2013.

Heard Riddell threw everything but the kitchen sink at Cariss from Sunbury Lions, but didn't get the deal over the line. He would have made a fair difference to their line up, as they've struggled in the ruck department for the last few years. Not sure too many will be leaving Lions to go to Riddell when Lions are favourites for another BFL flag.

I reckon Macedon need to recruit at least half a dozen really good players to get anywhere near the grand final in 2013.

Sunbury v Rupo next season, if Sunbury retain most of their list, or even improve Rupo won't get anywhere near them in my opinion.

What about the Redbacks, if they retain their list they will be right up there too, got a feeling they might lose a few players though.

Diggers will want to improve on last years disappointing finals showing, word is a few more of Caton's and Wood's mates from Craigieburn might end up at Diggers to improve their list.

Interesting to see how Broadford go, with what we are hearing they'll be a 10 goals a match better side.

Rumor i heard was Riddell turned attention from Carriss to. Gisbornes second ruck Antonowicz. Have been extremely active.

Fairly sure if u read my post properly Trev you will see wher I state" unless your club has a ripper junior program "

mate, interested to hear you thoughts on why this would be the case ?

This has been a debate year after year the rupo v roos who is better conversation only fuelled by the fact so many rupo players have gone to the roos to continue playing senior footy,

time will tell, however your comment clearly shows you are unaware of the level that has been played by Rupertswood, and to be successful at the level we have been playing at means you need lots of quality footballers running around, we are coming after the roos, as with all comps around australia the premiership sides of 2012 will be the hunted, they will be no different.

mate, interested to hear you thoughts on why this would be the case ?

This has been a debate year after year the rupo v roos who is better conversation only fuelled by the fact so many rupo players have gone to the roos to continue playing senior footy,

time will tell, however your comment clearly shows you are unaware of the level that has been played by Rupertswood, and to be successful at the level we have been playing at means you need lots of quality footballers running around, we are coming after the roos, as with all comps around australia the premiership sides of 2012 will be the hunted, they will be no different.

My thoughts are:

I understand the level that Rupertswood have been playing, and have a lot of respect for them as a club, having had family involvement at the club many years ago. A member of my family played in what I believe to be Rupertswood's first ever club premiership in 1995.

Looking at Rupo's year in 2012 Premier C, they won seven, lost eleven games finishing eighth out of ten. Of the seven wins four were against the teams that finished ninth and tenth, however they did beat Mazenod, PEG's and Old Camerwell (who finished fourth, fifth, and sixth) on one occasion each, for the other three wins. Probably not the best of years in Premier C 2012.

Sunbury Kangaroos, as I said assuming they don't lose too many players, or in fact improve their list.

Last season most points for, least points against therefore best percentage in the RDFL. Backline tightest and most settled in the comp, very good mids, very good forward line, best talls in the comp, and great improvement from players aged 18-22. Three close losses in 2012, all against quality opposition. Last nine games played exeptional team football. Will most definately be there or there abouts in September next year.

Good luck to Rupertswood, great to see them in the RDFL, and really looking forward to seeing what impact they have. I know there are a lot of quality people there, and that they will be successful.

Looking forward to Sunbury v Rupertswood.

Getting off the topic a little (sorry Skip/Baz) any idea's or suggestions how the fixturing could (or should) pan out for 2013. Assuming she's 18 rounds, with 13 clubs we'll play everyone once, have two byes in there along the way, and play 4 clubs only for a second time making it 16 games played, 8 home games each.

Hope whoever is in charge realises how important this will be to clubs right thru from 1-13, who you play at home, who you draw away over rounds 1-13, and then who you cop a second time.

I just hope for our club's sake (and B'fords) we each don't have 3 home games in the first 9 again.

When you put it that way Doona it will be a very lopsided draw aND I hope for Wallans sake they draw a couple of the lower ranked 2012 teams a second time as I think they are still without coach and president. If they only get Broadford once I bloody hope its a home game at Wallan :)