• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

RDFNL 2018 Season discussion

I'd love to know how many players that actually do 4 hours work.

Clubs could start with better websites, FB pages and twitter accounts to get their word out. Even BF is a great way to promote your club. Putting young players names out there, promoting club events and stuff like that. Have a look at your own houses first. A simple post on this forum had the team app update its draw, so things can be done. Communication is the key, so start there.

I'd love to know how many players that actually do 4 hours work.

Clubs could start with better websites, FB pages and twitter accounts to get their word out. Even BF is a great way to promote your club. Putting young players names out there, promoting club events and stuff like that. Have a look at your own houses first. A simple post on this forum had the team app update its draw, so things can be done. Communication is the key, so start there.

If you're referring to my mention of "4 hours" that was purely match day and a training run or two. Not bad to get upwards of $600/700 for that hey.

I was simply because most of the blokes I know start their season build up in October and probably have a few weeks off over the christmas/new year period before getting back into it. Throw in the hundreds of k's a year, club functions etc. and suddenly that 6-700 bucks isn't really that much and that's before we talk about work commitments which may come under threat, uni students and the like who have 2 or 3 part time jobs just to make ends meet.

I've got no doubt there are players who simply turn up and get that sort of money for doing not much, but I think they might be the exception rather than the rule.

I was simply because most of the blokes I know start their season build up in October and probably have a few weeks off over the christmas/new year period before getting back into it. Throw in the hundreds of k's a year, club functions etc. and suddenly that 6-700 bucks isn't really that much and that's before we talk about work commitments which may come under threat, uni students and the like who have 2 or 3 part time jobs just to make ends meet.

I've got no doubt there are players who simply turn up and get that sort of money for doing not much, but I think they might be the exception rather than the rule.

Yep I see now, local footy on the verge of being rooted .... got no idea how it survived all them years before the almighty dollar seriously come into the equation roughly a decade or so ago.

Times have changed I guess. Petrol today in Craigieburn was over $1.50, yet I remember paying just over 90 cents a litre for it 10 years ago.

The demands on players are greater now than they were 10 years ago I would think too. I remember in the EDFL clubs would have a 6 week pre-season and that was it. The game is much more professional and these days players are expected to turn up in November just about ready to go.

I just think it's too easy to blame it all on dollars when there is clearly other factors involved.

Times have changed I guess. Petrol today in Craigieburn was over $1.50, yet I remember paying just over 90 cents a litre for it 10 years ago.

The demands on players are greater now than they were 10 years ago I would think too. I remember in the EDFL clubs would have a 6 week pre-season and that was it. The game is much more professional and these days players are expected to turn up in November just about ready to go.

I just think it's too easy to blame it all on dollars when there is clearly other factors involved.
In lighten us auckmel would like to know what them factors are ..

I gotta say Auck Mel your last few posts are puzzling.
What are the factors???
Are you saying the problems with football today relates petrol prices?????
Or is that footballers now train in November. I haven't played for 20 years but we trained before Christmas, admittedly it was lighter than guys do now but it still required the commitment.
When I started senior footy 35 years ago preseason started first Monday or Wednesday after Australia Day so that's more than 6 weeks.
Surely you have better theories on the problems with football????

I gotta say Auck Mel your last few posts are puzzling.
What are the factors???
Are you saying the problems with football today relates petrol prices?????
Or is that footballers now train in November. I haven't played for 20 years but we trained before Christmas, admittedly it was lighter than guys do now but it still required the commitment.
When I started senior footy 35 years ago preseason started first Monday or Wednesday after Australia Day so that's about ten weeks of preseason.

What I'm trying to say is, that it's not all about the money which players are getting because that money doesn't really go that far in the final wash up.

If clubs are struggling then promote yourselves better. Use the information highway better via FB, twitter and online forums like this. From what I can see Chris is pretty much the only person who gives the league any promotion, so band together and demand change. Get him some support. Visit other leagues websites and look what they do better to make this league better and more attractive.

As I said in another post, all it took was to point out the draw in the team app was way out of date and it was fixed. I'm getting on in years, but even I can see how valuable social media is and IMO in this league it's not used nearly enough to promote clubs.

*Edit* I should add that, Tara Murray does a great job too.

What I'm trying to say is, that it's not all about the money which players are getting because that money doesn't really go that far in the final wash up.

If clubs are struggling then promote yourselves better. Use the information highway better via FB, twitter and online forums like this. From what I can see Chris is pretty much the only person who gives the league any promotion, so band together and demand change. Get him some support. Visit other leagues websites and look what they do better to make this league better and more attractive.

As I said in another post, all it took was to point out the draw in the team app was way out of date and it was fixed. I'm getting on in years, but even I can see how valuable social media is and IMO in this league it's not used nearly enough to promote clubs.

*Edit* I should add that, Tara Murray does a great job too.

Not often I disagree with you, but I will here.

Promotion is one element for clubs, but at most clubs the people who do all the work are volunteers, with the same commitments and costs as the players that are getting paid, if you want to make comparisons, ensure you do it broadly across all contributors, because it’s almost a guarantee that the people doing ALL of the work at clubs are volunteers, not those earning $$$ to play the game we all love.

I call bullshit Auck.

You want an example, go and check out the Rockbank website, it’s exceptional, it is yet to provide the traction expected. It’s easy to say, but in reality, financial support is the ONLY thing that creates success.

Just to keep the example rolling, per your example.

Function:
Player earns $300-$1500 per game, goes to the function at 7pm, function cost $30 at the door, spends $50 on drinks, heads home.

Volunteer earns $0 per game, spends weeks prior arranging and setting up function, putting multiple hours of work in, goes to the function at 7pm, function cost $30 at the door, spends $50 on drinks, runs the raffle, spends some time in the bar, cleans up after people around the room, answers multiple questions about the function and the club during the night, cleans up at the end of the night, locks up, heads home. Spends the night wondering why he bothers as only half of the blokes on $300-$1500 per game bothered to show up because the have “other family commitments”, gets home to his/her own family who are generally asleep.

This is just a function.

If a player ever came to me and said he was “committing so much time” to the club, I think I’d slap him.

Promotion is one element for clubs, but at most clubs the people who do all the work are volunteers, with the same commitments and costs as the players that are getting paid, if you want to make comparisons, ensure you do it broadly across all contributors, because it’s almost a guarantee that the people doing ALL of the work at clubs are volunteers, not those earning $$$ to play the game we all love.

I call bullshit Auck.

You want an example, go and check out the Rockbank website, it’s exceptional, it is yet to provide the traction expected. It’s easy to say, but in reality, financial support is the ONLY thing that creates success.

Function:
Player earns $300-$1500 per game, goes to the function at 7pm, function cost $30 at the door, spends $50 on drinks, heads home.

Volunteer earns $0 per game, spends weeks prior arranging and setting up function, putting multiple hours of work in, goes to the function at 7pm, function cost $30 at the door, spends $50 on drinks, runs the raffle, spends some time in the bar, cleans up after people around the room, answers multiple questions about the function and the club during the night, cleans up at the end of the night, locks up, heads home. Spends the night wondering why he bothers as only half of the blokes on $300-$1500 per game bothered to show up because the have “other family commitments”, gets home to his/her own family who are generally asleep.

This is just a function.

If a player ever came to me and said he was “committing so much time” to the club, I think I’d slap him.

Great post and points.

I don't think my post was bullshit, but simply part of what I believe. I've been there and done that myself and completely understand the work and time it takes to run a footy club. Perhaps I was using my own examples too much where I know a player/s who helped organise a club function last year and commits 5-6 days of the week in preparing to run out and represent his club.

Great post and points.

I don't think my post was bullshit, but simply part of what I believe. I've been there and done that myself and completely understand the work and time it takes to run a footy club. Perhaps I was using my own examples too much where I know a player/s who helped organise a club function last year and commits 5-6 days of the week in preparing to run out and represent his club.

If that’s the case, then that player is the exception, not the rule, and will generally be playing for free or massive unders anyway.

I call bullshit Auck.

Function:

This is just a function.

Great post mate you nailed it the fact is that these points will burn out volunteers eventually and clubs suffer even fold

I call bullshit Auck.

Function:

This is just a function.

Great post!!!!!

As a coach i try and have a great relationship with my players but in all reality the younger generation of today expect rather than earn. The players fight you over every last cent or they find somewhere else to play. There would be a short majority of players that would give a second thought to the hard working volunteers. Injured players sulk if they have to spend $60 on physio. In the next 10 years more clubs are going to fall by the waste side and i doubt many of the players will be out shaking tins to save their beloved clubs.

See now and I think it's as much to do with what's being created down at Wallan.

Wallan are doing a fantastic job culturally, but don’t tell me for a second that the $$$ those players are being paid don’t contribute to their additional input around the club, the players will be contracted to do so.

I just continually see and hear people talk about clubs not putting in the work to improve or grow and it infuriates me, I can tell you right now that the people at Rockbank work just as hard as the people at Macedon, Rupo and Diggers, the availability of financial resources just aren’t there. Can a club get there, they sure can, but it takes a long time unless you can find a quick benifactor.

I won’t accept that players getting paid aren’t getting that much when you include some of the things they do around the club, because in reality, when compared to the volunteers, these players do nothing and get all of the benefit, not only to play the game, but get rewarded financially for it.

Wallan are doing a fantastic job culturally, but don’t tell me for a second that the $$$ those players are being paid don’t contribute to their additional input around the club, the players will be contracted to do so.

This function was 100% the brainchild of player/s and not because they had to. Granted players do commit to functions due to being contracted.

I just continually see and hear people talk about clubs not putting in the work to improve or grow and it infuriates me, I can tell you right now that the people at Rockbank work just as hard as the people at Macedon, Rupo and Diggers, the availability of financial resources just aren’t there. Can a club get there, they sure can, but it takes a long time unless you can find a quick benifactor.

I won’t accept that players getting paid aren’t getting that much when you include some of the things they do around the club, because in reality, when compared to the volunteers, these players do nothing and get all of the benefit, not only to play the game, but get rewarded financially for it.

I'm not bagging any club or questioning the work they do, just putting forward thoughts on ways to move forward.

Rockbank have one of the best websites, FB pages and active twitter accounts in the league and that's a credit to them and I've got no doubt they're heading in the right direction.