RDFNL 2019 Season discussion

Wasn't there today so can't form my own opinion. So I ask:

Do we give to Wallan credit for taking control of the game early or were Romsey just that bad, or badly coached (responding to recent posts)?

Is the loss of Jensen solely responsible for being the difference between a (potential) premiership and going out in straight sets (no question he's a jet, but what's really happening behind the scenes)?

How far can Wallan go? Who is better suited at Romsey next week, and further can either side compete with Rupo on Clarke station?

There's life in the league after all!!

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Wasn't there today so can't form my own opinion. So I ask:

Do we give to Wallan credit for taking control of the game early or were Romsey just that bad, or badly coached (responding to recent posts)?

Is the loss of Jensen solely responsible for being the difference between a (potential) premiership and going out in straight sets (no question he's a jet, but what's really happening behind the scenes)?

How far can Wallan go? Who is better suited at Romsey next week, and further can either side compete with Rupo on Clarke station?

There's life in the league after all!!

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app
This league is fantastic, don’t know why anyone would want to leave it.
The relationships you form with other clubs while having beers after a game I would argue is better than any other league in the area.

Long live the RDFL 👊🏻

There is no doubt it’s a good league in late Aug and September and albeit most want to win it there are some valid points that need addressing. I can see why clubs want to leave, however surely it wouldn’t be hard for all clubs to come together and force some issues with the league. Address and help struggling Clubs, push clubs to pay fees on time, go back to even age junior years and get back to 18’s instead of encouraging young blokes to play multiple years in 19.5’s footy. Go back to a top 5 and not reward the 6th worst team with a final. But ultimately the comp belongs to the clubs, they need to do it.

This league is fantastic, don’t know why anyone would want to leave it.
The relationships you form with other clubs while having beers after a game I would argue is better than any other league in the area.

Long live the RDFL 👊🏻

Wont argue with that Wow61, I was lucky I had relationships with some RDFL folk before my home club "chose" to go there in 2009.

Whilst for the life of me I dunno why they did, and understand why now a decade later they need to seriously look elsewhere and secure themselves a future I still love being able to lob into a RDFL game anytime and know I can have a yak, a coffee or a drink with folk I've gotten to know.

Whilst's it not a country league any longer in the true essence, it still can have that country footy feel on the right day, and for me that's what I love about it.
It certainly could return to something like that, but every club needs to truly unite and align in what they want as a collective, and if that doesn't suit a club or two then so be it.

There is no doubt it’s a good league in late Aug and September and albeit most want to win it there are some valid points that need addressing. I can see why clubs want to leave, however surely it wouldn’t be hard for all clubs to come together and force some issues with the league. Address and help struggling Clubs, push clubs to pay fees on time, go back to even age junior years and get back to 18’s instead of encouraging young blokes to play multiple years in 19.5’s footy. Go back to a top 5 and not reward the 6th worst team with a final. But ultimately the comp belongs to the clubs, they need to do it.
Wont happen unless teams push this starting from the more financial establish clubs going to the smaller clubs first to get a meeting with the league. The struggling clubs are finding it tough to survive expanding many hours doing so and need the larger financial big brothers to guide and help them. They can take back the RDNFL as stand alone but need a influx of $$ from some major sponsors and or footy lover with coin there are a few going around buying premierships perhaps they could contribute to saving clubs this would be more rewarding than winning a premiership or two and be forever remembered a solid Business plan put together and presented to clubs is a great start. WHOS UP TO PUTTING THAT TOGETHER that’s the big Question.

joeblow2 Wallan were just too good. Young hungry blokes having a red hot crack. The rain helped, but you got the feeling Wallan had their measure anyway.
Your boys would excited for this week, Diggers in both grades. Either way winning two finals is a great effort and a sign all up a windy peak arena are doing plenty right.

Imagine how good a venue "windy peak" would be these days, with that surface, the changerooms/clubrooms etc had all those beautiful bushy conifers still be almost ringed right around the joint.

Great job Wallan getting through to a prelim and us seeing a different club there. Refreshing. Pulled off the big upset last week and deserve your chance to play in the GF. Romsey fell apart as we all know the moment they could not hold Jensen. There back half of the year was average and they had a favorable draw to. Two finals on their home ground, plenty of clubs would like that. I thought it was always going to be diggers and riddell with Rupo onlt challenger, Riddell went we have wallan but terrific performance by Rupo. I was not a believer at the mid point of the year but a healthy and strong list has really helped them. The game against Riddell at home a few weeks back where they had to stand up under fire they did and good on them for getting their 2nd crack in three years at their first bit of silver ware. Something has to be said for Nick Ash leadership of this young group. We all know his record at Riddell to go to Rupo and be apart of 2 of 3 GF teams, coaching one you would think his leadership is quite important. Can't see Diggers not getting there, they still played some really good footy on the weekend but good luck to Wallan. We all love this time of year, and often we forget what happens during the year, but honestly, I would think there are plenty of people who are glad to kiss goodbye that season. IF you got another like that you would just turn up finals time. THANKS GOD FOR FINALS!

very impressed with rupo on the weekend.. love what they have done with their forward line of late. Getting players back has helped but they look very dangerous down there. Got 3 or 4 really dangerous smalls and a couple of bigger targets but credit to ash who has changed the way they play compared to last year. They seem to score in waves from stoppages and from the back half, then they have periods where they dont look like scoring. Diggers had their chances at the start of the last to go 3 or 4 goals up but didnt take them and then rupo looked to slick at the end. Would be good if we could get both these teams in the GF cause i reckon it will be a cracking game. Rupo deserve to be favourites in all 3 grades which is a credit to the club... Rupos 2s were super impressive as well and we all know about their 18s.
well done to wallan again always looked like winning on sunday. Loved watching the young ruckman they have and it would be good to see perri on clarke oval.. agree with other posters that they are just having a crack. Romsey have injuries but another shocking finals campaign.

very impressed with rupo on the weekend.. love what they have done with their forward line of late. Getting players back has helped but they look very dangerous down there. Got 3 or 4 really dangerous smalls and a couple of bigger targets but credit to ash who has changed the way they play compared to last year. They seem to score in waves from stoppages and from the back half, then they have periods where they dont look like scoring. Diggers had their chances at the start of the last to go 3 or 4 goals up but didnt take them and then rupo looked to slick at the end. Would be good if we could get both these teams in the GF cause i reckon it will be a cracking game. Rupo deserve to be favourites in all 3 grades which is a credit to the club... Rupos 2s were super impressive as well and we all know about their 18s.
well done to wallan again always looked like winning on sunday. Loved watching the young ruckman they have and it would be good to see perri on clarke oval.. agree with other posters that they are just having a crack. Romsey have injuries but another shocking finals campaign.

Every team has injuries. Hate that excuse. I could argue that wallans injuries outway other teams, saladino/brock/Fowler/barber just to name a few, that’s 4 key pillars missing from their side but the magpies just keep rolling on! Momentum is a crazy thing! I hope diggers rest give them the respect they deserve, cause I can smell an upset.

Correct about injuries, all clubs have injuries, no one cared about Rupo’s injuries last year when they went out in straight sets, it was just Rupo choking again and there was a massive pile on. Credit to Wallan, who knows about upsets, Diggers play Romsey pretty well and most would expect they’ll get up. Wonder if Egan comes in for the burras and whether Wallan has any prospective ins back?

Every team has injuries. Hate that excuse. I could argue that wallans injuries outway other teams, saladino/brock/Fowler/barber just to name a few, that’s 4 key pillars missing from their side but the magpies just keep rolling on! Momentum is a crazy thing! I hope diggers rest give them the respect they deserve, cause I can smell an upset.

wasn't giving them an excuse at all.. think i said they were putrid.. as i said rupo were last year in the finals... no one has an excuse this time of year..

Correct about injuries, all clubs have injuries, no one cared about Rupo’s injuries last year when they went out in straight sets, it was just Rupo choking again and there was a massive pile on. Credit to Wallan, who knows about upsets, Diggers play Romsey pretty well and most would expect they’ll get up. Wonder if Egan comes in for the burras and whether Wallan has any prospective ins back?

yeah unfortunately if they lose in 2 weeks time people will say the same thing .. huge effort to have all three teams in !

Injuires don’t play a part in finals it is an excuse the reason sides finnish up high is depth and good sides cover that 22 take the field each Saturday at this time of the year no excuses .

Patrick Mahoney. Been the best player for mine in the two games so far.

I doubt it mate. All were long term injuries.
wI
The weather forecast for the wend is rain, this could be a huge advantage for Wallan, hope the heavens open up!

Wont happen unless teams push this starting from the more financial establish clubs going to the smaller clubs first to get a meeting with the league. The struggling clubs are finding it tough to survive expanding many hours doing so and need the larger financial big brothers to guide and help them. They can take back the RDNFL as stand alone but need a influx of $$ from some major sponsors and or footy lover with coin there are a few going around buying premierships perhaps they could contribute to saving clubs this would be more rewarding than winning a premiership or two and be forever remembered a solid Business plan put together and presented to clubs is a great start. WHOS UP TO PUTTING THAT TOGETHER that’s the big Question.

Cmon Dave, can you please start a paragraph with a positive comment?

Didn’t you try and buy one at broadford a few years ago Dave when you were there?

Cmon Dave, can you please start a paragraph with a positive comment?

Didn’t you try and buy one at broadford a few years ago Dave when you were there?
Mate you on weed this was aimed at being positive wont happen unless ! in other words lets get it started
and what’s this got to do with buying anything you must be on the pipe mate or the bourbon pew talk about negative.
All that aside I’m pointing out what can be done any takers on having a discussion on this and setting out how this can be achieved happy to get it started for any one Intrested.
Can also tell you the club administrators spent less than adleast 4 other clubs that year the following year wasn’t there due to family illness but know they where not spending crazy money.

it was a five year business plan
I was asked to come to the club that was struggling and was there for two seasons club was on track when unfortunately I had to step away from the club due to family illness when i was there club was cruising along. Yes I did speak to Deano who came across and they had a ripper season what happen then you need to ask Skip and co. You guys love to have a crack but the only people here you are not considering are those that where left with a club that was flying after Dean left what happen then ask them.
Show some consideration before you comment as we had good times and club was run well by Administrators 14-16 players left suddenly why don’t know wasn’t there.

I was asked to come to the club that was struggling and was there for two seasons club was on track when unfortunately I had to step away from the club due to family illness when i was there club was cruising along. Yes I did speak to Deano who came across and they had a ripper season what happen then you need to ask Skip and co. You guys love to have a crack but the only people here you are not considering are those that where left with a club that was flying after Dean left what happen then ask them.
Show some consideration before you comment as we had good times and club was run well by Administrators 14-16 players left suddenly why don’t know wasn’t there.
Where did the players go Dave?