Recreational Footy 2007

Update: from Lauren
I am having trouble securing an oval, Maribyrnong and Brimbank council
have nothing I can use.

If we can't find an oval the season won't be running, but hopefully I
can!

Disappointing to hear, hopefully they find something.

Someone aggresively yelling an offer to leave the bench to fight the AFL's CEO* in a recfooty match was my funniest thing for the year. Who was that crazy guy? ;)

*I think it was actually one of AA's teammates, but you know, don't spoil a good story with the truth.

:eek:

I was sorely provoked. And PC was egging me on.

Are we taking our business elsewhere if they dont get the comp up and running?

Our team is thinking the same thing.

However, apart from Sandringham there doesn't seem to be much going on in the West (i.e Carlton, Preston etc). Struggling to get a contact name for any co-ordinators....it's not looking to hopeful... :(

Hi All,
Update from Lauren:
===================================
We have finally been able to find a ground to host rec footy this season! Due to the Whitten Oval redevelopment and the oval being off limits, we have been able to secure the ground at Dinjerra Primary School, South Road Braybrook (about 2 km from the Whitten Oval, melways ref: 41 D2).
We will be starting on Monday 15th October and games will be played from 6.30pm onwards. If you want a team in the competition let me know as we may get teams from other competitions wanting to come over to ours as everyone is finding it hard to find ovals.
Prices are still the same as the last season - $20 rego and $80 a team per game (rego will be due by round 3). I have attached the team registration form for you to fill out and send back or you can fax back to 9680 6103.
If you have any queries just give me a call – 9680 6158
Regards,
Lauren Sandford

Western Bulldogs Recreational Football Competition-Spring Competition

Due to the Whitten Oval Redevelopment we have had to find a new ground for this spring, please see below for all the details regarding the spring 2007 competition.

Venue: Dinjerra Primary School, South Road Braybrook (near the Central West Shopping Plaza)

Mel Ref: 41 D2

Date/Time: Monday Nights from 6.30pm starting on the 15th October 2007

Cost: individual registration is $20 and $80 a game for each team

Attire: tracksuit pants/shorts and runners (football boots are not to be worn)

Contact: Lauren Sandford – (03) 9680 6158 or you can fax your team registration form to 9680 6103

Bigfooty Bulldogs Recfooty Club (where the not-so elite mingle)
If you are interested in playing Recfooty this season for the BigFooty Bulldogs, please add your name to this thread.

Please note that the game is 8 Players on-field with unlimited numbers on the Interchange bench.

We are ideally looking for a list of between 10 and 15, to cover those who can not play on any given Monday.

So far we have:
Rapidshave
Westdog54
Captain Sensible
onslaught

I will update this post with names added.

Please note I will update the post on PAGE 1 so that people don't have to go looking.

Depending on my ridiculously dodgey knee, I will be an in. I was kind of looking forward to this season as there was going to be no chance of being interupted by coaching duties...but now it seems I am headed for a scalpel!

Excellent, thread updated!

Just a reminder that we need girls to play, so if you are up for a non-contact version of footy to play with other Bulldogs faithful then jump onboard!

With only 10 days to go till the start of the season do you guys reckon a training session before our first game would be something anyone involved would be interested in?

Also any word Ons on our fixture or how many teams are up and running for this season?

This just in!

Just to let you know I have had to change the dates of the rec footy comp to starting on the 29th of October as daylight saving will have started by then. This new oval we are at does not have lights! I thought daylight savings started earlier this year but that will be as of 2008.

I'm not up for training this coming Monday (due to illness/injury/whatever) but perhaps the monday that was to be the start of season would be a good chance to meet up and have a kick.

Sounds like a plan, bit disappointing that the season has been pushed back although it gives us (and myself) more time to prepare.

Recreational Footy 2007