Redbacks 2010/2011

Big rumour is ... former Vic gloveman Adam Crossthwaite (26yo but hasnt played for 2 seasons) is coming over next season...ah new coach ... more imports!!! :rolleyes:

if you guys are going for a keeper import you'd be better off going for James Allsopp. Was a sensational keeper when he was 18, 19, 20 yo, and although i can't profess to having seen him keep for about 5 years now he has survived in Bankstown's first grade team as their keeper despite a batting average of only 20 and usually bats in the bottom 4 so i assume his keeping is still top notch and is now captain of their club.

his batting obviously won't offer you much however.

but better would be for the guys within SACA to have a look and work out why SA cricket is in the situation it's in, and to start developing from within because clearly going the import root hasn't exactly worked wonders....

You guys had one of the most talented junior crops coming through about 8 years ago with Mark Cosgrove, Callum Ferguson, Cameron Borgas, Oswald-Jacobs, Trent Kelly, Tom Plant, Dan Cullen, Cullen Bailey....

But somewhere along the lines things went very awry... Obviously not every talented junior is going to make it, but out of that group the only one that's beared fruit for you guys is Ferguson and to a lesser degree Cosgrove who was subsequntly cut....

Thunder, They went awry when the selectors picked players that did no good in grade cricket and told OTHERS that they had to score more runs /take wickets in Grade cricket ..
now its worse because having imports, that have to play (because they are paying them) but do not need to make runs or take wickets at Grade level any more ..
Sad so Sad..

Footnote.
last 5-6 seasons they have blamed Cosgrove for there predictament
who will they turn on this year? Klinger or Harris?

Selection has been a disgrace for years. I bet the grade team of the year could beat the redbacks on a consistent basis. What ever did Jason Borgas do wrong?? The most consistent and solid opener in grade cricket as has Sayers been the most consistent paceman for a very long time. Sayers only just has got a game. Yet blokes like Lang and co get a free ticket into the side. At least they finally dropped him....

Delmont is another I'll never quite understand. I could go on but I'm sure we are all on the same page...

Selection has been a disgrace for years. I bet the grade team of the year could beat the redbacks on a consistent basis. What ever did Jason Borgas do wrong?? The most consistent and solid opener in grade cricket as has Sayers been the most consistent paceman for a very long time. Sayers only just has got a game. Yet blokes like Lang and co get a free ticket into the side. At least they finally dropped him....

Delmont is another I'll never quite understand. I could go on but I'm sure we are all on the same page...

importing a moderately performed bloke in his late 20's is not a recipe for success.

As for Sayers i'd never heard of him till last week. didn't watch any of that tassie game, but it seems odd that a 21 year old takes nearly 60 wickets at 12 (as he did in 08/09) and waits another two years for a call up...

While Lang gets a gig in that England tour match on the back of 11 wickets (at the admittedly very good average of 12)...

Also just looking at those wicket taking stats and interesting to see Trent Kelly up the top. He just hasn't stepped up at all in the odd shield games he's been given. He was the absolute top gun of the juniors way back when....

hope it doesn't sound like i'm coming on here just to bag out the SACA's. i'm an Aussie fan first and that means seeing all the states performing to their potential. Of course there are going to be down times for states here and there but South Australia have been down for too long now and it's been at a time when there have been some very talented juniors come through SA.

I think the push on youth from a cricket perspective is a bit misplaced. Cricket isn't footy - it takes years to perfect and some very good players who had prodigous talent took a long time to get thru to the top level....and when they did WOW! I'm thinking Martyn, Hayden, Langer and even SR Waugh. All had a taste early and struggled before re emerging as much better players. Hell even Gilchrist took a long time.

I don't understand what the rush is.

On the other hand, I dislike the way me own state has currently gone about filling their squad with journeymen and only recently gone back to youth. It's been encouraging that they have played guys like Gulbis, Maxwell, Gilmour, Stray and Herrick all young blokes who have done the business at Grae level over a period of time.

From the outside looking in the SACA could start by getting an even number of teams in your grade comp and strengthening it in order to have a strong shield side.

Cowan, Kruger and Maher will all play for Tassie in the shield final. Maybe Cowan had a touch better than moderate record, but only just.

Cowan has been pretty consistent though in the last couple of years, it's pretty tough to work your way into the NSW team as a top order bat, so he was justified in moving states as he had previous success.

Cowan and Kruger had all played a fair bit of first class cricket with varying degrees of success (not a whole lot to be fair) and also have excellent grade cricket records in their home states.... i don't know where they pulled maher from. says born newcastle but don't know where he was playing beforehand. lang was a mid range first grade performer in sydney....

ben edmonson and rob cassell are also strange pick ups. chris duval likewise... those three are probably somewhere in between cowan and kruger's class and the class of lang even though they play different roles....

the only import that's really proven great success has been klinger... dan christian to a lesser degree. tom cooper is getting to the point where has to start putting more runs on the board.

must admit i was a bit perplexed when i saw kruger's name on the team sheet for tassie but has so far done a very good job.

What's been the reasoning behind not giving Sayers a run for so long?? does he just bowl dinky medium pacers (Grant Lambert, Shawn Bradstreet style for a NSW comparison) that can be dynamite in grade but just won't make the step up??

I think the push on youth from a cricket perspective is a bit misplaced. Cricket isn't footy - it takes years to perfect and some very good players who had prodigous talent took a long time to get thru to the top level....and when they did WOW! I'm thinking Martyn, Hayden, Langer and even SR Waugh. All had a taste early and struggled before re emerging as much better players. Hell even Gilchrist took a long time.
ne .

I agree with what your saying, but the point most people are making is why don't we have any 29-35 yr old SA players who have put through 10 years of solid domestic cricket are a solid standard?

the SACA not only doesn't develop any players it also recruits old mediocre players to assist with their pension.

What's been the reasoning behind not giving Sayers a run for so long?? does he just bowl dinky medium pacers (Grant Lambert, Shawn Bradstreet style for a NSW comparison) that can be dynamite in grade but just won't make the step up??

They don't think he is quick enough supposedly and they (SACA) hate his old man. Taking 200+ wickets in five seasons plus taking wickets in 2nd XI would make you think he is worth a shot a bit earlier than now.

Bowls high 120's, probably could get a few extra yards on him, he is short in size which probably the other thing he has going against him. Stuff like that shouldn't pigeon hole you though and basically taking an extreme amount of wickets should push you to front ahead of guys who have either been there and done stuff all or half rate imports that don't get any poles in grade cricket.

My opinion is that he is like a Ryan Harris, runs in, hits the pitch. Get him on decent program and I'm sure his pace will improve.

yeah at the end of the day you have to reward guys for taking wickets and making runs. i'm a pretty firm believer in that policy. it generally deosn't steer you too far wrong.... particularly when the state team has struggled as much South Australia... when that happens you can't afford to be picky at all.

this may or may not relate to SA cricket currently i don't know... but i reckon sometimes selectors get this bee in their bonnet about basically ignoring what a player puts on the scoresheet. it's kinda look this "look at me, i know the game inside out, i don't need scores to tell me what i believe".... but cricket is a statistical game as we all know... sure they are not the be all and end all, but there are times when you just can't just continue to ignore what's right in front you on a sheet of paper.

even if you don't think they'll make the step up due to whatever reasons you believe, weight of numbers really has to force you to giving them a shot... nearly 60 wickets at 13 for a 21 year old is very very impressive.

Sayers does remind me of Ryan Harris but not as quick. Harris used to dominate grade cricket just like Sayers with similar bowling figures although probably not quite as good as Sayers. Sayers prob averages 128-135 or so never seen him clocked but have watched him bowl many times and he is a very very attacking bowler who makes the batsmen play whilst gets extraordinary bounce for someone of his height (180cm) whilst moving it around a fair bit. Has a lot of bowled's/lbw's in his wickets at grade level. Harris is like that but more around 140-150km/hr with good pace and bounce and now look at him. Not saying Sayers will end up that good because he does need that pace but he does know how to bowl to get wickets and his record really speaks for itself. I know it's only grade cricket where averages are inflated but I think it's a joke that it's taken this long to give the bloke a crack at first class cricket. Hopefully next year he can show them what they were missing out on.

IMO this is what our bowling lineup/order should be for 2011/2012 where all players are available:

George
Putland
Sayers
Richardson
Haberfield

Lyon
Bailey

Now i'm not saying we play them all at once because that isn't feasable nor will it happen in real life very often (George national callup heaven forbid, injuries etc) Sayers would be third in line for me.

George - Our best bowler and prospect. Hasn't quite kicked on this season but no doubting what he can do or be.

Putland - has been one of my favs for a long time, left armer and can swing it like hell, quick enough. If his body holds up sky is the limit for Putters.

Sayers - As above, give the man a go first!!

Richardson - Probably has more raw talent than anyone on the redbacks list but is still developing. Could be one of those players that pulls out a good performance here and there or a potential superstar allrounder in years to come. Bowls very quick (140-150) and can throw the willow....still young.

Haberfield - Never been a huge fan but he does take wickets. Would like to see him move the ball a bit more rather than fire it in but is a useful and quick bowler.

Lyon - Spinner and a bloody good one at that. Came from nowhere, played well in the 20/20's and now has done very well in his first few first class games. Early days of course but I really do like the way he bowls for an offie.

Bailey - Always expensive but never gets a fair go. A handy leggy with plenty of talent and batting ability. If he gets a fair go, we might finally see what he can do.

Letting go of Andy Delmont was the biggest joke in Australian cricket.

Bang Bang! Now there's a man who knows his stuff. I played with and under Della at Adelaide Uni and it was ridiculous the way he was treated when still so young. Hope he makes it in Victoria and what a sad indictment on South Aussie cricket it would be. Much the same as Cossie topping the runs this year lol

On Chad Sayers. Batted against him quite a few times. Is McGrath like in his accuracy, deserves a go. I worry about his lack of pace on a flatty at Adelaide Oval though but you never know if you don't give him a go.

GO BLACKS!

Letting go of Andy Delmont was the biggest joke in Australian cricket.

Haha, I've been just one of many talking up Delmont over the past few years, but I'm not sure it was the biggest joke ever. No worse than letting go of Harris or Cosgrove, or the way SACA treated Gillespie or ignoring Lehmann as coach or the way they have completely stuffed up the development of Bailey and Cullen or the resigning of Duval....I'm sensing a trend here.

As for Sayers, being a yard or two slow hasn't seemed to hurt Copeland. I don't think he'll be a starter next season, but both him and Haberfield will likely fight it out when we need a fourth seamer. I'm thinking we'll more than likely see a bowling attack of...

Bailey
Richardson
Lyon
Putland
George

Not too bad at all. The only problem is whether Ludeman (or whoever is the keeper) is good enough to bat at 6.

Who is going to win the Bradman on Wednesday night?

Moffat, Jason Borgas or Sayers. Sayers can't be runner up again surely?

What's happening in the grade final? I know the Browns made 236.

Edit: Sturt at 8 for 145. Best side all year round then on the brink against the Browns, they must hate playing them in Finals.

Sad day for the Sturt CC then. They got right royally thumped in the B Grade GF too.

Sturt were bowled out for 84, Southern District were 84/1 at Stumps and got the winning runs second ball of Day 2.

Joe Dawes!

Dunno why Jason Gillespie didn't get a chance, i guess we won't judge Dawes until he gets going, but to ignore Dizzy. uhh.

there appears to be a don't hire ex great players to coach policy at the moment.

Redbacks 2010/2011