Suspended
Mar 31, 2008
Lygon St
Yarran > Rioli
Reported On SEN - Blues In More Trouble (Betts & Robinson)

1. Betts locked up for being pissed after xmas party...

2. Mitch Robinson in a brawl first in Melb and popped out shoulder, then few to tassie and got into another blue the following day.

I'm hoping this is all a fabrication....

Shocked to hear about this. I have spoken to a mate who was at Eve that night and the boys were quite full but no suggestion of trouble. This has been reflected in posts on other Carlton forums.

Not sure why Gleeson would come out with that if no truth behind it.
We'll see

1. Betts locked up for being pissed after xmas party...

2. Mitch Robinson in a brawl first in Melb and popped out shoulder, then few to tassie and got into another blue the following day.

I'm hoping this is all a fabrication....

SEN still relying on BF for their 'news' (I use that word very loosely). Funny that the Hun, who have stretched the Houlihan/Walker incident into "A day out for boozy Blues", haven't got wind of this rumour. AFL players don't normally get locked up without the Hun being front & centre for the story.

As per the Houlihan/Walker incident, until a link is available giving this rumour some credence, this thread will be closed.

As I said in the other thread...

Might as well write 2010 off now, as half of our team already have been (Pun intended :p) and looks like they will be playing for the Ants for the first half of the season lol

Will be lucky to field a starting 22 at this rate!

Thats the problem when recruiters dont place a heavy emphasis on character/personality of a player when drafted.

Talent alone is not enough.

I remember speaking to a crows recruiter after last years draft and i asked him why Mitch Robinson went so late in the draft, when clearly on talent he was a top 20.

He said on talent he was certainly a 2nd rounder, as a person/character wouldnt even pick him in the rookie draft.

I was out for dinner last Saturday week and a group of Carlton players were all there with their girlfriends/wives.

Absoloutly, perfectly well behaved. Well dressed, polite and no trouble whatsoever.

Its a pity that one or two players misdemeanours can make a whole club look bad.

This is from the Hun

THE Christmas shockers keep coming for Carlton with more players landing themselves in strife after a weekend boat cruise.

Police have confirmed Eddie Betts was arrested in the city early on Sunday morning for being drunk, while Mitch Robinson injured his shoulder and had a black eye after two fights.

The club has already slapped $5000 fines on players Ryan Houlihan and Andrew Walker after brawling with staff at Crown casino early on Sunday morning.

It is understood Betts was locked up early Sunday morning for four hours and then slapped with a $234 fine.

“He'd had quite a few beverages,'' a football source confirmed.

Victoria police this morning said the 23-year-old year old Brunswick West man was arrested on Queens St just before 4am on Sunday.

Related Coverage
Houlihan and Walker: Casino brawl after big day out

“He was detained and later issued with a penalty notice of $234,'' police spokeswoman Marika Fengler said.

Meanwhile, it is understood Robinson was involved in a scuffle the same night, injuring his shoulder.

He flew to Tasmania on Sunday only to be involved in yet another incident where he was left with an “almighty shiner''.

Betts had been recently fined for turning up late to a recovery session after a big night out.

Link is http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...oozy-boat-cruise/story-e6frf9jf-1225813057650

And to think, everyone said the club was a better more disciplined place now that Fev has left ...

The unfortunate thing is, you can't actually stop or prevent players getting on the grog in the off-season/xmas period and acting like irresponsible oafs ...

Only good thing about this is it happened now, and not one week before the start of the season.

Betts- Getting drunk and detained by Police. Silly.
Robinson- Getting into a couple of fights. Silly.

I'm sick of our players acting like young men. For shame.

Betts- Getting drunk and detained by Police. Silly.
Robinson- Getting into a couple of fights. Silly.

I'm sick of our players acting like young men. For shame.

I personally don't find the incidences that bad myself. I just think it is poor timing from the boys considering the Walker/Houlihan incident and such a short time after getting rid of Fev and claiming that our problems were gone now. As well as Eddie having a very recent poor record..

It has put the club in a position where the club will be forced to act strongly on them I'm afraid.

Can't believe i'm saying this............but,

I'm not surprised.

Drinking in moderation during the off-season = No issue

Players getting into fights, and injuring themselves, players getting locked up, players fighting security guards because they drink too much and can't handle their alcohol = piss poor and not on.

Trust me, its going to take a sacking to wake this mob up. Fines are paid with change from the car console, name and shame is weak, because theres always a story a week later to over shadow it.

Take the game away from one of them (a repeater). Show the rest, you **** up.....your out the ******* door.

I think our leadership group & club is weak in stamping this out...

Fev = Scapegoat.

That's fanatstic.

We've gone from being a side that used to ooze class to becoming a team of highly paid
thick-as-bricks idiot bogans.

What, are we turning into Collingwood or something?:eek::eek::eek::eek:

Suspend the lot of them until round 5 and send a message that we wont tolerate this behavior.

Agree on Betts and Robinson:

- Betts - last chance
- Robinson - hopefully nip the strong ******** element in the bud early on.

Houlihan and Walker

Both already been fined but get the feeling Walker was some what of innocent party in all of this.

Houlihan - not sure what to make of him ?

Suspend the lot of them until round 5 and send a message that we wont tolerate this behavior.

This needs to be addressed by the board as you are quickly becoming the laughing of the league. At Essendon we got rid of Lovett, NLM had charges dropped and was an absolute disgrace it even got that far, and Hurley you will find will be pulled into line very quickly, this was only his first year, I would be very suprised if we hear of another incident involving Hurley

This is from the Hun

Police have confirmed Eddie Betts was arrested in the city early on Sunday morning for being drunk

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...oozy-boat-cruise/story-e6frf9jf-1225813057650

i was in the city fri night and the new police crackdown is ridiculous! im not saying its acceptable, especially when it is their job to be an elite athlete and as such, should look after themselves, but Betts may not have been too bad.

i took a killing time stroll after work fri night from collins st to lonsdale and back at around 8.30pm - it was still light and i saw 4 people get arrested by 3 different groups of cops coz the cops thought they were drunk. they probably were but they werent causing trouble, infact they werent doing anything except walking along swanston st, each by themselves...

as for mitch, whether you're 18 or 50, male or female, there are very few excuses for getting into a fight.

With the new laws (alot stricter on public drunkines because of the w***ers who go out and stab people and get in fights) you will find every cat and his dog will be locked up for being drunk in the city. So the eddie betts incident isnt anything major.

Robertson seems like the bloke who needs to be taken down a peg or two anyway, although people call is ADD

Can't believe i'm saying this............but,

I'm not surprised.

Drinking in moderation during the off-season = No issue

Players getting into fights, and injuring themselves, players getting locked up, players fighting security guards because they drink too much and can't handle their alcohol = piss poor and not on.

Trust me, its going to take a sacking to wake this mob up. Fines are paid with change from the car console, name and shame is weak, because theres always a story a week later to over shadow it.

Take the game away from one of them (a repeater). Show the rest, you **** up.....your out the ******* door.

I think our leadership group & club is weak in stamping this out...

Fev = Scapegoat.

Well said

Reported On SEN - Blues In More Trouble