Return of the Grog squads?

Hawthorn have a GS in bay M10 standing room Great Southern Stand - in front of the Jason Dunstall picture. They get pretty loud too. Quite a few times i've been sitting in front of them and they've really taken the atmosphere to a new level.

LOL, theres only like one disgusting feral guy in the grog squad. The rest are all U25. Atleast there not all fat, unlike 90% of the Hawthorn cheersquad.
Fair call. Though most clubs CS members are pie-eater's too.

Hawthorn have a GS in bay M10 standing room Great Southern Stand - in front of the Jason Dunstall picture. They get pretty loud too. Quite a few times i've been sitting in front of them and they've really taken the atmosphere to a new level.
yep, that's where I stand. Just like the Tiger's 'grog squad' only bigger, louder and with minimum requirements of double digit IQ's and/or multiple teeth.:thumbsu:

M10's awesome OEH, but Richmond's got one of the best & loudest (albeit feral) grogies going 'round - i've sat in front of them and i swear to god they've won games for Richmond just by their song singing, chants & so forth.

That is so funny! Do you really believe that? What 20-30 pissed guys who stand undercover have won games for Richmond? Yes I bet the opposition just cack their daks when they hear them too.

Tell me any play up the Ponsford Stand end would be heard. You can't be serious?

Only time I could imagine a team getting a run on with the crowd support would be when a teams echoed chant starts ringing around the G, or moreso interstate when 90% of the crowd support is behind a team. Not a small grog squad who don't even venture out from undercover.

That is so funny! Do you really believe that? What 20-30 pissed guys who stand undercover have won games for Richmond? Yes I bet the opposition just cack their daks when they hear them too.

Whether it wins games is highly debatable, but when I can hear the boys from my reserved seat, the players can certainly hear them :thumbsu:

perhaps they can BUT on the salaries they are on it's pretty piss poor that they have to be motivated to win by some drunks standing at the back yelling.

I'd hope my team win because of talent and self motivation without having that crap driving them over the line which is what's being suggested here.

perhaps they can BUT on the salaries they are on it's pretty piss poor that they have to be motivated to win by some drunks standing at the back yelling.

I'd hope my team win because of talent and self motivation without having that crap driving them over the line which is what's being suggested here.

Because a little bit of passion for your team is a terribly bad thing.

Typical Essendon supporter.

I would LOVE a Sydney grog squad. But considering the demographic we get at the SCG at Swans games & the SCG Nazis attitude to standing, I can't see it happening ever.:(

Maybe in Sydney can can have a white wine sipping squad.:D :eek: Or a "let's not talk to our friends & not watch the game like the rest of the crowd" squad.

In Sydney we have start from scratch. But after that Freo final I have completely given up trying to get em to cheer. :thumbsdown: :(

JF

The Essendon Grog Squad seems to be getting bigger, I think mainly due to most of them seem to post on Bomberblitz and a few more blitzers slowly joing them.

There is no love lost between the groad squad and cheer squad too by the way. ;)

Yeah whats the story with that, and why is the Essendon Cheer Squad so quiet?

Without a doubt, the best Grog Squad going around is the North Adelaide Roosters Grog Squad in the SANFL.
Those guys make a motorcycle gang look like a Mr.Whippy convention,with their chants when Hargraves was there was quite amusing, and then they really get into bagging any opositon full forward-great stuff.

Wedgie won't mind me using this as a bit of an advertisement:

77.jpg

Much like St Kilda is becomming, Essendon's fan base is full of front running bandwagon jumpers who don't know what it's like to support a ********** team.

This season would have given them the shock of their lives.

Really?

So why were their no big dips in Essendons crowds this year in comparison to previous years despite being on the end of 16 straight losses?. :eek:

We'll leave the word bandwagoners and fickle to the tigers I think, most wouldnt disagree.

And on the subject, the Cheer squad has been dogs balls for years.

Could someone tell me more about these grog squads (I've heard the name before, but that's about it)
Do they do barmy army/soccer style chants and songs?
Or are they just a bunch of blokes on the piss together?
Bit of both I guess???

Do they like to make themselves well know and are they open?
As in do people just rock up to a designated area/pub or is it more strict like a cheersquad?

No.

There's a horrid supporter culture in the AFL which basically means if you stand up to cheer or chant, you'll be castigated by those around you for "ruining it for the rest of us".

Eugh. It's pathetic. However, I think a lot of it has to do with gender balance in the stands at our game - but this is turn is a good thing, and quite unique to AFL.

So back to square one. Either way, I'm saving my voice and we're making some noise...for the Melbourne Victory northern terrace boys ;)

Can't wait for the A-League finals. This country needs a dose of active supporter culture

Lets be honest mate. That game needs some active supporter culture, because there is absolutley naff all happening in the game. Nil all.....AGAIN!!!!!!

Could someone tell me more about these grog squads (I've heard the name before, but that's about it)
Do they do barmy army/soccer style chants and songs?
Or are they just a bunch of blokes on the piss together?
Bit of both I guess???

Do they like to make themselves well know and are they open?
As in do people just rock up to a designated area/pub or is it more strict like a cheersquad?

They're just a bunch of people, mainly blokes, who congregate in standing room (MCG or TD, that i know of), sing english football style songs and chants and indulge in a few alcoholic beverages. Mind you, not all drink - small minded people just like to stereotype them that way.

It's sort of similar to the Barmy Army only smaller, and not as loud.

It's not a members only type scene - you just basically rock up, join in with the easy-to-learn, generic chanting/singing and enjoy yourself.

The Richmond Grog Squad sits behind the Punt Road goals, bottom level, but up the back, near the bar.

On one of the tiger sites they used to have the songs listed. There was one about 'put <insert club> players on the bottom, put the umpire on the top, and burn the f'n lot'. There was another one about 'there's only one Rory Hilton' and 'who, who, who are we?, we are the boys from the mcg' etc.

Bogans to be sure, but funny to be around.

Saints have plenty of supporters who stand on level 1 around aisles 36-38. A few media personalities and former players are always in attendance. Ex-Animal Enclosure regulars.

Much like St Kilda is becomming, Essendon's fan base is full of front running bandwagon jumpers who don't know what it's like to support a ********** team.

Easy to say that when your own team has done nothing in the past 25 years but we've more than got your covered when it comes to being an unsuccessful club.

Not that I think we've achieved anything at this stage but for many of us it's just enjoyable watching our team win games on a consistent basis. The fact that it's been done playing some free flowing football is a bonus and the AFL seem to think so with our 2007 fixture.

No.

There's a horrid supporter culture in the AFL which basically means if you stand up to cheer or chant, you'll be castigated by those around you for "ruining it for the rest of us".
Eugh. It's pathetic. However, I think a lot of it has to do with gender balance in the stands at our game - but this is turn is a good thing, and quite unique to AFL.

So back to square one. Either way, I'm saving my voice and we're making some noise...for the Melbourne Victory northern terrace boys ;)

Can't wait for the A-League finals. This country needs a dose of active supporter culture

That comes with the lack of standing room tickets these days Seb. People book individual pre-reserved seats and are therefore not part of a giant collective group. They go to games as indivuals and apart from Cheer Squads are sitting next to other individuals.

You compare that with the habits of supporters groups like the Cove & BWB. We drink together as a collective group, walk to the stadium together as a group, singing in unison as a group.

The lack of collective support in contemporary Australian culture has been badly shown up in the recent cricket test match series. Despite often anal and obstinate security (Brisbane traditionally being the worst) they have literally pwned the stadium.

But then again, when your only competitor in making atmosphere inside the ground is the Fanatics "tour party":eek: , is that any surprise? :rolleyes:

JF

Without a doubt, the best Grog Squad going around is the North Adelaide Roosters Grog Squad in the SANFL.
Those guys make a motorcycle gang look like a Mr.Whippy convention,with their chants when Hargraves was there was quite amusing, and then they really get into bagging any opositon full forward-great stuff.

They are a pretty down to earth bunch of footy supporters, even if by today's sanitised AFL standards they'd be considered a bunch of foul-mouthed drunk louts. :rolleyes:

http://safootycentral.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3260&highlight=

In the AFL traditional standing room terrace culture has completely died out. There is now a generation of kids who never turned up to games in their Timmy Watson duffle coasts at all, which I think is very sad.

In the SANFL footy culture has remained largely untouched, even if the crowds these days are nothing like what they were in the days of Jarman Hodges Macca & Super Carey. I mean check out those dudes in their duffle coats! :cool:

JF

The Richmond Grog Squad sits behind the Punt Road goals, bottom level, but up the back, near the bar.

On one of the tiger sites they used to have the songs listed. There was one about 'put <insert club> players on the bottom, put the umpire on the top, and burn the f'n lot'. There was another one about 'there's only one Rory Hilton' and 'who, who, who are we?, we are the boys from the mcg' etc.

Bogans to be sure, but funny to be around.

A few years back i can recall them belting out the "Rooory Hilton, is a w**ker, is a w**ker" chant, and also giving it to Kane Pettifer last season. They're funny pricks, but they can quite easily turn on their own as well - as most Richmond supporters do, which can be a tad amusing at times. :D

This season would have given them the shock of their lives.

Please check crowds during tin rattling years and then we can discuss bandwagon jumping.

These so called 'Grog Squads' can only dream of creating as good an atmosphere as the BWB do at Victory games.
BWB>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Grog Squad.

Return of the Grog squads?