Rewarding Mediocrity

Really - these 2 are our saviour? They are kids that should not be rushed into the side when they are not ready because big footy is baying for blood.

The problem is Bill, you can say that about every single new player into a team. They do not have to be "the saviour" in order for their to be a net benefit. Nobody in their right mind would have suggested Ben Brown as our saviour a month ago, however I suspect the majority of supporters would say that he was of net benefit to the team after a bare handful of games.

Spot on, you just need contributors.

Me, I love 'North' supporters who feed the trolls on the main board by starting their own version of 'North are shit, let me count the ways'.

They will be the first ones doing high fives if this group go deep into September; they will say, 'See BS should have listened to us years ago'.

I am not saying there are not problems, but **** me this board is fickle.
mate the north supporters who feed the trolls on the main board aren't those you mentioned. it's those venture on there after a north win and proclaim all sorts of brilliance, talk up mediocore players and brag, brag, brag about unfulfilled accomplishments.

Adams GTFO with your innate ability to do anything on the football field, Ziebell has been absolutely shizen houzen all year, and as much as it pains me to say it, send Aaron Black to the reserves for the rest of the year, can't remember the last time this guy has impressed me.

Spot on, you just need contributors.

Yep, Ben Brown is far from the best player I've ever seen but he gets out there and plays with commitment and enthusiasm. He's not too frightened to make a contribution, even if he's just a newbie.

We need another one or two players with Ben's confidence.

Adams GTFO with your innate ability to do anything on the football field, Ziebell has been absolutely shizen houzen all year, and as much as it pains me to say it, send Aaron Black to the reserves for the rest of the year, can't remember the last time this guy has impressed me.

It's an interesting point. Do you leave blokes in the ones despite their pathetic form (Black, Adams, Basti etc) or do you bring in youngsters who are ''made of the right stuff'' and give them ''a role to play''?

How often over the years has a senior ruckman been injured and in comes the tall kid from the ressies who's ''not ready''? Many times these ''kids'' step up when given the chance, plenty of support and some good instructions.

Drop the slackers I say. Even if we lose games and miss the 8.

Yep, Ben Brown is far from the best player I've ever seen but he gets out there and plays with commitment and enthusiasm. He's not too frightened to make a contribution, even if he's just a newbie.

We need another one or two players with Ben's confidence.
I reckon even in his first two games he looked more nervous than confident, but what everyone could see was his hunger and desire to get involved.

Is it fair to say a majority of us just want to see passion and effort. I wouldn't care if a small fwd or def came in and has 0 kicks, 0 hand balls if he had 10 tackles and laid a few shepherds!

I reckon even in his first two games he looked more nervous than confident, but what everyone could see was his hunger and desire to get involved.

Is it fair to say a majority of us just want to see passion and effort. I wouldn't care if a small fwd or def came in and has 0 kicks, 0 hand balls if he had 10 tackles and laid a few shepherds!

Good points. There was an article or table on TV which showed how few tackles were laid in our forward line. The ball goes in (occasionally) and usually surges straight back out again. LT was our only forward in the top 50 for tackles in the AFL (36th from memory).

I really don't get the love for Ben Brown in here, I think he is marked very lightly compared to a few others. I suppose the haters will come out after he is a 37 game veteran ;)
Maybe it's just because he offered something different to a fwd line that's been diabolical all season and even though he hasn't done much stats wise it appears to have a decent amount of footy nous. Of course after 10 games he may also have been tainted by our footy regression department and be useless.

I really don't get the love for Ben Brown in here, I think he is marked very lightly compared to a few others. I suppose the haters will come out after he is a 37 game veteran ;)
Probably mate. But the fact that he wasn't any worse than a couple of players that have had an unbroken run of games since the start of the year (not to mention a few years experience) should ring alarm bells.

Maybe it's just because he offered something different to a fwd line that's been diabolical all season and even though he hasn't done much stats wise it appears to have a decent amount of footy nous. Of course after 10 games he may also have been tainted by our footy regression department and be useless.

Maybe I was just more impressed with what I saw from Maj in the second half of footy on the weekend then what I have seen from Brown in three games, I was really impressed with the attack on the ball in the last quarter and still can not understand what the free was for except maybe we have grabbed a rule from netball, it could have been called contact I suppose. :confused:

Oh Rooboy 96..

Really? He had 7 touches against the worst team in the comp. Do you think he did enough to keep his spot?

From the stands last night he looked more worth keeping in than Black.

But that doesn't make it a good bump. We have this debate every time a young player comes in and makes their mark. Is it a poor reflection on the coaches that they didn't play earlier? Or a positive reflection that they have been developed appropriately and debuted at the right time?

From the stands last night he looked more worth keeping in than Black.

But that doesn't make it a good bump. We have this debate every time a young player comes in and makes their mark. Is it a poor reflection on the coaches that they didn't play earlier? Or a positive reflection that they have been developed appropriately and debuted at the right time?
Inner sanctum have a much better idea than the big footy posters. Wood is a good prospect - Scott will go with Black next week.

Of course he will. Wood did some lovely things and will be fantastic in future. But Black was really useful linking through the middle and he has the experience working with Petrie and now Brown.

And you know I absolutely agree with your first point.

Rewarding Mediocrity