Training Richmond 2020 Preseason training

Last season no.Finally got due recognition even by those so called experts selecting the AA.Stewart of Geesook dble AA.FMD.What more can I say.
Think one A.Rance stole a lot of the attention away from our defenders the last few years

Bolton is a midfielder IMO.

The one game he played full time as a mid he had 29 touches, 1 goal, 6 tackles, 5 inside fifties, 4 clearances and 3 Brownlow votes. That was against GWS as well.

He also broke the game open against Collingwood in the first half, then was moved forward for the rest of the game.

I think his talent is wasted playing as a pressure small forward. His movement through traffic is sublime, as is his ball use.

Collier-Dawkins, Stack, Bolton, Ross, Graham and Dow is a ridiculous midfield moving forward. It has everything. We’ll no doubt sign one of Tom Green and Tarryn Thomas as well.
So is stacky.

Apparently Soldo looking more and more accomplished in the ruck in yesterday’s scratchy. Just wondering where the limit is for the big boy. Based on last year and his late start to the game could still be lots and lots of upside to come
Our mid set up was soooooo much better with the big fella in there.

Read my explanation on how their rankings are formed.

I think we can all grasp such complex concepts as stats mate.

Stats should speak for themselves, gradings and ratings aren’t stats, they are analysis and CD’s analysis isn’t worth a shit.

Can't wait to see Stack turn out better than Walsh
Walsh is better than Stack right now but Stack will overtake him. Walsh is a Marc Murphy/Leigh Montagna in their prime type. A semi vanilla, hard running accumulator. No doubt he will become an A grader, but his ceiling is lower given that he was in great condition before he entered the system. He also doesn’t have the class of a Rozee, Stack or Rankine.

Stack is coming from a long way back. He turned up to his first Richmond training session with a gut and was vomiting. When he has the endurance to run out games in midfield I am confident he will become a better player than Walsh. Stack is our best draftee since Dusty. He can do everything.

I think we can all grasp such complex concepts as stats mate.

Stats should speak for themselves, gradings and ratings aren’t stats, they are analysis and CD’s analysis isn’t worth a shit.

The stats that we the general public get to see don't tell the whole story though.

We don't get to see how long players like Martin may spend as a midfielder and as a forward, we just know that he rotates through those positions and we don't know exactly what sort of impact he has in those areas with the possessions he gets. We don't get to see where our defensive pressure is applied most, we just know that we apply it across the board. We don't get to see which defender was playing on a forward when a goal was kicked, we just assume that the bloke who stands next to him when the ball is bounced was his opponent at that moment was the same bloke.

CD have access to these stats, but because we don't get the access to them that we should as fans it often leads to fans getting upset at CD because all most of them see if the selected grabs that the media put out, like Grimes Lynch & Cotchin all being rated as average or guys like Walker & Finlayson being rated as elite. People just look at that and their first thoughts are WTF are these flogs on about.

We always talk about multi fwds.
Why not backs?
Think last year showed that we were more than just a one man band, hence our defensive unit being ranked top 2 in the CD rankings

We don't get to see how long players like Martin may spend as a midfielder and as a forward, we just know that he rotates through those positions and we don't know exactly what sort of impact he has in those areas with the possessions he gets. We don't get to see where our defensive pressure is applied most
We do if we go to games and pay attention.

The stats that we the general public get to see don't tell the whole story though.

We don't get to see how long players like Martin may spend as a midfielder and as a forward, we just know that he rotates through those positions and we don't know exactly what sort of impact he has in those areas with the possessions he gets. We don't get to see where our defensive pressure is applied most, we just know that we apply it across the board. We don't get to see which defender was playing on a forward when a goal was kicked, we just assume that the bloke who stands next to him when the ball is bounced was his opponent at that moment was the same bloke.

CD have access to these stats, but because we don't get the access to them that we should as fans it often leads to fans getting upset at CD because all most of them see if the selected grabs that the media put out, like Grimes Lynch & Cotchin all being rated as average or guys like Walker & Finlayson being rated as elite. People just look at that and their first thoughts are WTF are these flogs on about.

Lol. If your analysis tells you that “one touch” Finlayson is “elite” then you need to rethink your formulas not double down and complain like champion data does when the ridicule comes. We need look no further than 2017 when they had to redo their formulas to say that Dusty was the games best player rather sitting outside the top ten.

CD is a shit show and always has been.

Read my explanation on how their rankings are formed.

Yeah I 100% get that they’re just running a formula and that’s what it’s ended up with. It’s their formula though, not some historic, code wide accepted method of determining a players value.

THEIR formula rated Tex elite and Lynch average, surely someone’s been dragged into the boss’a office and been asked to explain WTF is going on.

OK

I ran into a very very delightful young Richmond AFLW player today at the shopping centre at airport west (wont mention who she is) but an absolutely beautiful person who was extremely surprised to have me say hello and talk footbll which she did for a good 15-20 minutes just before she left to go to the airport.

Apart from the usual stuff we talked about regarding aflw and how she is enjoying the club and the time at the club(which she loves)
I asked he a very very important question well 3 but will just mention the one i came to post.

Q:How is Alex Rance and does he come to the club since he retired
A: Yes he usually comes 2 - 3 times a week and looks to be ok and dealing with things but looks happy

Q2: Do you think there is a chance he may come back to play
A; Yeahh ..................... I think he will but not sure but i think he will as he still smiles and likes being around the club and being with the team

Take out of that what we will

OK

I ran into a very very delightful young Richmond AFLW player today at the shopping centre at airport west (wont mention who she is) but an absolutely beautiful person who was extremely surprised to have me say hello and talk footbll which she did for a good 15-20 minutes just before she left to go to the airport.

Apart from the usual stuff we talked about regarding aflw and how she is enjoying the club and the time at the club(which she loves)
I asked he a very very important question well 3 but will just mention the one i came to post.

A: Yes he usually comes 2 - 3 times a week and looks to be ok and dealing with things but looks happy

A; Yeahh ..................... I think he will but not sure but i think he will as he still smiles and likes being around the club and being with the team

its happening

Walsh is better than Stack right now but Stack will overtake him. Walsh is a Marc Murphy/Leigh Montagna in their prime type. A semi vanilla, hard running accumulator. No doubt he will become an A grader, but his ceiling is lower given that he was in great condition before he entered the system. He also doesn’t have the class of a Rozee, Stack or Rankine.

Stack is coming from a long way back. He turned up to his first Richmond training session with a gut and was vomiting. When he has the endurance to run out games in midfield I am confident he will become a better player than Walsh. Stack is our best draftee since Dusty. He can do everything.
Value for your "buck".Stack is behind Lambert at this stage.

OK

Thanks for the heads up Tom.
1581720157260.png

We do if we go to games and pay attention.
So tell me how much time does Dusty spend forward, how many possessions does he get when resting forward? What area of the ground do we put on the most defensive pressure? How often to we win possession back from losing a clearance without conceding a score?

Lol. If your analysis tells you that “one touch” Finlayson is “elite” then you need to rethink your formulas not double down and complain like champion data does when the ridicule comes. We need look no further than 2017 when they had to redo their formulas to say that Dusty was the games best player rather sitting outside the top ten.

CD is a shit show and always has been.

FWIW Finalyson spend less time on ground than Lynch but averaged more:
disposals
marks
tackles
I50s
goal assists
uncontested possessions
better disposal efficiency %
clearances
R50s
meters gained
intercepts

and less:
goals
behings
contested possessions
clangers
contested marks
marks I50
turnovers

Yet you instantly dismiss him as 'one touch'. Would I take Finalyson over Lynch, no I wouldn't, but to dismiss him just comes across as lacking respect for his ability.

As for my 'defence' CD rankings all I'm saying is that it gives you an idea of the level at which players perform when compared to other players in the same positions. I don't believe that it takes into account how players on a team combine once put out on the park and asked to play a game against another side, that is what the actual ladder and result of games shows, which is why I personally don't take any notice of their overall team rankings, because that is just a result of adding the collective rankings together. The parts I do take notice of though are the overall positional rankings for mids defenders forwards & rucks as it gives you a deeper insight into what area teams are strong and weak in.

So tell me how much time does Dusty spend forward, how many possessions does he get when resting forward? What area of the ground do we put on the most defensive pressure? How often to we win possession back from losing a clearance without conceding a score?

FWIW Finalyson spend less time on ground than Lynch but averaged more:
disposals
marks
tackles
I50s
goal assists
uncontested possessions
better disposal efficiency %
clearances
R50s
meters gained
intercepts

and less:
goals
behings
contested possessions
clangers
contested marks
marks I50
turnovers

Yet you instantly dismiss him as 'one touch'. Would I take Finalyson over Lynch, no I wouldn't, but to dismiss him just comes across as lacking respect for his ability.

As for my 'defence' CD rankings all I'm saying is that it gives you an idea of the level at which players perform when compared to other players in the same positions. I don't believe that it takes into account how players on a team combine once put out on the park and asked to play a game against another side, that is what the actual ladder and result of games shows, which is why I personally don't take any notice of their overall team rankings, because that is just a result of adding the collective rankings together. The parts I do take notice of though are the overall positional rankings for mids defenders forwards & rucks as it gives you a deeper insight into what area teams are strong and weak in.

Finalyson is a bloody good player, anyone that says otherwise hasn't watched enough footy, agree with you though id take lynch every day of the week!

Training Richmond 2020 Preseason training