Game Day Rnd 2 - Carlton v Sydney Game Day Discussion/Autopsy

THE GOOD STUFF:

Thomas:
Good to see this bloke working hard on the field. I think he'd be the first to admit that he doesn't have the skills he had 4 years ago, but he damn-well works his arse off, more so than just about any other player out there. He may let us down with a miskick here and there, but like Armfield in years gone by he sets a standard for effort that the rest of the team should try to match. When the lads were walking back down the ground after the half-time melee, he was going from player to player, high-fiving them and thumping the logo on his chest. He may have been Collingwood, but he's Carlton now and he'll fight for us.

Kerridge: As much as I love him in the middle, I think this guy needs to spend some more time at HF. Knows where the goals are and works well into space.

Curnow (E): His disposal has been heavily criticised in the past, but Ed seemed to hit his targets more often than not and looks to be a reliable link-up player in transition. Great to see.

NEEDS IMPROVEMENT:

Curnow (C): Little sprouts and all that...liked some of what I saw, but there were a few marking contests up forward for us where he actually knocked the ball down and forward rather than backing himself to take the mark. Would be fine deep in attack with crumbing forwards around, but up around the 50 I'd like to see him try to clunk a few. Early days, and maybe not the greatest game to bring him in for.

Cripps, Murphy, Gibbs, Kreuzer: Kept out of it for the most part, by a quality opposition outfit, but these guys need to find ways to win more of the ball. Smashed in the centre clearances 18-9 is pretty damning. If anyone's going to do it to us, it's that Swans lineup, but we should at least be breaking even with the names we've got there. Poor discipline from Crippa with 5 frees against him, and one contest up forward had me fuming at Gibbs (Buddy got separation from Jamo and took a mark on the lead, Gibbs was about 3 metres away and all alone and made no effort to come in and support).

Casboult: Needs support - plain and simple. Had his kicking shoes on last night but we couldn't get it to him cleanly and when we did he was being double-/triple-teamed.

CONCERNING...:

Phillips: I've liked him in patches, but the one big knock I've got on him is his running. Yet to see him have a real crack and running a bloke down, just seems to amble around the middle waiting for his next stoppage. Similar up forward, a bit too static. If he's going to hover around and wait for someone to drop the ball on his head, he'd be better off lurking out the back and trying to come over the top. Otherwise, give Gorringe a crack here.

Lamb: No tackles. None. In a game where we struggled to find the ball, he should have been harassing like a madman. Might be worth giving someone else a go after an effort like that.

Everitt: Get him out, give Walker his spot. If he wants to play he needs to earn it again, because right now he doesn't look interested.

For next week, I'd be hoping for:

Tuohy, Jamo, Weitering
Docherty, Rowe, Thomas
Simpson, Cripps, Curnow (E)
Kreuzer, Murphy, Gibbs
Kerridge, Casboult, Boekhorst
Gorringe, Walker, Wright
I\C: Graham, Curnow (C), Byrne, White

OUT: Phillips, Everitt, Lamb
IN: Gorringe, Walker, Byrne

The future looks brighter because at least the game plan is there to work on.

It will break down against the top sides because their skill base and team work is better. How much it breaks down and when and why is all about the individual weak links in the side. 4 or more posters makes a difference when the team is playing on will and faith - but kicking posters is just a missed shot.

Giving up the corridor was the worst sign yesterday - some blokes stopped running it looked messy for too long and made the efforts of the defensive players look pedestrian. no one can stop a bullet pass to a lead - in fact multiple leads to choose from and Carlton players standing flat footed goal side - the defensive talk and team effort was smashed to pieces and players were starting to look liek they had gone into self preservation mode - again.

It was good to see Bolton extricate Weitering from the mess and send him down forward for a look see - it worked out as a goal to Charlie.

Our midfield is thin and made up of too many blokes who haven't got the strength or leg speed to compete against the top sides over 4 quarters. Playing Sydney round two after a silly loss to Richmond in round one was always going to end in a 'bleh' feeling when the inevitable happened.

We will continue to look good in patches and crap in others as the weak links in our side are exposed for lack of skill and lack of strength and stamina.

If beating Carlton continues for too much longer to be as simple as double teaming Cripps - Bolton has made not much progress from Ratten days - and he has less to work with as our forward line is busy kicking winning points for other teams now.

There is no excuse for another team to have more numbers around every contest for extended periods of a game - that was the most disappointing aspect of the game yesterday - that and the Captain obvious that apart from Ed Curnow, Cripps has no one strong enough to stand next to him where it matters. There is no use throwing Murphy into an inside role- yesterday he was crucial in helping out down back - he ran Hannerbury all over the ground because that was the second leg of Sydney's strategy - sit on Murphy.

All that said- there are plenty of teams who won't have the side or the sustainable skill level to dismantle our game plan for 4 quarters. These will be the games where supporters get hope and feel really good about better times ahead.

I don't feel bad o good about where we are - it is the bitter pill that has to be swallowed as the price for a decade of nonsense at the draft/trade and development table.

How many teams can afford their highest paid players to be average and ineffectual on a good day against the better teams?
How many teams can afford to have 5-6 year players fluffing around in VFL ?

It will take time.

Jibbs, Furphy and Kreuzer, out three much lauded number #1 picks are the blokes holding this side back.
You couldn't even think of "Loser" for Kreuzer? If you're gonna make ridiculous, sweeping statements that are blatantly untrue and infuriating, at least be a little creative.

Jibbs, Furphy and Kreuzer, out three much lauded number #1 picks are the blokes holding this side back.
Too easy to just dismiss this stuff from EE. I too feel we haven't got our bang for buck when it comes to 4 & 8. Murph I am less disappointed in. EE, we just have to draft better although are you suggesting any or all should be on the trade table come season's end? I'd happily trade Gibbs.

That's harsh Coach.

It's obvious that Ellas has put in the big ones in substituting the first letter of the last name for two of them.

I mean what can you do with Kruezer? Lruezer, Druezer?

See? Nothing fits.

No actually it's a respect thing. Even if Kreuzer is hopeless, considering all he has been through he's still trying his guts out. Unfortunately he is just a plodder, but not his fault. Jibbs and Furphy however, these two have been kreuzing down easy street (like that one?) for their entire careers, more worried about hairstyles and looks than putting their heads over the ball. These two would have to be the two most overrated players in the competition and lucky for us they are both ours. Other teams have superstars and champions, we have these two.

Too easy to just dismiss this stuff from EE. I too feel we haven't got our bang for buck when it comes to 4 & 8. Murph I am less disappointed in. EE, we just have to draft better although are you suggesting any or all should be on the trade table come season's end? I'd happily trade Gibbs.

I would trade all three mate, although Kreuzer may have lost all currency come year's end, someone may be dumb enough to pay overs for Jibbsy.

Jibbs :$ Furphy :$

Even Bay 13 does better disparaging Kreuzer with 'Leuzer'.

Way to support your team EE.

I will support these boys when they consider it a priveledge to don the beloved navy blue, not a right to a paycheck. I have supported Gibbs immensely throughout his whole career, unwavering I have been, but his pathetic poonce efforts so far this year under what his fourth coach? Can't lie to myself any more.

Not happy, but I understand that these kind of games will happen.

One aspect I was very disappointed with in which I thought we would improve on is protecting our players when targetted or heavily tagged. Cripps had to do it all himself playing on 4 blokes. He could not even get a centimetre of space did not notice any players trying to block for him and try to generate him some space.

I was hoping with the all in policy we're trying to instill, we would have improved here.

You would think our senior mids would find some way to benefit from this, like they piggy backed on judd for the last 8 years but no chance. I'm worried we may burn Cripps out too early if he has to carry these blokes like Judd did.

Assuming you are referring to Gibbs, Murphy and Cruiser, I could not disagree with you more. You only have to look at Murphy and Gibbs performance last week to note they were easily among the best on the ground. Gibbs and Murphy were part of a beaten midfield but if there is a stronger midfield than Sydney's going around it is news to me. Cruise is our leading ruckman and we currently have the 5th most hit-outs of any side.

What "is holding us back" is that we have a new coach with a new game plan with a whole lot of new players (6 in yesterday's side), including 2 who are first year players who need game time AND need protection.

Although we have lost both games I could not be happier. We are playing as a team with purpose. We have shown in both games we can transition the ball from defence to attack with method and purpose. As the players understanding of the game plan and understanding of the strengths and weaknesses of team mates improves we will naturally improve. Gibbs, Murphy and Cruiser are vital cogs in that development. To claim they are "holding us back" demonstrates yawning ignorance of the important role they are playing in the transition. (And I note you do note qualify your opinion with any sort of argument.)

Quite rightly we concentrated on talls in last year's draft. This year we will, hopefully, concentrate on improving our already competent midfield.

Not happy, but I understand that these kind of games will happen.

One aspect I was very disappointed with in which I thought we would improve on is protecting our players when targetted or heavily tagged. Cripps had to do it all himself playing on 4 blokes. He could not even get a centimetre of space did not notice any players trying to block for him and try to generate him some space.

I was hoping with the all in policy we're trying to instill, we would have improved here.

Cripps had more contested possessions (16) than any other players in any other teams apart from Robbie Gray and some fellow called Fyfe (22 each). In clearances I think only Fyfe (10) and Mitchell (9) had more than Cripps on 8. Could Cripps do better if better protected? Who knows? Do I want Murphy or Wright to be protecting Cripps? No. If Cripps has 4 playing on him that means 3 of our blokes are unmanned. I would rather use them than waste time trying to protect Cripps - as if he needed it.

Assuming you are referring to Gibbs, Murphy and Cruiser, I could not disagree with you more. You only have to look at Murphy and Gibbs performance last week to note they were easily among the best on the ground. Gibbs and Murphy were part of a beaten midfield but if there is a stronger midfield than Sydney's going around it is news to me. Cruise is our leading ruckman and we currently have the 5th most hit-outs of any side.

What "is holding us back" is that we have a new coach with a new game plan with a whole lot of new players (6 in yesterday's side), including 2 who are first year players who need game time AND need protection.

Although we have lost both games I could not be happier. We are playing as a team with purpose. We have shown in both games we can transition the ball from defence to attack with method and purpose. As the players understanding of the game plan and understanding of the strengths and weaknesses of team mates improves we will naturally improve. Gibbs, Murphy and Cruiser are vital cogs in that development. To claim they are "holding us back" demonstrates yawning ignorance of the important role they are playing in the transition. (And I note you do note qualify your opinion with any sort of argument.)

Quite rightly we concentrated on talls in last year's draft. This year we will, hopefully, concentrate on improving our already competent midfield.
What a difference 12 mths and a new coach makes to your outlook.

No worries guys, we are in great hands with Murphy and Gibbs. These are the two to take us forward, without a doubt. I think I need to go shower now.
Mate, leave the sarcasm out of it and you'll enjoy the place more. Having a dissenting view like yours show a bit of ticker. What else can you bring?

What a difference 12 mths and a new coach makes to your outlook.

Rubbish. It took 5 seconds (to fully sink in) and the removal of an old coach. Everything since has been splendid.

We have been losing games in just the right way for longer term success. Supporters looking for instant success (and hence looking for targets to shoot at) are seemingly ignorant of the important advances shown on field - like a cohesive method for moving the ball forward.

Rubbish. It took 5 seconds (to fully sink in) and the removal of an old coach. Everything since has been splendid.

We have been losing games in just the right way for longer term success. Supporters looking for instant success (and hence looking for targets to shoot at) are seemingly ignorant of the important advances shown on field - like a cohesive method for moving the ball forward.
Hey I didn't disagree with too much of what you said last year, just the frequency of it and I am in agreement in your position today.

No actually it's a respect thing. Even if Kreuzer is hopeless, considering all he has been through he's still trying his guts out. Unfortunately he is just a plodder, but not his fault. Jibbs and Furphy however, these two have been kreuzing down easy street (like that one?) for their entire careers, more worried about hairstyles and looks than putting their heads over the ball. These two would have to be the two most overrated players in the competition and lucky for us they are both ours. Other teams have superstars and champions, we have these two.
Apologies, I didn't realise the amount of "respect" you had for Kruezer. I was thrown by your description of him. What was it? "Hopeless" and a "plodder"....

Regardless of new game plan or not intent intent intent... Thomas had it, Cripps battled, Kerridge ran and ran... and where did everyone else go when things got too difficult?

The whole game our mids in the centre would be ball watching and swarm towards the ball with the Swans being canny enough to have one or two players roam the space... and then wooshka the ball would magically find it's way to that space and free player.

How depressing for Rowe and Jamison to know an 18 years old in his second game has already overtaken them as our most senior defender.

Our forward line???... oh well at this point I have a feeling that Casboult and Everitt will be used to get some better picks come trade time... both would be happily picked up in a team in the window to add a final touch/depth. In our current state we're better off using them this year with Jones to protect our young forwards and then hope next season with a pre-season under their belts and a bit more weight McKay, Curnow, Silvagni, Jacksch are ready to each play 12-15 games forward next year.

Also wonder if Silvagni's brain is ticking on whether we should also look at off-loading Daisy/Gibbs as well... If Daisy's form improves in the next 20 rounds he may have value to another of those teams in the window, as would Gibbs... Adelaide look strong this year and could give it a shake this or next year and Gibbs could be that final touch for them instead of bringing in an 18 year old 1st round in the draft.

There is a lot of work to do, and we could conceivably be 0-10 which hurts our membership, our uptake of new supporters, our marketing and sponsorship.... all the hard work of the club to spruce us up with the Journey, and Bolton and Weitering etc will be in the past. If we continue to lose players heads will begin to drop, continual intent for no reward will seep in and players will just start giving up quicker. And then our usual luck with injuries will kick in and we may start to see some thrashings.

But if we do have some luck, snag an early unexpected win.. improve improve.. we should be eyeing to win our last 4 games of the year StKilda, Brisbane, Melbourne, * to give us momentum and confidence moving into pre-season and next year.

Game Day Rnd 2 - Carlton v Sydney Game Day Discussion/Autopsy