Game Day Rnd 2 - Carlton v Sydney Game Day Discussion/Autopsy

Mate, leave the sarcasm out of it and you'll enjoy the place more. Having a dissenting view like yours show a bit of ticker. What else can you bring?

Yeah yeah I know. It just frustrates me, it's like some of these blokes are beyond criticism just because they come at a price with a #1 draft pick on their head. If these blokes are all fine, why have we been so poor for so long? They are the common denominator throughout this whole sorry saga, they have certainly set themselves up for life, but what have they given us?

Reckon the clocks ticking for Jamison and Simpson , great servant's that they've been .
Will probably play out the season but that's gotta be it , preservation footy is a death sentence .
Byrne , JGM in time , and a rocket up Jaksch are our options with Plowman replacing White asap .
Question in hope to the Northern Blues watcher's :
Any chance DVR could be developed as a small distributing defender ?
Simpsons disposal out of defense is killing us , DVR is reported to have a killer left peg and this is crucial to clearing defense cleanly .

You can't blame supporters for loving blokes who try endlessly and Kruezer is at least that and more. We can only support what we have and most of us are still feeling some residue of relief from getting so many No 1 picks in. Takes a long time to come to the realization that Carlton as a club needed a whole lot more than No 1 draft picks and other assorted saviours before returning to relevancy again. Go easy on the bruised fans at CFC - we love the jumper as much as you.

Regardless of new game plan or not intent intent intent... Thomas had it, Cripps battled, Kerridge ran and ran... and where did everyone else go when things got too difficult?

The whole game our mids in the centre would be ball watching and swarm towards the ball with the Swans being canny enough to have one or two players roam the space... and then wooshka the ball would magically find it's way to that space and free player.

How depressing for Rowe and Jamison to know an 18 years old in his second game has already overtaken them as our most senior defender.

Our forward line???... oh well at this point I have a feeling that Casboult and Everitt will be used to get some better picks come trade time... both would be happily picked up in a team in the window to add a final touch/depth. In our current state we're better off using them this year with Jones to protect our young forwards and then hope next season with a pre-season under their belts and a bit more weight McKay, Curnow, Silvagni, Jacksch are ready to each play 12-15 games forward next year.

Also wonder if Silvagni's brain is ticking on whether we should also look at off-loading Daisy/Gibbs as well... If Daisy's form improves in the next 20 rounds he may have value to another of those teams in the window, as would Gibbs... Adelaide look strong this year and could give it a shake this or next year and Gibbs could be that final touch for them instead of bringing in an 18 year old 1st round in the draft.

There is a lot of work to do, and we could conceivably be 0-10 which hurts our membership, our uptake of new supporters, our marketing and sponsorship.... all the hard work of the club to spruce us up with the Journey, and Bolton and Weitering etc will be in the past. If we continue to lose players heads will begin to drop, continual intent for no reward will seep in and players will just start giving up quicker. And then our usual luck with injuries will kick in and we may start to see some thrashings.

But if we do have some luck, snag an early unexpected win.. improve improve.. we should be eyeing to win our last 4 games of the year StKilda, Brisbane, Melbourne, * to give us momentum and confidence moving into pre-season and next year.
Ain't nobody taking Everitt or Daisy.

Too easy to just dismiss this stuff from EE. I too feel we haven't got our bang for buck when it comes to 4 & 8. Murph I am less disappointed in. EE, we just have to draft better although are you suggesting any or all should be on the trade table come season's end? I'd happily trade Gibbs.
You're 100% right. It is too easy to dismiss this stuff. Because it's rubbish.
It's one thing to critique a player, point out their flaws, give an opinion. But "Jibbs", "Furphy", calling Kruezer "hopeless"?
You said yourself, re Everitt, what ever they are, they're ours...
We wouldn't take that sort of talk from Richmond supporters, it's worse when it comes from our own...

Plenty of us (certainly me) have been guilty of hammering dissenting views from our own supporters. If it's abusive and sarcastic and insulting I struggle to embrace it. But people have a reason for it regardless of how much it upsets us. They're pissed off because they want success just like all of us. EE would rather be a regular poster than a pariah I'm tipping - he's certainly eloquent enough when he wants to be.

Not happy, but I understand that these kind of games will happen.

One aspect I was very disappointed with in which I thought we would improve on is protecting our players when targetted or heavily tagged. Cripps had to do it all himself playing on 4 blokes. He could not even get a centimetre of space did not notice any players trying to block for him and try to generate him some space.

I was hoping with the all in policy we're trying to instill, we would have improved here.

Good post, there was a bit of 'let him learn' in the thinking for Cripps as he's never had to worry about it in the past...

Having another genuine big body in there will help, we got the balance wrong with kerridge and Graham both playing the same roll...

Yeah yeah I know. It just frustrates me, it's like some of these blokes are beyond criticism just because they come at a price with a #1 draft pick on their head. If these blokes are all fine, why have we been so poor for so long? They are the common denominator throughout this whole sorry saga, they have certainly set themselves up for life, but what have they given us?

Funnily enough, criticism was not quite what you were giving them last year:
[Having two hulking figures in Kreuzer and Cripps working in tandem around the stoppages could work in our favour, especially with Murphy and gibbs loving the outside ball so much.]

You are completely wrong to suggest they are beyond all criticism. But that is hardly a basis to accept your ridiculous and as can be seen, inconsistent, criticism. Last year they were the future, this week they have been holding us back for years. Why don't you make up your own mind first and bore us later?

wbshoaib_wideweb__430x279.jpg

Plenty of us (certainly me) have been guilty of hammering dissenting views from our own supporters. If it's abusive and sarcastic and insulting I struggle to embrace it. But people have a reason for it regardless of how much it upsets us. They're pissed off because they want success just like all of us. EE would rather be a regular poster than a pariah I'm tipping - he's certainly eloquent enough when he wants to be.
I'm no stranger to wanting success. I've been a huge fan of the messiah approach, paying big bucks for players and coaches, anything for success, and I want it yesterday. I've also had my fair share of cracks at players. But our captain, a bloke who's commitment and endeavour is without question, to call him "Furphy", that's not an opinion, it's just an unwarranted cheap shot...

Respect should never get in the way of one's opinion. I'll leave the bias up to you thanks champ. ;)
"Champ"? Really?.... when you give an actual opinion, I'll give it a read and due consideration. But I'm not interested in reading about "Furphy and Jibbs"... If you've got something better than that to offer, I'm all ears...
And you can refer to me as Coach, TC16 or any derivative of. I don't respond well to "champ", I wouldn't call you "boy"...

Funnily enough, criticism was not quite what you were giving them last year:
[Having two hulking figures in Kreuzer and Cripps working in tandem around the stoppages could work in our favour, especially with Murphy and gibbs loving the outside ball so much.]

You are completely wrong to suggest they are beyond all criticism. But that is hardly a basis to accept your ridiculous and as can be seen, inconsistent, criticism. Last year they were the future, this week they have been holding us back for years. Why don't you make up your own mind first and bore us later?

I was trying to be positive about things, I have already pointed out twice today in this thread that I have always backed Gibbs in? Failed to register that one? Or did you just ignore it in favour of quoting me out of context to try and discredit. Pathetic stuff right there. At least I get your goat enough to make you go trawling through year old threads. Need a life much?

I'm no stranger to wanting success. I've been a huge fan of the messiah approach, paying big bucks for players and coaches, anything for success, and I want it yesterday. I've also had my fair share of cracks at players. But our captain, a bloke who's commitment and endeavour is without question, to call him "Furphy", that's not an opinion, it's just an unwarranted cheap shot...
Yes it's a cheap shot but if we all get run out of town for a cheap shot, that leaves ODN and MEB and a few stale cake crumbs to hold the forum together. At least EE gets us thinking about the unthinkable, Brett Easton Ellis style.

Give Murphy a break. He had no pre season matches and in his second hit out he was going to struggle to get up. Cripps is now a target and he has to get used to it. All the great midfielders have learned to overcome it. It would help if more of his team mates gave him more cover and helped him by harassing the taggers. Gibbs just seems to be content with picking up his cheap possessions without making an impact on the game. Thomas, in his third season, has played his best game for Carlton to date. We managed to finally get rid of Warnock and we have replaced him with Phillips. He does nothing around the ground and Sinclair had a field day against him. We need to give Charlie Curnow a run through the middle, and get Buckley back on the half back line and get Sumner into the team asap. Jed Lamb needs to make a decision whether he wants to play AFL as does Everitt. He looked disinterested yesterday and perhaps believes he is a fixture at the club after a reasonable year in 2015. Lamb is at his Third club and yesterday's effort was woeful. Rowe's days as a key defender are over. We need him at CHF as he is creative and gives a contest. Casboult and potential is all we seem to hear. The ball is just not getting to him. Whilst he is not a ruckman he offers much better options around the ground than Phillips because he can take a mark, and I am not sure we can have the luxury of three big men in the team. Game plan is sound and when executed seems to work.
Round 2 in year 1 of a reboot is probably where we expected to be.

Yes it's a cheap shot but if we all get run out of town for a cheap shot, that leaves ODN and MEB and a few stale cake crumbs to hold the forum together. At least EE gets us thinking about the unthinkable, Brett Easton Ellis style.
That reminds me ....
"Bum **** nowhere"...

MEB, please find a way to incorporate that into the next podcast.

Maybe we collect all of EE's posts and turn them into a movie. The protagonist can hunt down all the players that are holding us back. With a climactic end, leaving us to ponder , "did he dream all that???"

I was trying to be positive about things, I have already pointed out twice today in this thread that I have always backed Gibbs in? Failed to register that one? Or did you just ignore it in favour of quoting me out of context to try and discredit. Pathetic stuff right there. At least I get your goat enough to make you go trawling through year old threads. Need a life much?

Says the guy who comes out of hiding only after a loss.

See if you can hold a consistent opinion for more than a week and people might be interested in what you have to say.

Says the guy who comes out of hiding only after a loss.

See if you can hold a consistent opinion for more than a week and people might be interested in what you have to say.

Well I come on here to vent, also that post was not from a week ago, it was last year. I care not if you are interested in what I have to say but I do note that you and many others have quoted my posts. You talk about me having consistent opinions, how about you adopt a non-hypocritical one? Or is that in the too hard basket.

Update: I can't answer your question as I am on a big bed,with my beautiful girlfriend, being a ******* tool on an Internet forum.
No dramas, thanks for keeping me in the loop.
Yes.

Definitely a plan to rebound off half back.

Problem yesterday was our skills are still not at level required - so we turned the ball over and got burnt going the other way.

Watch the Dogs game if you can - the ball almost never touches the ground. All players are constantly running so create multiple options - then skills are so clean they always find the open player and ball zips around so fast.

Dogs against Hawks this week should be a ripper.
Thanks for the response Funk. That was my feeling watching the game too - that the Blues had the game plan to beat us, but not quite the cattle yet.

The Dogs are looking ripping this season, it will be interesting to see whether the team can keep running that hard all year - if so they'll go deep into finals.

I'll show myself out now, as I seem to be upsetting some of your fellow posters. Good luck for the rest of the year.

Game Day Rnd 2 - Carlton v Sydney Game Day Discussion/Autopsy