Game Day Rnd 2 - Carlton v Sydney Game Day Discussion/Autopsy

ScrewInStuds Come back any time bro, don't worry about the Grumpelstiltskins in here, it's been a while if you know what I mean lol.....
Colluding with the opposition and schadenfreuding the pain of your fellow supporters adds little.

Come on you guys, sing it with me:
We're all in this togetherrrrr
Everyone is special in their own way
We make each other strong (we make each other strong)
We're not the same
We're different in a good way
Together's where we belong

"Champ"? Really?.... when you give an actual opinion, I'll give it a read and due consideration. But I'm not interested in reading about "Furphy and Jibbs"... If you've got something better than that to offer, I'm all ears...
And you can refer to me as Coach, TC16 or any derivative of. I don't respond well to "champ", I wouldn't call you "boy"...

Did you get champed???!!!

I was trying to be positive about things,

Umm, so what was so positive about saying, as you do, that Gibbs Murphy and Cruise have been holding back the side? When you have worked out your answer to that one, how about explaining your POV, instead of going big sook.

I have already pointed out twice today in this thread that I have always backed Gibbs in? Failed to register that one? Or did you just ignore it in favour of quoting me out of context to try and discredit.

When you say "always" was I wrong to assume (as I explicitly did) that "Jibbs" as one of 3 players holding us back was Gibbs? If not, it is a funny way to "always" back a guy.
(P.S. I have chosen to respond to one of your posts. That you have written other posts that are inconsistent with the post I have responded to is part of (a big part) of my point.)

Pathetic stuff right there. At least I get your goat enough to make you go trawling through year old threads. Need a life much?

Really? This is your defence of your ridiculous post? Hmmmm.:)

Give Murphy a break. He had no pre season matches and in his second hit out he was going to struggle to get up. Cripps is now a target and he has to get used to it. All the great midfielders have learned to overcome it. It would help if more of his team mates gave him more cover and helped him by harassing the taggers. Gibbs just seems to be content with picking up his cheap possessions without making an impact on the game. Thomas, in his third season, has played his best game for Carlton to date. We managed to finally get rid of Warnock and we have replaced him with Phillips. He does nothing around the ground and Sinclair had a field day against him. We need to give Charlie Curnow a run through the middle, and get Buckley back on the half back line and get Sumner into the team asap. Jed Lamb needs to make a decision whether he wants to play AFL as does Everitt. He looked disinterested yesterday and perhaps believes he is a fixture at the club after a reasonable year in 2015. Lamb is at his Third club and yesterday's effort was woeful. Rowe's days as a key defender are over. We need him at CHF as he is creative and gives a contest. Casboult and potential is all we seem to hear. The ball is just not getting to him. Whilst he is not a ruckman he offers much better options around the ground than Phillips because he can take a mark, and I am not sure we can have the luxury of three big men in the team. Game plan is sound and when executed seems to work.
Round 2 in year 1 of a reboot is probably where we expected to be.
Spot on

Nothing ridiculous about criticizing Gibbs - he has been an undeserved darling on here for years - Gibbs is soft as in butter soft always has been and always will be because he does just enough to look like he is doing something....mostly falling over someone already tackled or picking up a pass from someone else or hugging a tackle etc etc etc...

- Gibbs can also be a gifted play maker when used of HBF or HFF - it is a fact that other potential inside mids like Graham/Whiley - can't play well enough to get Gibbs out of where he shouldn't be and into a role that is more useful.

Our midfield was boys against men yesterday sans Cripps and Ed Curmow - who gut runs from end to end all day and does the hard work and gets precious little credit for it on here.

against a gun side - it is one thing to push and shove to show some faux hardness - quite another is to bury your opponent into the turf over and over again as well as have the smarts to win clearances whilst losing first touch every time.

Our players were over awed yesterday - apart from Cripps and Curnow - they were pretty much second to the ball and contest every single time. It is daunting to come up against such a professional well polished and determined team - not all our opponents will be of that quality which means the weaknesses of our midfield won't be exposed as often or as ruthlessly - but lets not kid ourselves - the vast majority of the current starting 18 - aren't premiership quality players and never will be.

Umm, so what was so positive about saying, as you do, that Gibbs Murphy and Cruise have been holding back the side? When you have worked out your answer to that one, how about explaining your POV, instead of going big sook.

When you say "always" was I wrong to assume (as I explicitly did) that "Jibbs" as one of 3 players holding us back was Gibbs? If not, it is a funny way to "always" back a guy.
(P.S. I have chosen to respond to one of your posts. That you have written other posts that are inconsistent with the post I have responded to is part of (a big part) of my point.)

I guess in your case, as they say....ignorance is bliss. :)

Nothing ridiculous about criticizing Gibbs - he has been an undeserved darling on here for years - Gibbs is soft as in butter soft always has been and always will be because he does just enough to look like he is doing something....mostly falling over someone already tackled or picking up a pass from someone else or hugging a tackle etc etc etc...

- Gibbs can also be a gifted play maker when used of HBF or HFF - it is a fact that other potential inside mids like Graham/Whiley - can't play well enough to get Gibbs out of where he shouldn't be and into a role that is more useful.

Our midfield was boys against men yesterday sans Cripps and Ed Curmow - who gut runs from end to end all day and does the hard work and gets precious little credit for it on here.

against a gun side - it is one thing to push and shove to show some faux hardness - quite another is to bury your opponent into the turf over and over again as well as have the smarts to win clearances whilst losing first touch every time.

Our players were over awed yesterday - apart from Cripps and Curnow - they were pretty much second to the ball and contest every single time. It is daunting to come up against such a professional well polished and determined team - not all our opponents will be of that quality which means the weaknesses of our midfield won't be exposed as often or as ruthlessly - but lets not kid ourselves - the vast majority of the current starting 18 - aren't premiership quality players and never will be.
Ed gets plenty of credit around here I reckon.

I guess in your case, as they say....ignorance is bliss. :)

123.gif

Game Day Rnd 2 - Carlton v Sydney Game Day Discussion/Autopsy