Review Rnd9 : Review/Rant/Roast megathread

10 pages and no mention of how horrible Murphy was tonight? He really should have stayed home. Just wasn't his night tonight, absolute shocker.

As for Roughy and Jones, I think they're starting to do a lot right, they had 6 shots on goal, that's a good start. Give em some more confidence and experience and they'll start slotting those goals. Considering the young list we're playing, being 4 and 5 and playing against the top teams as well as we have been, it's certainly not time to tear up the membership just yet.

What game were you watching mate??? Seriously. Murphy was one of our best, setting up a lot of forward attacks from the back line. I think you're talking about Murphy in a different code of footy or something. Murphy for the Bulldogs wears number 2.

I think we all agree that Gia and Higgins kick goals. Without them we probably wouldn't come close to winning games because there is just no one else capable of kicking the goals they do. The problem I have is the damage that's getting done by their opponents. If I was an opposition coach, part of my game plan when playing the doggies would be based around exposing those two players and that is exactly what Geelong did tonight. Higgins was consistently lead to the ball by his opponent the whole night. Not only did this waste a potential goal scoring opportunity for us, but the defender was able to mark the ball and continue running away from an ensuing Higgins setting up a counter attack. This happened not just once or twice but many times. Part of being a good forward is not just kicking goals but also nullifying the potential damage your opponent can do out of defense. In modern footy, so much momentum comes from your defense. Which is why Murphy is such a dangerous threat for us. Higgins has to learn to read the play better and lead from the front because otherwise he will get punished and so will we.

Re: The senseless bashing of Higgins and Gia thread- post Cats game.

It's pretty funny sitting in the members week in week out. Gia cops so much flak from Dog supporters its not funny, then everyone shuts up when he kicks a goal. Then the flak starts again until he kicks another goal. At least he's scoring....

tall poppy syndrome at its finest and probaly jealous of his good looks as well :p

people are expecting him to compete like he is 6 ft 4 and over 100 kg. i thought his effort last season would of shut a lot of people up but he has always seemed to be our scapegoat.

10 pages and no mention of how horrible Murphy was tonight? He really should have stayed home. Just wasn't his night tonight, absolute shocker.

As for Roughy and Jones, I think they're starting to do a lot right, they had 6 shots on goal, that's a good start. Give em some more confidence and experience and they'll start slotting those goals. Considering the young list we're playing, being 4 and 5 and playing against the top teams as well as we have been, it's certainly not time to tear up the membership just yet.

because he wasn't....

Austin absolutely smashed Pods for most of the match and Hawkins ended up only kicking a couple from cheapies not against his direct opponent.

Sorry about the loss, still thought you might have them in the end. But came on to see any news about Austin, Ive always felt we should have always kept him, but I wish you all the best.

I could mention a few disappointing aspects about tonights game, but I'm getting too much enjoyment out of watching the team evolve. There is going to be plenty of downs, but I believe the ups will counter these tenfold. Macca's definitely the best thing that has happened to the club in many many years.

Can't believe their has been no mention of Jones' ripper mark. Our whole section jumped up in unison. Hopefully many more to come :thumbsu:

I could mention a few disappointing aspects about tonights game, but I'm getting too much enjoyment out of watching the team evolve. There is going to be plenty of downs, but I believe the ups will counter these tenfold. Macca's definitely the best thing that has happened to the club in many many years.

Can't believe their has been no mention of Jones' ripper mark. Our whole section jumped up in unison. Hopefully many more to come :thumbsu:

Loved the mark but I had a sense of dread straight after hoping he wouldn't miss

We are seriously screaming for a specialist key forward, Roughead is definitely showing great signs but he will never be a 60+ goal key forward and we shouldn't expect him to be, he should (along with Cordy) be a better than decent resting ruckman who can take some grabs and kick some goals.

Jones is an elite mark, thats pretty safe to say, his goal kicking is iffy and I see him more as a CHF who can take an awesome grab in the 50 but who will hopefully have a big tank and push up the ground and be sort of like a link from HBF to our forward line, but still kick goals as he is a key forward and thats what you want.

Now to FF - originally I had Grant pinned for this position but it seems he will never be a key forward (thats not to say he wont be a handy player for us) but for now I think we should give Hill or Panos a chance, and I mean a real chance, 5 games to at least get them settled there. You could argue they haven't earn't their spot in the team but has Zeph? I think these two deserve a shot before Zeph to be honest.

Anyway sorry if this all doesnt make sense, I'm tired, angry, but excited - not a great mix for posting :p

I reckon mostly positive tonight. We missed chances when we has them, but the cats wasted heaps more than we did. 20 pts was generous for us,

Wallis - Loved his game, was everywhere. Just was where we needed him at the right times.

Libba - The thing that is so impressive is how he can get 30 touches and hardly notice him. It is S.West like.

Minson - I reckon he was great. Just fought so hard at the stoppages.

Cross - Any haters(?), watch this game on replay.

Jones - Finally tried to take a mark overhead, then took the 2 best marks of his career. (the 2nd one was better IMO).

Cooney - Just great to see him moving so well (ditto Lake)

I love our team. This year is clearly not our year - but f me, we're going to improve out of sight so quickly without the need to bottom out! We play positive footy and we're giving exposure to a lot of players. We aren't often blown out of the water. I'm looking forward to watching us develop from here on...

Player Reviews

Murphy - not really one of his better games. Disposal was severely lacking.

Wallis - just gets better every week, I've said this a few times but I reckon tonight eclipses all his previous excellent games thus far this year. He's been one of the real highlights of the year

Cross - did his usual hard yakka and gutsy efforts. It seems pointless to criticize hi for it at this stage of his career as he'll never change but man I wish he would have a shot more and not try and pass it off every time he has the ball inside 50. I know he's not the best kick but sometimes you've just gotta have a shot

Boyd - typical game, got plenty of it, didn't always use it right. He is a good leader though

Higgins - I'm glad he is playing more permanently as a forward. Did well. Still hasn't completely hit top form, but at least he is contributing.

Veszpremi - really like him, pity about his hamstring. Felt sorry for him in that instance he was forced to man up on Hawkins.

Sherman - no impact. He's a one trick pony i.e scoring goals and being a greedy bastard. If he's not doing that he's not good for much else.

Giansiracusa - thought he was good. He's clearly lost a lot of pace (was never that quick to begin with) but he worked hard and contributed.

Griffen - looked a bit knackered towards the end. Not as good as he's been recently but still tried his guts out.

Cooney - man I would do anythin to make this guy's knee better. Didn't have a lot of it but when he did you could just tell how much we miss him at full flight.

Jones - what to do? His contested marking is simply outstanding but he's kicking is woeful. Had one beautiful goal from a set shot but those missed shots from 30 out :eek: Already not doing wonders for my rapidly balding head

Pearce - small but nice contribution from a first gamer. Liked that run through the middle he did.

Libba - impressed with him this year. Just like his old man his tackling is a joy to watch.

Roughead - I like him a lot but um...well, those those shots for goal were very costly. He'll be ok though.

Hargrave - fairly quiet I thought, solid is the most you could say.

Skinner - hope he starts soon. Still raw but has contributed nicely the past two weeks.

Minson - thought he was alright but given Geelong'a weaknesses in the ruck I hoped he could have had more of an impact at stoppages. Still a reasonable game though

Lake - very good, we'd be in all sorts of trouble without him.

Dahlhaus - had a good game although teams are clearly starting to pay more attention to him. His energy and the spark he gives us is fantastic

Picken - ok I guess, was he on Selwood? Selwood was killing it early but was nullified a bit as the game went on

Austin - I've come around a bit on this guy, he was impressive tonight, not a flashy player but did the job tonight.

Veszpremi - really like him, pity about his hamstring. Felt sorry for him in that instance he was forced to man up on Hawkins.

was he injured? just watched the press conference and macca said no injuries.

If Jones and Roughead nail those goals, a likely win. As it was, lots to like, the overall domination of the stats that McCartney likes, the continued emergence of Wallis and Liberatore, big marks in the forward line by Jones and Roughead, strong play by Austin, Vezpremi solid. Pearce didn't get into the game but showed agression and fight, clean finishing by Higgins. Still in line for picks 5 & 6 (can't see Melb, Gold Coast or GWS getting more than 4 wins). Good result all 'round.

Does anybody know what was wrong with Cordy ?

hip injurys is the new OP it seems...
bulldogs should be put in jail for stealing,two father son picks in the one draft. look already to be stars :p:thumbsu:

His run and carry was great, but he shanked another 4-5 kicks which is so unlike him (except in the last month) which was difference between an ok game and a very good game

Finally someone agrees with me. We've leart to expect exceptional disposal from murph, and it was very unusual to see so many shanks of his boot.

bulldogs should be put in jail for stealing,two father son picks in the one draft. look already to be stars :p:thumbsu:

Its about time we had a bit of luck for a change :D

I think our forward line will reak havoc in the future once they "ALL" learn the game , develop chemistry and start maturing and get at least 50 games into them !!

Imagine trying to stop Jones, Roughead, Cordy, Cooney, Dalhaus, Higgins and Dickson once they all click together !

We are on the right track !

The plans for the construction of Rome are off the drafting table and in the hands of the engineers. Steel is being placed and concrete being poured into the foundations. Should be out of the ground by the end of this year or early next year. Due for completion 2015/16.

Its about time we had a bit of luck for a change :D

I think our forward line will reak havoc in the future once they "ALL" learn the game , develop chemistry and start maturing and get at least 50 games into them !!

Imagine trying to stop Jones, Roughead, Cordy, Cooney, Dalhaus, Higgins and Dickson once they all click together !

We are on the right track !

I hope Dalhaus doesnt stay in the forward line for long - midfield needs what he has got.

I love our teams courage and effort, but its pretty clear that we need.

1. Small defenders with a bit of mongrel in them. I was very sad when I heard Scofield was heading back to WA.

2. Pace through the middle. They absolutely torched us when they got the ball and run through the centre. Hope we get some ball carriers with our draft picks this year.

3. Small forwards who fight when they don't have the ball. Can we really afford to have Gia and Higgins on the same forward line?

I feel everyones frustration, there were some poor mistakes tonight which in the end cost us a win. However we are in the position atm to be able to sit back and look at the bigger picture after last nights game.

Unlike the last few few seasons there is definatly change in the air, we are absolutly getting somewhere and we have seen glimpses during every game this season, bar the St Kilda game. We have players who love the contest and are clean and sharp with their hands in close, we do need some more polish on the outside and that will hopefully come from this years draft.

Our backline is standing up extremly well considering we are missing Moris, Williams, Markovic and Wood. Add to that list Talia and obviously Austin who are all in the 18-25 bracket coming through I'm no longer crapping myself at the thought of loosing Moris and Lake (Lakey is holding things together down there atm)

Our forward line is, well a work in progress to be kind but there is talent down there and more talent to try waiting in the VFL. Yes Jones and Rough missed easy shots, but I honestly thought it was the best they have ever performed together. Jonesy took some big marks and Roughead was strong in the contest and didn't appear lost around the ball like he has a few times this year. Dickson looks likely and Higgins is chipping in with goals too. Skinner should go back and perhaps it's time to try Panos.

Finally what does Gia have to do to get some credit? He is 6' tall, 80kg soaking wet and is on one leg and is being asked to hold the forward line together. He kicked 3, laid 6 tackles what more can a small forward be asked to do?

there is plenty of upside believe me ! as another poster said, if Roughy and Jones kicked straight , they would have had 6 goals between them !

The main thing is Macca has put forward his intentions about the style of game he wants to implement ! and we are doing it quite well considering we are not even half way through the season...

All i can say is i love the style of game compared to Eade and Wallace's Down hill skiing type style with no emphasis on defense ! I would much rather watch one on one contested hard footy than that shit in the past !

Look out when it all clicks thats all i can say !:thumbsu:

Whilst I agree with most of your post, the highlighted bit is not necessary. Those two coaches got us to three prelims and another three years of finals. There style was right for the time, but now we move on to a new era of football. The new era was designed by coaches to counteract the running game invented by Eade and perfected by Geelong.

Macca is doing a great job, now we need to make sure we use the ball properly when we get it and don't turn it over. We arenot giving the forwards any chance by bombing it in there.

Review Rnd9 : Review/Rant/Roast megathread