Autopsy Roast & Toast, best vs Adelaide and changes for Dees on Anzac Day eve

Best vs Crows

We just aren't good enough to play the way we used to, the rule changes don't help and we have blokes who are on the edge of a cliff. I think we'll keep selecting certain players until we can't make the finals, then the axe will be swung.

We could cover frees against and being beaten ion clearances when we dominated the comp, sadly that isn't the case anymore.

We'll either pull one out of our arse against Melbourne or get belted.

The annoying thing is if Balta and Lynch converted their sitters, if Jacks mark in the goalsquare was paid, if Parker gets the goal instead of spiralling it to the right and Baker goes for goal instead of handballing to Castagna we probably win despite the free kick differential.

Conversley if we did win we'd maybe finish 8th, 9th, 10th? Not really going anywhere. Maybe we should just give Dusty the year off, get Shedda to 300, say goodbye to some absolute legends of the club and target a top 5 pick to begin a kind of new era, as a i think we have a lot of young guys who will be good enough to play senior footy in the future but we are short a couple young A-graders with AA potential which you get from early picks. We should be able to bounce back pretty quick
Too many iffs

Trade- Graham,George,Rioli.
Delist-Parker,Aarts,Ross. RCD??
Retire- Jack,Sheds,Cotch

Give some games to Cumberland,jnr,stack and all last years draft to see what they have.

time for a big refresh with a mix of some of our experience.

Trade Rioli? He has been superb this year and is hitting his peak age. Wasn’t he on Rachelle? Towelled him up other than a couple in junk time that was due to shocking turnovers. Rioli toweled up Bobby Hill. Towelled up Weightman. He has been brilliant defensively as well as giving great drive.

Trading a 24yo playing great footy with more upside is stupidity. You’d get a 4th round pick for George we’d probably not even use. And with our midfield light on I wouldn’t be trading Graham either. Trade him for a pick around 40 and we’d be trying to draft in someone like … well…. like Graham, as you rarely get elite mids outside the top-20.

As bad as some of those umpiring decisions were, it's never the reason for a loss. Our poor delivery inside 50 was our biggest issue, and has been for the last 18 months. Ee won the i50s 61-51, yet every entry was just thumped 50m from the centre without looking which isnt a good strategy when lynch and riewoldt are struggling in contested marks.

When the ball went in it was noticeable how easily it came out and adelaide rebounded through the middle. We simply dont have the skills to execute our old gameplan anymore.

they are corporate - of course they are hypocritical. Its not so much the affair which ruined him with the league - it was all the stuff that happened in the Gold Coast hub period. The Cotchins, Kebabgate etc. As i have said before, i have it on very very good authority that at a time when the AFL were scrambling to keep the competition running to avoid tens of millions of dollars lost....a literal lifetime or achievements pissed away in one massive pandemic wee .... at a time when they were trying to work out the near impossible logistics of running a national league in a hub, re-accommodating 16 clubs, their entire list + their families, staff..... our club was BY FAR the most annoying, entitled and consuming of their time. Our demands were ridiculous - we had players contacting the VERY HIGH UP AFL officials about ridiculous request like asking for food to be delivered to their rooms at the AFLS cost. One story i heard was that a player contacted Gil directly to ask about getting their pet dog bought up to the hub on the basis that it was his GF's "emotional supporter" animal - it was totally, ******* ridiculous stuff. It all boiled over with the "Cotchins Wife" massage parlour thing. The club then got its shit together and just on the cusp of shit getting really dicey, Stack and CCJ pulled the "Kebabgate" shit. The AFL had ZERO time for our shit, they saw 17 clubs doing everything they can to make this work & 1 being petulant flogs taking up their valuable time & then still nearly risked it all when they got in a streetfight breaking hub. The AFL had to suck some serious **** to convince the QLD govt to not send the entire league home. It was a BIG BIG DEAL.All the while when this is going on, the ******* coach was shacking up with a younger employee inside that same hub while his much adored wife sat at home with the kids. The AFL had a gutful.

As i said, when Dimma STUPIDLY made those comments about Stack missing a ******* VFL game about Dan Andrews - the AFL had zero ******* time for it & wanted him under that bus as quickly as possible. You reckon that shit blew up into front news story by accident?? the AFL had already seen our behaviour damage their reputation with the QLD govt, & here he is now damaging our reputation with the VIC govt - another ALP govt.

They are not going to take the knee off the RFC till Dimma is gone. Just like the Carlton / Elliot, Bombers / Hird & Collingwood Buckley/Macguire problem - it will not end till they have a scalp to hang on the wall as a clear example of "DO NOT fu** WITH THE SYSTEM"

The best thing we could do is let the blood be spilt, bottom out & take the pick along with the medicine they want to serve us. Its over folks. 33-13 says it all

Sack your hub source. RJK.
Factually incorrect. Overblown emotional crap and ignores everything that happened at other clubs in hub. Which was plenty.
It was an incredibly stressful time for all involved, away from their homes and families.
But we prevailed and delivered you an amazing premiership.
You’ve got a real issue with Hardwick and you regurgitate this crap whenever possible. I don’t know why but maybe it’s because you’ve been wrong about him as a coach for many years.

they are corporate - of course they are hypocritical. Its not so much the affair which ruined him with the league - it was all the stuff that happened in the Gold Coast hub period. The Cotchins, Kebabgate etc. As i have said before, i have it on very very good authority that at a time when the AFL were scrambling to keep the competition running to avoid tens of millions of dollars lost....a literal lifetime or achievements pissed away in one massive pandemic wee .... at a time when they were trying to work out the near impossible logistics of running a national league in a hub, re-accommodating 16 clubs, their entire list + their families, staff..... our club was BY FAR the most annoying, entitled and consuming of their time. Our demands were ridiculous - we had players contacting the VERY HIGH UP AFL officials about ridiculous request like asking for food to be delivered to their rooms at the AFLS cost. One story i heard was that a player contacted Gil directly to ask about getting their pet dog bought up to the hub on the basis that it was his GF's "emotional supporter" animal - it was totally, ******* ridiculous stuff. It all boiled over with the "Cotchins Wife" massage parlour thing. The club then got its shit together and just on the cusp of shit getting really dicey, Stack and CCJ pulled the "Kebabgate" shit. The AFL had ZERO time for our shit, they saw 17 clubs doing everything they can to make this work & 1 being petulant flogs taking up their valuable time & then still nearly risked it all when they got in a streetfight breaking hub. The AFL had to suck some serious **** to convince the QLD govt to not send the entire league home. It was a BIG BIG DEAL.All the while when this is going on, the ******* coach was shacking up with a younger employee inside that same hub while his much adored wife sat at home with the kids. The AFL had a gutful.

As i said, when Dimma STUPIDLY made those comments about Stack missing a ******* VFL game about Dan Andrews - the AFL had zero ******* time for it & wanted him under that bus as quickly as possible. You reckon that shit blew up into front news story by accident?? the AFL had already seen our behaviour damage their reputation with the QLD govt, & here he is now damaging our reputation with the VIC govt - another ALP govt.

They are not going to take the knee off the RFC till Dimma is gone. Just like the Carlton / Elliot, Bombers / Hird & Collingwood Buckley/Macguire problem - it will not end till they have a scalp to hang on the wall as a clear example of "DO NOT fu** WITH THE SYSTEM"

The best thing we could do is let the blood be spilt, bottom out & take the pick along with the medicine they want to serve us. Its over folks. 33-13 says it all

yep I have heard Caro's spiel about how terrible the Tigers were with COVID, but again, heaps of clubs committed exacty the same sins, just a couple I remember:
-Adelaide had 16 players breach their hub for an illegal training session in SA
-Buckley and Sanderson at the Pies couldnt pass up the chance to hit out with Molik, breaching WA hub rules

There is no doubt that Syd Stack was an issue- but not just for Richmond but the AFL, he later ended up in jail for his inability to follow COVID rules!! It was obviously difficult for him, the AFL cannot on one hand laud clubs for trying to better the lives of young men with hard upbringings, and then with the other hand slap them when the process has setbacks.

As for WAGs, once again, Brooke Cotchin was just one of a litany of issues they had in the QL hub!!:
'Richmond received its fine after a player’s partner flaunted her facial at an Esteem day spa on social media. A Carlton player’s partner dropped her children with their grandparents (who are based in Queensland) and they took them to a theme park in another breach. North Melbourne defended its actions after receiving a fine for taking wives and partners of some players to its game at the Gabba.'

Once, again, I don't see the Richmond exceptionalism here.

I agree with most on here that the umpiring was poor and it knocked a lot of confidence out of our players to take the game on and play that high pressure game with risks. It left the players in two minds and hence Adelaide took advantage of it. Still not convinced the club is doing the right thing playing guys like Castagna Aarts Edwards and Jack over Gibcus, Sonsie, Mansell and other kids. It's time to invest in the future and get games into the kids as these guys are done and taking us nowhere. People can argue Edwards had a good game, but it's been a long time between drinks.

Okay Richmond needs to say something to the AFL. I couldn’t watch except for the last 10 mins. Turned it on to see Ross put his head over the ball, pick it up and get tackled high by Himmelberg. Ross stopped expecting high free then the ball spilled out. No high, okay so must be a stoppage? Nope, holding the ball, free shot at goal…

Later Crouch fends off Pickett but Pickett lays a great tackle, ball spills out, holding the ball 999 times out of 1000. Somehow this was number 1000.

This is just a ******* ridiculously bad sport now and we’re always on the receiving end of the bullshit. They’ve lost a viewer, sorry Tigers but I can’t watch your sport anymore.
Pretty easy decisions in both cases, Ross ducked his head, Himmelberg tackled him around the chest - holding the ball as it should be. You have the weagles midfielders and your captain for prompting a crack down on the blight that is head duckers.

Crouch clearly got a handball away = play on.

I happen to agree the administrators (not the umpires) have broken the fabric of the game with rule changes and interpretations and are now clearly trying to increase scoring with free kicks, but they have done this due to the defensive strategies of the coaches.

But those two decisions were just fine imho.

Dusty in - Richmond win comfortably. Better spend your time asking your coaches why you cant win without Dusty anymore.

Exactly…AFL is secretly shitting themselves knowing The Chief is about to clean the joint up

all clubs want Benny….even media want Benny

AFL house want some nerd inbred tosspot they know …they definitely don’t want Benny

For the sake of the game….we need BG
Goldcoast FC dislikes this. Their tool of a boss doesn’t want Benny lol

yep I have heard Caro's spiel about how terrible the Tigers were with COVID, but again, heaps of clubs committed exacty the same sins, just a couple I remember:
-Adelaide had 16 players breach their hub for an illegal training session in SA
-Buckley and Sanderson at the Pies couldnt pass up the chance to hit out with Molik, breaching WA hub rules

There is no doubt that Syd Stack was an issue- but not just for Richmond but the AFL, he later ended up in jail for his inability to follow COVID rules!! It was obviously difficult for him, the AFL cannot on one hand laud clubs for trying to better the lives of young men with hard upbringings, and then with the other hand slap them when the process has setbacks.

As for WAGs, once again, Brooke Cotchin was just one of a litany of issues they had in the QL hub!!:
'Richmond received its fine after a player’s partner flaunted her facial at an Esteem day spa on social media. A Carlton player’s partner dropped her children with their grandparents (who are based in Queensland) and they took them to a theme park in another breach. North Melbourne defended its actions after receiving a fine for taking wives and partners of some players to its game at the Gabba.'

Once, again, I don't see the Richmond exceptionalism here.
Richmond always get more negative mayo than other clubs,looking good for back to back that year so the media had squeaky bums and doing anything possible to put a bad light on the club.
That 2020 flag was my fav,wasn't there but winning away from Vic,against the Putycats,Shocking sitting on the sidelines,we stuck it right up everyone.

There not allowed and told not to discuss umpiring , this sport is f’ed
exactly pump up those gambling odds...parish to get 40+ and freo good value at $1.85 and put a carlton win in your multi's because they are leading the comp at centre bounce clearances and hard ball gets
but don't ever breathe a word about probable umpire bias and umpire howlers that statistically have bulldogs a clear beneficiary of this stat and the tigers a clear and distant last again.

Pretty easy decisions in both cases, Ross ducked his head, Himmelberg tackled him around the chest - holding the ball as it should be. You have the weagles midfielders and your captain for prompting a crack down on the blight that is head duckers.

Crouch clearly got a handball away = play on.

I happen to agree the administrators (not the umpires) have broken the fabric of the game with rule changes and interpretations and are now clearly trying to increase scoring with free kicks, but they have done this due to the defensive strategies of the coaches.

But those two decisions were just fine imho.

Dusty in - Richmond win comfortably. Better spend your time asking your coaches why you cant win without Dusty anymore.

We won without dusty last week

Last edited by a moderator:
It's been a trend all year that our players just don't win the ball in the contest, and it cost us the game again yesterday. We've lost every game this year that we've lost the contested possession count in.

Edwards, Graham, Ross, Aarts all repeat offenders. Even Dow let himself down yesterday, but he is younger with a less mature body so it's a bit more forgiveable.

We've actually been really good this year at taking advantage of 666 and scoring from centre bounces (AFL #1 I believe), but we let ourselves down in contests outside of this.

It's not a game plan issue. It's a bit of a personnel issue and also a hunger issue. Dimma refers to it as "stepping in", and our players just aren't doing it atm

Maurice Stack Lambert Soldo in?

Grimes and Kmac if fit?

Who goes out Parker , Dow , Ross , Jack R?? Edwards? Graham?

Dow injured ? On the bike at half time - never a great sign, hopefully a cork at best and not something worse.

No spark last night, needed a Bolton or Balta to shine.

Handful of wasted good opportunities on goals, in particular Baker, George and Parker and what could have been.

What role is Jack G playing in our fwd line, Lamberts role ? Stunk it up last week and he has backed that up again.