Autopsy Roast & Toast vs GWS, Rd 3 2019, & changes for Port

Best players vs GWS

Lol having everything isn't everything, he could still be dealing with something outside of footy. He may be one of the highest paid players in the league but he is still human.

He was fine last year, was just judged highly (underrstandably) because of the heights he hit in 2017.

It is three rounds into the season and he isn't the only champion in history to have had dips in form for a period. You say he looks like he doesn't give a ****, he could be hurting deep inside but just can't get it together atm. We don't know and it's unfair for us to sit here from our couches and turn on a champion of a club because he has been down after three rounds of footy.

Yes his performance hasn't been good enough, but lets not start with the cheap potshots at him.

Fair points. I haven't given up on him but he is expected to perform at a higher level than most and he's costing the team with stupid free kicks and being reported. His year so far has been a train wreck.

Hopefully he returns and performs like the star we know he can be.

The worst journo in Australia other than Tom Browne - Damo Barrett had this to say about Martin and Richmond...

"With Martin almost certain to be suspended, the Tigers could be without their big four for round four's crunch away match against Port Adelaide.

The season is slipping away for Richmond even at this early stage. A solid win against the lowly Carlton in round one was followed by way-off-the-pace losses to Collingwood and the Giants."

Really Damo? We're one game out of the 8 you *******. We had 2 players on the bench in the last.

I know, why should we care. It just amazes me that one fu*wit can be so wrong, so often. Zero credibility.

The worst journo in Australia other than Tom Browne - Damo Barrett had this to say about Martin and Richmond...

"With Martin almost certain to be suspended, the Tigers could be without their big four for round four's crunch away match against Port Adelaide.

The season is slipping away for Richmond even at this early stage. A solid win against the lowly Carlton in round one was followed by way-off-the-pace losses to Collingwood and the Giants."

Really Damo? We're one game out of the 8 you *******. We had 2 players on the bench in the last.

I know, why should we care. It just amazes me that one fu*wit can be so wrong, so often. Zero credibility.

What he said was blatantly obvious, I have no issue with it.

#tigeshaveinjury

The red flag for me was that last night especially our players when in possession genuinely didn't seem to know what to do with the ball, that is a big worry and doesn't inspire much confidence.

Let's face it, against the Blues for three quarters we pretty much had our best side on the park and things didn't click then either. Now minus stars and alot of others out of form there just doesn't seem to be any semblance of a game.plan whereas the last two seasons there clearly has been.

That'll happen when you have a number of fresh faces in the lineup. I recall Shed saying this time last year that its so important everyone knows their role and where to run, it only takes one person being off with our defensive setup for it to breakdown.

The difference between us now and a few years ago is there is a lot of self belief in our processes and personel, so we will improve quickly imo, just have to hope we are 2-3 going into anzac eve and not 1-4 so the season doesnt start getting away from us. Look at the difference in setup between the pies game and the gws game. We didnt allow gws to chip and switch at will like the week before and boy did they try!

and lets be honest, how many of their goals were opportunistic from a fortuitous spoil or bounce? finalyson a left footer was snapping through goals from 50 on his right FFS. The structural improvement week on week was significant even though we were missing our 2 best defenders and lost our best release player in short very early in the game.

Look we're gonna lose again this week without Dusty, Cotch and Short, but we'll again be better for the run and from the following week with Dusty back after hopefully only 1 week off) we should start to get a bit of continuity going again. Once Cotch and Jack are back (hopefully Anzac Eve) we can really start to motor after that. If we're 3-3 at that stage(wins against syd and dees) I'll back us for top 4, 2-4 we'll be in a fight for 5-8, 1-5 and I'll probably concede we're pushing it uphill.

The competition is only eve

We haven't been missing 8 best 22 players for any game yet, and we look shit. Round 1 we were only missing caddy conca and Grigg and we still looked completely shit. Most of the players we are missing are fringe or on the edge of retirement. If we don't have the depth to replace 2-3 quality players and a few fringe players we don't deserve to make finals and are a bad team.
Caddy Grigg Conca Castagna all missed round 1, round 2 saw Houli and Rance out Castagna back, Jack effectively out from early second quarter as well. Entered yesterday without Rance Riewoldt Caddy Grigg Conca & Houli, lost Short 5 minutes in and Cotchin before the game ended plus Rioli playing hurt. So we've had 4 missing then 6 and now 8 if we could cover all of them with no issues we'd be the greatest team ever assembled and would be $1.000001 favourite for the flag.

Fact of the matter is we're not a bad side, we're a good side in a bad situation, one that not many sides have dealt with over the journey.

from live at the show, effort was there but we are looking slow and poorly skilled. zones getting stretched and pulled apart very easily. forward setup is le dog shit, our transition is clunky as fk, not a lot of natural instinctual play going on and far too many blokes overthinking and not backing themselves.

players never without blame but they still look underdone and well behind where they should be in terms of structures and game plans. nothing looks to have been bedded down real well over the preseason.

injuries have spannered some of that work, but my stink eye is on burge and the coaches as much as some of the underperforming players, doesn’t look like it was a very productive summer. we’ve gone backwards and may not recover in time to mount a serious challenge this year given the difficulty of our draw early

I still have belief that at some point in time soon when everyone bar Rancy return, we'll come good.
Keep the faith.

5 or 6 teams in that top 9 who are all going to fall away, this season isn't over by a longshot. This start of the year is different than any other year in regards to who has been winning, normally it's the big guns getting of to flyers, this year the big guns are still in the starting blocks while the minnows have bolted out of them.

What would you rather

1. 1-2 having lost to pies and giants while getting injuries and still will be one game out after round 4 worst case with last years bottom 10 blasting out of the blocks up front.

or

2. 1-2 having lost to pies and giants with us full strength and be one game out after round 4 worst case but with the big guns flying out of the blocks up front.

Nothing wrong with our depth , we been playing ordinary players , u don’t win vfl games every week and say depth no good , makes no sense whatsoever . Who has better depth , name their players at vfl ?
Depends on what part of the ground.
- small forwards: heaps of depth
- Half back flankers: quite a few that would be able to play that role.
- KPD: Yeah we have depth but our depth players in this area are still a bit raw.
- KPF: Same as KPD. We have depth, but they are still on the younger end.
- Ruck: Young, but the cupboard isn’t all that full.
- Outside midfielders: Not much depth
- Inside midfielders: This is the area we have the worst depth in. We quickly struggle to replace injuries to this area because our depth inside midfielders pretty much consists of RCD and Ross, who were drafted at the end of last year. Townsend is best suited to be a forward rather than in our midfield IMO. Our depth in this area is already running thin in our best 22, so it’s our worst part of the ground closely followed by the ruck.

Caddy Grigg Conca Castagna all missed round 1, round 2 saw Houli and Rance out Castagna back, Jack effectively out from early second quarter as well. Entered yesterday without Rance Riewoldt Caddy Grigg Conca & Houli, lost Short 5 minutes in and Cotchin before the game ended plus Rioli playing hurt. So we've had 4 missing then 6 and now 8 if we could cover all of them with no issues we'd be the greatest team ever assembled and would be $1.000001 favourite for the flag.

Fact of the matter is we're not a bad side, we're a good side in a bad situation, one that not many sides have dealt with over the journey.
Hate to be the bearer of bad news, but Garfield plays for Freo now.

from live at the show, effort was there but we are looking slow and poorly skilled. zones getting stretched and pulled apart very easily. forward setup is le dog shit, our transition is clunky as fk, not a lot of natural instinctual play going on and far too many blokes overthinking and not backing themselves.

players never without blame but they still look underdone and well behind where they should be in terms of structures and game plans. nothing looks to have been bedded down real well over the preseason.

injuries have spannered some of that work, but my stink eye is on burge and the coaches as much as some of the underperforming players, doesn’t look like it was a very productive summer. we’ve gone backwards and may not recover in time to mount a serious challenge this year given the difficulty of our draw early

100% agree mate. I've commented on our preseason as a joke many times. It appeared to me through social media and training reports from PRE that we did very little work compared to previous years. With the new rules coming in you would think we would've invested more this off season. We were complacent and are now paying for it.

out: short (inj) cotch (inj) ellis (delisted), butler
in: grimes, caddy, houli, bolton

if martin gets suspended ross comes in

5 changes is not in dimma’s dna but he’s still snookered so i can’t see a way around it

need to somehow pinch this port game but just can’t keep going back to the same well

sacked by all major media outlets, now works for the afl. too legit to quit.

Why do you speak so much common sense when it's obvious we are shit and will get relagated to the edfl?!!!

ins
townsend farce must end
ross farce must end
bolton farce must end
macho (MA-blior CHO-l) or CCJ or Cal Moore
caddy

outs
ellis farce must end
one of butler/george farce must end

In: Caddy, Grimes, Houli*, Ross.
Out: Cotchin, Ellis*, Martin, Markov.
Houli replaces Ellis is fit.
In both losses we have been in contention until three quarter time.
Fade in the last quarter.
Exact opposite of the Eagles' example.
They allow Collingwood a 4 or 5 goal quick start each time then peg it back.

Autopsy Roast & Toast vs GWS, Rd 3 2019, & changes for Port