Autopsy Roast, toast vs Sydney and changes for Port Adelaide in two weeks

Best vs Sydney

We did that in 2017 three times (Western Bulldogs, GWS and Sydney) so we’re basically our own precedence in this. We were leading by 30+ points in all of those games and then lost.

Our midfield and defence in 2017 were much better but it gives me a bit of hope. We really need Balta and Lynch back though
And Lambert. No surprise our best footy was played with him in. Played 4 games. 4 wins straight.

His just such a damaging player.

I think any reasonable person could understand the use of discretion that the player couldn’t have heard the whistle or reasonably not known it was a free kick . Likewise that Buddy’s love tap was simply that .
However the consist theme which is rolled out is that everything is black and white and/or the affect on grassroots footy .
The chances are very high there’ll be a increase in player booting the ball away after the siren at grassroots level
Following last nights game
Likewise the chances are high of someone whacking someone in buddy style today or over the next few weeks with far greater force and if buddy gets off and they have a decent advocate at the tribunal they’ll use the buddy vision . Keeping in mind the laws at grass roots level are around intent not force .
There has a been a zero tolerance message put out regarding all matters including decent , let’s see if this is continued .
Technically a 50m penalty. Myself personally, I would like to see this black and white stuff you are talking about. Problem is our rules at times can be subjective and each person’s interpretation can be different.

I suppose in the end we have a great game and that is its flaw. I think us as supporters pray something like that doesnt happen in one of our matches.

in the end how would we feel if a granny was decided on an event exactly like last night?

Would it really be fair to award a 50, for a player celebrating winning a premiership by kicking the ball away after not hearing the free but hearing the siren? What if that meant his team lost?

I don’t know, I really don’t. It’s why I think the 50m should be reduced to 25m.

Ill leave u guys be … I’ve given myself a headache thinking about what I’ve written and imagining cfc on both sides of that question.

Can’t really comment on the game my son was born at 6.29 pm so I was a bit preoccupied . Saw bits and pieces throughout and when saw we were 30 up I thought end result would have been something like a 12 point win for us but managed to catch the final minute - no sound on so I had no idea a free kick was paid at the end and the 50 m penalty.

63 frees seems crazy becomes hard to watch and enjoy. Considering we had Lynch out and no real target up front it’s not a bad result. Shouldn’t have given the lead up but the SCG is a shocking ground to play can get cut up so easy quickly.

No idea who did what stats wise so again no comment but it’s a shame the little man witnessed his first Richmond loss on night one !!

Load up again after the bye with Balta and Lynch back and go again

Can’t really comment on the game my son was born at 6.29 pm so I was a bit preoccupied . Saw bits and pieces throughout and when saw we were 30 up I thought end result would have been something like a 12 point win for us but managed to catch the final minute - no sound on so I had no idea a free kick was paid at the end and the 50 m penalty.

63 frees seems crazy becomes hard to watch and enjoy. Considering we had Lynch out and no real target up front it’s not a bad result. Shouldn’t have given the lead up but the SCG is a shocking ground to play can get cut up so easy quickly.

No idea who did what stats wise so again no comment but it’s a shame the little man witnessed his first Richmond loss on night one !!

Congratulations on the son mate!
What did you name him?
Trent or Dustin?

Im still burning we ducked that up. Had a real opportunity to build some serious momentum and belief and we just threw it all away.

When you break it down, you just have to wear the umps decision at the end there. We got a few cheapies through Swans ill discipline as well but I want to highlight how many cheapies WE gave them including ill disciplined free kicks. I counted 7 which includes that ******* rort in the first minute against Tarrant. We were a 5 goal better side last night, how we managed to duck that up I'll never know.

Its a shame bc I cant even bring myself to mention the many positives like Hugos game, just gutted and over it.
Exactly how I saw it.

The AFL has F'd what use to be a great game, so no point it castigating the umps.

This loss was on us through poor execution under no pressure at crucial times.

And Lambert. No surprise our best footy was played with him in. Played 4 games. 4 wins straight.

His just such a damaging player.
not using his abscence as an excuse but Lambert is a class above Castagna and MRJ,time too look for his replacement,gotta start rotating players thru and determine who deserves the spot.Lambos a goalkicker,goals win games,get in a player who is hungry for goals,get rid of these MRJ and Castagna types
they aint winning you games that matter,its all well n good to pop up against mediocre opposition but when the chips are down thats when you find out the spine and fibre in guys who can lift you,5 goals in front of a so so side that will finish 5th at best,if we were any better than a 5th-6th side wed of won
too many players not capable of taking theyre turns to lift the side,always comes down to the same few,its getting boring and tiresome

Sorry for the intrusion as I’m honestly not sure …..

That last free, should it be a 50m penalty for time wasting controversy…….

Can the umps pay a 50m penalty after the siren?

I know they can’t pay a free. Happened in one of our games a few weeks back where someone kicked the ball into our 50 and about a quarter of a second before it reached the pack the siren sounded and one of our players was clearly infringed. Umpire called half time. Infringed player ( think in was JSOS) went to ump and was told yes it was a free but it was after the siren so his hands were tied.

Given that, not sure if the ump could have given the 50 even if he wanted to, yes he could have made a mistake, if true but I’d like to know if anyone knows the correct interpretation of the rules. Could he have awarded a 50m penalty after the final siren legally anyway?

BRINGING PLAY TO AN END 10.4.1 End of Quarter The Timekeepers shall sound the siren to signal the end of a quarter until a field Umpire or the emergency Umpire acknowledges the siren and brings play to an end, by blowing a whistle and holding both arms above their head. 10.4.2 Free Kick or Mark If immediately before hearing the siren, a field Umpire is of the opinion that a Player should be awarded a Free Kick or a Mark, the field Umpire shall signal that play has come to an end and then award the Free Kick or Mark to the Player. A Free Kick will not be awarded where the football has been kicked and, after the field Umpire has heard the siren, lands Out of Bounds On the Full.

5.6 FREE KICK AFTER PLAY HAS ENDED 15.6.1 Before Kick or in the Act of Kicking After a field Umpire has signalled that play has come to an end, any field Umpire may award a Free Kick to any Player when a Player is preparing to Kick or in the act of Kicking for Goal. In such cases, the following shall apply: (a) if the Player awarded the Free Kick is playing for the Attacking Team, the Free Kick shall be awarded to the Player where the infringement occurred, or the Player shall be awarded a Fifty Metre Penalty, whichever is the greater penalty against the Defending Team;

The two rules might cover your question and the debacle last night.
Did the umpire signal end of game, and was the rule applied? I will leave you with the (non)decision for your game but make reference to last night. Yes, it was possible by the rules of the game for the umpire to award a fifty metre penalty to the player Prestia.

I can not find a rule where there is only one umpire who blows (no disputed call) the whistle and then goes to another field umpire and effectively asks what should we do?

This is not a review, not a double whistle. It is not a field to goal or boundary umpire call. It appears to be that the umpire wanted someone else to take responsibility. Where is the rule for that?

Let this matter be explained.

The ill discipline of "Chad" was equal to that of any player from either side who were penalized 50m during the match. It disrupted the flow of play. Chad took the piss, rubbed the RFC face in it and was permitted to by officials to do so.

Following this and add mockery to the new rules, my question is consistency of the dissent rule? Less dissent that what was displayed last night has been frequently penalized. The General Manager of Football has demanded penalties for visual dissent of an umpires decision.

There Richmond player dissent could not be clearer but was not penalized. Why?

The fish that is the Laws of Australian Football is rotten. A full enquiry should be conducted into the actions of league's head of legal and integrity.

No champ...i haven't misunderstood at all.. The whistle was blown in play...before the siren went. They can't pay a free after the siren yes....but the decision was made before the siren.
If you think that was particularly rude you should think about becoming an umpire

Instead of just saying the same thing and making the same mistake again, maybe you should try re-reading the post you replied to. They were talking about the 50, not the initial free.

No way as the player reported maybe innocent.
To be honest I’d rather have a yellow/red card system than a fifty.
Not many sports don’t have a send off and we do in junior footy blue and red cards
…maybe an argument for another time.

Not paying a fifty was common sense but my problem is I don’t think the 50 mtr is based on common sense it’s based on more goals, which = more ads = more revenue.

The biggest problem last night was continually kicking long to an out number in the third quarter, for the entire quarter.

We kicked 1.2 for the quarter

No-one leading up to the flank.
Could’ve sacrificed Matt Parker for that instead of having 3 talls pushing Jack around

I reckon last night will spark us for the rest of season
Perfect time for a bye, rest and reset
Enough is enough with all this bs ill discipline and umpiring
Full force of Richmond coming 2nd half of season

Screw the AFL and screw the Media
Richmond storm coming

**** that loss hurt last night. We should have won. Had so many opportunities to score in the last quarter and ****ed them all. On top of that we had a dysfunctional forward line, castangna did nothing and riewoldt + Soldo wernt clunking anything. On top of that Buddy kicked a bag, we gave away stupid frees. And we still got within a goal on the minature SCG. as far as I’m concerned footy can **** right off for the rest of the weekend as last night had put me in a shit mood.

And the swear filter Changing everything to duck is also ****ing annoying

****!!!!!!!

duck that loss hurt last night. We should have won. Had so many opportunities to score in the last quarter and ducked them all. On top of that we had a dysfunctional forward line, castangna did nothing and riewoldt + Soldo wernt clunking anything. On top of that Buddy kicked a bag, we gave away stupid frees. And we still got within a goal on the minature SCG. as far as I’m concerned footy can duck right off for the rest of the weekend as last night had put me in a shit mood.

And the swear filter Changing everything to duck is also ******* annoying

duck!!!!!!!
Jack and Soldo combination is near enough to useless as they're both slow. Jack becomes dangerous with Lynch around bc Lynch is a dangerous mobile moving target and defenders get nervous. Castagna just don't go there please.

Congrats mate. The best feeling in the world 😍

I reckon last night will spark us for the rest of season
Perfect time for a bye, rest and reset
Enough is enough with all this bs ill discipline and umpiring
Full force of Richmond coming 2nd half of season

duck the AFL and the Media
Richmond storm coming
they wont let it happen,hands been laid bare by the AFL,they aint havin us in the mix this year,that much is obvious
the fact that even the slightest thought of intimidation gets penalised rules us outta contention
gotta face it guys these cants control the game,its direction and its outcomes and there aint nuthin anybody can do about it
until their outsted,until then its business as usual for the AFL

Congrats on the birth of your son!

Ross is a momentum killer week after week. Dropped a sitter on wing when we had run of play. 2 x CBA and managed to get caught HTB in one of them. Random handball to no-one later in game when under pressure. He’s just a nothing footballer.

Good call, I was at the game and I lost my shit when he dropped that basic mark.

Autopsy Roast, toast vs Sydney and changes for Port Adelaide in two weeks