Robert Murphy - new Western Bulldogs captain

I've never understood this line of thinking. Quite simply, if you don't like it, don't read it.

Was about to post the same thing and glad to see someone else did. Couldn't agree more. The whole rascal thing started as a joke and even though it may not be hilarious, it's still good light hearted banter.

I don't see how people could not like Bob Murphy, maybe Akermanis fans. Either way good appointment, has some media presence too which is a bonus.

So you are saying he is a bad person?

Okay people, let's just say that the only place he can get away with it is Footscray as he is firmly entrenched in the boys club which includes your upper management.

He is a nice guy on camera but behind closed doors he aint.

Don't let my mail ruin your perfect vision of Bob Murphy.

Okay people, let's just say that the only place he can get away with it is Footscray as he is firmly entrenched in the boys club which includes your upper management.

He is a nice guy on camera but behind closed doors he aint.

Don't let my mail ruin your perfect vision of Bob Murphy.
Calling bullshit. Prove it or get the **** out

Because it's a cowardly unsubstantiated rumour.

A lie unchallenged becomes the truth.

It's funny how people on anonymous message boards are happy to throw around unsubstantiated shit like that. No accountability, no worries

The only alternative was if he shared it with Dale Morris.

So I'm a bit surprised Beveridge has felt a week in that it's best to just appoint him but at the same time I get why it's nice to get it done and remove any of the speculation or doubt either inside or outside the club.

Hopefully he's as well respected by the players as he is in the media and the younger dogs not only fall in behind him and their new coach (as I'm sure they will) but some of them push hard for the other leadership positions.

Had a couple of run ins with Bob over my time in Fitzroy/carlton. One memory I was sitting out the front the Brandon hotel and murph walked out of the bottle shop, my mate yells "biggest dog fan in melbourne here mate" while pointing at me. Bob turns around with a smile and a thumbs up and says "glad to be with friends"

What a prick

Happy for murph - seems a good bloke. However it's a bit of an indictment on the club that a 22 year old bloke (Liberatore - going by reports of other bulldog supporters, not my opinion) is next in line. Seems a little too similar to the Jack Trengove situation at the Dees.

Beveridge came out and said the captain of the club will always be the guy that is ready for the job now. There won't be any growing into the role or hoping that by giving it to them they'll develop into a leader. I like that.
Murph is our best player and despite popular opinion has shown no signs of slowing down. I've always seen Bob as a taller version of Robbie Flower. He represents the club and the code in general really well in the media. He's a bit quirky, tells it like it is and doesn't just trot out the boring footy cliches when interviewed. The only question anyone could have on him is is he a leader amongst the group. I think he would be. Maybe not a military style leader like Nathan Buckley but more like a Robin Williams style leader in Dead Poets Society. I'd say Bob could connect with his charges at a deeper level and that could be more effective than any other style.

Happy for murph - seems a good bloke. However it's a bit of an indictment on the club that a 22 year old bloke (Liberatore - going by reports of other bulldog supporters, not my opinion) is next in line. Seems a little too similar to the Jack Trengove situation at the Dees.

If you look at our list you'll see we don't really have any players in the 24-28 bracket. Our drafting for a while has been pretty bad combined with losing a lot of talent in that age bracket.

Most of us on here think Libba will be a good VC but not ever captain. He's just not that kind of guy, don't think he'd be comfortable with it.

I think if any younger player takes it, it will be Jordan Roughead (drafted in 2008, has a couple of years on the others and already appears to be put up in a media capacity by the club). Mitch Wallis. (Same age as Libba but not solid best 22) or jake stringer (younger but a clear leader) also stand out.

Congratulations Bob Murphy. He'll be a good captain for a few years before one of the younger kids takes over

The dogs were in a premiership window 5 years ago, so they lack players in that 24-30 year age gap. The 3 best from that age range left - Harbrow, Ward, Griffen.

Indictment kind of implies the dogs have done something wrong to have no leadership in that age group. Maybe that's fair. Or maybe they were victims of the expansion teams combined with poor drafting and development as their focus was on trying to grab a flag.

It's not much different to the saints where after Riewoldt, unless the captaincy went sideways to someone like Montagna it would drop down to Jack Steven who's now 24, although they do have Armitage as an alternative.

I mean Geelong did exceptionally well in getting Selwood as a draft steal, Hawkins f/s and Taylor as a mature age recruit as they were entering in to a period of dominance at the top of the ladder. But take Selwood out poached by GWS and I'm not sure either of those big guys are naturally suited to captain, Taylor is probably the captain by default whilst they wait for the 23 year old Mitch Duncan to take over.

Robert Murphy - new Western Bulldogs captain