The Doctor

Oct 4, 2001
In the number 19 jumper
Yes we crucified and yes we were ripped off.

Will the Umpire brigage pay us back the money Rocket was fined? They should.

However that last free kick which resulted in a goal was ever paid? It's cost us a finals place.

It's a bloody disgrace.

The Doctor said:
Yes we crucified and yes we were ripped off.

Will the Umpire brigage pay us back the money Rocket was fined? They should.

However that last free kick which resulted in a goal was ever paid? It's cost us a finals place.

It's a bloody disgrace.

Im with you mate, Im with you. Disgraceful.

That decison in the second quarter when Harris was penalised for sheparding Robertson was the worst umpiring decison I have seen in my 24 years watching football. :rolleyes:

Saints were robbed against Freo and we were robbed tonight.
What sort of competition are we part of?
Corrupt umpires and AFL and paybacks!

Jeff White.

You are a squib. Nothing more, nothing less.

And Melbourne, you wont go ****ing well anywhere in the finals you soft, overrated bunch of ****ing pretenders.

Furious. Absolutely furious.

****!

What more do you expect guys. It had to take a team to miss the finals or something serious because of bad umpiring for the issue of bad umpiring to be taken seriously. We just happened to be the schmucks that had to cop it on behalf of AFL in-action.

I hope we can be martas and they fix the system that allowed us to be robbed of finals. Is Ross Oakley AFL umpiring chief is he, because they just hate us right after we added $2,500 to their end of season holiday fund.

Those mongrels definetely cost us a finals berth, we faced bad umpiring last week, but Richmond are crap. This week we were absolutely crucified and then crucified again.

Surely this game would need to be looked at closely it was a disgrace that a team with momentum and playing a great brand of football is stopped, not by a better team on the day, but by inexplicable umpiring.

Sorry but this doesn't make football enjoyable, it's basically a lottery.

I am ropeable......

Leon said:
And Melbourne, you wont go ****ing well anywhere in the finals you soft, overrated bunch of ****ing pretenders.
**!
Soft? Melbourne? I'd take a look at the replay if I was you. There would be stains in the underwear of some Bulldogs players who dropped a lot of simple marks and fumbled a heck of a lot. I tend to think as far as decision making and hard, physical attack on the footy went the Bulldogs let themselves down a lot tonight.

Sook all you want. Robertson let you off the hook early in the last with a terrible kick. The Dogs then went onto lead by 22 points at the 19 min mark of the last term. Maybe White's goal hurt, but how about the other three you let us kick??

I'm not going to comment on the umpires until I see the replay cos I was so into the game, maybe the point I made about Dogs fans yelling "BALL" all the time hurts you cos I tell you what it has no impact anymore on he umpires with your club cos your stupid fans yell it all the time.

Rodney might have been right about the umpires. But I think he was wrong to match up Harris on Robertson. And Griffen against Miller. And to play Skipper in the ruck during a crucial period late in the last quarter. I know we fixed the defensive match-ups at half-time, but Melbourne should not have been as close as they were.

Credit Neale Daniher a bit - by moving Yze forward (2 goals I think) and getting Holland back on and in the forward line (2 crucial marks across half forward) he refused to let us dictate terms and changed the course of the game.

footyman said:
Soft? Melbourne? I'd take a look at the replay if I was you. There would be stains in the underwear of some Bulldogs players who dropped a lot of simple marks and fumbled a heck of a lot. I tend to think as far as decision making and hard, physical attack on the footy went the Bulldogs let themselves down a lot tonight.

Sook all you want. Robertson let you off the hook early in the last with a terrible kick. The Dogs then went onto lead by 22 points at the 19 min mark of the last term. Maybe White's goal hurt, but how about the other three you let us kick??

I'm not going to comment on the umpires until I see the replay cos I was so into the game, maybe the point I made about Dogs fans yelling "BALL" all the time hurts you cos I tell you what it has no impact anymore on he umpires with your club cos your stupid fans yell it all the time.

Yes, Melbourne are soft, skipper gives white a little touch in the ruck and White goes down as though he's been shot.

Didnt see those fairies Yze or Green in one physical contest tonight either.

And I dont seem to recall anyone here giving a flying **** what you think.

Leon said:
Yes, Melbourne are soft, skipper gives white a little touch in the ruck and White goes down as though he's been shot.

Didnt see those fairies Yze or Green in one physical contest tonight either.

And I dont seem to recall anyone here giving a flying **** what you think.
I couldn't care what you thought either.

I agree on Neitz, he was ordinary. He was dreadful last week too. Yze did attack the footy quite well considering it is Adem Yze, yes Brad Green is a fairy.

But go back and look at tape and look at Gilbee's dud kick in late in the game, Morris dropping a pud earlier, Griffin thinking he's invincible running too far a few times, Farren Ray being bowled over, Daniel Cross's handball from 30m in front of goal to a teammate which the Dogs coughed up, the lack of decent defensive work with 10 mins to go, and many other fumbles when players from the Dogs needed to stick their head over the ball and then come back and tell me why they lost. Don't point the finger at one incident.

footyman said:

We also missed many easy goals that kept Melbourne in the game (Cooney open goal, Robbins, Guido...)

Bottom line is we did choke to a degree and Melbourne lifted, but a team doesn't deserve to see their season finished by a very suspect free kick at the end of a crucial game.

In these circumstances umpires need to be made accountable for their actions. In my eyes, all that occurred is irrelevant before that terrible decision, it effectively decided the game which until that moment was up for grabs.

Melbourne should count themselves very, very lucky indeed.

Knackers said:
Melbourne should count themselves very, very lucky indeed.
We were lucky cos we were bad, I agree. We shouldnt have been able to kick 4 goals in 10 mins at the end. But the Dogs today looked nowhere near the side I have seen in the past month, you people go to the games, surely they were not as good just in their style of play as they were against West Coast or Brisbane?

Melbourne = Overrated Heap of ****. The ONLY way those hacks could win was by the help of those maggots. THE ONLY WAY.

We played better. We had you beat. Melbourne came back thanks to those Umpires. They crucified St. Kilda last night, making them lose and they've done EXACTLY the same thing to us. Seriously, it's a disgrace. All these umpires should be shot. It's downright pathetic, and I don't give a ******** how harsh that sounds.

The_Bulldogs_Bite said:
Melbourne = Overrated Heap of ****. The ONLY way those hacks could win was by the help of those maggots. THE ONLY WAY.

We played better. We had you beat. Melbourne came back thanks to those Umpires. They crucified St. Kilda last night, making them lose and they've done EXACTLY the same thing to us. Seriously, it's a disgrace. All these umpires should be shot. It's downright pathetic, and I don't give a ******** how harsh that sounds.

Kind of hardline Maoist or Stalinist. :D

But I almost agree.

But we had our chances despite the umpiring :(

That White free was one of the most pathetic ever.

***** maggots whinging about kids being put off umpiring - what about kids being put off following football?

I'll sum up my position. I didn't like the decision. Wrong and something has to be done to fix the problem now a team will mis the finals because of errors. But,

No names given -

A person attempts to murder a person. Doesn't quite work and the victim goes on life support. Eventually they pull the plug and they die.

Yes the decision to pull the plug kills them, but they should never have been so close to death in any event.

it's the fact the dee's we so close that should annoy us MOST. They should never have been there, the umps were the final nail granted, but we should never have let them back in due to negative lock-down pathetic 1997 pre-lim / last quarter style football.

footyman said:
But go back and look at tape and look at Gilbee's dud kick in late in the game, Morris dropping a pud earlier, Griffin thinking he's invincible running too far a few times, Farren Ray being bowled over, Daniel Cross's handball from 30m in front of goal to a teammate which the Dogs coughed up, the lack of decent defensive work with 10 mins to go, and many other fumbles when players from the Dogs needed to stick their head over the ball and then come back and tell me why they lost. Don't point the finger at one incident.
This list could be 3 times longer.

Our mistakes cost us the game.

We should have put Melbourne away but we made too many mistakes.

The umpiring was poor but the only reason the umpire got to pay a dubious match winning free was because we had kept Melbourne in the game. The game should have been over at that point.

Fossie 32 said:
That White free was one of the most pathetic ever.

***** maggots whinging about kids being put off umpiring - what about kids being put off following football?

Were you at the right game ? Did you not see the free kick robertson got ?

The_Bulldogs_Bite said:

Grow a brain mate and stop your pathetic whinging.You lost the game because of costly errors in the last 5 mins.Get over it and move on

footyman said:

listen melbourne man you won yippee rar rar go team now get lost

Geez, talk about sour grapes.

Whether White's free was there or not, good sides don't let 22 point leads deep into the final quarter slip.

Call me a troll, tell me to ******** off your board, I don't care. ^ is the truth.

Fossie 32 said:
you reckon it was worse than White's?

OMG yes. He jumped about 3 seconds early and stopped harris from having any chance of defending yet he got the free kick.

I probably need to see whites on the replay but from the game it looked very wrong but not as bad as harriss'

Rodney Was Right